Hotel - Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

4.0/5 2,001 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 99.00 GBP Non member rate
From 94.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
  • Pets allowed 10  GBP
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

The hotel offers 78 individually named bedrooms including doubles, twins and junior suites with either a four-poster or king-size bed.

  • 78 rooms
  • 78 non-smoking rooms
  • 4 family rooms
  • 2 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Trouser press in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

d
4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating 3,506 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,001 reviews
Linda W. Couples - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great location, lovely room, personable staff »

Really efficient checking in and out. Room was lovely and full of character.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs W., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your experience. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

S. Families - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely hotel if a little dated »

This is a great hotel, ideal location right in the middle of Stratford, staff are welcoming, rooms are clean and beds are comfy. The breakfast is well cooked for a buffet. My only thing is the rooms are rather dated. I understand that each room is completely different to fit the shape of the building but never the less it could do with an update.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr and Mrs Scott,, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Shakespeare Hotel, and I am glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay. However I have noted your concerns about the condition of the bedrooms and hotel in general, and very much appreciate you putting them in writing. I will discuss your comments with the company management concerned. I hope that despite these issues we will nevertheless be welcoming you back to the Shakespeare soon, when we will do our best to make your next stay much better! Kind regards James Lys General Manager

Dr J. S. H. Couples - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Excellent stay for special birthday. Great location and air conditioned rooms which was most welcome

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dr H., Thank you for taking the trouble to complete the questionnaire following your recent birthday stay at the Mercure Shakespeare hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon. We are all delighted you both enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we will be welcoming you both back in a year's time! Best wishes James Lys General Manager

Anonymous Families - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful »

The Shakespeare went through a time when it wasn't giving the service that other hotels in the area did. It's now substantially improved and will be the first choice for our return visits to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs F., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you enjoyed your experience. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Couples - 10/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« UK2018 »

Location was great, close to most attractions, hop-on & hop-off buses and theatres, Booking via web was easy and straight forward, Check in: was not the normal Mercure friendly reception, Was not advised of or shown the lift, so carried heavy suitcase up stairs (good exercise). There is a lift. Great building atmosphere. Room was excellent. Did not eat in due to so much on offer in Stratford. Check Out: not the normal Mercure friendly manner.

Trevor B. Couples - 09/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« very pleasant »

Had fall inside the hotel, staff very good (my fault) but it restricted movement around hotel. Despite this nice hotel, good helpful staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B.,, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Shakespeare Hotel, and I am glad that overall, you both enjoyed your stay despite the fall. However I have noted your concerns about the efficiency at arrival and departure, and very much appreciate you putting them in writing. I will discuss your comments with the department management concerned. I hope that despite these issues we will nevertheless be welcoming you back to the Shakespeare soon, when we will do our best to make your next stay much better! Kind regards James Lys General Manager

Keith S. Friends - 09/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review

We are frequent users because we like the Hotel, it's Staff and the Location

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your experience. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Anonymous Families - 08/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Friendly, fantastic location, everything we needed »

Very enjoyable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs h., Thank you for taking the trouble to complete the questionnaire following your recent stay at the Mercure Shakespeare hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we will be welcoming you both back soon! Best wishes James Lys General Manager

Geof Couples - 08/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Perfect 'Shakespeare' location »

Excellent hotel in the perfect central location to explore Stratford and 'Shakespeare' with secure car parking - what's not to like...?

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr and Mrs L., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your experience. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Mrs F. Couples - 06/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable »

Except for the parking. the staff were friendly and the room comfortable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs f., Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Shakespeare Hotel, and I am glad that overall, you both enjoyed your stay. However I have noted your concerns about the car parking, and am very sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your visit to the town. I hope that despite this issue we will nevertheless be welcoming you back to the Shakespeare soon, when we will do our best to make your next stay much better! Kind regards James Lys General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 06/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent location »

Hotel was in an excellent location. Our room was at the front of the hotel so it was a little noisy with traffic first thing in the morning, but fine at night. We were particularly pleased to find air conditioning in the room,which was comfortable and adequate. Breakfast was a bit disappointing however - not a great deal of choice and all very lukewarm.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs B., Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Shakespeare Hotel, and I am glad that overall, you both enjoyed your stay. However I have noted your concerns about breakfast and very much appreciate you putting them in writing. I will discuss your comments with the department management concerned. I hope that despite these issues we will nevertheless be welcoming you back to the Shakespeare soon, when we will do our best to make your next stay much better! Kind regards James Lys General Manager

J. B. Friends - 05/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Avoid Room 144 »

The kitchen air conditioning vent, directly outside the window of our room 144 kept me awake until 11pm and then from 5am. I would have asked to change room had I realised. Upon arrival at hotel, around 4.30pm there was no one on reception. Housekeeping was shoddy - a dirty towel in our room and one coffee cup without a saucer.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms B., Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay in room 144 at The Shakespeare Hotel. I have noted your comments about the noise and the cleanliness, and sincerely apologise that these issues detracted so much from your stay. In light of your experience, please contact me next time you plan to visit the area and I will extend a 50% discount on the published price of the room, free breakfast and free car parking. Please accept my apologies, Ms B., and I hope to welcome you both back soon and restore your faith in The Shakespeare. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Couples - 05/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Lovely Hotel in Stratford »

Had a Great night away in this hotel Staff where friendly and polite, this was perfectly located and everything was great including a little box of chocolates and a hand written note on my arrival to the room. We ate in the Marco Pierre restaurant food was good and prices where reasonable Only little issue when we got back to the room about 21-30 the Air con grill was leaking and the carpet at the door was drenched reported to reception and one of the staff promptly came and informed me it was condensation due to it not working previous and had just been fixed so we both agreed it was probably too late in the day to move room so I put a towel down and hoped it would stop through the night unfortunately it didn't and it was like we had a small water feature in the room where you leave a tap on and you couldn't switch it off fortunately only woke up a few times and sleep was not greatly affected but this was the reason for only 4 star review will come again minus the water feature Thanks to all

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear j_4rd Thank you for your comments and pleased that you both enjoyed your stay, despite the water feature! We hope to welcome you back to a drier bedroom next time! Kind regards James Lys / Manager

Carl H. Couples - 04/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful hotel, excellent location & staff »

Wonderful!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the trouble to complete the questionnaire following your recent stay at the Mercure Shakespeare hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon. We are all delighted you both enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we will be welcoming you both back soon! Best wishes James Lys General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 04/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice room. Pleasant staff. Good location. »

We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure hotel and based on this will probably stay at other Mercure hotels in the future.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs P., Thank you for taking the trouble to complete the questionnaire following your recent stay at the Mercure Shakespeare hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon. We are all delighted you both enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we will be welcoming you both back to Mercure soon! Best wishes James Lys General Manager

Andrew V. V. Couples - 03/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nothing exceptional - just an average Hotel stay »

As a couple who travel a lot for business and pleasure, we were not overly impressed with the size of the room. As Platinum members we were not offered an upgrade on check-in --- I did ask if there was an upgrade available to be told NO. The Breakfast was not what was expected based on similar hotels offering. There were numerous complaints being voiced around the breakfast room. Although I paid for this visit using my Accor points I can honestly say that I would have sent in a written complaint about the breakfast if I had of paid the astronomical price that is charged as per website.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Van V., Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry you did not completely enjoy your recent stay at The Shakespeare Hotel. I have noted your comments about the way you were welcomed with no upgrade and the poor breakfast, and sincerely apologise that these issues detracted so much from your stay - especially as you are a Platinum member. In light of your experience, please contact me directly next time you plan to visit the area and I will extend a 50% discount on the published price of the room, free breakfast and free car parking - and also make sure you receive a much larger room if at all possible. Please accept my apologies, Mr Van V., and I hope to welcome you both back soon and restore your faith in The Shakespeare. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Steve Couples - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice Hotel in a great location. »

Room was small but comfortable but is expected in an old hotel. Bathroom cleanliness could be improved but overall a pleasant stay with good customer service. Unfortunately the restaurant had been booked by a large group the night we stayed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr m., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay. It is always very gratifying to receive such positive comments (bathroom cleanliness noted) especially as you are loyal Accor guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Anonymous Friends - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely location, a bit noisy. »

I booked 5 rooms and although mine was ok (a bit noisy early Sunday morning with refuse lorry and street cleaning) another in the part had little sleep due to a rowing couple in next room. Lovely big bed, plenty of space, good reception staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs K., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you generally enjoyed your return stay despite the noise. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Anne B. Couples - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent »

Great location, lovely building

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs B., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay. It is always very gratifying to receive such positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you! I very much hope to be welcoming you back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Paul K. Couples - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Looking a bit dated »

Comfortable room and bed. Bathroom fan not working but fixed. However, the threadbare carpets on the stairs have been there for sometime now and need replacing quickly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr and Mrs K., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Shakespeare, and I am delighted you both enjoyed your experience. It is always very gratifying to receive positive comments, especially as you are loyal guests, and also to know that you will continue to enjoy staying with us - thank you. I have taken note of your comments regarding the stair carpet, and will discuss with the hotel owners. Thank you for highlighting this issue. I very much hope to be welcoming you both back again to The Shakespeare soon. Yours sincerely James Lys General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 99.00 GBP Non member rate
From 94.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates