Novotel Wien City Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 1,718 reviews
Novotel Wien City
See on a map
+ 19 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 10 minutes' walk to the city center

  • Executive Room with desk space, WiFi and Nespresso machine

  • Two children can stay in their parents' room free of charge

  • Jogging route along the Danube Canal right next to the hotel

  • Restaurant serving dishes with organic produce

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Bicycles rental (Nearby)
Business services
  • Web Corner on a Mac

Hotel location

Novotel Wien City

Aspernbrueckengasse 1
1020
vienna
austria

Tel: +431903030

Fax: (+43)1/90303555

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Schwedenplatz :   5A Schwedenplatz

  • Reumannplatz :   U1 Nestroyplatz

  • Schottenring :   1 Schwedenplatz

  • By plane

    VIENNA INTL AIRPORT At 19km / 11.81 miles

  • By train

    WIEN MITTE At 3km / 1.86 miles

GPS :48.213099, 16.382962

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Standard Guestroom

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Superior Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Executive Room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Our restaurants and bars

Family and Friends - The snuggly

Type of cuisine: International

The modern restaurant offers a selection of regional and international specialties, prepared from fresh, first-class, seasonal ingredients. All dishes can be ordered in three sizes: as a taster, starter or main course

Lunch

11:30 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

15:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Family and Friends

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

A place to eat, a cafe, a place to meet, relax, enjoy and while away the time. An ideal opportunity to perk yourself up with a cup of coffee, recharge with a selection of tasty meals or wrap up the night with a nightcap.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Wien City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.4/5

1,365 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,718 reviews

Still a great hotel which needs to improve though to not lose its flair

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

thomasiaticus Business - 08/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

All in all still a great hotel. Rooms are rather small but modern and some are newly renovated. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. However, cleanliness of the restaurant has suffered over recent months. Place mats in the restaurant were full of stains (even at 6am in the morning!) not only on my table but also neighbouring ones. Not being able to find a clean table for breakfast is a major turn-off and below what you would expect from a 4-star hotel.

Bad Check in process and service

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

jochi27 Family - 01/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

I was not aware that they require original cc that made purchase never been ask that before then when I ask why was not in the invoice or the email reservation they claim it was there we check could don’t it give them a new cc wanna hold the amount in my new card as well of the other calming it could be fraud and could be a fake card after looking into my bag found original car but i was already call a liar and a Scammer I never got and apology from staff about their poor service other then that hotel was ok

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay with us and for choosing Novotel Wien City. First of all, we hope you had an enjoyable time in Vienna despite the inconveniences you faced. Let me express my sincere apologies if it affected your stay negatively and lowered your comfort. It shouldn't occur that our guests have the feeling that they face a lack of information or misunderstandings. We tried to reconstruct your situation in the team. We are sincerely sorry, if you didn't feel well informed or somehow not appreciated by our Front Office Manager. Some aspects are daily business for us which may cause explanations to be a little shorter. In this case, our guests are always welcome to ask questions. Unfortunately, that might just have been a misunderstanding. So that you also get to know our point of view, we have tried to work out an explanation for this situation again. We are required to check the card at check-in according to our specifications. This is because of credit card security reasons, also for your own/our guest's safety, so that no one has the opportunity to make bookings with a foreign credit card. We are sorry for the confusion and hope that the solution was also adequate for you then. Another option that our Front Office Manager also offered you, would have been to get a credit on the card and pay directly at the front desk. But we hope you were satisfied with the first option and it didn't cause any problems. Therefore you are always welcome to write us an e-mail with further feedback or suggestions for improvement. We hope that we have now presented the system a bit more transparent and I will, of course, forward your experience. Anyway, it would be great, if you also faced some positive experiences and we would be happy, to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Great localisation, close to underground, friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

krzymar Family - 15/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

As outlined in the title, the hotel localisation is really great. This is within a walking distance to the Inner Stadt of Vienna and 2 min walk to the underground station. The people who work in the hotel are making your stay a pleasure. All our questions were answered. I definitely recommend this hotel anyone and I will be coming bak when visiting Vienna.

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your great feedback and for being our guest. It is always great to receive such kind comments and I will also share them with my colleagues. We are happy that you especially liked the location and our team. We hope that we provided you a wonderful time in Vienna and at Novotel Wien City. Our doors are always open for your next stay. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

VERY LOW LEVEL OF MANAGEMENT

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

alfa986 Family - 14/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Dirty room. They did not leave enough shampoo and soap and no coffee at all every day in the room. Unpolite and rude staff in the reception. Very weak management, as the manager looks that she does not control the staff. NO respect for customers...

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and your impressions with us. We hope that you had a good time in Vienna despite those inconveniences. First of all, let me express my sincere apologies for any uncomfortable situation and for not fulfilling your expectations. It shouldn't occur that our guests feel uncomfortable due to a lack of cleanliness. I will definitely share your comments with our housekeeping team. We also talked about your review and your experiences with our general manager. Obviously, there has been a misunderstanding during your stay. Unfortunately, as you had the experience that the amenities were forgotten to replenish or were in too less, our Manager wanted to send you a basket with many guest supplies as an excuse. She didn't want to disrespect you in any way, but moreover to give your stay a positive turn. We would like to apologize if you felt personally offended, but we ask for your understanding. In terms of the control of our team, our General Manager and our Deputy Manager take samples of the rooms every day, but on days with many departures and arrivals it can occur, that they focus on these rooms and can't control all of our 124 rooms. Again, we would like to apologize, if you felt disrespected our uncomfortable at any time of your stay. I will definitely share your comment with my colleagues. Nevertheless, we hope that your stay wasn't affected too negatively and that we get the chance of better serve you another time. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Very good hotel but breakfast needs a big improvement

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SananG1 Family - 07/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Excellent location, very clean and spacious rooms, very helpful and nice staff but you really need to improve the breakfast buffet. In the other Novotels we stayed,we had an amazing buffet breakfast but not here unfortunately. No variety in the warm dishes (such as pancakes, waffles, different kinds of eggs), very limited variety of cheese and the cold cuts and cheese slices that were displayed were from the previous days (i.e. dry). Besides the breakfast, we were very happy with the hotel and the lovely employees. Thank you for all your help and the beautiful experience,❤

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind words and your impressions. Moreover we are also thankful for your suggestions for improvement. We are happy, that you felt in good hands and had a wonderful time at Novotel Wien City. It is also great, that you especially liked the location, the rooms and the cleanliness. Nevertheless, let me express my sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations. I will definitely forward your comments to our restaurant team. It shouldn't occur that the breakfast affects the stay of our guests negatively. Anyway, we would like to have you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Business trip to Vienna

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Andreas D. Business - 20/06/2019 AccorHotels review

As all the last time in Vienna at Novotel Wien City - everything perfect !!

Lieber Herr D., vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr tolles Feedback, welches ich sehr gerne an unser Team weiterleite. Es freut uns, dass Sie unser Gast waren und sich sehr wohl in Wien und im Novotel Wien City gefühlt haben. Unsere Türen stehen jederzeit wieder für Sie offen. Herzliche Grüße aus Wien, Michaela Kaineder

My Stay at Novotel Wien City

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Camper22071342278 Couples - 11/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Hotel was well-situated, just 1 minute walk from Metro station and 2 stops from Stephanplatz. Hotel was clean and room size was acceptable. Service was friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel but there were a few nice cafes nearby.

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your impressions with us. We are happy, that you had a wonderful stay and would be very grateful to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder
Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 01/06/2019 AccorHotels review

Very hard bed made for poor sleep. Lack of benefits offered to us as gold members.

Dear Adrian G., thank you very much for your feedback and your impressions about your stay. First of all, let me express my sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations, especially as a Gold Member. Unfortunately, an upgrade is only possible, if a room is available. Unfortunately, an upgrade is only possible if a room is available. As the Thursday during your stay was a holiday in Austria, we were unfortunately fully booked at this time. Again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. I will also share your comments with my colleagues. Anyway, we hope that you had a good time in Vienna and at Novotel Wien City. Our doors are always open for your next stay and we will try our best to better serve you then. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

efficient business stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Chris Business - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels review

room was clean and all right - some renovation work seems to go on, which was not disturbing but there was a smell in the lobby and staircase as if it had burnt somewhere in the basement,

Sehr geehrter Herr S., wir danken Ihnen vielmals, dass Sie sich nach Ihrem Aufenthalt im Novotel Wien City die Zeit genommen haben, uns zu schreiben. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich in unseren neu renovierten Zimmern wohlgefühlt haben. Wir möchten uns aber entschuldigen, falls wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht zur Gänze erfüllen konnten. Ihre Kommentare sind deshalb für uns sehr wichtig. Leider kam es am 10. Mai 2019 zu einem Brand in unserem Hotel, weshalb wir zurzeit noch etwas unter den Folgen leiden u.a. dem Geruch. Wir hoffen aber, dass es dadurch nicht zu einer Beeinträchtigung gekommen ist. Haben Sie nochmals vielen Dank für Ihre Anmerkungen. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Michaela Kaineder

Great hotel & Great location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

76mnm Couples - 21/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

Me & my wife stay 3 nights at this hotel. The location is great 10 minutes by walking to the city center. Near to the underground train. The room was clean and very nice. The room just renovated lately. I’m definitely recommend this place

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your detailed feedback. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive comments. We are happy, that you and your family had a comfortable stay. I also shared your kind words with my colleagues. We hope to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

newly renovated, very good hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

12Valentin12 Couples - 20/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Having read the previous reviews after having already booked the Novotel City Wien, I got a bit nervous. Well, time to clear it up. Novotel is an excellent hotel. I stayed for four nights in a recently renovated room. Very clean, comfortable and spacious (room 616). No queue at breakfast in any of the four days (Thu - Sun). The food variety is really good (maybe some improvement in the hot food area is needed). Personnel was friendly and helpful. The underground parking is pretty easy to access, as there are signposts outside and a location map is made available at the hotel's reception. I feel the recent critics (dated Dec 2018 and Jan 2019) are not applicable anymore.

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for being our guest and writing such a positive review. We are really happy that you felt comfortable and had a nice stay. We hope to get the chance of welcoming you again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Nice enough, but not quite as expected

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Roving45874696796 Couples - 20/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

I was there for two nights and I have to say that all in all the place is nice. The position is great, very close to the city center and the train station that connects with the airport. The room was clean and a lot of different choices were offered at breakfast. BUT there were a few things that left me a bit puzzled: I was requested a deposit at the check-in (although I had already paid the full amount in advance), and after providing two credit cards (Maestro, Visa), it turned out that I could only pay via Mastercard. This was of course not mentioned in advanced, and really bothered me to see that they wouldn't try to find a solution. Also, the room was much smaller than expected.

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time of writing a detailed feedback. We are really sorry, that we weren't able to fulfill all of your expectations. If you have any further feedback or questions about your stay, do not hesitate to contact us via h6154-gr@accor.com. Nevertheless, we hope to have you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Good hotel but complicated parking system and poor customer service

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Jon W Couples - 10/01/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel was typical of mid range standards. The room was spacious and in good condition. However when we arrived there was no-one at reception for 5-10 minutes. This was important as the hotel parking arrangements are not nearby and you will be unlikely to find them without guidance. Even with directions, the parking garage pedestrian exits are confusing. On return we were given a parking chip that was supposed to open the doors to get to our car, but it did not work. There are several locked gates you need to get through and they are not well signposted. Reception was not very helpful when we had to return to the hotel to get access to the garage. Overall very poor attitude and customer service. Would not recommend this hotel if you bring your own car.

Dear Jon W, Thank you very much for taking time and writing us a review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expactations; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Please rest assured that we took steps to increase our customer service. We would be very happy to get the chance of welcoming you again and better serve you next time. Best regards, Magdalena Gussner, BA

Quite perfect

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Sightsee280709 Family - 08/01/2019 TripAdvisor review

GoodPostion, room comfort, sleeping , breakfast, staff, facilities, accessability, kids corner, reception areaNot GoodAccomodation for 4 person: sofa-bed not confortablebfor two kids. Room cleaning

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive review. We hope to welcome you again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Excellent trip in Wien

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Razvan A. Couples - 03/01/2019 AccorHotels review

Very good services.

Dear Razvan A., thank you very much for your feedback and your impressions. We hope you had a good time in Vienna and at Novotel Wien City. We would be grateful to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again and give our best, that you will have a good stay again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Breugel!!!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DorsetIan Couples - 11/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Stayed here to visit the Breugel exhibition, visit the Xmas markets (the one by the Rathaus, with ice skating, is amazing) and the Opera House. Hotel is well placed being near to U1 and ring trams and s clean and comfortable.

Pleasant stay in Vienna.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

AJBGDT Couples - 11/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

As many times before, this was also very pleasant stay in Novotel Vienna City Center. We noticed new style of the restaurant and also very nice decoration for Christmas. Rooms are very clean as always, although we did not insist on upgrade this time because we stayed only for one day. The staff is also very pleasant as always during our previous visits.

all good!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ivan Business - 24/11/2018 AccorHotels review

all just fine! Room, staff, procedures.

Very good hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Bazsi81 Family - 10/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

Everythig was ok. Near to the center. Helpful and friendly staff. Good and varied breakfast, clean rooms. Maybe only one small thing. For suitcases there is no enough place. But absolutelly I recommend this hotel.

Dear Bazsi81, Thank you very much for that great review! It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback. We are very much looking forward welcoming you agian. Sending my best regards, Magdalena Gussner, BA

Trip to Vienna

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Marc J Family - 07/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

The rooms were very outdated. Not normal for the other novotels that I have stayed at. Furthermore, we had a waiting time of more than 15 minutes to be allowed at the breakfast tables and they could not follow with bringing in food.

Dear Marc J, First of all I would like to thank you for taking time and writing us a review. We are very sorry not being able to meet your expactations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I am very happy to inform you that the renovation has already started and will be finished in spring 2019. We will then be very happy to get the chance of welcoming you again and better serve you next time. Best regards, Magdalena Gussner, BA
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in vienna