Hotel - Mercure Canberra
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Canberra

4.0/5 1,932 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 124.00 AUD Non member rate
From 124.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:00 - 22:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:00 - 22:30

Business services

  • 3 meeting room(s)
  • Business centre
    • Business center with support staff
    • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Modern and comfortable, yet stylishly graceful, guest rooms at Mercure Canberra manage to retain their traditional charm while providing all the modern conveniences. Guests staying at this heritage-listed Canberra hotel can choose from a variety of accommodation types, with Superior and Deluxe options available. Each room is spacious and well designed, with all the essentials and a few little luxuries. Rooms feature a modern ensuite, air conditioning with manual temperature control, a work desk and a TV.

  • 129 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 33 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Baby bed
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Printer
    • Computer
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • Full kitchen
    • Microwave in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.3/5 AccorHotels Rating 5,901 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Canberra

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,932 reviews
Jacqueline Business - 18/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Average and a bit underwhelming »

Having requested a ground floor room I was allocated a room on the top floor - I appreciate it isn't always possible to meet these requests but there were several sets of stairs to navigate. The airconditioning didn't work particularly well but most importantly the room had not been cleaned properly. One of the pillows that I took down out of the wardrobe had a very crumpled pillow case and long dark hair on it so clearly the cleaning staff had not changed it after the previous occupant. Another pillow case on the bed was also dirty and rumpled. Having previously stayed here a number of years ago I was surprised by the $10 charge to self park in the open air car park which was not mentioned in any booking materials. On the upside staff were very pleasant and the night manager helped me change the dirty pillowcases. The bed was very comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to accommodate your request for a lower floor room. It is also concerning to hear of the pillow cases being crumpled and dirty, this is not to our usual standard and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team. It is nice to see that the night manager was most helpful. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Kylie C. Business - 18/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Superb »

I loved the room and ease of everything

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kylie, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey, we appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that your stay was superb and that you loved the room. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Carol Couples - 18/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very enjoyable and comfortable »

close to the shops and close to the points of interest we wanted to see. The war Memorial particularly .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback we appreciate hearing from our guests. It is wonderful to see that you had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We are lucky to be located where we are. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Steven L. Families - 18/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« It’s our favourite place »

Always a pleasure

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Steven, Thank you for being a Loyal Accor Member, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that Mercure Canberra is your favourite place, it is always a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Donna Families - 17/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient »

Nice clean room. Convenient location

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback, we appreciate hearing from our guests. It is nice to see that you found the room clean and the hotels location convenient, we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

David Couples - 17/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Enjoyed the stay

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear David, Thank you for being a loyal Accor Member, we appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. It is lovely to see that you had an enjoyable stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Barry H. Couples - 17/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Dr Barry H. »

Very convenient hotel for the Australian War Museum and extremely comfortable. Staff very co-operative and friendly. Dawson on the front was particularly helpful when I left my small bag in the taxi - rang the taxi company and liased with them and eventually rang me to say the bag had been found. Very, very appreciative of all of his efforts. Would certainly stay at this hotel when in Canberra again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Barry, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with feedback, we appreciate hearing from our guests. It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay with our hotel, Dawson is an asset to our team and it is lovely to see him recognised for helping you. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Daryl Couples - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good experience, even if the room could do with a little refreshing »

Very friendly staff on check-in, had our room sorted promptly and advised details of the facilities and how to get to our room from the carpark. I was told parking would be $10 per night but I don't think I was charged for it - the car park was barely a third full though. The room was quite nite albeit a little dated. The bannister in the loft had a bit of movement in it and one of the bedside lamps wasn't working, although I realised eventually that the plug had been knocked and wasn't fully seated. A little bit disappointed that the louvres in the loft couldn't be adjusted or opened, so we couldn't really appreciate the loft. Breakfast was good but I would have loved getting some freshly poached eggs - many places I have been to have a chef ready to cook eggs any which way, but the buffet on offer was still acceptable. All in all I would have no issues staying here again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Daryl, Thank you for being a Loyal Accor member, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had a good experience in our hotel. It is lovely to see that you found the staff at check in were friendly. Thank you for letting us know about the bannister and the lamp in the room, we have sent our maintenance team into fix these problems, also the room is being renovated later this month. It is disappointing that you weren't able to appreciate the loft rooms due to the loves not being adjustable, Hopefully this is something we can look at fixing. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you were unable to enjoy poached eggs, Please note in future when you stay with us, you can always request eggs to order with our restaurant staff, they are happy to accommodate any requests. We hope to welcome you back in the future, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Haryanto W. Families - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

Very happy especially the reception is man with good hospitality, i forgot his name,he knowledgeable and very polite. I stay 8-9 sept. Need give him recognition for excellent service

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Haryanto, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey, we appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable stay, I believe you are talking about Dawson, He is an asset to our team and I will ensure I pass on your feedback. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our property. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Gordon Friends - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent stay »

Clean, tidy, good food. Couldn't complain about anything. Allowed me to check in early.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gordon, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey, we appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had an excellent stay and everything was clean and tidy. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Jason Business - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable Stay »

Centrally located accommodation with good bistro restaurant attached. Welcome drink provided. Limited mini bar which could be improved.Overpriced parking at $10- for common open hotel car park which should be complimentary especially for Accor members.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jason, Thank you for being a loyal Accor member, we appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey, We appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the food in the bistro. Thank you for your suggestions on the minibar and parking, I will bring these suggestions to senior management. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Malcolm D. C. Couples - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Confortable and convenient for the purposes of our stay. »

Quite good, except that it was marred by a most unfortunate booking-in experience upon arrival. An on-line book-in for 3:00pm was made in advance, only to arrive at Reception at 3:50pm to find the room not yet ready for occupation. Furthermore, it was 4:23pm before the key could be issued. After a fairly long drive, this was most disappointing. The reception staff were apologetic and provided free car parking as a gesture of goodwill, which was appreciated, however, that could not compensate for the delay in getting settled into the allocated room. No reason for the delay could be given, except that 'the room wasn't yet ready!' Presumably it had not been cleaned or made up.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Malcolm, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with feedback on your stay, we appreciate hearing from our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in getting you into your room, we completely understand that this is inconvenient and most frustrating. You are correct there should have been a better explanation for the delay, I believe the room was waiting on linen to go into the room, there is no excuse for the delay and we are truly sorry that you were effected by this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention in writing. It is nice to see that you still had a comfortable stay despite the delay. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Very D. C. Couples - 15/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Housekeeping staff not trained in c. service. . »

We had confirmation with reception for a late check out because of a long trip and very late checkin.. But cleaning staff were waking us up on the hour three times after we've indicated that. Also on third knock gave the wrong time, woke us at 10:50 and were told it was 11:50.. clearly lying to get us out way before our agreed check out time. Struggling with fiur bags on the staircase with no lifts, one staff just looked and ignored us. c. service initially good with checkin reception totally wiped out by this unsatisfactory non-caring and untrained and un- willing service response from other hotel staff. Not a nice experience at all.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Leonor, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback, we appreciate hearing from our guests. It is disappointing and concerning to hear of your experience with our housekeeping team. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received from our housekeeping department. I will be sure to bring your feedback to our housekeeping manager. It is nice to see that the reception staff were good on arrival. Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we appreciate you letting us know where we can improve. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Dr S. K. Couples - 15/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very lovely stay »

Absolutely stellar service from the team. Lovely room. Special offers to be given to Rosa who was a superstar to us.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Saleh, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests. It is wonderful to see that you had an absolutely stellar experience, We agree Rosa is a rockstar and a true asset to our company. We hope that you settle in Australia well and that we will get to welcome you back to our property in the future. Thank you for your lovely feedback. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Narelle S. Friends - 15/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Clean and comfortable rooms »

Room was clean and comfortable. Close to the restaurants and parking. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Narelle, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback, We appreciate hearing from our guests. It is wonderful to see that you had a comfortable stay with us, it is lovely to see that you found the staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Anonymous Business - 14/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Disappointing. »

Our room, no.103, was tiny and freezing cold. Had to ask at reception for a heater. Previous stay was in 305, a nice comfortable room, so we didn't expect such a bad room this time. Food in Bistro was excellent again, main reason we came back. Also, on booking in we were told there would be a $10 parking fee, not explained when we booked our room. Water hammer noise and door and floor-walking noise from other rooms during the night.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay due to the size, warmth, noise in the room. I have placed a note in your profile to ensure that you receive a superior room in future if the room type is available. It is disappointing to hear that the heating was not working properly in the room, I have passed on your feedback to our maintenance team to look into. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you found with the room we can now look at improving the room. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your meal in our Bistro and that it is a reason to come back. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Bronwyn H. Friends - 14/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice relaxing stay. »

Friendly,helpful staff.Very handy location with everything close by.Very pleased to be able to dine at our Hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Bronwyn, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. we appreciate hearing from our guests. It is wonderful to see that you had a relaxing stay and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We are lucky to be located where we are, it is very convenient to most sites in Canberra. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Anonymous Solo - 14/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mostly very good »

The room was comfortable, the food in the bistro very nice, staff very friendly. My only complaint was there was could in the grouting in the shower in the bathroom which I cleaned off the best I could with some Dettol wipes that I carry and the sink in the bathroom had a grungy film covering the whole plughole which also looked like mould so I also cleaned that as well. I don't like making complaints but this could cause issues for anyone with any respiratory problems or cause them to flair.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Susan, Thank you for being a Loyal Accor member we appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. It is lovely to see that you had a comfortable stay and that the staff were very nice and friendly. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness of the bathroom, thank you for bringing this to our attention I will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping manager. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Jo F. Business - 14/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« AWESOME »

it was absolutely wonderful, the place was beautiful & definitely are going back

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Joanne, Thank you for being a Loyal Accor member, we appreciate your loyalty, thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey and providing us with your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had an awesome stay and that you will definitely be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Anonymous Business - 13/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great hospitality and cleanliness »

Staff were extremely friendly and breakfast was top nosh.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our survey we appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the staff were extremely friendly. It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Callista Notridge Assistant Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 124.00 AUD Non member rate
From 124.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates