Hotel - The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel
Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel

4.5/5 3,778 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 765000.00 IDR Non member rate
From 765000.00 IDR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Babysitting on request
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • YOGYAKARTA INTL AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Currency exchange
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
  • Rafting  (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycles rental
    • Darts
    • Horse riding (Nearby)
    • Karting facilities (Nearby)
    • Table tennis (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00 - 24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00 - 24:00

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 143 rooms
  • 7 connecting rooms
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Turn down service
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Telephone in bathroom
    • Baby bed
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • High speed transmission line
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.5/5 AccorHotels Rating 2,620 reviews

Our guest reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,778 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2018
Anonymous Business - 18/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Extraordinary »

Room very well but to far from de entrance. Excellent buffet and carta Magnífic swimming pool Excellent tretment from personal

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. FCG, Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We're glad that you loved the well appointed room, excellent buffet, magnificent swimming pool, and excellent treatment from the staff members. We cannot wait to give you another exceptional experience. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Sue G. Couples - 16/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Wonderful! »

We enjoyed the pool, the gym, spa and service

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. SG, Thank you for taking the time writing such a wonderful experience you had at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that you enjoyed the pool, gym, spa and service. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future for a more memorable experience. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Darryl D. Couples - 15/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Room was OK but pool was poorly managed and caged birds are inappropriate »

The historic property is lovely and the staff were friendly, but fixing two problems would make this better. First, having caged songbirds by the pool is very sad -- please free these birds -- it is no longer appropriate to have animals in cages at hotels. Second, the pool could not be used because all the lounge chairs had towels on them -- only about 15 people actually there, but about 15 other chairs with just towels. I asked the pool towel boy to clear some, but he was not comfortable to do so -- when other guests are selfish and "hog" chairs with towels when they leave, it is unfair to all the other guests, and it is the responsibility of the hotel to manage this problem -- even a sign or a kind reminder from the pool staff would solve this.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. DLD, We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It's nice to learn that you loved the hotel building as well as the friendly staff. We do understand your concern for the caged birds (Tekukur) which was actually a homey bird and has become part of Javanese culture and society. It cannot survive in the wild and needs people to take care of them. Please rest assured that we no longer keep them in the hotel area, so thank you for your constructive feedback. We will further review your concern about the need to manage towels on the swimming pool lounge chairs that were left by some guests to ensure that other guests can use some spaces and have comfortable experience. Thank you for helping us perform better and it is our hope to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Weina S. Friends - 13/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Awesome! »

Hotel is so beautiful. Staff was friendly, room was beautiful as well. Will stay here again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. SWBMS, Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us! We are so happy learning that you enjoyed the beautiful hotel building, friendly staff, and beautiful room. Thank you for putting us as priority whenever your travels bring you back to Yogyakarta. We hope to have you here again soon! Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Jude W. Couples - 13/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely hotel historical feel and extra friendly service »

Loved this hotel with its friendly helpful staff Great breakfasts and lovely pool and surroundings.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. JW, Thank you for showing your love for this hotel along with the staff members, great breakfasts, and lovely pool. We are pleased knowing that you really had a memorable stay and it is our hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Rob H. Business - 13/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely "old world charm"! »

First stay in this hotel, the staff were very friendly and it was a lovely change to be escorted to the room. Very helpful with local travel requests.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. RH, A big thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and sharing your memorable moments. We are happy knowing that you enjoyed the service from the staff members, old world charm atmosphere, and helpful travel requests. It is our hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your loyalty. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Steven C. Couples - 13/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr steven c. »

The front desk, doesnt know what she to do best for the hotel. I try to book direct to the hotel, instead giving me the same price or lower than online agency. She gave me higher price, i know the hotel will get deducted 15-20% from the agency. So its kinda ridicolous that she ask me to book from the agent. We'll i ended up book a suite room, when i was ordering gojek(3rd parties food delivery) the hotel wont assist the goods to the room. We'll theres no point that the hotel wouldnt assist the goods to the room, it just making the guest uncomfortable to go the way down to lobby. Thanks

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. SC, We very much appreciate your constructive feedback about your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the lack of helpfulness from our staff when assisting your reservation. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address this matter. Apologies for the inconvenience regarding the order you made outside of the hotel as corkage will be applied in accordance to hotel policy. We look forward to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Jane Families - 11/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice »

Very good staff friendly, food good, rooms great

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. JEW, We would like to take this chance to thank you for staying here and thank you for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to learn that you really had a good stay with us. We however noticed that you were disappointed with your first room and you needed to wait for two days before we could eventually move you to the Deluxe Pool View room. It is true that during high season our pool view rooms are mostly sold out. Since you booked the room through a travel agency, it is possible to send them an inquiry for a pool view room so that we are able to arrange that for you. It is our hope to be able to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Couples - 11/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Phoenix Hotel Jogjakarta »

We returned to the Phoenix after a quick trip to Malaysia and it was just like coming home. In fact our welcome card said exactly that. The staff make all the difference here. They are attentive, professional and still have time to talk to you and make you feel very welcome. We will stay here from now on for that very reason. The staff are friendly and speak English well. The hotel will meet your every expectation and the variety and quality of food is wonderful. The chefs even come out to see if you have enjoyed their food. And when my husband mentioned to the ops manager what his favourite local breakfast food was. .... It appeared every morning in front of him as a special order. We were treated like VIPs the whole time. On our return the next morning the same breakfast was presented again as they remembered it from our previous visit. After a slight issue with our laundry their driver delivered it to our next address promptly the next day. BEAT THAT!MGallery a chain that treats you like royalty. Highly recommended ☺

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear 855anita, It is an honor to welcome you home and we can't thank you enough for sharing your memorable experiences. It was truly our pleasure serving you and we're glad that we met your every expectation from attentive staff to good food. We cannot wait to welcome you back home for another exceptional experience. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager

Anonymous Business - 10/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice, but kind of gloomy ambiance »

Overall, my stay was OK. The concierge who helped me checking in was friendly, so are the housekeepers and the overall staffs. However, I am not very comfortable with the ambiance of the hotel. Although I do understand the concept of a heritage hotel, I find the statues of bride and groom in the bathroom rather spooky. And the room was kind of too dark for me (I stayed in a superior room on the first floor). And there were no stop contacts available on either side of the bed. This was kind of a problem for me because I need to be able to recharge my phone near me especially when I'm about to go to bed. But the food was pretty nice, especially the Javanese nasi goreng and the Asparagus Soup. The location was ok. So overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. AA, Thank you for writing constructive feedback following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. The statues, Loro Blonyo, put in the bathroom as amenities are respectfully one of the heritage icons of the hotel and in Javanese believe, it symbolizes prosperity and fertility. If you find it uncomfortable, please feel free to contact our housekeeping staff to remove them. We understand how important it is to have an electrical socket near the bed and we will be working on this issue to ensure guests' satisfaction is met. We already provided electrical sockets in each Deluxe/Executive/Suite room. Thank you for highlighting the friendly staff, good food, and central location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Anonymous Couples - 10/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Had a great time »

Very friendly and well trained staff. Really appriciate their wonderful hospitality. Live gamelan performance during breakfast was super great. Really enjoyed the view from the room as well. If I have chance to come to Jogja again, this hotel will be the first choice.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. YO, It was our pleasure assisting you during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and we very much appreciate your wonderful feedback! It's great that you loved the service from the well-trained staff, great live gamelan music during breakfast, and nice view of the room. Thank you for putting us a a priority for your next visit to Yogyakarta. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Couples - 07/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Pushy staff / noise »

Upon arrival the staff was pushy about all kinds of cocktail and drink menu's. From the bar staff to the bell boy in the elevator. Desperately trying to sell us all kinds of drink and wine from the bar, while we were only staying one night. Also, the 18,50 euro credit card deposit that I did not want but was obliged to make (again, while staying only one night), still has not been refunded. It was said the refund would be made within 7 days, after contact changed to 14 days, but we are now over 22 days. Then the hotel itself, although a bit outdated it is well maintained. However, the nearby mosq's speakers point directly in the rooms, hence the earplugs on the bed, so a 5 AM wake-up call is guaranteed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear lolikbenbol, We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your feedback regarding the assertive way of promoting hotel products. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issue and prevent future occurrence. We need your kind understanding that policy of asking a deposit upon check varies in every hotel and should you don't find it necessary, please feel free to pay directly to every outlet if you have any consumption. The deposit, however, will be proceeded for cancellation on the day of your departure and it will take approximately 7-14 business days according to our local bank policy. Please allow us to investigate further into this matter via email by providing your name used in the reservation, thus we can help proceed the cancellation faster. For those who seek tranquility and calmness, Deluxe Pool View rooms are suitable but thank you for helping perform better as we will improve the rooms' soundproof quality. We appreciate your shared concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Guest Experience Manager

Masitah B. Friends - 04/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Just wonderful... »

Amazing n wonderful.. Thts why I am bck here again wth another friend... n she is equally bowled over... Service.. Food.. Room.. Ambience.. Just wonderful old world charm wth a Quaint atmosphere... Will plan to stay here again on my next trip to Jogja.. God Willing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. MB, We can't thank you enough for sending us a wonderful review and most of all for coming back again. Nothing is joyful than knowing that you are happy with the service and facilities provided. We very much appreciate your kind recommendation. Hopefully your next stay will be as memorable as the previous ones. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Shb Families - 03/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Gracious old hotel with exceptional old-school service »

We had a very pleasant one night stay in this beautiful old hotel. The hotel is like an oasis of calm in the noise and jumble of buildings surrounding it in Yogyakarta. The staff were very attentive and a true asset of the hotel. Breakfast was very comprehensive and served in the lovely courtyard. Overall, we are very happy that we'd booked our stay in Yogya at The Phoenix and would recommend it.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. SB, Thank you for sharing your short yet memorable stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Thank you for giving us a chance to give you the utmost service during your short visit to Yogyakarta. We are all beyond happy learning that you loved the quaint atmosphere, attentive staff, and widespread breakfast served in a relaxing courtyard. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Nansie Families - 02/09/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« The best culturally beautiful hotel with superb services from ALL staffs »

Excellent @ will be back next year

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. NS, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel. Thank you for loving this culturally beautiful hotel and its attentive staff members. We sincerely hope your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one and we can't wait to welcome you back next year! Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Vanessa Z. Couples - 30/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« It is a pleasant experience. »

The location of the hotel is very good, near the beach and airport. The room is comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. ZY, We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to know that you found the location centrally located that gave you ease to get to the main attractions. Your feedback is surely served as an encouragement to always to better our service. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Linda Y. Families - 30/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful stay! »

Amazing stay, great facilities and friendly staff. Interior design is timeless and beautiful. Extremely good location! However there are some issues, particularly the shower. It was tricky to set a temperature and the temperature changed randomly. Apart from this, our stay was beautiful. Thank you for your hospitality.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms. LY, Thank you for taking us to learn a glimpse into your memorable stay. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the service, interior designs, and central location. Thank you for highlighting the issue you had with the shower temperature, we will surely work on it to ensure guests' experience is flawless. Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Millie P. Families - 28/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Fantastic »

Loved this characterful hotel, the amazing staff and delicious breakfasts. It was so clean and we had 2 great interconnecting rooms (we have 3 kids), one witha balcony overlooking the pool.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. GP, We thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at The Phoenix Hotel with your loved ones. How great it is knowing that you and your family had truly memorable experience here! Thank you for highlighting the characterful hotel, amazing staff, delicious breakfasts and interconnecting rooms overlooking the swimming pool. Nothing makes us happier than welcoming you back for another exceptional experience! Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Taoufiki Families - 27/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Average for an M collection hotel »

The hotel is old and wary and needs refurbishing. The Hotel staff is nice and welcoming, but slow/unwilling to handle client queries (waited 1 h to get our romm upon arrival at 2pm, Front desk refused to enable late check-out). Food choices are limited and of poor quality.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. MT, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are disappointed to learn that we have let down a valued guest due to the seemingly outdated hotel, limited food choices that are low in quality. We will share the later to our management team for further review. For your information, the building was built in 1918 and it recently turned 100 years old. We are trying our best to keep the building well maintained for guests' convenient. We apologize for the late check in you experienced when it was supposed to be ready at 2 pm in accordance with the hotel policy. Please note that late check out is subject to availability and we have been running fully booked lately, therefore it is so unfortunate that we can't provide a late check out. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Tedhi A. Families - 27/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Long check-in Time cannot be accepted »

I was staying at this hotel last week and we really disappointed with check-in process. We were driving for almost 14 hours from Jakarta - Yogyakarta and waiting for 1,5 hours for check in without any updates from the front desk. Next trip to Yogyakarta we will find another accor Group Hotel for stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. TA, We very much appreciate your shared concerns following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is sad to learn that we have disappointed you due to a long-awaited check in. Please note that our check in time is at 2 p.m and early check in is subject to availability. Lack of updates from the front desk agents is the fault on our part, please accept my sincere apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide the utmost service to each one of our guests and your feedback is truly served as an encouragement to better our service and facilities. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope we would have the chance to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 765000.00 IDR Non member rate
From 765000.00 IDR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates