Hotel - Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

4.0/5 2,170 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.25 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Sauna
    • Solarium

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

87 bedrooms including superior twins, doubles and privilege rooms overlooking the ornamental lake and beautiful landscaped grounds. Bedrooms are divided into Main House 29, School Masters House 10, Stable Wing 16.All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WiFi access, 24-hour room service, complimentary parking, hair dryers, ironing facilities, new flatscreen TVs with international channels, complimentary toiletries, and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • 87 rooms
  • 87 non-smoking rooms
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 7 family rooms
  • 3 connecting rooms
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Telephone
    • Baby bed
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating 3,571 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,170 reviews
Nigel M. Couples - 15/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« no advice about how to find the hotel - sat nav details from postcode entirely wrong »

characterless / tired room / bathroom needs modernising/ better breakfast at Travelodge / staff need motivating /but no real management in evidence / hotel OK for weddings and meetings - but not for leisure customers (no atmosphere!)

Sara A. Friends - 15/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent and relaxing break »

Excellent service from friendly and helpful staff

Barbara G. Couples - 15/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« We were there for a wedding so unlikely to go back »

The room was extremely comfortable and a good size. It was unpleasant walking outdoors in the rain to get from the main building to the bedroom. I enjoyed using the pool and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and willing to help

Anonymous Solo - 15/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Spa was a disappointment »

Hotel and meal lovely but Spa was a let down.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Susan P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to read our spa area did not meet your expectations, I will pass on your feedback to our spa & leisure club manager. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Tracey S. Business - 14/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Almost perfect »

Stayed for almost three months due to work commitments and I have to say I have never had such a great experience in a hotel, the staff cannot do enough for you, particular thanks to Jennifer, Chris, Rebecca, the two Angela's and not forgetting Stephen you were all amazing. The first room I had was more than comfortable and could not fault it, I did check out for a week half way through my stay and the only negative I can add is that the room I went into on my return was a little too close to the albrighton suite function room, my sleep was disturbed at weekends when there was a wedding or some other function going on, but other than that I cannot fault the hotel or the staff

Anonymous Couples - 13/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« luxury stay for us! »

All great except ice room out of order.

Andy &. M. P. Couples - 13/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A wonderful relaxing couples' spa break. »

Your website is very confusing and resulted in our booking for one adult, cancelling, then rebooking for two adults. This then led to us chasing our refund. In addition, having placed a booking we had to phone the hotel to book dinner and spa treatments. It all seemed a bit bizarre. We were delighted to be upgraded to a Premier room which was absolutely amazing. Even though there were a few maintenance/housekeeping issues with the room these were all dealt with very quickly and efficiently. The spa has been refubished since our last stay and is delightful. We particular liked the relaxation room and being able to have a massage in the same room. We both feel the food offering could do with improvement. The cod that we had for dinner was accompanied by meat which wasn't stated on the menu and, as a pescatarians, was an issue. The lunch/bar snacks menu is limited and somewhat pricey so we chose to leave earlier than planned and have lunch elsewhere. The breakfast, however, was great. Despite the above negative points, we found all of the staff to be friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed the following day. We will almost certainly stay there again.

Angie S. Friends - 13/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Food excellent, room good, checkout dismal not what I would expect »

Food was excellent, could not fault restaurant staff. Room good, lighting dim due to energy saving bulbs, when mentioned this to staff they offer alternative room but lighting still the same. Checkout awful, person not attentive and did not email a bill breakdown as stated, also did not release funds on bill prepayment, effectively my account was debited twice.

Anonymous Couples - 11/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Very good, but disappointed with bathroom as it was in need of good clean and updating. The foyer was also very grubby looking. The food was very good and the staff friendly.

David Couples - 11/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Enjoyable one night stay. »

Good quality rooms and food.

Liane Couples - 10/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Not the best 'SPA' experince »

Lovely hotel and room. Disappointed with the SPA - treatment was ok, but music kept being interuppted mid massage and made the room feel akward. No water was offered. no robes as said in our booking. Aroma room out of order and the thermal suite smelt of urine. The steam room was dirty. Evening meal was lovely - had to wait 30 mins for dessert as waiter forgot to put our order in. Breakfast was cold and i found a long black piece of hair in my mushrooms! Check out was at 12 but room service attempted to get into the room at 11 - made us feel very uncomfortable and rushed. I paid £189 comared to the £129 groupon offer being advertised and feel this was too much due to the lack of 'relaxation' you are meant to get from a SPA break.

Anonymous Business - 09/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely setting for the hotel, presented lovely with the gardens. »

The setting to the hotel was lovely. Reception staff greeted us and made us feel very welcome. Lots of information given to us at check -in including breakfast times, and locations of the bar and spa etc. The room was a good size, and the cleanliness in the bedroom very good. The bathroom however was a disappointment; the sink and bath area looks very old and dated. Dis-colouration around the shower and shower screen. Shower screen was loose and unstable, and shower low pressure & shower head broken. Stain on carpet as you walk through the door.

Bruce B. Couples - 08/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very Good »

A few issues but all sorted by the staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Bruce B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

S T. Couples - 08/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely stay »

Lovely stay. Spa was nice. Room was clean and tidy. Restaurant was lovely and very nice menu.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Steph t., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

D M. Families - 08/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mrs DMottershead »

My room was freezing cold as was our breakfast. My whole family stayed 8 of us and the breakfast was appalling. We were at a wedding and the service and food for that too was terrible.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear D m., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We received such lovely feedback from a number of other guests that attended the same wedding, so I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the food service you received and I would like to express my sincerest apologies. I believe it was myself that spoke to you regarding breakfast in the morning and I have forwarded your feedback onto our food and beverage manager who has now put procedures in place to ensure this does not happen again. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Ebrough Solo - 08/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant overnight stop »

Friendly welcome at the reception after a little trouble finding the place with the sat nav. The room was clean with all promised facilities. The bar meal in the evening was nice and the breakfast in the morning was lovely. I would recommend it and stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Emily B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Steve Couples - 07/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

Facilities average, food good, rooms spacious, cleanliness/appearance average... on first glance room clean but detail lacking eg dust on skirting board, stains on curtain

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed our food, I will pass on your comments to our chefs and food and beverage team who are always thrilled to receive positive feedback. I am however disappointed to read that the cleanliness of the room did not meet your expectations and would Iike to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Nino B. Friends - 07/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

Room was fantastic and spacious with an incredible view. The hotel is a great venue in general and I really enjoyed my stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nino B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

I B. Couples - 06/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant comfortable stay in lovely hotel. »

Enjoyed our stay,staff were pleasant and helpful. The young men waiting on at dinner were very good and had a good sense of humour. Our spa experience was somewhat basic and rather disappointing.Really not worth the money and rather inflexible. Got the impression that they were understaffed and unable to accommodate last minute treatment treatment requests even though there was plenty of spare capacity. We used the pool and jacuzzi which were good and the changing facilities were very clean.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Irene B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your spa experience, please accept my sincerest apologies. I will pass on your comments to our leisure club and spa manager to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you again for sharing your valuable feedback and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Anonymous Couples - 05/10/2018 AccorHotels certified review

We enjoyed ourselves, but had a problem with the bill from the restaurant, no one explained how it worked it you went on to the al carte menu.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear David L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Donna Murray Reception Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.25 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates