Hotel - ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street
Ibis Hotel Hotel Ibis Hotel Hotel

ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street Hotel

4.0/5 1,944 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel does not have a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 52.00 GBP Non member rate
From 49.40 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Parking
    • Public indoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed 10  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Italian
    • Polish
    • Portuguese
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 9AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Ironing room

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 127 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 7 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 4 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Baby bed
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.2/5 AccorHotels Rating 6,765 reviews

Our guest reviews for ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,944 reviews
Maiden Friends - 13/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Shred »

Staff are friendly and helpful so had no problems checking in

P. B. Couples - 12/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

Staff was great. Room for wheelchair was very small to move around and was faraway from lifts and on top floor.

Tyler Friends - 11/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Smelly »

Me, my boyfriend and his friend stayed at this hotel. First impressions lovely and clean great customer service and modern hotel. Until we got to our room, put the card to the door, open the door and wow!! The stench of body odour was absolutely revolting. I went in and opened the window and sprayed lots of of perfume but it did nothing and still smelt vile throughout the night and even leaving in the morning. Our friend had his own room and we had to sleep in his as the hotel was full so we was told so no more rooms. The smell must have been from the cleaner? The room looked very clean it just smelt awful my boyfriend was sick cause of the smell! The room was 207.

Sherif E. Business - 11/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Wonderful experince »

Everything is really nice the staff , the bedroom , the breakfast the whole experience is amazing i will search for all IBIS hotels in every country i am travelling to :D

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SHERIF E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street (new ibis rooms). It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Johnny Friends - 10/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« An excellent choice. »

This hotel represented good value for money. An early check in was possible, a comfortable bed, clean room and pleasantly decorated. No faults.

Frances Business - 10/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Great Hotel but no receipt at end of stay »

On checkout I requested a receipt for my stay to be emailed. I have not received the emailed receipt which I need for my expense claim. I stayed in room 304 for one night on Thursday 7th Feb. Please email the receipt to Fr… on receipt of this message

Alasdair Business - 10/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Poor reception and welcome »

Comfortable room, but a poor reception/welcome. It was so chaotic that the two members of staff on "reception" didn't seem to know who were arriving guests, who were departing, or who was just sitting there.

Anonymous Couples - 10/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Good location, convenient parking, friendly staff, good nights sleep and excellent breakfast. »

The staff were very friendly and even though we were early we were booked in straight away. The room was very clean and had been recently refurbished. The hotel was close to Bridgewater Hall concert venue which was the reason for our visit. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food.

Angela Couples - 09/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« A bit noisy »

There was quite a bit of noise from the street into the early hours, even though we were on the 4th floor, this wasn’t helped by the toilet not working properly, so the water was constantly running. Also, there was only one lift working, and you couldn’t take the lift down from our floor. Apart from these problems, everything else was good.

Taryn Couples - 08/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant, helpful staff, nice breakfast »

Good sized room nice & quiet. Had a comfortable sleeep. Shower was a very good size. Staff were pleasant & helpful enough. Breakfast was good. Only slight downside is the breakfast area being so compact guests are very much on top of each other. Would go again

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear TARYN H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and you had a nice sleep. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assitant General Manager

Diego M. Business - 06/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Ok »

Everything went pretty well, beside the awaful smell in the room. The place looked pretty dirty for IBIS standards.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DIEGO m., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. I am sorry to learn that your room had a weird smell, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistnt General Manager

S. Couples - 06/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Unsatisfactory late checkout service »

Check in service and facilities were great. However, I had paid for late checkout until 5pm. On the day of checkout, the cleaner was banging on the door at 12:30pm and told me that I had to leave as checkout was at 12:00pm. This disturbance woke me up. Later after popping out, I returned to the room to find the key would not work. I had to go down to reception to get the key updated. As I had paid extra for late checkout, I am incredibly disappointed with this service. As a regular guest as Ibis I am now reconsidering whether to stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JONES S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street I am sorry to learn that you were disturbing by the housekeeping while you asked for a late check out, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie

David M. Business - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Absolutely loved it! »

A super location and a very enjoyable experience to stay in this modern hotel. Easy checkin and into my room in a very smooth operation. Very comfortable bed and I wished I was there for more than one night! Breakfast was excellent, everything that I needed in a small area and all self service and staff there constantly topping up the food and making sure it was presentable. Easy service to leave my case for collection later after my course was finished.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DAVID M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our central location and also with your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to see you soon. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Sam R. Families - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« One night stay »

Friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SAM R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for your comment regarding our friendly staff. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Steve B. Couples - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr Steve B. »

It was nice and easy to check in and the room was comfortable. Our only problem was that the room air conditioning didn’t work and also the water was cold in the morning for a shower.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear STEVE B., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you did not have hot water. We do apologize for that. We do not provide air conditioning in our hotel, we have a cooling air system, that's means is the same temperature for all the hotel. You can not control it, you can only turn on or off in your room. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Anonymous Friends - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Good budget accommodation »

Overall my experience was satisfactory, other than the fact that a cleaner entered my room whilst I was still sleeping on the day of my departure prior to check out. This is the second time that this has happened to me at this hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JULIE E., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. I am so sorry to learn that the housekeeping went into your room. Please let me express my sincerest apologize for that. I will inform the housekeeping manager so that it does not happen again. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Jenjen Couples - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Could improve »

We stayed Sat - Monday, when i booked online a deciding factor for me was the late checkout as my partner had a course on the Monday. I ticked the 5pm check out request. On arrival at the hotel the gentleman told us that late checkout was not on our booking, he then explained that as we were staying two nights we would get charged £10 for each night which is a £20 charge for late check out. We queried this as it didn't make sense. We said "if we were staying 7 nights it would be £70??" he said yes. We went back and forth with him but he abruptly said "anymore questions??" and we grudgingly paid the money as we were both exhausted from the long journey from Scotland. The hotel room was standard as you would expect but there were housekeeping issues including black mould coming out of the shower plug hole, dirty surfaces were the glasses were and blood stains on the carpet close to the mirror. There were also holes in the bedsheets. On Sunday we enquired with a different member of staff regarding late check out she told us it was £10 until 2pm and then an additional £10 for every hour. We were more confused than ever and just left it. When check out day arrived i returned to my room at 2:30pm to find my key didnt work, this was quickly resolved by a helpful member of staff, he resolved it very quickly for me. I don't usually expect too much from a budget hotel but basic things could be much improved, stayed in other IBIS hotels with much higher standards.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear J. Watt, First of all, apologies for the delay in my reply, I have been investigating your situation. I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street (new ibis rooms). I am really sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am really dissappointed to hear about your experience regarding late check-out request and housekeeping issues. Please be aware that I have share your comments with my head housekeeping and I am going to take corrective actions to ensure this is not repeated again. Please accept my personal apology for the inconvinience this might have caused during your stay. As a gesture, I would like to offer you the refund for the late check-out. I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in near future and provide you hassle free stay during your next visit to Manchester. Sincerely, Alba Varea Cosin Team Leader

Cp Couples - 05/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Good hotel nice location »

Stay was good, very nice bathrooms and lovely bed, was given an extra bed for some reason which took up a lot of room, we hadn’t requested it.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear CONNIE P., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with you stay and our central location in Manchester. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. See you soon, Baptiste De Lagausie Assitant General Manager

Giuliana M. Families - 04/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable stay in the city centre »

In general it has been comfortable and relaxing, especially because the location is placed at the very centre of the city with restaurants and shops all around the area. The staff was kind, helpful and smiling. When we arrived Michael welcomed warmly and he was always friendly and kind during our stay. I would only give the company some suggestions like: providing adaptors for European or non-European travellers; putting toilet brushes in the rooms and give the possibility to weigh the luggage by providing scales for the guests when requested. Apart from that, everything was nice and relaxing.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear GIULIANA M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. We are pleased to hear that the location city center of our hotel suited you and you were really satisfied with your stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff in particulary for Michael. For hygenic reasons we do not provide toilet brushes in the bathroom. Concerning the adaptator, we provide a box in your room where you can plug in USB, but we should have indeed adaptator and weigh, we are going to work on it. We appreciate your suggestions, thank you for that. We look forward to see you soon in our hotel in your next trip to Manchester Sincerely, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Laura T. Friends - 04/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was clean and tidy the bed was rock hard though and was unable 2 sleep and the breakfast was at an ok standered. The staff was nice and helpful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JULIE t., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your room and our staff, however I am sorry that you did not sleep well with our matress. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Baptiste De Lagausie Assistant General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 52.00 GBP Non member rate
From 49.40 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates