Novotel London City South Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,658 reviews
Novotel London City South
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • A short 10-minute walk to London Bridge tube station

  • Overlooking the renowned London Borough Market

  • Direct train from London Bridge Station to Gatwick Airport

  • Dedicated central London parking spaces for guests

  • Sauna and hammam to relax after a day of sightseeing

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Bus/coach parking area (Nearby)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Boat excursions (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel London City South

53-61 Southwark Bridge Road
SE1 9HH
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442076600676

Fax: (+44)207/0890410

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • COVENT GARDEN-TOWER GATEWAY :   RV1 SOUTHWARK STREET

  • LIVERPOOL ST-CLAPHAM JUNCTION :   344 SOUTHWARK BR. RD

  • WATERLOO-PECKHAM :   381 SOUTHWARK BR.RD

  • JUBILEE LINE :   JUBILEE LONDON BRIDGE

  • NORTHERN LINE :   NORTHERN LONDON BRIDGE

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY APT At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK APT At 45km / 27.96 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW APT At 30km / 18.64 miles

  • By train

    LONDON BRIDGE TRAIN At 0.6km / 0.37 miles

  • By train

    LONDON ST PANCRAS At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    LONDRES WATERLOO At 1.5km / 0.93 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO-EUROSTAR At 1.5km / 0.93 miles

GPS :51.50572, -0.095408

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Superior Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Multimedia hub(...)

Superior Premium Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Multimedia hub(...)

Executive Room with queen-size bed & convertible sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products(...)

Executive Premium Room with queen-size bed & convertible sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products(...)

Suite Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 46
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

Gourmet Bar & Restaurant

Type of cuisine: International

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting.Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Gourmet Bar

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 90

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 72 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel London City South

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.4/5

9,715 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,658 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Nice and friendly

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Alex F. Families - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Nice and comfortable apartments. Friendly and helpful staff. Nicely located hotel.

Dear Alexsandro, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Excellent hotel, experience sourced by the “late check out” confusion.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Marc B. Families - 13/08/2019 AccorHotels review

I love the new design of the hotel having been a regular visitor with my family for over 10 years now. The embrace of the food and beer of the local area is very appreciated - being able to drink the best beers from the local breweries really enhances the stay. The new lobby design is stylish but I do not like there not being a clear reception desk - this slows down the arrival check in. The new rooms look nice but I do not like the new design of the toilet and shower being right next to the bed with only a flimsy glass door between them and the rest of the room. The real disappointment was the confusion over the “late check out” perk which I asked for as an Accor Silver Member. I asked for it when booking and confirmed it when doing the online checkin. When I arrived it was not mentioned at all so I continued to assume this was all fine - the check in process mentions “subject to availability” but I assumed that once checked in this meant it was fine. On our last day, Sunday, the late check in appeared as an item on my bill - at £0 but this still meant I thought it was all fine. So we left the hotel to enjoy London for our last day. At about midday I noticed a missed call on my phone. After some searching I found out this was the hotel trying to contact me. I phoned the hotel - after 20 MINUTES of trying to get an answer someone finally did - they wanted to know when I was leaving, they needed the room. They had expected me to check with them on the Sunday morning as to whether I could have the late checkout. I had checked in on Friday - I expect to be told then if it is not available, not hope to have it on Sunday. If it can only be confirmed on Sunday then it is a sham of a perk, there for marketing purposes only. I made my way back to the hotel and had a bit of a painful argument with reception who would not really accept that saying “subject to availability” did not clearly mean “check with us on your last morning and we will see then”. They made me fell awkward by telling me that they needed the room but as we had appointments that afternoon we could not leave, so they sulkily allowed us to stay. Having this as our last experience of what had until then been a great experience was not appreciated. Sort out how you want to handle this “perk” - if people will only know they have it on the last day then make this clear. If people need to ask on the last day then make this clear. Do not reply to this claiming any “terms and conditions” make it clear as I have checked all reasonable sources (the check in confirmation, my electronic bill and my initial booking confirmation) and none of them make it clear that you have to ask on your last day whether this request can be satisfied.

Dear Marc, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. I was really pleased to see you like the upgrades to the Hotel however I was very sorry to read about the confusion with Late checkout. I will follow this up with the team, my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused. As a gesture of goodwill I would like to offer you a complimentary Upgrade to one of our Suites and a Late departure for your next stay with us. Please email me direct at the Hotel with this email I will check availability for you personally. I remain at your service. Matt Brett General Manager

City Break in London

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ian B. Solo - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Great location for the hotel in the centre on the south side of the river, although a bit of a treck from Terminal 2 Heathrow. Nice building, great connections, great quality rooms, and very welcoming staff. Breakfast was a bit hectic (I could have picked a better time), but the selection on offer was good, and the staff were very helpful even though they were busy. The room was decorated nicely, the shower in the bathroom was great. There was even information regarding the heat, and how to keep the room cool.

Dear Ian, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Perfect

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Tutto ok

Dear Fabrizio, Thank you for completing our online guest review, I was disappointed to see though your overall experience fell below our hotel average. If you could provide me with a few notes of what we could do to improve, the team and I would very grateful. I remain at your service. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Pleasurable

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anita Couples - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Lovely hotel perfect for exploring London. Rooms adequate with comfy mattress. Great breakfast, friendly staff.

Dear Anita, Thank you for completing our online guest review, I was disappointed to see though your overall experience fell below our hotel average. If you could provide me with a few notes of what we could do to improve (especially in regards to check in and check out), the team and I would very grateful. I remain at your service. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Mrs

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Rebecca G. Families - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Good sized family room. Comfortable beds. Very clean and well presented. Excellent breakfast.

Dear Rebecca, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Great experience slightly marred by a leak that resulted in a soggy carpet

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Becky Families - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are a reasonable size and nicely decorated. They are quiet and the blackout curtains work well. The beds are comfy too and it’s spotlessly clean. The bathroom is big and has a good shower and ice toiletries. The only downside was when we ran a bath for our child and discovered when we let the water out it leaked into the bedroom floor meaning a very soggy carpet. We went down to tell the front desk and the sent a man up to look but all he could do was give us extra towels to try and soak it up. Apparently there were no other rooms available to swap to. It wasn’t a huge deal but was a shame and meant that we tried to have really quick showers in the morning in case it went through the floor into the room below. The breakfast was great - a really wide variety and all delicious. Our kids particularly enjoyed the pancakes. The bar looked nice and the restaurant was very nicely decorated.

Dear Becky, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please accept my apologies for issues with the shower, please be assured we will do our utmost to prevent it from happening in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Perfect Central London Hotel for families

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Nathalie V. Families - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

A perfect stay! The hotel is newly renovated and has been done extremely well! The bar, restaurant and lobby have been beautifully done and are extremely comfortable. The staff were fantastic! It looks and feels a lot like the Ace and Hoxton hotels, but without all the “hipster pretense” ! A 2 minute stroll and you are right on the river along South Bank full of sights and delights and great places to eat and or just watch the world go by. The hotel really was in a perfect location and for an extremely reasonable price by London standards. Breakfast each morning was excellent. The bedroom was compact but comfortable for a family of 3 and the beds were super comfy too. If I had one “complaint” it was that the room even with the air cooling on was a bit hot overnight In the warm weather. Other than that, the hotel was perfect in every way. We all thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would highly recommend it and will definitely stay again!

Dear Nathalie, Thank you for the awesome review, really pleased to see you appreciate the new look and feel. Sorry that you were a little warm, i know we had exceptional weather. We have just fitted 4 new additional chillers which I expect to further improve the room temperatures. Please feel free to share your review with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. See you soon. Matt Brett General Manager

simply the best

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

michael o Solo travel - 05/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Everything was five star from the help with my booking to the fantastic welcome I had at reception when I arrived,everyone on the reception desk went the extra mile to help me, all the room service team and the happy young lady in the breakfast room very early in the morning , all the housekeepers thank you all so much.

Dear michael o, What a wonderful review and we are so glad that we were able to provide such a memorable experience for you. It will be my pleasure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Kind regards,

Welcoming staff and great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Alex Families - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Have stayed many times and it is always lovely to be greeted by our favourite Managers-Eric and Guillaume. They make my elderly Mother, dog and myself so welcome. We were very impressed by the hotel reception area , bar and restaurant which have recently been updated. Love the location.

Dear Alex, Thank you so much for a lovely review. I will share it with the team, especially with Eric and Guillaume as it's always a pleasure to see a positive feedback. Please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

Disappointing start

Customer review rating 4.4/5

James S. Couples - 03/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We arrived from an overnight flight about 8:00 am. We had booked a 4-night stay. I had requested early check-in to our suite but fully understand that it was not available. However, despite questioning the staff about room avialibility every 45 to 60 minutes thereafter, we were held in limbo until 15:30. At that time I was informed that the people occupying our suite had requested late-checkout and would not be leaving untl 17:00. Therefore, our room would not be available until about 18:00. At that news, I asked for a refund intending to take my business elsewhere. It was then that we were offered a temporary lesser room so we could shower and get some sleep. We accepted that and were eventually given a key to the suite at 19:00. This entire situation was handled poorly and not resolved until I requested a refund after sitting in the lobby for nearly 8 hours, dead tired after the flight from the U.S. The rest of the stay was OK. The suite was large but not lavish by any means. All in all, our stay at the nearby Mercure a few years ago was a much better experience.

Dear JAMES S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London City South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Secondly I would like to sincerely apologise to you that you have had this experience during your stay – I am investigating the problem with my team about this unfortunate error and will take all appropriates actions to prevent any occurence in the future. I really do apologies that you have to take another room until the suite being ready. As a gesture of good will I can offer you a 20% discount with complimentary upgrade to one of our Suite (will be based on our availability on the day of reservation) as well as free breakfast for your future stay if you want to give us a chance to come back. This offer will be available by contacting me by email (H3…) I once again apologise to you and should you need any further assistance please feel free to contact me. I remain at your service. Sincerely, Eric Lambert Front Office Manager

Great customer service in a stylish hotel.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Solo - 02/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were all very welcoming & efficient. Room was nice but was a disabled access room which I didn’t book. Disappointed that there was not a mirror anywhere in the main bedroom area of the room. Had to use the smaller one in bathroom. Breakfast good.

Dear Nicola, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for your comments about the room type - we will do our utmost to make sure it does not happen again. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Monika Osik Guest Relations Manager

9th birthday

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Jk Families - 01/08/2019 AccorHotels review

As requested by my son, Patrick, I booked this hotel for his 9th birthday. Novotel London City South’s staff were absolutely fantastic. Special thanks to Nurun, Guillaume, Lilly and the house keeper who looked after the Westminster Suite. We will stay at Novotel City South again next time we visit London.

Dear Jens, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager

Feedback

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 31/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Overall was a good experience with proximity to station , shopping & attractions. Dining was good & room was just fine except that the sink got clogged with very slow water exit all the time.

Dear Ravi, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself overall. I will follow up with my mainatenance department regarding the slow draining sink in your room. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager
Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 31/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Excellent customer service, very nice breakfast. Our only issue was a ceiling leak in bathroom every day. Otherwise an excellent experience.

Dear Karen, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I'm sorry that the air cooling unit leaked everyday - I will follow up with the maintenance team to try to prevent future occurrence. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager

Very good

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Bryan Couples - 30/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Good stay in a centrally located hotel. This s our 5th visit.

Dear Bryan, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London City South. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our target is to reach 9/10 is there any comments you'd like to add for us to improve our services? With regards to your bathroom layout, you were upgraded to the executive premium room which has this design, but if you prefer we can allocate you an executive which has the closed bathrooms. Please contact me when you are next staying and I can arrange that for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager

Great Staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Acres Families - 30/07/2019 AccorHotels review

All the staff were exceptional in their duties, going beyond expectations. The beautiful gifts and attention for my 9 year old boy's added to our stay. Many Thanks.

Dear Mark, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager

Pity about the sink

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Yorkshirewoman Families - 29/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Shower problems resolved quickly. However, having a sink with no plug in the middle of the room was both inconvenient and off putting. The designer should be made to stay in the room for a week - or rather his mother who would soon tell him what was wrong. We spoke to others who expressed similar problems. Can the holding company do something about thepoor design.

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We do have other Executive rooms with plugs in the sink, I can allocate one of these for your next stay. Please just contact me direct and I can arrange this for your personally ma… I have also passed your feedback to to the design team, who are working on the next bedroom. I am in the process of ordering another coffee machine for the restaurant, I hope to have this in place for the next school holidays. Thank you for your feedback and I remain at your service. Sincerely, Matt Brett General Manager

AMAZING

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Happy C. Friends - 29/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Really good stay I even got an upgrade!!

Dear Ramandeep, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager

Welcome back!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 29/07/2019 AccorHotels review

From the moment that I entered the hotel until the time that I left, the staff went out of their way to make me feel privileged. My thanks to Nurum and Eric in making it such a warm welcome and departure. I had previously used the hotel many times, but an office move meant that it was no longer the closest. Additionally the use of the pool at the new hotel had added attraction. That said I have never had the same level of customer service that was received at the City South hotel and others in the group would do well to take a leaf from their book. Well done to all of the team.

Dear Stephen, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for mentioning the team personally. I will share with them and it will make their day! Please do feel free to share this with other guests on www.tripadvisor.com. We do hope to welcome you back with us next time you visit London. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Operations Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london