Sofitel London St James Hotel 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 4,746 reviews
Sofitel London St James
See on a map
+ 23 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Ideal for events and business meetings

  • On-site leisure facilities, including a dedicated gym

  • Grade II listed building with original features

  • 5-star luxury hotel in the centre of London

  • Dedicated wedding facilities for up to 180 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 14 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Sofitel London St James is undergoing an exciting design transformation until the end of 2019.

Hotel location

Sofitel London St James

6 Waterloo Place
SW1Y 4AN
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442077472200

Fax: (+44)20/77472210

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • PICCADILLY CIRCUS :   6.9.15.23

  • THE HAYMARKET :   6.9.23.15

  • WATERLOO PLACE :   6.9.15.23

  • PICCADILLY CIRCUS :   BAKERLOO LINE PICCADILLY CIRCU

  • PICCADILLY LINE :   PICCADILLY LINE PICCADILLY CIRCU

  • By plane

    GATWICK At 46km / 28.59 miles

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24km / 14.91 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY APT At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By helicopter

    LONDON HELIPORT At 7km / 4.35 miles

  • By car

    M1 At 4km / 2.49 miles

  • By car

    M20 At 9.5km / 5.9 miles

  • By car

    M4 At 8km / 4.97 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRASS At 2.5km / 1.55 miles

  • By train

    VICTORIA STATION At 2.5km / 1.55 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO STATION At 2km / 1.24 miles

GPS :51.50732, -0.132397

Our accommodations

Discover rich color schemes, the soft down of a luxury bed, high technology and Hermès amenities in each of our luxurious 183 hotel rooms in London. Family rooms are easily facilitated by booking an interconnecting room.

CLASSIC ROOM, 1 Queen Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 Queen Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

LUXURY ROOM, 2 Single Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

PREMIUM LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Bed, View over Waterloo Place or Pall Mall

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

FAMILY ROOM, 1 KING BED, SEPARATE LIVING ROOM WITH SOFA BED

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 49

JUNIOR SUITE, 1 King Bed, Lounge Space, View over Waterloo Place or Pall Mall

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 35
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

PRESTIGE SUITE, 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, View over Waterloo Place or Pall Mall

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 60
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

ST JAMES SUITE, 1 King Bed, Separate Lounge and Dining Space, View over Waterloo Place

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 79
  • Wireless internet in your room

OPERA SUITE, 1 King Bed, Separate Lounge and Dining Space, View over Waterloo Place

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 109
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

Wild Honey St James

Type of cuisine: Bistronomy

Wild Honey St James is now open, on the former site of the Balcon restaurant. This concept takes chef Anthony Demetre's reimagined Wild Honey and brings it to St James... A casual all day dining venue serving modern European dishes.

ST JAMES BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The intimate St James Bar has undergone a transformation and now boasts a marble bar top, dark blue velvet banquettes and warm lighting. Overseen by Bar Manager Enzo Sigaut, the drinks offering includes classic and signature contemporary cocktails.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE ROSE LOUNGE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Fresh roses and live harp music are the backdrop to this cozy London restaurant and tea lounge, a pretty space of plump seats in vivid pink and red. Afternoon tea or champagne are the perfect accompaniments to quiet conversation or browsing the library.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 14

  • Maximum size: 195

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel London St James

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.7/5

12,009 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

4,746 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Pleasant staff and very comfortable facilities

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Mike K. Friends - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We only used the room but were extremely pleased with the performance of the room attendants performance

Dear Mr K., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Convenience and Service in the Heart of London

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

johnmQ4443SR Couples - 11/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Sofitel St James in London is a converted bank that opened as a hotel about 2004. Pricey but just off Trafalgar Square which makes it very convenient. Staff are friendly, welcoming, thoughtful and helpful. A power adapter is provided, tea set out at night, and numerous other nice touches and amenities. Room décor is very nice with 10 foot ceilings. On site restaurant serves creative and tasty meals. All in all a superb hotel. We arrived at 7:30 am during peak tourist time and they made a room available by 9:30 am well ahead of 3 pm normal check-in. Unfortunately, perhaps due to accommodating our early arrival, we were given an inside room that looked out onto rooftop HVAC and ventilation systems and left a feeling like what one would expect in an institution, so ask for an even number room facing the street. The new style beds are way too soft for us, but staff quickly rectified that and we had great sleeps.

Dear guests, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am really glad to read that you have felt cosy in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot, Marie-Paule Nowlis

Great stay in Central London in a fine hotel

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Anonymous F. A. Business - 10/08/2019 AccorHotels review

The Sofitel's Premium Deluxe Room was well-appointed and comfortable, with a nice useable bathroom. The conference facilities, service and food were excellent.

Dear Mr D., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Rooms were quite disappointing!

Customer review rating 4.7/5

H. Families - 10/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Everything was fine except the rooms; being charged 50 euros/night to move up one floor is not acceptable when you are a long-term customer (room for the children) The room needs to be redone totally (shower's door did not close....)

Dear Mr H., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I was really sorry to hear about your disappointment related to the room types you have booked. Moreover we did not have any information about the twin beds you were expecting. When it comes to the view only Premium Luxury Rooms have one over either Pall Mall or Waterloo Place. I am now confident that my team has explained you that Premium Luxury Rooms would suit the most your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Great London hotel

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Jacky Couples - 09/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Really good...a lovely size hotel in a great location. The staff are all excellent and the restaurant is spot on.

Dear Mrs P., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Wonderful

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Chris D. Couples - 09/08/2019 AccorHotels review

The room was beautiful and nicely furnished and superbly decorated. The service at breakfast was excellent. The help from concierge and reception was excellent. My only criticism was the menu for dining and room service. There was a lack of variety for light meals or snacks.

Dear Mr D., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I take good note of your comment regarding our In-Room Dining Menu. May I please ask you to elaborate on the items you would like to see featuring on it? Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

great

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Mp Couples - 08/08/2019 AccorHotels review

great location and hotl

Dear Mrs P., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Dr John T.

Customer review rating 4.7/5

John C. T. Business - 08/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Overall great. But when I wanted to have a late checkout I encountered some problems. This is not the first time this has happened. I normally give the hotel couple days warning in advance that I’d be needing late checkout, and every time they reassure me it would be no problem. However on the actual day, there’s ALWAYS a problem. This time I had to move rooms & pay £200 as well. Whenever I come to London I always stay at this hotel- maybe it’s time to consider another?

Dear Mr T., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. We always do our utmost to accommodate our guests' request however I am afraid this is subject to our availability. And I am very sorry we didn't have any to allow you a check-out after 17:00 in your Junior Suite on August 1st. Again sorry for the inconvenience caused, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Awesome Customer Service and Comfortable stay great location

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Shane Families - 07/08/2019 AccorHotels review

From Checkin I knew I was in for a great stay everything was first class service, Great Location and great rooms.

Dear Mr S., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

From deepest Devon to London for the ballet. Mum's 80th trip

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Scott B. Families - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

I booked the hotel to give my dear Mum the experience of a lifetime to help celebrate her eightieth birthday. Champagne at check-in, brief tour of the hotel, birthday cake and a card signed by the staff in her room. A wonderful experience and she has sent her own thanks in a letter.

Dear Mr B., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am so glad your mother has loved her experience here at the hotel. I have received her letter indeed and am about to answer her today. I will share your comments with my whole team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you all back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Fantastic stay!

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Stephen W. Couples - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Everything was great! Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Dear Mr W., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James
Customer review rating 4.7/5

Richard A. Business - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Laura at the front desk was amazing. Incredibly helpful and efficient. She was very attentive throughout my entire stay.

Dear Mr A., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team and especially with Laura who is a true credit to the hotel indeed. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Amazon hotel, great service

Customer review rating 4.7/5

James H. Business - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Perfect as ever.

Thank you so much dear Jim. Marie-Paule

Graduation 2019

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Richard R. Families - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Our stay at Sofitel London St James was excellent.

Dear Mr R., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

My overall experience was excellent and I like your hotel very much. I only had one negative situation.

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Anonymous Business - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We held several meetings in the restaurant and the staff was wonderful about not rushing us. My negative experience was with housekeeping. I came back to the room at 3:00 to change for a business meeting and the room hadn't yet been cleaned so I put the "do not disturb" light on. The housekeeper knocked and came in anyway, forcing me to quickly grab a robe to put on. When I told her to come back at 3:30, she was very annoyed. I was surprised at her lack of acknowledgement of the "do not disturb" light. It's very unlike most at this hotel and other Sofitels at which I've stayed.

Dear Mrs M., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the behaviour of the Housekeeper entering your room when she was not welcome. Really sorry about that. Please rest assured that I have addressed it to the Executive Housekeeper in order to prevent any future re-occurrence as this does not reflect our normal standards of services. On the other hand, it is always a pleasure to receive high scoring. I will share your positive impressions with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Again so so sorry for the inconvenience caused, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Another wonderful stay

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Steve H. Couples - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

The newly refurbished room was impressive. The meal in the restaurant was excellent, as were the breakfasts. The staff members throughout the hotel were invariably polite and cheerful. Many thanks to all who made our stay so comfortable and pleasant.

Dear Mr H., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Great customer service

Customer review rating 4.7/5

S B. Families - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Very nice hotel. Everyone was so nice, friendly & helpful.

Dear Mr & Mrs B., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Gray hotel but they always put us in a tiny room

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Ira S. Couples - 04/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We love this hotel and location but they always put us in a tiny room with small high windows. We always have to ask to move. This last time we were just too tired to argue with them as we we're just there fir a night.

Dear Mr S., I thank you for taking the time to fill out our online guests satisfaction survey following your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I can see from your several bookings that you do not enjoy the Classic Rooms that you book which I am afraid do not have a view. May I suggest you to book Premium Luxury Rooms for your next visits as I was told this is the kind of rooms that you like? Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James

Excellent!

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Anonymous Business - 03/08/2019 AccorHotels review

A great stay, fantastically friendly and helpful staff. Room was lovely but outlook rather dark and bleak and small bathroom. Otherwise excellent!

Monsieur T., Je vous remercie pour vos commentaires positifs suite à votre séjour au Sofitel London St James. C’est toujours un plaisir de lire les louanges de nos hotes. Je ne manquerai pas de les partager avec l’ensemble de mes equipes car ceci est un reel encouragement pour continuer a fournir des standards de services de haute qualite. Concernant votre deception quant a la vue de votre chambre ainsi que la configuration de votre salle de bains, puis-je vous suggerer de reserver une chambre Premium Luxury pour vos prochains sejours? Je suis certaine que celles-ci vous conviendront parfaitement. Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, je vous prie de croire, Monsieur T., en l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs. Tres cordialement. Marie-Paule Nowlis Directrice Generale Sofitel London St James

OUTSTANDING HOTEL

Customer review rating 4.7/5

Mag Couples - 02/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Our experience, as always, was amazing. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we found our experience to be outstanding. Reception staff were courteous, friendly, warm and inviting -yet very professional. Concierge was wonderful in his recommendations and efficient in organizing an appointment. Housekeeping staff did a wonderful job maintaining our room. We look forward to return stay at this hotel.

Dear Mrs G., I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would very much appreciate it if you could also share your positive comments on TripAdvisor through the following link, http://bit.ly/SofitelTripAdvisor. Thank you very much. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager Sofitel London St James
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london