Hotel - Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.5/5 2,353 reviews
All hotels in Bath
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 85.00 GBP Non member rate
From 80.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WiFi in your room
  • Parking
    • £15,operated on first come first served basis (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 10:00-22:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 10:00-22:00

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All rooms are en-suite, equipped with LCD TV, WI-FI, hairdryers and iron with ironing boards

  • 98 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 15 family rooms
  • 5 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Crib on request
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Printer
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 5,395 reviews

Our guest reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,353 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
AccorHotels certified review
Peter B. Couples - 11/01/2018
« A comfortable hotel, centrally placed in Bath with helpful staff »

A very pleasant experience. The hotel was conveniently placed close to the centre of Bath, with its own car-parking. The bedroom was comfortable with good facilities, and the food both in the restaurant and bar was of a high standard and reasonably priced. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The only drawback during our stay was that the lift was out of action - especially as we were on the top flor!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay (apart from the unexpected problem with the lift) and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Bath. Happy New Year and kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
David S. Couples - 11/01/2018
« Another wonderful stay at the Francis Hotel in Bath »

We have stayed here many times and love the ambience and the customer care that is shown to guests. We look forward to our next visit.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., Thank you, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.. Happy New Year and kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Andi W. Couples - 11/01/2018
« Excellent Customer Service »

Hotel was clean and modernised. Staff very helpful. Special mention to concierge Mark who organised drinks for our room, after a slight issue with getting them delivered he personally brought them up himself. Also bartender on late Saturday night who was friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the cocktails. Overall very good. Car parking was a problem but at least a postcode was provided for alternative arrangements. We will return

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr W., Thank you, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am delighted I was able to help. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
David C. Solo - 10/01/2018
« Lovely hotel in fairly central location. »

Staff were helpful with bags and advising on alternative nearby parking arrangements as hotel car park full. Room very comfortable and quiet. Good value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Brodier Couples - 10/01/2018
« Classic hotel with modern class »

Gorgeous hotel with a modern vibe. Extremely friendly staff, and the rooms for very well designed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Adam D. Couples - 09/01/2018
« Fantastic staff and beautiful hotel in a great location. »

From start to finish the whole experience was fantastic. The greeting when checking in was fantastic and made us feel really welcome and special. The reception staff were great and really efficient as was the lad who took our bags up. The room was beautiful and the breakfast we had was the best i have experienced in a hotel! All the staff were absolutely brilliant and really made our stay special. The location of the hotel was brilliant over looking a great little square.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Matthew R. Couples - 09/01/2018
« Sinnead Towey »

Reception staff second to none, very warm welcome. The hotel was very clean and the room was lovely. The room service unfortunately was what let the overall experience down. We ordered two courses which were cold when they arrived and was what can only be described as a poor pub lunch. This was the only down side, but due to the food prices we thought the food have matched the standard of the hotel and unfortunately it absolutely did not.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms Towey Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Francis. It is great to see that you found the reception team to be so welcoming, however, I am very sorry indeed that your experience with Brasserie Blanc did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will certainly be sharing your comments with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable dining experience. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
A A. Couples - 09/01/2018
« Reliable as usual »

We have stayed at the FRANCIS on many previous occasions and have never been let down. This was the same on our recent visit and can only recommend this venue enough. Old but plenty of character and extremely comfortable rooms.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay - it's always lovely to welcome back familiar faces. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit. Happy New Year and kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anon Couples - 09/01/2018
« adequate »

a lovely, plush hotel with excellent customer service. disappointed in 2 areas 1. no specific vegan / vegetarian cooked breakfast option - this should be mandatory. 2. our shower was blocked and leaked everywhere. whilst concierge came up to mop it up, and we were given another room to use the shower, I do think checking showers for blockages should be part of housekeepings checklist.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback and I am delighted you appreciated the customer service in the Hotel. I would like to apologise for the issue that you experienced with the drainage in the shower in your room, and also to thank you for bringing it to our attention. I have asked our maintenance team to remedy the problem. I think you have a good point regarding the lack of vegetarian/vegan options on the breakfast menus. We will certainly be sharing your comments with the Brasserie Blanc management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable breakfast. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope that we will see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 09/01/2018
« A lovely relaxing stay in a hotel where staff went the extra mile as part of their routine. »

The hotel was beautifully clean, extremely comfortable and little extra details in the room made it easy to relax. The breakfast was great and overall the experience was great value.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Francis. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Colin Couples - 09/01/2018
« Colin »

Very comfortable hotel with attentive staff focused on providing excellent customer service. We chose to dine in the hotel restaurant and this was a very good choice indeed. We enjoyed a really fine meal and wine accompaniment at very reasonable prices. Breakfast again was an enjoyable experience with an abundance of choice both from breakfast buffet and freshly cooked menu. Would have no hesitation about returning to the Francis on our next visit to Bath.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and the Brasserie Blanc team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
P. C. Couples - 08/01/2018
« It was clean good location and very friendly staff »

it was really nice and friendly good atmosphere great location. The breakfast was good the only criticism would be the carpets are looking very worn.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. The carpets are due to be changed very soon, hopefully within the month and have been measured up. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope that we will see you on your next visit to Bath Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Richard W. Couples - 08/01/2018
« Richard »

We like the Francis Hotel and use it often. It is well situated and convenient.We were grateful to be upgraded. the only difficulties I would point to were the lift which was not working and tiger rather disappointing new Year's Eve dinner which was not special. Breakfast however was very good.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Fassam-W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback especially from our regular guests. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Bath. Happy New Year from all the Team Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Mrs F. G. Friends - 08/01/2018
« Hotel and Restaurant Rating - 22-28 Dec 2017 »

Our hotel disabled facilities were very good (room 10), and I could use my electric wheelchair easily, but the lighting in the lobby and clothes cupboard was non-existent. The power point for charging the chair was difficult to access. The room safe was on the floor and I could not use it. One of the concierges agreed that it should be higher up and that the area should have lighting. The restaurant was not as good as I had expected. In particular, the advertised Boxing Day special 3-course dinner was not available, the restaurant manager being unaware of it! Initially he gave us the half-board menu, but afterwards allowed us to choose from the a la carte. On another occasion I ordered salmon, which came with only a small salad or chips - so I ordered the salad. I asked if I could have some bread with this, and was amazed to be charged for this as an extra! For the price, I felt the Christmas Day Menu was very limited. The restaurant staff themselves were very good, and I have no complaint regarding them at all. I do feel, however, that some options on the menu were not offering value for money. I understand that this restaurant has been franchised since last February. I would like to put on record that the quality of food offered now in no way compares to that which we were given at the Queen''s Hotel in Cheltenham, which is of course part of your chain. The latter has not been franchised, and perhaps therein lies the problem(!?) There was general dissatisfaction amongst the guests with regard to the restaurant. Some people who had stayed for Christmas 2016 commented the quality of the menu had significantly deteriorated. Lastly, from July 2017 I had a total of 9664 Accor loyalty points, and expected to be able to redeem 8000 of these, worth approximately £143. When I paid my bill the staff tried to do this, but were only able to redeem 2000 (worth £35.44). I reported this by phone after I got back home and was told they would look into it and come back to me. Nearly two weeks later I have heard nothing. By my calculation I am due a refund of over £100, which I would be grateful if you could advise when I am likely to receive. I should like to say at the Francis again because the disabled facilities are good, but do hope the restaurant can be improved.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Francis G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. Your comments regarding the disabled facilities have been passed to our Maintenance Manager and we thank you for your feedback, it is extremely helpful. It was extremely disappointing to read that your experience at Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. We have shared your concerns with their management team at our weekly meeting; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable catering experience whilst they are staying with us. With regards to your loyalty points, we have refunded the outstanding amount to your credit card. Please can you contact us so we are able to burn the points now. The reason we were unable to redeem the points initially was because the Le Club card details for your phone number had been set up incorrectly when you joined and it was then not possible to send the required code. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope that we will see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards and Happy New Year from the Team Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Martin Couples - 08/01/2018
« Great staff »

Beautiful clean comfortable hotel with great staff

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Siddharth Families - 08/01/2018

Great Hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Jayne Couples - 08/01/2018

really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff on reception a lovely welcome .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Bill S. Couples - 07/01/2018
« Good overall, friendly and helpful staff »

Room was good. 1 or 2 minor issues, e.g. no spare toilet roll on arrival. Staff helpful. Breakfast good though layout of tables made going to buffet slightly awkward. Good value and satisfied overall.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Happy New Year and kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Julia R. Families - 07/01/2018
« fantastic »

Very efficient receptionists, lovely room although the window had a lot of condensation due to only single glazing. Nice touch of having the room prepared for my daughter and i when we returned after a busy afternoon/evening out in Bath

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Gareth H. Couples - 07/01/2018
« gareth h. »

Booked direct asked for best price,telephoned morning after tried to charge £60 more,eventually they agreed original price.My son was going to book about 10 days later and offered same terms but saving £140. When I mentioned this on arriving at hotel they did upgrade room. We do not eat cooked breakfast and go continental,porridge was good but fruit was poor,Prunes hard,no berrries(even frozen would have been acceptable(,no seeds and no bananas. New Years Eve dinner,was just normal with no atmosphere.they ran out of mackerel and went over to salmon!!.Finished our food by 10pm and did not wish to sit on hard seats for 2 hours to see in the New Year with no atmosphere. Moved into the lounge,there were 8 people there with no atmosphere.6 of the people went out of the hotel.I would have thought that the management of the hotel would have made an effort to bring some joy into the surroundings in a more relaxed room. Have stayed at Francis previously and was pleased,however I will certainly not be returning based on ths experience. I was not aware that the Hotel do not run the Restaurant,however this is no excuse. I explained this to the duty Manager on 2nd January prior to my departure in a face to face discussion as I didn't wish to place comments before showing my dissapointment. . .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Harries, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at The Francis. I am sorry that your experience on this occasion did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that the Reception team were able to give you a complimentary upgrade for the duration of your stay. However, it was extremely disappointing to read that your breakfast and general hospitality experience with Brasserie Blanc was not up to standard. This is an area that we are currently working hard on with their management team with our new General Manager; it is extremely important to us that our guests have an enjoyable experience. Thank you for taking the time to discuss your concerns with our Duty Manager whilst you were staying with us. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards and Happy New Year from all the Team Mark Quinn Guest Relations Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 85.00 GBP Non member rate
From 80.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 17 km ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay Hotel
From
From 48.00 GBP Non member rate
From 45.60 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 17 km Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel
From
From 59.00 GBP Non member rate
From 53.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 17 km Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel and Spa
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel and Spa
From
From 65.00 GBP Non member rate
From 58.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 18 km Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
From
From 56.00 GBP Non member rate
From 50.40 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in BATH
See rates