Hotel - Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.5/5 2,425 reviews
All hotels in Bath
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 89.00 GBP Non member rate
From 84.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WiFi in your room
  • Parking
    • £15,operated on first come first served basis (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 10:00-22:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 10:00-22:00

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All rooms are en-suite, equipped with LCD TV, WI-FI, hairdryers and iron with ironing boards

  • 98 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 15 family rooms
  • 5 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Crib on request
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Printer
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 5,763 reviews

Our guest reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,425 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
AccorHotels certified review
Karen B. &. D. H. Friends - 18/04/2018
« We give you a ten. Love the hotel, location, and room #10 (perfect for us at 80 and 93). »

We enjoyed every moment of our stay. If able to return, we will stray with you and request room #10 again with its handicap facilities. Please thank Harriet for making my birthday so special compliments of the staff (proseco, truffles, lovely book about Bath). Turning 80 felt like 50 or 60.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms Beall-H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel to celebrate your significant birthday!. Harriet is delighted to have been mentioned! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Oakley Families - 18/04/2018
« Wrong rooms »

Overall our staff was good, but almost ruined by room allocation. We asked for adjoining / next to rooms. I was phoned the evening before so say they would be opposite. We arrived and were checked in at 12 and told the rooms would be ready by 2. We came back at 2, they werent ready and no one could find housekeeping. At 245 we were given two rooms about 30 yards apart. We had paid for best rooms and the rooms were not and were small with only one chair in each room. We complained and new rooms were found, which were fine. We should not have to complain to get the right rooms - the hotel was about half full. We won't be going to the Francis again.

AccorHotels certified review
Richard B. Couples - 18/04/2018
« Lovely hotel in great location »

Excellent reception staff. Room excellent if a little noisy from the road outside. Offered turn down service on first night which we accepted, after that no turndown? Bar area nice, but object to being automatically charged 10% service when I had to go to the bar to get drinks. OK if waiter service! Otherwise great.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and with the management team in Brasserie Blanc. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the road outside. We have rooms at the back of the hotel which are not affected by traffic noise – In the future, if you mention a preference at the time of booking, we will do our best to allocate one of these rooms for you. Of course, these rooms sadly do not have the view of Queen Square! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Tony G. Couples - 18/04/2018
« Everyone of the staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for us. »

It was our first experience staying at the Francis. From the very start everyone we met were helpful. The decor within the hotel was very in keeping. The bedroom was spacious with all we could ever need. The bathroom was very clean and there was ample hot water.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Jan R. Couples - 18/04/2018
« Stylish hotel and friendly staff »

The room was very clean and well thought out. Disappointed to find no bath and a view of a wall. Food was very good for dinner and perfectly acceptable for breakfast. Lunch lacked decent bread in the sandwiches and our chips were cold. There was only Peroni on draught in the bar which my husband was disappointed with. I enjoyed the cocktails. Staff were very friendly, especially in reception. The young man that met us outside and brought our cases in ( even though we said we were fine carrying them) was a credit to the hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. I will let David, our Concierge, know that he has been singled out for praise! I have checked your reservation and it doesn't have a request for a bath on the booking. It's such a shame you didn't check with Reception to see if there were any available when you realised your room didn't have one. There may also have been a room with a nicer view. It is extremely disappointing to read that your lunch in Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. We will certainly be sharing your comments with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable food and beverage experience during your stay. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope that we will see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Sushma K. Families - 17/04/2018
« Not quite what we were expecting..... rather disappointing to be honest »

Very unpleasant - booked for one night. Arrived at the hotel and everything seemed ok. We got an upgrade to the feature room which was on the first floor Got shown to our room and it was very tight. The sofa bed had already been opened up so there wasn't really much space to walk around in - we stubbed our toes a couple of times as trying to walk around the tight spaces. That evening my son couldn't sleep in the sofa bed as it was extremely uncomfortable - the mattress was so thin that you could actually feel the springs underneath. My husband ended up sleeping on that bed and ended up with the bad back. Also, in the night we could hear the base of music that was going on in the hotel - I assume there was a party or something going on and it was very annoying. In the morning we were rudely awoken either by maintenance men or gardeners at 8:30am - so not being able to sleep because of the music and then to woken up in the morning made our stay very unpleasant. To add to this unpleasantness we went down for breakfast at 9:30am - there were hardly and baked beans, hash browns, bacon in the trays and what was there was cold. It wasn't particularly busy at this time so why it wasn't monitored properly isn't justified. Also on Saturday night we thought we'd used our complimentary drinks - which was fine - but upon paying noticed that they'd taken the two cheapest - soft drinks as complimentary and the wine had to be paid for - bit bizarre as the complimentary vouchers were for the grown ups and why they'd then charge for a wine didn't make sense. We mentioned this to the bar man and it was quickly modified - but if we hadn't spotted it then it was something they would have got away with. We've stayed in Sofitel hotels in both Austria and Rome - the experiences there were 100% excellent - hence we booked the Sofitel in Bath. Unfortunately the Bath experience was so bad that we feel we wasted £300 for one night - we should have stayed at the Hilton and would have had a better experience. It makes us think twice about staying in a Sofitel again! I would like this to be raised with higher management as it was such a bad experience that I wouldn't want anyone else to go through it. Thankfully we only booked for ONE night - although with hindsight that was one night too many! Look forward to hearing from you! Mr & Mrs K.

AccorHotels certified review
M. H. Friends - 17/04/2018
« Fabulous boutique hotel »

Excellent welcome and service from the staff. Our room was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location. Can't wait to stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Paul K. Couples - 16/04/2018
« An exceptional hotel in an exceptional city »

We had a excellent experience, from the time we stopped at the front door when our cases were extracted from the car and the car was parked for us by a very courteous young man, until the time we checked out. The room was great, and represented the age of the building, some sloping floors etc but it all added to the experience rather than distracted. The food in the Brasserie Blanc was as good as you would expect from the name and the breakfasts were all that you could ask for. The excellent central position made leaving the car and walking the city a pleasure, the only time it took get around was the time it took to tear yourself away from all the interesting shops and architecture.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Philip P. Couples - 16/04/2018
« Lovely weekend to celebrate wife's 50th Birthday »

Lovely hotel and perfectly located in Bath town centre. Very accommodating and lovely surprise with them acknowledging my wife's 50th birthday by placing a bottle of champagne and gift chocolates in our room for our arrival - Very nice touch indeed. Convenient parking located at the back of the hotel. A little disappointing you have to pay for this separately but worth it. Trying to find alternate parking in the center of Bath could be challenging!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your wife's celebratory stay at The Francis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 16/04/2018
« Very comfortable stay and good food! »

Room (No. 21) was very comfortable though the bathroom was much too small. The reception rooms were all very comfortable and spacey. THe lack of draught beers in the bar was frustrating as was the lack of populat brands of whisky!!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. It is extremely disappointing to read that your experience of the Bar was not up to standard. We will certainly be sharing your comments with the management team of Brasserie Blanc at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable food and beverage experience. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope that we will see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 16/04/2018
« The Francis »

Perfect location. Housekeeping should check more rigourously before guest moves in ie broken hook in bathroom and new battery required in tv control. Reception excellent and staff efficient, polite and charming

AccorHotels certified review
Mark Solo - 15/04/2018
« Great stay - highly recommend »

Friendly staff, efficient service and lovely rooms

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Steve C. Couples - 15/04/2018
« Excellent hotel within close proximity of all the Bath has to offer. »

Fantastic service.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Preben S. H. Couples - 15/04/2018
« Bath is extraordinary »

It was our second stay at Francis and quality was unchanged very high. In every aspect, we felt comfortable and all services facilitated the purpose of our visit in Bath. Really value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your return visit to The Francis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Robert D. Couples - 14/04/2018
« Superb Hotel, ideal location, great staff. »

A great experience, every facility available, staff friendly, and an ideal location. A short stay for us, to be repeated soon.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Finola B. Families - 13/04/2018
« Very pleasant stay »

Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the welcome gift of chocolates because it was a return visit was such a lovely touch.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms B., We very much appreciate your very kind comments regarding your stay at the Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one, with some more chocolates! Sincerely, Kindest Regards Pash Naidoo Rooms Division Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Saber Solo - 13/04/2018
« Wonderful hotel in Bath that I come back to again and again »

I've stayed at the Francis 5 times in the last couple of months. And I've really enjoyed coming back again and again. The hotel is beautiful, and very centrally located. Every time I've stayed, the staff have been very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are great. I would recommend staying here to everyone visiting Bath.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Kindest Regards Pash Naidoo Rooms Division Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Tim M. Couples - 12/04/2018
« Excellent as always »

Always a pleasure, staff are kind, efficient. We enjoy our short stays.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., Thank you very much indeed for completing the survey. We really appreciate hearing back from our regular guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Sam Solo - 12/04/2018
« Miss »

Drought room and cold breakfast

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Miss A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel. I am very sorry indeed that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry that you found the room to be draughty and you required a blanket. It is such a shame you didn't call down to Reception to bring you a blanket or see if there was something we could do to rectify the draught. It is extremely disappointing to read that your breakfast experience at Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. We will certainly be sharing your comments with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable breakfast. We do appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Zak Business - 12/04/2018
« Bath »

Excellent hotel, great staff & fab location.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. It is extremely disappointing to read that your breakfast experience at Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. We will certainly be sharing your comments with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable breakfast. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 89.00 GBP Non member rate
From 84.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 17 km ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay Hotel
From
From 53.00 GBP Non member rate
From 50.35 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 17 km Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 17 km Mercure Bristol Holland House - Hotel & Spa
Mercure Bristol Holland House - Hotel & Spa
From
From 72.00 GBP Non member rate
From 68.40 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 18 km Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
From
From 73.00 GBP Non member rate
From 69.35 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in BATH
See rates