Hotel - Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

4.5/5 2,616 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 97.00 GBP Non member rate
From 92.15 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Parking
    • £15,operated on first come first served basis (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 10:00-22:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 10:00-22:00

Business services

  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All rooms are en-suite, equipped with LCD TV, WI-FI, hairdryers and iron with ironing boards

  • 98 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 15 family rooms
  • 5 connecting rooms
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Direct dial telephone
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Printer
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating 6,616 reviews

Our guest reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,616 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2018
Natalie A. Couples - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« No hot water eve or morning staff disinterested »

No hot water eve complained no hot water in the morning complained again disinterested reported that an engineer was looking at it when we were checking out very unhappy

Dan Couples - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent service, great location »

Very nice stay

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr E., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Peter Families - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Another comfortable stay »

Staff welcoming & confortable as always.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr V., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate the feedback regarding your stay on this occasion. It is always such a pleasure to receive both positive and constructive feedback. I have taken on board your comment regarding the air freshner and am looking into it. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as I am confident they will serve as great encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Ian B. Couples - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« First class accommodation, service & food »

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were at all times courteous, friendly and efficient.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Couples - 07/11/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great site, great service »

A memorable 4 night stay in this comfortable, very central hotel in Bath. But what really stood out was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, both front of house reception and concierge service and the housekeeping - when the air conditioning in our bedroom could not cope with a cold wind and no double glazing a heater was offered and produced without any ado. The attached Brasserie Blanc which provides the breakfast for hotel guests offers a very efficient service in the mornings but in the evening is very noisy and the service is somewhat patchy (2 nights good, one night dreadful). But there are other good restaurants close by and duty concierge Beverley magicked up a reservation at an excellent one at short notice on a busy Friday night.When we visit Bath again we will definitely be staying at the Francis.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Navigate592411, Thank you for your wonderful review, a memorable stay is our mission for all our guests to experience. The team are so happy to see they made your stay so comfortable. I am sorry to see your had issues with the temperature during the high winds we were experiencing, due to the listed status of the building there are some rooms that we have been unable to offer the double glazing. We are happy to see the team provided you with the heater. Beverley hopes you really enjoyed the restaurant choice, we are very lucky in the city to have so many good restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest regards Pash Naidoo

Stephen B. Couples - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good room, excellent ambience and attentive staff »

Very enjoyable and relaxing stay

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Mrs W. Families - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great location »

Excellent stay as usual this is our 4th visit, and will be there again mid December. This time I stayed to meet up with my son.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs W., Thank you for completing the survey following your stay to meet up with your son. It is always great to hear back from repeat guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next month. Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Dave Couples - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent service particularly from Reception team »

Very relaxing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr V., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Alison S. Couples - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Miss »

Such a beautiful hotel, regency combined with modern elegance. Staff could not have been more helpful, special mention to Claire on reception. She really knew Bath and made excellent recommendations, so friendly and kind, an asset to your hotel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Miss Embleton-S., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with Claire and all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Mark.w Couples - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Return to the Francis »

We had a two night stay at the Francis . As return customers we were slightly disappointed with our room to be honest. On previous visits our rooms have been excellent but this time we were allocated rooms at the back of the hotel that were not of the same quality. The staff are brilliant and the breakfast excellent as always but perhaps because we had a discount using our Accor points we were not given a better room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Francis. I am very sorry indeed that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. You have had Classic rooms on all of your stays with us and they are located on all sides of the building and all vary in shape, size and colour. It is such a shame that you didn’t ask to see if there was another room in the same category that you had booked that you may have found more comfortable. Many of our returning guests ask for rooms on the back of the hotel as they are quieter. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please ask for a front facing room when making your reservation. Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Deborah A. S. Families - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Birthday break »

As always, we have a lovely time - Beverly, Harriet, Claire and Luke (and I could name lots of other names) made us so welcome and did everything to make our stay as lovely as every. We love Room 311 (and frankly I hope you never let anyone stay in it wile we aren't there). The poor old towel radiator died while we were there, the lovely repair man is going to get it a new thermostat or something to resurrect it for our next stay. And perhaps some new nets for the window because they are a bit tattered. And here is a cheeky bit of feedback - being Le Accor members means we get a lovely free welcome drink which makes us feel very special and welcome. It would be lovely if perhaps prosecco or other wine, rather than just the house white could be on offer (I suspect it is McGallery policy but other Le Accor hotels tend to include a glass of fizz, and the house white does tend you make your eyes water).

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your birthday break. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team - the front office team are delighted to have been mentioned by name. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Anne H. Friends - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A Bath Beauty »

Characterful and comfortable hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. Very well situated for easily accessing all the main sites in Bath. Very tasty breakfast with a good choice of dishes. Highly recommended.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms H., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Michael Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Service and staff were fine but the feature room was somewhat disappointing »

As above, the room was quite small with small windows (hence little light) which seemed a bit poor for one of your premium feature rooms. Also the bathroom had no bath (only shower) and no heated towel rail (hence damp towels). The overall experience of the visit was not seriously spoiled by this but if you charge a premium for the best rooms they should live up to it. On previous visits they always have and I do still like the hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay on this occasion. It is always good to hear back from our repeat guests. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. The rooms on the third floor, which is where you stayed, have lower ceilings due to the history of the building and can give an impression of being smaller. I have made a note on your profile not to allocate rooms on this floor on your next visit. All the Feature rooms have walk-in showers, however our Superior room are a mixture of rooms with walk-in showers and bath/showers if you prefer to have a room with a bath. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as I am confident they will serve as great encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again to The Francis in the near future. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Nick R. Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Amazing place in a beautiful location »

We stayed in room 114, which we later found out was the best in the hotel. Everything for the Champaign in the room on arrival, afternoon tea to the meals in the Blanc Brasserie were fantastic. All the staff were attentive, and could not do enough for you. Special mention to the concierge for his great service, from meeting us on arrival and parking our vehicle, to getting one of the hotels beautiful candles and taking it to our room. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic break.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr R., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

John Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Bit below usual standard »

Being frequent visitors to the Francis the Hotel was much as expected,always happy with staff,food and location. Unfortunately we had to complain about a blood stain on the mattress protector which had'nt been spotted. Reception did get it changed straight away. We were in room 121 which had no bathroom blind fitted.It had obviously been removed and not replaced. Although the large window had privacy glass, being on the first floor facing the main street we found it a little uncomfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel. I am very sorry that your experience on this occasion. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us - especially as a returning guest. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. As a gesture and apology, we would like to extend to you a preferential discount of 30% off your next booking with us. This is based on the best available rate at the time of booking. Please contact the Hotel direct to make the booking and we will do our best to ensure that you have a great stay with us We do appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review

We had to move rooms as the first was too noisy. We were moved with no problem

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms A., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate the feedback regarding your stay at The Francis Hotel here in Bath. It is always such a pleasure to receive both positive and constructive feedback and I am pleased we were able to move to another room. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as I am confident they will serve as great encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Francis in the near future. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

John M. Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review

The staff in the hotel were lovely. The room had too many problems. The blind was broken. The air con pump was running all night despite it being off, kept us awake most of the night. The above head height tap in the shower fell off and hit me on the face which left a bruise and a lump. At check out the staff did not ask if everything was alright with our stay. Could not wait to leave and will not stay in the hotel again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Francis Hotel Bath. I am very sorry indeed that some of your experience during your stay did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry that you had a disturbed night’s sleep – it is such a shame you didn’t ring down to Reception to see if it was possible to move you to another room. I am also disappointed to read of the concerns with the blind and also the shower. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. As a gesture and apology, we would like to extend to you a preferential discount of 50% off your next booking with us. This is based on the best available rate at the time of booking. Please contact the Hotel direct to make the booking and we will do our best to ensure that you have a great stay with us Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very good, excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff everywhere! »

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to the bar for a drink while we waited a few minutes for our bags to be taken to our room. The bar staff were excellent during the day and evenings. We dined at the hotel one night and had great food and a friendly welcome again. Checkout was straightforward and fast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a beautiful hotel with staff who seemed proud to work there. Thank you.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms R., We very much appreciate your kind words and positive comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will share it with all the team. It will definitely serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. To encourage any future guests in choosing to stay with us we would really appreciate it if you rate us on TripAdvisor via this link: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/UserReview. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Norma Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A comfortable hotel in a very convenient location. »

The reception and front of house staff were very welcoming and efficient. The room was comfortable but felt a little claustrophobic and dark because of the low ceiling (312). The quality of food and coffee at breakfast was disappointing and the staff did not provide good service.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms W., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate the feedback regarding your stay at The Francis Hotel here in Bath. It is always such a pleasure to receive both positive and constructive feedback. The ceiling in rooms on the third floor are slightly lower than those the floors below due to the history of the building. Please request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor if you return one day, which we hope you will. It is disappointing to read that your breakfast experience at Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. I will certainly be sharing your comments with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable breakfast. I am confident they will serve as great encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Francis in the near future. Kind regards Pash Naidoo – General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Well located hotel, friendly and helpful staff and very enjoyable stay. »

We found the hotel a very enjoyable place to stay. Our bathroom was particularly good. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to all the sights that Bath has to offer.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Pash Naidoo - General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 97.00 GBP Non member rate
From 92.15 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates