Hotel - Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Sofitel Hotel

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel

61-101 Phillip Street 
2000  SYDNEY
AUSTRALIA

5,545 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 5,545 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 224.00 AUD Non member rate
From 224.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • KINGSFORD SMITH
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • French
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Currency exchange
    • Beauty salon
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
    • Hairdressing salon
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 14 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Business centre
    • Business center with support staff
    • Self service business centre
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Combining luxurious comfort and elegant design, guest rooms at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth offer a spacious, tranquil haven to the most discerning of travellers. Guests searching for Sydney hotels can choose from a range of accommodation styles at this exceptional hotel, with Superior, Luxury, Luxury Club and various suite options available. Each room features the supremely comfortable Sofitel MyBed, a large bathroom with marble floors and tiles, robe and slippers, and a TV with cable and pay channels.

  • 436 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 15 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Data port in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Phone with 2 handsets in room
    • Crib on request
    • WIFI in your room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 5,545 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
TripAdvisor review
Roger C Couples - 12/08/2017
« Post poned stay due to illness »

My wife was ill so I called and postponed our stay to a Friday night in September when we are already staying the Saturday night. Unfortunately I was hit with higher costs for the Friday night stay as they had to upgrade us to Superior room as they didn't have a Classic room available, but I could of lost the whole night so I paid the extra $60 plus lost our breakfast which had previously been included. BUT then I was told I have to pay an extra $40 for an upgrade to a similar room on the Saturday plus lose the breakfast which was included. I have since checked my early booking and I was already in the upgraded room SO I'M NOT VERY HAPPY AND INTEND TO TAKE THIS UP WITH THE HOTEL UPON ARRIVAL. I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER FOR MANY YEARS AND STAY AT THIS HOTEL ONCE OR TWICE A YEAR SO I AM NOT HAPPY. THE NIGHT WE HAD TO POSTPONE WE COULDN'T ATTEND THE TEN TENORS SO LOST THE COST OF THE TICKETS AS WELL SO DON'T EXPECT THIS PERSON TO TURN UP WITH A SMILE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour Roger, It was very disappointing to read your experience and we would like to assist you with your upcoming stay. Could you please contact our Director of Guest Relations on h3665-gr@sofitel.com so she can personally address any issues concern and ensure that we assist you with your reservations. We look forward to your response. We will ensure that we assist you and for you and your wife to have a 'Magnifique' experience. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
kaiserng1966 Couples - 05/08/2017
« Value for money »

Convenient location with walking distance to many iconic and sight-seeing places. The staff is warm and friendly. The bed is very comfortable and the food in the restaurant is tasty. My wife and I are highly satisfied.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour Valued Guest, It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about our Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoy your stays with us. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the Sofitel 'My Bed'which is a feature in Sofitel luxury hotels worldwide. Once again, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future. Thanks and Kindest Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Business - 03/08/2017
« Noisy »

Overall a pleasant enough stay, but the hot water service from the room next door was extremely loud and woke me up both mornings. The room was near the lifts which also created a lot of noise. The bathroom doors are also very awkward.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour Christopher, Thank you for sharing your experience. As mentioned to you, I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had regarding the hot water service. I have shared your concerns with our Chief Engineer who is trying to ressolve this. For your next stay, I would like to offer you with a complimentary upgrade. Please let me know when you will be standing so I can personally organize this for you. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay! Thanks and Kindest Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Family - 28/07/2017
« Perfect stay in Sydney »

The amazing staff at the Sofitel is what made a wonderful stay even better. We stayed two nights at the Sofitel. The reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. We also enjoyed room service and the buffet breakfast during our stay. The Mushroom soup was to die for, and my husband and daughter rated the scrambled eggs at breakfast as they best they had ever had! We walked straight down Phillip Street and found ourselves in the middle of Circular Key! Absolutely loved this hotel. Thank you for making us feel incredibly spoiled.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 29/06/2017
« Great location; great staff; tired room »

It's a people business and the Sofitel Wentworth team are testament to that. Despite the gloomy room itself (with its single arrow slit window) everything else about our stay was comfortable, gracious and relaxing. PS Can someone help Accor sort out their in-room television picture quality?

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I will share your comments about the TV picture quality with our Chief Engineer. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Business - 25/06/2017
« Outstanding customer service »

Sofitel Wentworth is a majestic hotel and you always feel special when you stay there. From the moment you walk in to the foyer and see the beautiful chandeliers and flowers and the greeting from the concierge and reception staff. Food and service are always of a high standard

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 22/06/2017
« Luxurious hotel, great city location, very dedicated and friendly staff »

A grand hotel providing guests with a very indulgent personalised experience. The very professional staff in all areas of the hotel are hugely dedicated to making you very extremely valued as a guest. The Club Sofitel is a unique and special experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 20/06/2017
« Short stay. »

Excellent short stay from the moment we entered the hotel lobby and until we checked out. Staff, hotel staff and room were superb. We have used the Wentworth a number of times for city functions and it never fails to impress.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback and your loyalty. I am delighted that you had a good stay. We look forward to have you back next time you are in Sydney. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 19/06/2017
« Room small, staff very friendly and responsive, constant greetings in French very annoying! »

This was our Accor reward night. I had advised the hotel it was my partner's birthday and on check-in we were upgraded to a Superior Room. The room was small and unimpressive. My partner received a birthday card but there was no bottle of wine for his birthday celebration which we have received in other hotels on similar occasions. The TV picture was very blurred on all channels. When we reported this to reception, someone came to our room straight away but couldn't fix it and it was too late to call a technician. The duty manager offered us complimentary breakfast as compensation (bearing in mind that as Accor members we would only have paid 50% anyway). The staff were very friendly and responsive but we were irritated when they kept greeting us in French.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. It is disappointing to read about your underwhelming experience and that we did not make your partners birthday a special occasion. I have passed on your comments regarding the TV reception to our Engineering team. As the only French hotel in Sydney we are proud of providing our guests with a product and service with a unique French touch. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the French greeting. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 18/06/2017
« Syndey Gem »

Excellent location in CBD. Close to St James Station and easy access to Sydney Mascot Airport via train (domestic and international) and also to Wynyard station. Short walk to Circular Quay and Opera House. Quiet of an evening , a little noise up to 10:00pmon Friday nights with some pop up bars on the office buildings below.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the noise. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 16/06/2017
« A brief stay that left us wanting more! »

This was an overnight stay in a Club room after a cruise ending in Sydney and before we flew home. It was planned to allow us to see some of the Vivid festival and was perfectly placed go get around a good variety of the sights. It was also the most comfortable stay, in terms of environment and atmosphere. The staff are the most helpful, professional and friendly that you could hope for. One issue in our room, affected by renovations nearby, was dealt with in person by the Duty Manager extremely promptly moving us to an even better room, and this minimized the impact during our stay allowing us to complete our Vivid experience without worries. That is, when we could tear ourselves away from the room and Club lounge! We have accessed the Club Lounge before and it always offers something new and different. On this occasion, an afternoon tea finger sandwich stood out: simple egg sandwich, but within it was laid a stream of crunchy bacon bits that you only knew about once biting into it and the flavour and freshness of it were amazing. Needless to say, we will surely be staying at the Sofitel Wentworth on our next Sydney stay - but next time will plan for a longer stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Vivid truly is something special and I am glad to hear you got to enjoy it as well as enjoying our Club Sofitel. I will pass on your comments about the food to our kitchen team. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Family - 16/06/2017
« 5 Star Luxury »

We are regular guests of the Sofitel Wentworth and our latest stay was exceptional. The Executive Club Lounge is one of the best in Australia and you feel like a VIP every time you walk in. The service and food throughout the hotel were second to none. And that is why we keep coming back time after time to this wonderful hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations on your last visit. I will ensure that your comments are shared with all our ambassadors. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 15/06/2017
« Sydney pre cruise stay »

Enjoyed a wonderful day and evening at The Wentworth. Great food, service & exceptional Piano Bar performance by Kylie Stephens on Saturday night. Non stop music for over 2 hours just magic. John Geisker

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank yo so much for your feedback. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 15/06/2017
« EXCELLENT HOTEL »

We love the Wentworth. This is our second visit and it didn't fail. We arrived on Sunday of the long weekend and like most people wanted to indulge ourselves in the magnificent Sydney Vivid 2017. The hotel was booked out and our room wasn't quite ready so we were given vouchers to have a drink in the bar but decided to have coffee instead. We were shown to a seat and then basically forgotten about, apart from getting water. We sat for ages trying to catch the eye of one of the staff to place our order. Finally grabbed someone and then waited for what seemed a lifetime for our coffees. I had to ask for sugar as none on the table. I also requested hot milk on the side for the long black and it came cold, so sent it back. It was heated by the barista and then left on the bar so I had to get it myself. We were happily chatting to the couple next to us (they were also from Newcastle) and when they finally decided it was time to leave, we were asked by a waiter if we could move to the next table as they wanted to reserve the two tables for other house guests (who never showed up the whole time we were there). Time for more coffee and again had trouble getting served and this time we ordered a small food platter. Again waited ages for our coffee and when mine arrived it was luke warm, so I asked for another. We drank our coffees and still no food so assumed they had forgotten but finally it arrived. I looked around for a serviette and had to walk up to the bar and get them myself. I realised that two of the food items required a teaspoon so again had to search out for a waiter. When she arrived I asked if it was a 'self-serve' area and pointed out all the problems - no sugar, no serviettes, no cutlery, luke warm coffee. It wasn't her fault but all the staff. We weren't at all impressed with this experience but when we returned next day it was much quieter and service had returned to what we expected. Finally able to check in to our room and James was the most polite and helpful person we could have wished for. He saved the Hotel from a major embarrassment. He never stopped smiling and was hugely courteous. Our room was great, clean and the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast next morning was terrific. Irrespective of the issues in the bar, we will continue to return to the Wentworth.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received in Soiree before you checked in, it is unacceptable and not up to our usual high service standards. Your comments have been passed on to the Soiree Manager so improvements can be made. I am delighted that even though your stay started off badly you ended up having a great stay and I will ensure that all your positive feedback is shared with all ambassadors. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Amanda210709 Family - 15/06/2017
« Nice stay »

The Sofitel Wentworth is beautiful however there were three of us and we had to ask housekeeping every day for third towel and only got two waters. We hung out towels up but they were still taken each day and only replaced with two. We stayed on the long weekend and it was very busy but the service in Soiree was a little slow. We were given a complimentary drink which was lovely of the manager. The Concierge are fantastic.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback. Please accept my apologies for not providing you and your friends with enough towels and waters. I will share your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time you visit Sydney. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 14/06/2017
« Vivid Stay »

Great Breakfast, very noisy room guess when it is a cheap rate that is what happens to get the worst room , beautiful hotel, expensive parking, nice breakfast staff and reception. great location. Would have been nice to have a quieter room to get some sleep, next to lift very noisy.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We do not allocate rooms based on the rate paid, rooms are allocated according to the room type booked. I apologies that you did not enjoy your room and that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Business - 13/06/2017
« Nothing to fault »

This is a classic older Sydney property excellently maintained and presented. Accor does this level venue well and the Wentworth is no exception. From a light meal in the downstairs bar with the buzz of a Friday night crowd to the well provisioned breakfast - food options worked out well. Room was of high standard. Inclusions were more than adequate.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you very much for your feedback. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 13/06/2017
« Great Sydney Trip »

Good location to get to Vivid attractions. A very quiet hotel room which is hard to find these days. Great breakfast with lots to choose from. All staff were friendly and helpful. Will have to come back for the night of the piano bar.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Grant B Business - 12/06/2017
« Comfortable, Central Location »

I have stayed at the Sofitel Wentworth on a number of occasions and find it to be a very comfortable hotel. Upon entering the lobby, the service and friendly smile offered by the Concierge is pleasant and inviting. Fresh flowers and soft music present the feeling of a quality hotel without being hectic. The Garden Room for breakfast is peaceful and relaxing serving traditional, tasty and healthy food choices plus good coffee. All staff welcome you with a traditional French "Bonjour"

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Craig Reaume General Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 09/06/2017
« Sofitel Sydney Wentworth »

A great place to stay as very convenient to all amenities. Had a free welcome drink at reception on arrival/ The staff were very friendly and checkin was easy. Had a free wine before going out to see Vivid. Staff very friendly and rooms very comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. Kind Regards, Craig Reaume General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 224.00 AUD Non member rate
From 224.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 530 m Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour Hotel
From
From 350.10 AUD Non member rate
From 350.10 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 580 m Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
From
From 278.00 AUD Non member rate
From 278.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 700 m Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery by Sofitel
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 242.10 AUD Non member rate
From 242.10 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 720 m Swissôtel Sydney
Swissôtel Sydney
From
From 214.00 AUD Non member rate
From 214.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in SYDNEY
See rates