Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 1,239 reviews
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
See on a map
+ 25 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Comfortable, contemporary bar open till late

  • Modern, fully-equipped fitness centre

  • Large ergonomic work area, LCD TV, pay movies

  • Choice of flexible rooms for effective events

  • 20 minutes' drive from the airport

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • CHRISTCHURCH INTL. AIRPORTPaying
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

52 Cathedral Square
8011
christchurch
new zealand

Tel: +6433722111

Fax: (+64)3/3722112

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    CHRISTCHURCH INTL. AIRPORT At 11.5km / 7.15 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS :-43.530636, 172.637298

Our accommodations

A spacious room with either a King bed or two Double beds, plus an ensuite bath or shower, wireless internet access, double-glazed windows, a work area, large LCD TV, pay movies, a safe, hairdryer and more. Up to 2 adults and 2 children.

Executive Suite with 1 king bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 39
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Superior Room with a King bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Superior Room with 2 Double Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Executive room with a King bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Executive room with 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Our restaurants and bars

THE SQUARE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Serving fresh, local produce with a kiwiana flare, in a modern and charming atmosphere, the Square Restaurant with à la carte lounge offers semi-formal dining in contemporary surroundings.

Lunch

06:00 - 14:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

14:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE SQUARE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Enjoy a relaxed drink in contemporary surroundings at Square Bar. This inviting lounge bar is ideal for after work meetings and casual drinks.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 5

  • Maximum size: 116

  • Maximum capacity: 130 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 90 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.3/5

7,248 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,239 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Christchurch Weekend Sep 2019

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Rosan008 Couples - 13/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

Check in and check out were excellent. As we had a car from CHC Airport, hotel convenient car parking without as business as usual. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent - a wide variety to choose from. Doing the basic brilliantly .

Very welcoming and accepting- home away from home

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very welcoming and accepting- home away from home

Dear Semisi & Linda, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here to make improvements where we can also. Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us, we hope to welcome you back to the Garden City in the near future! Kind Regards, Acacia Jarden Assistant Manager

Very helpful and friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Kylie F. Families - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We stayed twice over the holiday, at the beginning and the end. There is a customer service person (male) and I don't remember his name but he was so helpful with recommendations and always so friendly he really made it a great stay. The second stay we were in a larger room, which was better as there was 4 with 4 suitcases. The only thing stopping it from being 10/10 was the beds in the first stay (room 1104) were really uncomfortable. The beds in the other room (1101) were much better. Overall a great experience though.

Dear Kylie, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here! Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us, we hope to welcome you back to the Garden City in the near future! Kind Regards, Acacia Jarden Assistant Manager

Excellent room and welcoming service

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Suze H. Families - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We were welcomed by reception staff and shown where we could take the children to a nearby park whilst our room got ready which was helpful. We got a great room and had the buffet breakfast the next day which was enjoyed by all too. Thanks will definately recommend.

Dear Suzanne & George, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here! Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us, we hope to welcome you back to the Garden City in the near future! Kind Regards, Acacia Jarden Assistant Manager

Work trip

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Tania Business - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Great

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Christchurch in the near future. Kind regard,s Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Hotel only focussed on making money

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Asish C. Families - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Booked for 2 night stayed for 1 night as my flight was cancelled due to bad weather , No refund for 1 night and after that being a accor member late checkout the frontdesk asked to pay NZD100 Really is it a Hotel or A Guest House

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Christchurch. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we do apologise that on this occasion we have fallen short. Please note your account shows you have only been charged for one night's accommodation and no late check out fee has been noted. We certainly do attempt to assist the guest best we can and accommodate any late changes/movements they may have. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that your next stay will be a more positive experience. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Weekend family central city stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Convenient and pleasant stay assisted by helpful and friendly staff

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for choosing Novotel Christchurch for your recent stay in the garden city. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to hear that our guests were well looked after by the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Lovely

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sue Friends - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Well looked after by staff. Welcome drinks nice

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to hear that our guests were well looked after by the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

It was an average stay.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

N C. Business - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

To be honest I was a little disappointed with my stay at the hotel this time. I do understand sometimes it can get very busy at reception, however did find that on check in, when making enquires and check out, I had to wait excessive amounts of time. The quality of the in room dining food was not great, particularly for the price (the pork belly I ordered for one meal was inedible). I like the hotel and location and have stayed on a number of occasions but do think the standard has dropped unfortunately.

Hi Nadene, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We do apologise the your experience did not meet your expectations. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and it appears on this occasion we have fallen short. I have passed your feedback onto the necessary departments to further investigate. We do appreciate you sharing your concerns and trust your next stay with us will be to a much higher service standard! Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Quite possibly the best service I have ever received at any hotel (both nationally & Internationally!)

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Bridget G. Families - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The team was incredible. Kush & the concierge team are second to none. It meant our stay in the garden city was a tailored experience, with recommendations for dining & city activities. Thank you!

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your feedback and hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We will be certain to pass on your kind words to Kush and the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Great location

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay. Our central city location certainly does provide close proximity to all nearby must see attractions Christchurch has on offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

friendly, helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Tina Solo - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very helpful, profesional staff Clean room Good breakfast selection Outstanding location, very convenient

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after. We will be certain to pass on your kind words to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Outstanding service

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SandraH5933 Couples - 07/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

We were very impressed by the service we received. From before we arrive, when we arrived throughout our 3 nights stay, right upto when we walked out of the hotel. A big thankyou to all the staff members who made our stay there fantastic.

OK

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was fine but a little below usual Accor experience

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. It is important to receive guest feedback as we are always striving to provide a superior service and improve our performance. Your feedback has been noted and will be passed onto required departments to further investigate. We do hope to see you back at Novotel Christchurch in the near future. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Very friendly and helpful staff and great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Andrea Couples - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was great. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were great and restaurant was also freat

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after by the team. We do hope to welcome you back to Christchurch in the near future. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Amazing

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Trudie S. Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was easy (Which is what you need when you are travelling with work)

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for choosing Novotel Christchurch for your recent stay in the garden city. We are delighted to receive your feedback and to hear you had an easy and enjoyable stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were great and very helpful 5 star service

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for choosing Novotel Christchurch for your recent stay in the garden city. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to see that our guests were well looked after. I will be certain to pass on your kind words. We do hope to see you back at Novotel Christchurch again in the near future. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

John

Customer review rating 4.3/5

John Couples - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Great hotel and close to everything with great staff.

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! Thank you for your great review and lovely feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

very satisfied

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Wayne F. Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

good experience with helpful staff

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay. Like all central accommodation options, we do have limited parking spaces available - should we be made aware you are travelling with a vehicle we are happy to reserve space for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Carol Couples - 05/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Great location in Cathedral Square, perfect for business or leisure travellers

Greetings from Novotel Christchurch! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our central city location certainly does provide close proximity to all nearby must see attractions that Christchurch has on offer. Your concerns regarding breakfast have been passed onto the team to investigate. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brooke Sumner Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in christchurch