Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square Hotel 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 3,646 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

806 15th Street NW
20005
washington, d.c.
united states

Tel: +12027308800

Fax: (+1)2027038440

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • MC PHERSON SQUARE :   BLUE/ORANGE MCPHERSON SQUARE

  • By plane

    BALTIMORE-WASHINGTON INTL APT At 51.49km / 32 miles

  • By plane

    DULLES INTL AIRPORT At 41.84km / 26 miles

  • By plane

    RONALD REAGAN NATIONAL AIRPORT At 6.44km / 4 miles

  • By train

    UNION STATION At 2km / 1.24 miles

GPS :38.900385, -77.033594

Our accommodations

Guest rooms and suites at our Washington DC luxury hotel include exquisite furnishings and vibrant artwork, blending Art Deco with modern chic. Each marble bathroom within our downtown DC luxury hotel has a glass-enclosed shower and separate bathtub.

SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 king-size bed, working area

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 34
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

LUXURY ROOM - 1 king-size bed, large working area, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 37
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

SUPERIOR ROOM - 2 double beds, working area

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 37
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, 1 pull-out sofa bed, large working area, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: From 42
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

1 King Bed - ADA accessible, interior view

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 40
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king-size bed, sitting area with pull-out sofa, interior view

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 39
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

JUNIOR SUITE EXECUTIVE - 1 king-size bed, pull-out sofa in separate living room area

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 44
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 king-size bed, pull-out sofa in separate living room area, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 56
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

PRESIDENTIAL SUITE - 1 king-size bed, pull-outsofa in separate living room area, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 167
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

Opaline Bar and Brasserie

Type of cuisine: French

Opaline Bar and Brasserie serves classic French with a Washington DC twist. Located steps away from the White House and other monuments our all-day menu includes: Oysters on the Half Shell, Boudin Blanc, Steak Frites, Rattatouille and other classics.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 150

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 170 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.6/5

10,571 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,646 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Friendly and accommodating

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jon Z. Business - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Room very consistent with prior stays. I checked in somewhat early and front desk person asked if room with two doubles was okay since that was available. I agreed. Recognized that I had stayed with you many times in the past.

Okay, not at the same level of other Sofitel properties

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 10/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Food was average to good. Cleaning threw away some of my papers and other things they shouldn't. Room is well designed

Dear Willian S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Professional and strong customer service

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 10/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The front desk attendants were extremely professional and kind. I enjoyed engaging with them.

Thank you Alicia for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am very pleased to hear that you received extremely professional and kind service from the team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. A bientot! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 10/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The room was ready went I arrived at noon, a good start. As I was working, I noticed the AC was not cooling the room. The front desk sent a number of maintenance folks up to fix the AC. All very polite and made several attempts to get the AC to blow cold. They were able to get the room to a just barely comfortable temp due a larger problem with a chiller on the roof. Had it been summer , I would have changed rooms. THe staff was helpful through out.

excellent

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Rosa G. B. Business - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

very clean and quite. very comfortable room and big bathroom very nice waiters

Thank you Rosa Giovanna for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us and that your accommodations were very clean, comfortable, and spacious, and that the team at Opaline was very nice. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as excellent as the previous one. A bientot! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Great location with poor customer service.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Natalie Couples - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The hotel was visually appealing and the location was great. The customer service was quite poor. No hot water on the 2nd day of my stay. Trash can banging outside our window all night the first night. And three calls for bottled water which were unanswered.

relaxing and enjoyable for a quick get away weekend

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the city. The hotel ambiance was welcoming and warm and that we were able to relax. The guest floors were quiet and made of a good sleep. We enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Suzanne for taking the time to leave a review , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am very pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and that the team was friendly and knowledgeable of the city. I am also very happy that you found our ambiance welcoming, warm, and relaxing, and that the floors were quiet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as enjoyable as the previous one. Merci! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Family Trip

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Amanda Families - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The stay overall was good however there were some minor things that I would not expect at a 5 star resort included cold water in the shower on Friday morning.

Thank you Amanda for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am very happy to hear that your stay with us was good overall. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our engineering team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Cordialement, -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Great stay!

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Lourdes Friends - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We had a very nice stay. The room was very cozy, clean and ample. The staff was very polite. The bartenders (Bryan, Chris and Milton) were courteous, knowledgeable and very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is within walking distance to everything!

Thank you Lourdes for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that your accommodations were nice, cozy, clean, and ample, and that the team was very polite, particularly our bartenders extraordinaire, Milton, Bryan, and Chris. I am also happy to hear that you liked our central location. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as great as the previous one. Merci! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Paul C. Business - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was mostly very good, except for two things. First, the reception desk at check-in was very slow, and employees kept disappearing into the back office rather than attending to those in line. Second, the coffees in the room were not replenished after our first night's stay. (We were room 703 for the nights of Oct. 4-5.)

Lousy

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Edmundo E. Couples - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Lousy - not too professional - we had MANY issues with Reception - especially with Maryam - the Front Desk Director - very unprofessional - even after I outlined my reasons for my dissatisfaction.

Dear Mr. e., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Washington DC. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the billing of your reservation. Once you have provided the confirmation of your reservation, I have follow up with our reservation team and the rate adjustments were done before we charged your card for your stay. I have confirmed with you the final charge on your credit card and the remaining will be refunded back on your card. Again, I am sorry for the disappointment of your interaction with me. Should there be anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards, ~Maryam Dymond Director of Front Office
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jack Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Terrific staff. Nice property. Small room.

Thank you Jack for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am pleased to hear that you found the team terrific and the hotel nice. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Merci! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Thanks for always being so accommodating!

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Helen W. Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We hold many workshop at your hotel and frequently stay there while hosting them (even though we are local to DC). Your staff is amazing. We make last-minute changes and everyone is willing and able to accommodate them. So thank you! We will be back soon. Best, Helen

Thank you Helen for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am very pleased to hear that the team was amazing and was accommodating to your needs. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. A bientot! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Welcoming and comfortable

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I always enjoy my stays at the Sofitel Lafayette Square. The staff are always welcoming and warm and the accommodations are top-notch.

Thank you Juliette for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that the team was always welcoming, and warm, and that your accommodations were top-notch. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as comfortable as the previous one. A bientot! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

great stay, but need help getting accor points for the stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Cara C. Business - 05/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I always enjoy staying at the sofitel. I have been having difficulty getting accor points for my second stay (I had two reservations for four consecutive nights - got points for the first two nights (9/20-9/22) but not for the last two nights (9/22-9/24). I have called the hotel (who could not find my accor number, which I didn't have on hand for the call) and also followed up through the accor website with no success. My accor number is 30…78A2. Can you possibly help with this? thank you!

Bonjour Ms.c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I have gone ahead and added your points for your second stay. I apologize for the delay while resolving this. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely,

Great

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 05/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Great

Thank you Richard for taking the time to leave feedback, We hope your next visit will be as great as the previous one. A bientot! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Very comfortable and accessible to everything.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

David A. B. Couples - 05/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Clean, friendly and accommodating. The parking was a little expensive and the room gummies for $23.00 is a bit much.

Thank you David for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am very happy to hear that you had a comfortable and clean stay, and that that team was accommodating. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Merci! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Comfortable, quiet, clean

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Rooms very clean, comfortable bed, also very quiet (no noise in the hall and very little street noise)

Thank you Ariana for taking the time to leave a review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable, quiet and clean stay with us, and that your accommodations were clean and quiet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as comfortable as the previous one. Merci! -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

No phones working and missed eating dinner due to no room service

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

i only had one night stay but passed up on going out to dinner given my work load that i needed to complete from my room. When i asked to order room service downstairs after coming in from my event, I was told that i couldnt order from downstairs and could only order from my room... When i got back and took my suit off for the day and settled in, i was unable to make any calls to the front desk or room service. I tried for about an hour with no luck and unfortunately was not able to eat dinner. I asked the front desk the following day, and they told me there was an issue with the phones... I've stayed here before and had good experience, but for price per/night I paid, this should not be the case..

Dear Brian Joseph S., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. Exceptional service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem with our guest communications and room service in order to prevent any future occurrence. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, -Veronique Stalport Director of Operations

Beautiful Hotel but the customer service was off

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Paulette H. Friends - 03/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We tried to call room service and the front desk but the phone didn’t work. We had to go down to the front desk and ask for a sheet and blanket to be brought to our room. We got in late and realize they never brought them up and we were too tired to go back down to ask again. My friend had to sleep on the couch without a sheet and had to cover up with the decorative bed scarf. The last day we were there my friend lost her credit card and the last place she used it was at breakfast. She called and left 3 messages and no one called her back. Needless to say she had to cancel her card. Please work on your customer service and get phones that can be used in the way they were designed to be used. (Like push the concierge button and you get the concierge or push the front desk button and you get the front desk) It’s way too pretty of a hotel for all these inconveniences and careless mistakes.

Dear Mrs Paulette, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Washington DC. I am sorry to hear about your experience and the inconvenience you have experienced with our phone not working and that your friend had to sleep with no cover. Please know that these are normal circumstances at the Sofitel and the appropriate follow up are being done. Should your travel ever bring you back to Washington DC, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards, Maryam Dymond Director of Front Office ma…
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in washington, d.c.