Hotel - Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.0/5 1,906 reviews
All hotels in Shrewsbury
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services in the hotel and nearby

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Solarium

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

87 bedrooms including superior twins, doubles and privilege rooms overlooking the ornamental lake and beautiful landscaped grounds. Bedrooms are divided into Main House 29, School Masters House 10, Stable Wing 16.All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WiFi access, 24-hour room service, complimentary parking, hair dryers, ironing facilities, new flatscreen TVs with international channels, complimentary toiletries, and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • 85 rooms
  • 87 non-smoking rooms
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 7 family rooms
  • 3 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Telephone
    • Crib on request
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,906 reviews
TripAdvisor review
Couples - 13/10/2017
« Lovely break »

We love this hotel because it is so clean, the staff are wonderful and really look after us and the food is excellent too. The gardens are pretty and it is quiet and peaceful. I like using the on site spa.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Good evening, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amy Kellett

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 11/10/2017
« Lovely Hotel »

We stayed for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a lovely location and setting. Although the hotel was very busy due to events the hotel coped well. We used the bar for food and it was lovely. Spa facilities are great and the breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Good evening Stacey Callaghan, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. It is great to hear you enjoyed your wedding Anniversary here with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amy Kellett

TripAdvisor review
FlynnWales Family - 03/10/2017
« Wonderful country setting just outside Shrewsbury »

Really welcoming hotel in peaceful location, will return again fair prices for drinks & good choice of bar meals.Breakfast area stunning word panelling could have been in a National Trust House very welcoming staff throughout the hotel from reception to bar to restaurant.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amy Kellett

TripAdvisor review
Business - 14/08/2017
« An OK stay »

Interestingly this review has not asked about the food service! The food in the bar was OK but not very special. I guess if I had wanted something better then I should have used the restaurant. The website said dinner was served until 9.30pm. Reception told me it was 9.15pm when I arrived at 08.50pm. What was annoying in the bar was the way the staff threw empty bottles into the bin making a very loud noise which was clearing jarring on the nerves of most people in the bar. At breakfast it was quite hard to get a whole orange cut up despite explaining this twice Having said that the rooms were clean, comfortable and staff were friendly

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 30/05/2017
« Shropshire Hills And Beyond »

Third stay at this great hotel just outside Shrewsbury. Love this hotel for its beautiful location, friendly staff and great facilities. Ideal base for exploring Shropshire and the Welsh borders. Would stay at this hotel again if visiting the area and would recommend it to anyone else.

TripAdvisor review
metcalfj2017 Family - 23/05/2017
« Wedding day »

We were there for the wedding of my neice which went really well.Staff could not do enough for us and the whole day was superb. The problem was next morning when my daughter woke to find ants all over her pieces of wedding cake and the fridge. We reported this at reception and they sent the maintenance man who reported back that he could find no sign. My daughter's partner asked him to return and then showed him the ants. Back at reception the manager did not want to compensate them until they insisted and only then did he reduce the cost of the room by 2 breakfasts. My daughter felt that they had not been treated seriuosly because they are young and ants in the room is not what you expect at a hotel of this grade and price. This just spoilt what was otherwise a exellent wedding day.

TripAdvisor review
taff615 Couples - 17/05/2017
« Weekend break »

Located this hotel via search for hotels Shrewsbury. Read reviews on trip advisor and took in recommendations from friends living in Shrewsbury. On arrival impressed with location and setting. Check in very friendly albeit they had no record of table reservation for evening meal. Hotel very busy with a convention taking place. Found room comfortable but on the small side. Dined in restraunt Friday evening. Owing to convention we had to wait some time before any of the waitresses attended to us. Food to be fair made up for the wait. I would describe it as exceptional.waiting staff friendly. Breakfast on the two mornings very good ( buffet ) Spa facilities very good Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found location for our needs to our liking. Would definitely return but would book larger room. Definitely recommend this hotel for stay to anyone

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure Albrighton Hall and Spa. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a nice visit to Shrewsbury. I would like to apologise about the mix up with your dinner reservation and I am glad that this issue was resolved quickly an that you were able to enjoy a meal in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Amy Kellett Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Family - 18/02/2017
« Nice looking hotel but food and check out pain spoilt it for us. »

We stayed one night at the Mercure Shrewsbury Alrbighton Hall Hotel & Spa on 17th February 2017 with family who were also booked in. That night we had a family meal in the Darwins bar, the seating is comfortable and the drinks were okay but the food was poor for the price we paid. The food came in what i could only describe as childrens plastic trays rather than on plates. Yes retro looking but the food seemed to get cold very quickly and we had to ask numerous times for sauces, by which time it was too late. The hotel was quiet yet seemed understaffed as we had to wait at the bar for often quite a while to buy drinks which again isnt really acceptable for the price we were paying i.e. one glass of sparkling rose for £7. The hotel is situated in lovely grounds and on the plus side we had a good night sleep and the breakfast was well laid out and the choice good. We used the swimming pool which was nice and warm and the staff at the spa seemed really friendly. I didnt feel this continued when we were ready to check-out. Upon checking out I was told I owed just short of £50 outstanding to be paid under the room booking. When I originally booked and changed the date I was told I would only owe £15. I had to explain myself to Amy quite a few times who didnt really know and asked me to provide proof that this was true and that I used le accor points to part pay for the room. Other guests were trying to check in so I felt uncomfortable standing waiting for this to be sorted. We had a two year old staying at the hotel and my wife is heavily pregnant. My wife had to wait and walk to the car to grab the piece of paper which provided proof that i in fact had paid. Eventually after a good 20 minutes which seemed much longer I was told yes it was only £15 that i had paid. I then provided an offer which I had been sent by Mercure as a Le Accor Member to entitle me to a free breakfast. I provided this as I was under the impression it could be used. A phonecall was made but then i was told it couldnt be used as it wasnt a particular mercure hotel, i couldnt understand this and the explanation was quite lacking to say the least. So I ended up paying the £15, feeling quite huffed about the whole episode before driving my family off back to Wrexham in a rush for an appointment for my wife. Perhaps the poor rating is a bit harsh because overall its a nice hotel and some staff were great but for the price we paid, and for us, the little things make a big difference.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear HotelHopper_A, Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. I am very sorry to hear we did not achieve your customer service in all aspects. Your comments have been passed to the relevant Head of Departments for further actions to improve our service. Regarding the free breakfast we have contacted the LeClub Helpdesk and await their response as not all hotels participate in every promotions. Kind regards Kordula Griffiths Operations Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 16/01/2017
« Pleasant stay »

Lovely hotel in nice grounds. A bit out of town but we were aware of that and not an issue. Excellent staff throughout. Privilege room was roomy and comfy. Enjoyed a snack evening meal and breakfast. Only issues were no lift to first and second floors and no morning paper as receptionist forgot to ask what we would like. Also smart TV was not connected to internet. Staff informed but seemed unaware of smart TVs capabilities.These issues are why a star has been knocked off. Excellent value as points were redeemed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry for the couple of difficulties you experienced. As the new Reception Manager at the hotel I have raised these issues with my team and we have carried out further training to prevent this happening again. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Amy Kellett Reception Manager

TripAdvisor review
Business - 04/01/2017
« Staff a little lacking and poor privacy. »

Overall its a very nice looking hotel set in lovely grounds. Inside it is a bit tired though and needs a bit of updating. Scratched paint all over the place could do with sorting out. Staff were overall quite lacklustre and privacy is not up to scratch. I had clearly left the do not disturb on my door during my 2 night stay while travelling for work, only to spot that someone had clearly been in and removed the kettle from the desk, replacing it with a smaller one which was put in the cupboard. Very odd to be honest and not really appropriate when a guest would like their privacy respected. I assume they thought I wouldn't notice. Quite rude really.

TripAdvisor review
louisehunt00 Couples - 22/09/2016
« not great »

Considering the cost of the room for 1 night we were disappointed. We have stayed in Cardiff mercure which had much nicer facilities and rooms. The room was small compared to the other couple we were with yet we paid the same price. There was absolutely no water pressure which meant the toilet was almost impossible to flush and the shower was awful. Just a tiny dribble. There was also hair on the bathroom floor.Very disappointed

TripAdvisor review
Family - 06/09/2016
« Albrighton Hotel »

Was not impressed with this hotel for severel reasons. We were staying here as we had been to a wedding. Our room was more expensive than it said it was going to be onine when i booked it. I was expecting the room to be a lot better for what I paid. Something kept us awake all night it was a knocking sound they didn't really say anything about it when we told them. Also the bride and groom were staying there and we ask the hotel to do something nice in there room and they said there would be a surprise done for them. We got there later with the bride and groom and they couldn't find there room, they had left the bride and grooms belongings with the hotel to put in there room and they were put in someone else's room. And when they found there room they hadnt done anything to it and it wasnt a very nice room.

TripAdvisor review
Adrian W Couples - 03/09/2016
« A mixture of excellent and not so good. »

A lovely building in a nice setting with the newer extension still incorporating generous high ceilinged rooms. We did experience a few extremes though with some staff very pleasant, and others struggling with the workload of weddings over a busy bank holiday extended weekend. Our room was fundamentally very nice, but with some tired / non working fittings, which were reported on first morning and still not fixed (just bulbs/batteries) four days later. Breakfast to usual mercure good standards, set in lovely panelled dining room. We did speak with the front of house manager on check-out who listened well, sincerely apologised and we were satisfied with her very professional and positive response, such that we will probably use this hotel again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Adrian W, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. It was a pleasure to meet you during your time with us and I thank you personally for your feedback. I have handed over what we discussed and will also be sharing your further comments with the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Abi Evans Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 02/09/2016
« Excellent »

Have rated this hotel and stay excellent throughout. This was the perfect stay for our needs, which was to commute to the festival at the Showground and to relax and be comfortable. Can highly recommend.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SHG36, Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor, It is always a delight to hear positive feedback like this and I will be sure to share it with the team. Thank you again for your comments, we hope your next visit with us will be as pleasant as your previous one. Kind Regards Abi Evans Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 01/09/2016
« A lovely hotel »

We stayed overnight as a birthday treat and had a good time. The leisure facilities were good and all the staff pleasant. Check out took a long time but only because there was one member of staff working and she could only do so much. The restaurant was good and the food lovely. The wine however is very over priced but this seems the norm in most hotels these days. One slight thing to be critical of.. the housekeeping needs to be looked at as there were crisp crumbs on the floor by the sofa when we got in - it didnt spoil our stay though!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JanB38, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. Its always a please to receive positive feedback such as this, I will be sure to share it with the team. I will also handover to our housekeeping team your comments as this will enable us to look at areas in which we can improve. Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Abi Evans Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Friends getaway - 03/08/2016
« Short of perfection »

This is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. The food is good and elegantly served. It misses perfection unfortunately on a few counts. It has been refurbished but has lost some of its character thereby. Details of housekeeping, stained carpets, for example, seriously let it down. An unfortunate plague of flies (clearly not their fault) was not dealt with radically enough. Staff are cheerful, polite and helpful. Just a shade more effort needed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sunshine788, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit and to note you enjoyed the food and the service. We are sorry you felt the refurbishment has meant the hotel has lost a bit of character. This was never the intention of our owners and to date we have only received very positive feedback. The hotel is surrounded by farmers fields and these had seen muck spreading over the last two weeks. This caused the issue with the flies and we took every action possible by law however in all fairness this was not our doing and out of our control. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope that you would visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Abi Evans Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 03/08/2016
« Wouldn't recommend "Privilege" rooms! »

Visited this hotel for the 2nd time and decided to opt for one of the privilege rooms - with guaranteed lake view, soft drinks in room, spa gift in room bla bla... Pictured was a 4 poster bed that looked lovely and romantic. The room however just about had a view of the lake, the carpet was stained, we had two single beds pushed together, we had one can of coke, one can of Fanta in the room along with a spa gift... a bath bomb! Wow. Anyway I didn't feel the price tag was worth the room at all, (room 62). The staff are all lovely especially Dev the bar man!! 10/10 The food was good, I would recommend the afternoon tea! Spa treatments were really relaxing & comfortable. Apart from the disappointing room. A day trip here would be lovely.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear beth84x, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were unhappy with your room and have passed this onto our housekeeper. It was lovely however to read your great comments about the staff and food and also that you would recommend the afternoon tea and spa treatments. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Abi Evans Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 01/08/2016
« 2 night stay. »

Stayed 2 nights. Very nice hotel in a quiet location but close to Shrewsbury town ( 5 min taxi £6). large rooms and comfortable beds. breakfast usual hotel buffet style with plenty of choice both hot and cold. Had a bar meal one night and it was good food and not bad value for the price. Well equipped good sized gym. Pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and ice room all in need of a bit of an update as the majority wasn't working properly during our visit. Overall a comfortable stay at a well appointed hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear cop_no10, Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Kordula Griffiths Operations Manager

TripAdvisor review
Friends getaway - 27/07/2016
« Disappointing weekend stay »

Nice setting and very pleasant staff but the hotel needs an update. Small and depressing room, not worth the cost. Spa treatments all booked up in advance so nothing available. Very unlikely to return.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear an0n33333, Thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor regarding your recent visit. We are pleased to read you like the setting and the staff were very pleasant. I am sorry you did not like the room you were allocated. At the weekends we are always full in the Spa as most guest book well in advance to avoid disappointment as the treatment as so popular. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Kordula Griffiths Operation Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 26/06/2016
« A hidden gem in Shropshire »

Stayed overnight last week and was pleasantly surprised with this place. OK, so there was a fire alarm upon arrival and everyone was outside in the car park. But the royal welcome added to the charm and the room upgrade much appreciated for the slight inconvenience. We were early for check in but were able to use the facilities and I must say that we enjoyed the spa. It seemed a new addition, and well used, and the pool, jacuzzi and steam room helped us settle into a relaxed mood from the outset. The room (No 30) was a lovely size and overlooked the lake. OK, the condensation on the windows could have been cleaned off and the hot water from the shower a little more powerful, but over all, it was great. We ate in the bar and the staff and service were first class -thank you. In fact service throughout was first class from the moment we interacted with the receptionist until we left. The gardens are beautifully kept and although only 2 miles from Shrewsbury, it had that perfect country feel about it. We shall return someday definitely so all I can add is simply go, you won't regret it :-)

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear markfranklin842, Thank you for your five star review. I am pleased to hear our receptionist made you welcome to the hotel and you enjoyed all our facilities we provide. Thank you for your recommendation And we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Kordula Griffiths Operations Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 24 km Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
From
From 53.00 GBP Non member rate
From 50.35 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in SHREWSBURY
See rates