Hotel - Novotel Reading Centre
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Novotel Hotel

Novotel Reading Centre Hotel

25b Friar Street  (For car parking use RG1 1NR) 
RG1 1DP  READING
UNITED KINGDOM

1,193 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,193 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 74.00 GBP Non member rate
From 66.60 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 10  GBP
  • Indoor heated pool

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 10  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • Spanish
    • Polish
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Hammam

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24hrs
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24hrs

Business services

  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

  • 178 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 10 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 15 family rooms
  • 27 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Breakfast buffet
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Novotel Reading Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,193 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 09/07/2017
« Better than Heathrow hotels »

Really handy to train station and bus stop for Railair link from Heathrow. I travelled long haul with my 2 children and wanted to stay a night before a lengthy train journey the following day. Novotel Reading was v handy and v comfortable with none of the drawbacks of the Heathrow hotels. Really lovely reception staff and pool facility. Very handy for shops and places to eat. Great breakfast buffet too.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. Thank you also for your kind comments about our team who will be delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay. I am really glad that you were pleased and enjoyed your stay with us, and that you could have a proper rest before your flight. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 27/06/2017
« Wont be back »

Arrived at NCP car park as advised by Hotel to find it charged £22 for 24 hours, I then looked for an alternative and found another NCP that was £6. when i checked in was advised that Novotel customers had discounted rates - why not put this on the website. Our room for a family of 4 was very small, much smaller than a family room at Premier Inn. After settling in went to the bar where the prices were well over-priced - 2 drinks at just under £16. After a meal in the town returned to the room around 11pm, however the noise outside (and we were 5 floors up) was unbearable, meaning that we did not get any sleep much before 5.30am. On checking out we complained to no avail, the only positive from the stay was the Breakfast. Next time it will be back to Premier Inn

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback further your stay in our hotel. I am really sorry that you found the car park expensive, but being in the town center of Reading, we recommend the NCP car park as it is the closest one. We also have our own car park but with limited spaces but it can be reserved in advance. Please do not hesitate to contact our Reception to ask. I was very sorry to hear of the disturbance you experienced during your stay and I can understand your distress. We have rooms located at the back of the hotel, which are more quiet than the front ones. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 07/06/2017
« Extremely noisy room and not so great housekeeping »

We stayed in the hotel because we needed to be close to the train station (Reading was not our intended destination). The hotel is very close to the station, 3 minutes on foot. The room was ready when we arrived even if this was at noon instead of 2PM. We got to the room and needed to air it as I do not think it has been used for a while. Tge only amenities available in the bathroom were shampoo and shower gel and nothing else. After requesting additional ones and bathrobes 3 times we received them. The one most horrible thing was how loud the room was. The road in front of the hotel is very circulated but the windows of the room were almost useless (to give you an idea, we could hear a pigeon outside of our window...pigeons are not loud birds). The last thing I have to mention is the housekeeping: the room had not been dusted in a while (cupboards and below the sink tablet), when they came they took two towels and left one instead and amenities were added only every other day. I am also wondering if the bedsheets should have been changed because we stayed for 4 nights and they weren't.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Iona, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am very sorry to hear of the disturbance you experienced as a result of the noise coming from outside; and I can certainly understand the distress caused to you. For your own comfort it is worth bearing in mind that hotel staff are available around the clock to assist you with any problems you may encounter. In this situation it may have been possible to offer you an alternative room or rectify the issues immediately, to ensure you a more comfortable stay. We promise our guests a good night’s rest and I apologize that we failed in this instance. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel in the future Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 04/06/2017
« Not Exec »

We were moved to an Executive room because the TV kept losing the picture. The room was slightly bigger with windows at each end which was nice. The service was not exec at all. The milk was not replaced for 2 out of 3 days. The last day the biscuits and the posh coffee weren't replaced either. I asked for some non-decaff and was given decaff so had to go down to reception twice to rectify this. I hadn't noticed the lack of biscuits then and couldn't be bothered to go down for the 3rd time. The tissues in the bathroom weren't replaced either. Enjoyed the swimming pool for all of 15 minutes before it was overun with children larking about.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am really sorry that some items were missing in your room, and please let me assure you that I have spoken to my Head Housekeeper to make sure this does not happen again. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Michielek Family - 22/05/2017
« very pleasant service-oriented super location hotel! »

after small hick-ups at the start (2nd room not ready despite late check-in) the hotel and staff confirmed the Novotel experience with service, quality, pleasure and fine food + facilities! very central in Reading and also affordable option if you plan to explore beyond London (Oxford, Windsor, Legoland, Harry Potter studios,...); and Reading itself is worth a visit too!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Michielek, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am really glad that you were pleased and enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 18/05/2017
« Room for improvement »

Access to car park (in Garard St) was very confusing as the street was blocked one end.After a second phone call to the hotel we found car park. Then having to drag cases up a cobbled lane, not very easy for the older traveler. Perhaps a drop off point in front of hotel would improve the situation and encourage return customers.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rosalind, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I was sorry about the trouble you had finding the NCP car park, as Reading being a one way system is indeed not easy to access. We have our own car park - only few spaces though available on a first com first served basis, or you can reserve it in advance by contacting the hotel. the cost is £14 for 24 hrs, and you can come in and out as you wish. I am really glad that you were pleased and enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
lesleyyounge Business - 14/05/2017
« Good stay »

Excellent staff, Especially the manager Arnaud, but all staff friendly and professional. Having the pool and gym area makes for a more relaxing time than usual on work trips. Tapas made by the staff in the bar area really good

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. Thank you also for your kind comments about Arnaud who will be delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay. I am really glad that you were pleased and enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Business - 25/04/2017
« Location is excellent »

This hotel has a very strategic location. If you come from outside of Reading / England, then to get to this hotel from train station just walk 3 minutes. Many bus stops with destinations in the Reading area in front of the hotel. Around the hotel there are also many restaurants, supermarkets and groceries shops so you do not have to worry about spending time outside the hotel. For the hotel staff is quite good, friendly and patient especially for me who come from outside England. One point that needs to be improved is the availability of laundry bag in the room, where some time I want to laundry, I should ask for the bag first to the hotel receptionist. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my co-workers if there is a business meeting in Reading.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I make a note of your comments regarding the laundry bags in the rooms, and I will take the necessary actions with the Housekeeping team. I am really glad that you were pleased and enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 22/04/2017
« One night stay before Legoland »

We arrived on bank holiday Monday at 4 pm and were made very welcome. I booked a room for myself, my wife and my 2 children at 10am, and on arrival the reception staff upgraded us free to an executive room. All the staff were fantastic. I always try to book into Novotel wherever I go. Room was spotless, we used the pool and sauna etc - all clean and well staffed. 5 star facilities and service at budget prices!!!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Richard M, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I'm glad our team helped you out, and you enjoyed a complimentary upgrade. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager

TripAdvisor certified review
Business - 10/04/2017
« All was perfect except housekeeping »

I was disappointed that my room was not attended to on my second day (bed not made, no towels). The towel service was not good. On my last day, housekeeping left cleaning towels laying in the bathroom

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Reading Centre very soon. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

TripAdvisor certified review
Business - 03/04/2017
« The Best Hotel in Reading »

Always got excellent services while stay in Reading at this hotel, especially for Mr. Arnoud one of your staff always have solution for fulfill our convenience. this hotel always improve their service for satisfy all guest. As I know right now, I think novotel Reading is the best hotel in this city.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. I will let Arnaud know about your comments, and he will be delighted to know you were happy with his service. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Friends getaway - 22/02/2017
« Wonderful Comfortable Stay »

We had a room for three. The sofa bed was a decent size and very comfortable. The room was clean and well equipped. The facilities were fab and room service was responsive and timely. The staff here are amazing. They could not do enough for us during our stay. The breakfast was great and all in all at £99 for the room between 3, including breakfast it was amazing value. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rachael, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 02/02/2017
« Noisy groups spoil enjoyment for others »

Overall only downside to our stay was the noise from rooms above and on same floor of large groups that were loud and rowdy well into early hours of the morning. Otherwise location great, pool and facilities no complaints and staff friendly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Leena Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am really sorry your experience did not match with your expectations, and that you were disturbed as the result of inconsiderate behavior of other guests. While we make every effort to ensure that guests conduct themselves in a manner so as to not disturb other guests, it is unfortunate that, on this occasion, this was not respected. Please let me assure you we are taking the appropriate measures to avoid this to happen again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre

TripAdvisor certified review
M2884CCanthonyd Couples - 31/01/2017
« good value for money »

Never disappointed with Novotel. Rooms are clean. Bed is comfortable. Bathroom is great as you have a choice to shower or bath. Breakfast is great. Large selection to choose from. Great deals via the accorhotel website. would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 29/01/2017
« Comfortable and handily sited »

We stayed for two separate nights in room 1304, on our way to and from Heathrow. Hotel is very handy for the town centre and the rail station. Bed was comfortable. Separate toilet was curiously sited. Staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant food and service were good - particularly impressed with breakfast. Only drawback - the difficulty of parking to exit a taxi, and/or finding the hotel carpark!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lord Saltash, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. To access our hotel we recommend the post code RG1 1NR, which is the NCP car park in Garrard street, our car park if further along on the right hand side, as you see the Novotel sign. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
sundayoladirana Family - 02/01/2017
« Value for money »

Me and my family enjoy our time with no problem at all . everything work well in the rooms that we stay. The breakfasts was great eat as much you can eat, the location of the hotel was superb in the earth of Reading.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Cliff160814 Family - 23/12/2016
« Best centre of town to stay »

We use the hotel in Reading a few times a year sometimes as a family visit to visit family in the area. The hotel is hard working and very good and their staff are excellent. Helpful and very proffesional.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Cliff, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Business - 27/11/2016
« Clean and Tidy »

I stayed here as I needed to be in the centre of Reading. The hotel was in a great location, being just around the corner from the Train Station. The staff were helpful. The room was clean and modern looking and everything worked well. I was on the top floor, where it was quiet and I had a good night's sleep.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Rodrigo J Business - 27/11/2016
« Perfect location »

I stayed two nights at this Novotel. Nice and friendly staff. Very close to the train station and workplace. Minus was the carpet and no slippers available. The web reservation and check-out is a plus. Mist though the automatic invoice.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rodrigo, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

TripAdvisor certified review
Solo travel - 19/11/2016
« Perfect Hotel »

I had such a lovely stay here - the staff were friendly. My room was very large and had a wonderful coffee maker and amazing amenities. I love the swimming pool and steam room and sauna - great place to unwind and relax. The breakfast was hot, fresh and delicious.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel Reading Centre.

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 74.00 GBP Non member rate
From 66.60 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 0 m ibis Reading Centre (new ibis rooms)
ibis Reading Centre (new ibis rooms) Hotel
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 46.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 240 m Mercure George Hotel Reading
Mercure George Hotel Reading
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 330 m ibis Styles Reading Centre (NOW OPEN)
ibis Styles Reading Centre (NOW OPEN) Hotel
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 46.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 2.5 km ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd Hotel
From
From 44.10 GBP Non member rate
From 41.90 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in READING
See rates