Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,471 reviews
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Central location, nearby the Cathedral and Bedford Square

  • Leisure facilities including swimming pool, sauna & jacuzzi

  • Close proximity to popular Princesshay Shopping District

  • The Gate House restaurant features locally-sourced dishes

  • Ideal destination for weddings and private functions

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Southernhay East
EX1 1QF
exeter
united kingdom

Tel: +441392412812

Fax: (+44)1392/413549

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL At 108km / 67 miles

  • By plane

    EXETER INTERNATIONA At 10.3km / 6.4 miles

  • By plane

    PLYMOUTH/ROBOROUGH At 73.5km / 45.67 miles

  • By car

    M5 JUNCTION 29 At 6.6km / 4.1 miles

  • By train

    EXETER CENTRAL At 0.97km / 0.6 miles

  • By train

    EXETER ST DAVID'S At 2.3km / 1.43 miles

GPS :50.720332, -3.528424

Our accommodations

The hotel's 156 bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including classic, privilege, suite, interconnecting and 7 accessible rooms. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WIFI access, room service & flat-screen TV. Every bedroom is in line with 4-star standards but our rooms also offer particularly inspiring views over the city, including Exeter Cathedral, historic Southernhay and distant glimpses of the Devon countryside.

Classic Double or Twin Guestroom

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Mercure Privilege Guestroom

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room

Classic Family Guestroom

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Executive Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 36
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Our restaurants and bars

THE GATE HOUSE

Type of cuisine: Regional

Our chef Mr Tom Porter welcomes you in our Gate House Restaurant. Guests can enjoy contemporary British cuisine including locally sourced meat and fresh seafood.

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LOUNGE BAR & TERRACE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The lounge bar and Terrace are open all day, for a drink or for a light meal. 24 hour room service is also available.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 178

  • Maximum capacity: 150 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.2/5

10,070 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,471 reviews

Excellent place to stay in a lovely city

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Harrilexa Couples - 16/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Exeter. The hotel was in a great location and service was excellent. We slept well too. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful.

Rooms very dirty and not cleaned

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Wayne H. Families - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

First room was only big enough for one person. Only had towels etc for one and expected us to have this as a double. 2nd room smelt musty, shower was leaking everywhere. No a good experience. We have used this hotel a lot for business and pleasure when visiting our daughter. Over the last year the facilities have deteriorated and the experience is now very poor.

Happy

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Bromsgrove C. Families - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Enjoyable and comfortable

Average at best

Customer review rating 4.2/5

I G. Couples - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Paid extra to have prestige room Tv didn’t work, nor did side lights and also room smelt quite stale so overall dissapointed.

Not worth the money

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John L. Couples - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

TV didn't work all night, the privlage room wasn't worth the extra money. Had 2 single beds pushed together.

Disappointing second visit

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Rahul P. Couples - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We were very disappointed with this hotel on this visit. A number of items were lacking in comparison to our last visit a couple of years ago.

Under-staffed and poorly supervised

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

dandan8 Friends getaway - 13/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Could never find a member of staff to take orders. Tables in lounge left littered with dirty cups, glasses and plates. Old copy of newspaper left on the floor in lounge for 2 days. Those staff available were poorly supervised. Will not be returning

Comfortable and friendly visit

Customer review rating 4.2/5

B.l. Families - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were friendly and obliging, room was comfortable, hotel was quiet at night

Dear Mr L., Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your experience with our team. Your warm words will serve as encouragement to all of the staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would appreciate if you could possibly pass on your feedback on TripAdvisor.com., so other guests will be able to view your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

Good experience, as usual!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nick A. Couples - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Welcome stop on the way back from a brief stay in Cornwall, after paying substantially more for a greatly inferior room it was good to experience the value and quality of your hotel.

Dear Mr A., Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your experience with our team. Your warm words will serve as encouragement to all of the staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would appreciate if you could possibly pass on your feedback on TripAdvisor.com., so other guests will be able to view your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

Overall it was good

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tracey Families - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Good but room not ready on arrival and also no refill of tea bags in the room when we arrived .staff were nice but slow service at breakfast due to the staff standing round and talking to each other also so members were complaining they were felling very sick during breakfast .

Dear Tracey L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. Whilst I am pleased that you had a pleasurable stay overall, I am sorry that you had a poor breakfast experience. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

A well located hotel with friendly staff, but the breakfasts were very disappointing.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We stayed three nights in this hotel, which is very well located for Exeter Quay and the town centre. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The big disappointment was the breakfast on each day. There was a very limited choice (eg only two fruit juices and very poor selection of fresh fruit) and supplies were clearly exhausted very quickly so that there were large gaps. The hot buffet could not keep up with demand. The dining room was overcrowded and there were delays in seating. Overall, not an experience that any so-called 4 star hotel could be proud of - or be offering. This was a shame as in previous visits we had enjoyed breakfasts at this hotel. We wrote it off as one of those things on the first morning but it was repeated. As a result we would seriously consider going elsewhere to stay in Exeter next time.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Deb Friends - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Friendly/welcoming reception. Rooms felt quite small but fine for us as only there for weekend. Housekeeping were very noisy in the hallway, maybe to get everyone up!

Dear Deborah S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will pass your feedback on to Housekeeping to ensure that the noise is reduced. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

Satisfactory

Customer review rating 4.2/5

A. Solo - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Room was clean and comfortable, lack of staff, breakfast was limited with slow service and quality of room service food very limited and of substandard quality when compared to the extortionate cost for which I was advised as being down to a recent change in menu.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Adrian B. Couples - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Empty whisky bottle, glasses and dirty plates outside my room on arrival and stayed there for a number of hours. Room smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

OK

Customer review rating 4.2/5

C. L. Friends - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Bar and breakfast staff need supervision by a grown up. Most of the time nowhere to be found, glasses not cleared, no lounge table service, so you had to go to the bar, which invariably led to an extensive wait. Breakfast staff equally useless. Room 145 was apparently a premier room, loo seat hanging off, black mould in corners of shower, bathroom floor looked dirty, plus side bed comfortable. Front of house staff very pleasant. Main stairwell carpet tread completely worn through and ripped, I caught my foot on it, told the staff and expected them to put hazard tape on it, instead they tried to cover with a bit of parcel tape. All in all the place needs a bit of TLC and staff training.

Average Stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Jamie Couples - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

I would say my stay was rather average. The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient marking the check-in process nice and easy. I was asked which floor I would like to stay on which I thought was a nice touch. When I entered the room it was well presented, I did experience an issue with the bedside lamps as neither of them worked. I called reception and a maintenance man arrived very promptly. He replaced the lamps and I was given 4 drinks vouchers for the inconvenience. The room was clean however it did show signs of been worn and needed refurbishment.

Dear Jamie N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that you experienced a problem with the bedside lights, however am pleased that it was rectified quickly for you We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

It was ok

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tracey C. Families - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

When we arrived we had a lot of confusion on how I was going to pay. Rooms are starting to look a bit tired . Breakfast on Saturday morning was chaos not relaxing at all . Breakfast on Sunday morning was a bit better but not worth its money . No hot tub working on Saturday afternoon .

Dear Tracey C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence to provide a more relaxing experience We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

mixed

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Jackie Couples - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We enquired at reception about booking a time for dinner. We were told it was not necessary. However when we arrived for dinner at 7.30pm we were told there would be a 20 minute wait as there was a coach party occupying the restaurant. We were eventually served 45 minutes later. The food was good and the wine excellent. The bar staff were rather inexperienced and we felt there was insufficient staffing in the restaurant. However all staff were helpful and polite at all times. There was a lot of noise from doors slamming during the night, loud talking after 11.00 pm. The breakfast choices excellent. Good supply of coffee!

Dear Ms R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I appreciate your constructive feedback about the team - I am Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Findleton General Manager

Overpriced, cold tea, broken toilet seat, paying for parking

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Alan G. Couples - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Spoiled by things that should not have been broken toilet seat on arrival, cold tea at breakfast, unhelpful staff, paying for parking when not shown to be a cost on booking

Mr

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Daniel C. Business - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

My experience here was terrible! I arrived at 20:00 and my room wasnt ready for me, I said not to worry we will go out for a drink and some food. Came back at 12:00 and once again my room still wasnt ready. I was then moved to another room at 00:30. I have not been compensated for this what so ever.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in exeter