Hotel - Sofitel London St James
Sofitel Hotel Sofitel Hotel

Sofitel London St James Hotel

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.5/5 4,265 reviews
All hotels in London
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 310.50 GBP Non member rate
From 294.98 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Valet parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Hammam (Paying)
    • Massage (Paying)
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 14 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Discover rich color schemes, the soft down of a luxury bed, high technology and Hermès amenities in each of our luxurious 183 hotel rooms in London. Family rooms are easily facilitated by booking an interconnecting room.

  • 183 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 9 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 32 family rooms
  • 32 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Radio in bathroom
    • Telephone in bathroom
    • Crib on request
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.7/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 8,455 reviews

Our guest reviews for Sofitel London St James

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 4,265 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Friends - 13/02/2018
« Great service - dated guest rooms »

elegant property - great location - wonderful staff -

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs R., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the room upgrade allocated to you on a complimentary basis. Sorry about that. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Mr D. S. T. Couples - 12/02/2018
« Staff Service 1st Class, actual room substandard. »

I can not fault the staff; very accommodating and thoughtful. Sadly my room had a fault which left the room very cold. My wife had to sleep in her robe to stay warm. The bed was also very tired and uncomfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr T., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for your room being too much cold for your wife on the February 10th, 2018 overnight. We didn't receive any call from you after we manually set the temperature to 22 degrees celsius. so we thought all was fine. So so sorry about that! I have had a note put into your profile for us to be extremely vigilant on this matter on your future visits. Again so very sorry for this inconvenience! I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Sophie Friends - 12/02/2018
« A beautiful hotel in a historic area where I was made to feel completely at home »

Wonderful staff - really friendly and personable. I loved my room which was immaculate . We had drinks in the Rose lounge which was a lovely space. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast- a wonderful selection of fruit and unrushed

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs G., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 12/02/2018
« Very good experience. »

good service, clean rooms very professional and polite/kind staff. I do wish as a member and that I stay at hotel each time I am in London, they could have switched my room with no extra cost to the one I requested. the other is very small. I do wish the rooms were more updated with the furniture.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs B., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am sorry you didn't like the first room allocated to you. As a matter of fact you have originally booked a Superior Room. However I am afraid Superior Rooms do not have separate shower and bathtub. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Z. Families - 12/02/2018
« good »

breakfast is vry good

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Z., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team and especially with breakfast's. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Sk Business - 12/02/2018
« Good stay, great service »

This was my second stay at the Sofitel St James and I wasnt disappointed. The staff is pleasant and courteous, the rooms are well maintained and the dining experience is great. My only downside was that the room didnt have as much natural lighting as I would have wanted, but otherwise it was a great stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr K., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Regarding the day light to your bedroom, may I suggest you to book a Premium Luxury Room for your next stays. This room type has indeed a view on either Waterloo Place or Pall Mall. They are very bright rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Mjo Business - 12/02/2018
« Great service as ever but failing card locks are getting ridiculous »

Lovely staff and room. Presents for Alfred very much appreciated. Four replacement cards needed this time which is better than last time (five) but not great. Probably worth biting the bullet and replacing the locks.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr O., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the faulty bedroom door cards. We are indeed looking thoroughly into it. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Kathryn B. Friends - 12/02/2018
« Luxurious stay in London »

Staff were superb from greeting me from my cab on arrival. My luggage was instantly taken & next seen in my room. Check in was swift , welcoming & very professional. Room was delightful. Bed & linen was superb. Beds very comfortable indeed. Turn down service at night with melodic music playing was a lovely touch. Breakfast experience was very enjoyable, extensive selection of fruits, pastries & cooked options. We loved the Bar for atmosphere, cozy and intimate & service excellent. Relaxing in the Library was also very enjoyable. Staff extremely attentive throughout. A truly wonderful stay & a hotel I would commend to anyone. Fantastic location for exploring .... 5 stars all round.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs B., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Carlos D. Business - 12/02/2018
« Good stay in a central location »

The Sofitel takes care of details, good room and good food in the restaurant.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr D., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am so very sorry to hear that we didn't acknowledge your Le Club Platinum status upon your check-in. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards of services therefore it will not happen again. Again sorry for the inconvenience caused and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Marco U. Business - 12/02/2018
« President »

Professional staff. Courteous and warm.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Ramos U., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Susan O. Couples - 12/02/2018
« Spoilt by a bad breakfast experience. »

See above

AccorHotels certified review
Olga Business - 11/02/2018
« Amazing »

Easy check in Comfortable room Delicious food at the restaurant Friendly concierge

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs M., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
J. T. Couples - 11/02/2018
« A beautiful gem with a warm, welcoming staff »

C’est magnifique! We stayed one night and just returned today for 5 more. The staff is friendly, efficient and very warm. We were welcomed back like old friends. Everyone is genuinely accommodating and caring. I think they really cared about how our weekend in the country was.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs T., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Clive Business - 10/02/2018
« Wonderful »

Always a pleasure

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Magdalena G. Couples - 10/02/2018
« Awesome location ! »

The staffs were friendly and helpful to our needs. Will surely recommend Sofitel London St James to our friends. Great location

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs G., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Helen W. Families - 09/02/2018
« Lovely experience »

A mix of highs and lows . This was a very special trip to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday. I had stayed at this hotel a year ago with my husband. I booked a room with twin beds as I was staying with my daughter. The reservation was made for the day before we arrived to ensure availability upon arrival. After check-in, we went right to bed as we were exhausted. My mattress was terrible, it dug into my body and I am a very petite person. This was reported to the front desk and immediate action was taken to replace it--very much appreciated. Then, we experienced a leak in our room--it began as a wet spot, and I thought someone had dropped some water. It grew, however, to a very large area, again, quick response once reported. It was investigated and a leaky bathtub pipe was the culprit. A machine (dehumidifier, I believe) was placed in the room but it was very noisy and didn't do much. We didn't sleep well that night. The next morning, I showed the manager a photo of the wet area and the machine and requested a room change which was granted. What I most appreciated was the response to issues is immediate. What I found inconsistent, however, is housekeeping service. Sometimes, coffee cups were changed, sometimes not. When we had extra clean towels, they were removed--we asked for extra towels. I think this is more of a communication issue with personnel. The staff at breakfast are so wonderful! Special thanks to Sophie and Henrique. Excellent Concierge service from Daniel and Joe. Daniel corresponded with my in advance of our trip to help make reservations and this was greatly appreciated.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs Wolkowicz, I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am so very sorry for the issues you have been through during your stay from January 20th through 27th, 2018. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards of services. Therefore please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for that. Dear Mrs Wolkowicz, in order to restore your confidence in Sofitel London St James I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next visit. Once you have made you arrangements, please contact me at h3… and I will be pleased to ensure your stay goes smoothly and is flawless. Please note that this offer is valid up until January 20th, 2019. Again so so sorry for the inconveniences caused and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Imraan Business - 09/02/2018
« terrible »

After having paid for an upgrade to a higher category room, i was disappointed that the mattresses we not up to standard like other brands considering this to be a 5* hotel. The television never worked properly for 2 days and no compensation from the hotel. i don't think i will stay at your property again and neither could i book my clients in your Hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the faulty TV in your room. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards of services. We have offered you a room move but I understand you have declined it. Regarding the mattress I am afraid we do not have any record of it. May I ask you if you have mentioned it on the spot? Again so so sorry for the inconveniences caused! I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Robert J. Business - 09/02/2018
« Best hotel in the area! »

It was lovely as always. Great rooms, perfect beds and the best staff!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Jakobsson, I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 09/02/2018
« Satisfactor »

The hotel was fine. The only complaint is I arrived at 10AM and my room was not ready until 3PM. They let me use the showers in the Gym, but the shower facilities were very poor. It might be ok to take the shower after a workout, but when you have the luggage in a very small room and you need to shave and change into a suit, it is uncomfortable. Why don't they have the room dedicated to it, especially for 5 start hotel?

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Gokhman, I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am afraid our check-in time is 3pm. According to our availability we always try to accommodate our guests earlier however no guaranty on that as this depends on our availability. Sorry about that. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 09/02/2018
« Good location »

Service was good, and had a good experience .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Camaroodeen, I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 310.50 GBP Non member rate
From 294.98 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 460 m Victory House, London Leicester Square - MGallery by Sofitel
Victory House, London Leicester Square - MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 171.00 GBP Non member rate
From 162.45 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 850 m The Savoy - A Fairmont Managed Hotel
The Savoy - A Fairmont Managed Hotel
From
From 416.00 GBP Non member rate
From 416.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 1.6 km Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
From
From 101.00 GBP Non member rate
From 90.90 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 1.7 km Novotel London Waterloo
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel
From
From 99.00 GBP Non member rate
From 89.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in LONDON
See rates