Hotel - Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
Novotel Hotel Novotel Hotel

Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.3/5 4,594 reviews
All hotels in Christchurch
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From 229.00 NZD Non member rate
From 229.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room (Paying)
    • WiFi access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request
  • Other sports activities  (Nearby)
    • Bicycle hire facilities (Paying, Nearby)
    • Billiards/Snooker (Paying, Nearby)


  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Business centre
    • Business center with support staff
    • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

A spacious room with either a King bed or two Double beds, plus an ensuite bath or shower, wireless internet access, double-glazed windows, a work area, large LCD TV, pay movies, a safe, hairdryer and more. Up to 2 adults and 2 children.

  • 154 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 9 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • WiFi in your room
    • Crib on request
    • Computer
    • Printer
    • Fax machine
    • Minibar
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.3/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 4,594 reviews

Our guest reviews for Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
AccorHotels certified review
Jeremy S. Couples - 16/03/2018
« Dissapointed »

The room was small, the bathroom design was terrible, with the sink in the main living area, and the toilet and shower in a separate room. The glass partition between the sink and the room was well soiled and it looked like it had not been cleaned for a few weeks. The bed was comfortable, there was a mini bar, however to sit and enjoy a drink you either had to sit on the couch (which was lime a chaise lounge) or sit on the bed. It would have been nice to have a couple of single chairs, so you could sit and enjoy a drink. The buffet was luke warm, but the scrambled eggs were cold. The staff were very friendly. The noise of the lifts up and down during the evening was not pleasant either.

AccorHotels certified review
Brett Couples - 16/03/2018
« Clean tidy and conveniently located to city »

Food good too

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 15/03/2018
« Clean, comfortable room. Nice exercise facility. Oops. That's two sentences. »

We stayed twice, one night each, about a week apart. Both times were good. Comfortable rooms, good hotel location. I'd recommend the place.

AccorHotels certified review
Rachel S. Couples - 15/03/2018
« Disappointing »

My husband and I love the Accor group so much so that when we were offered to buy into the silver status program we did not hesitate and have been loyal to the group when travelling or heading away for weekends. This stay at the Cathedral Novotel in Christchurch has somewhat changed our opinion. I was aware that our 'free' night of which was paid for in joining the program was due to expire so I went in to book this directly with the hotel thinking we would stay in chch for a getaway weekend. Firstly I was quite shocked at the price $413 for a 4 star hotel, but booked anyway and was told we could book an executive room with twin double beds but they would do all they could to put us in a king. On arrival the front counter reception was haphazard, can't really put our finger on it, really high desks didnt help and there were no notes, we were told we would be in a twin with the hope of moving us to a king for our second night. The person serving me also very loudly stated 'oh you have a free night' I would have preferred there to be more recognition as to the fact that we were 'loyal' members who had earnt a 'free' night. As we are in the hospo industry we accepted this. The next morning we went down and again there were no notes so again explained our situation and were told they could move us. Not even 20mins later we were in town and received a phone call from a perplexed reception staff member asking whey we were wanting a change! this was the 3rd time explaining our situation and was rather frustrating. The internal communication was really lacking. Eventually we came back and received our new keys all good. The rooms were fine, however the beds were awful, super uncomfortable and the room 1303 had incredible loud ill functioning air con. The new room 1304 the bed was worse, and whilst the aircon was better the vents were really dusty and overall not super clean. Whilst there we did order room service, which was great, really happy with this. I hate writing reviews like this, but both my husband and I agreed we wanted to give feedback, certainly we would not do this on social media platforms so are grateful for this opportunity to give feedback. I really think that as the Manager perhaps you should try staying in these rooms. We also both agreed that if the service from the front desk had been better perhaps our overall view of the hotel would have been approved. You will see from our membership that we have frequented your hotels multiple times but I can catergorically say we will not be repeat visitors of the Christchurch Novotel. I am super disappointed that we spent what we did and 'wasted' our free night here when for that price we could have stayed at the George or another equally luxurious hotel. The other suggestion that I would have is that there is some team building/bonding exercises between front of house staff and that the true meaning of hospitality is understood, they just talked over each other and seemed quite disrespectful, the highlight of this was watching the conceierge rolling his eyes at the front desk staff over our valet parking. The conceirege did give us cold water for our trip home which was a nice touch and also the bar manager gave us good service.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 15/03/2018
« Excellent position and very helpful staff. »


AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 14/03/2018
« The front desk person was helpful but the rest of the stay was very average. »

I was surprised by the size of the room for the price and found the menu at the resuatrant limited. The second night I stayed and had room service this was much better.

AccorHotels certified review
Sue Business - 13/03/2018
« Very disatisfied with the overall experience »

We did not enjoy the stay at your hotel. It was terrible. To begin with we were not welcomed as Accor members. Then our keys didnt work and this happened twice. I am an Accor member and have stayed at other Accor hotels and have been treated as a paying member should. There were no priviledges here. My daughter and I went to the restaurant where we were going to use the card for the dining benefits. We were told we couldnt get a meal there and would have to use room service. I asked if we could use our card for room service as they couldnt accommodate us and we were told no. My daughter had to go out and get us takeaways as the meals from room service were expensive. We did order a garlic cobbloaf which came half cold and with cold butter with lumps of garlic in it. $10 pus $4.00 on top for room service ! The next morning we arrived at breakfast and we were not seated or told where anything was. Our table was not cleared as we finished and no one came near us. The staff were not well presented and looked liked they didnt want to be there. They are totally unprofessional. The only reason we booked here was because of being an Accor member but we were certainly not treated as a paying member. I have stayed in the Pullman in Auckland twice recently and they are so professional and welcoming. This hotel is overpriced, very tired looking and the staff are not helpful or professional. This is not up to usual Accor standards. I spoke to the man on reception on Saturday night of my frustrations but no attempt to rectify anything was made. We couldnt wait to leave but then that was a bad experience too. I quite clearly told the girl on reception I was using an eftpos card but she went ahead and charged me the credit card surcharge! She then couldnt refund me and was going to ask her supervisor to do it. She said she would email me and refund the surcharge. I have still not received an email or a refund not that that is surprise. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Families - 13/03/2018
« Very happy with our service »

Everyone was most helpful

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Solo - 13/03/2018
« pleasant stay »

it was a fine visit. the person on concierge duty was not very helpful or enthusiastic on the first day but the next day the person was helpful. otherwise a good stay and well serviced

AccorHotels certified review
P C. Couples - 13/03/2018
« Very expensive for what it was. »

Overcharged. Delayed at check out for girl to try and sort a non complicated account. Tried to charge extra. Called later and added extra (already paid for ) to credit card for breakfasts. I have spoken to someone since our stay at Novotel who is going to reimburse this. Very inconvenient having to sort out your problems. Free drink at the bar does not clarify what drink, therefore had to pay anyway. Positive note; Clean tidy room, convenient location.

AccorHotels certified review
Regina W. Couples - 12/03/2018
« Good location friendly staff »

Lovely time at this great location. They generously upgraded us to the top floor when I asked if we could have a view. What a treat!

AccorHotels certified review
G G. Couples - 12/03/2018
« Happy with Hotel but difficult to get to. »

Very comfortable bed ,didn’t like hand basin situation.Service very good & efficent. Because of road closure difficult to drive there.

AccorHotels certified review
Amanda V. Couples - 12/03/2018
« Easy access »

Lovely stay

AccorHotels certified review
Steve A. Business - 11/03/2018

Personnel very helpful. Good size rooms with nice views but rooms were a little tired. Lots of help from Sonal and Sandip additionally Carl on the Concierge was also helpful and Mia at breakfast was just fantastic and hopefully gets recognised by management.

AccorHotels certified review
Lisa B. Business - 11/03/2018
« Very Enjoyable Stay »

We had a very enjoyable stay which included using one of your boardrooms for a company meeting.

AccorHotels certified review
Vernon Q. Families - 11/03/2018
« Had to cancel you kept my money and my points! »

Didn’t happen had to cancel weeks in advance and in true Accor style you kept my money and my points. Will make a concerted effort to always stay at a competitors hotel chain in the future. Poor form by Accor!

AccorHotels certified review
Ann M. Solo - 11/03/2018
« Very good »

Everyone was helpful when I asked questions.

AccorHotels certified review
Dennis Couples - 08/03/2018
« Staff were inexperienced, unhelpful and rude. »

Room was ok, good location, however reception staff was inexperienced and charged us twice for our stay, i had to call later and ask them to cancel one charge. Staff were generally unhelpful and the concierge was rude. Will not stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Christchurch. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please do accept our apologies. We would also like to acknowledge the time taken in providing us with your critique. This enables us to address the issues you have encountered and retrain our teams,. From what you have indicate about the team is something that we will not tolerate. Pleased be assured that we will highlight your concerns with the respective department, to ensure that we are friendly and engaged. We also understand the inconvenience this caused during your stay which again we are apologetic for. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that your next stay will be a more positive experience. Kind regards The Novotel Team

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 08/03/2018
« Better than Average »

Overall good but on leaving seemed like there were problems with there was a problem with account. Then had to follow up as they never released bond on credit card

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Kia Ora Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Christchurch. Your comments are appreciated, as this information allows us to review our product and service and to develop our team in providing exceptional service. Your comments have been noted, and will be discussed with the team to improve on. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, and it is our hope that your next stay will be a more positive experience. Kind regards The Novotel Team

AccorHotels certified review
James G. Business - 07/03/2018
« Adequate »

It was fine, although the bedroom was "bizarre"

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Kia Ora, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we would also like to acknowledge your loyalty within the Accor network. As for the room design. This is an area that received mixed reviews of both good and bad for the reasons you have indicated. We have noted your comments and this has been filed for when we do refurbish our rooms this is on the top of the redo list. The team looks forward in hosting you again when you are next in town. Kind regards, The Novotel Team

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From 229.00 NZD Non member rate
From 229.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 200 m ibis Christchurch
ibis Christchurch Hotel
From 179.00 NZD Non member rate
From 179.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 9.3 km Novotel Christchurch Airport (Opening September 2018)
Novotel Christchurch Airport (Opening September 2018) Hotel
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in CHRISTCHURCH
See rates