Hotel - The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure
Grand Mercure Hotel Grand Mercure Hotel

The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure

4.0/5 2,770 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 161.00 AUD Non member rate
From 161.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access (Paying)
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Parking
    • Public indoor parking
    • Valet parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours
  • Snack & beverage machine

Business services

  • 12 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Offering elegant accommodation in the centre of the city, The Swanston Hotel Melbourne, Grand Mercure is the ideal option for visitors looking for hotels in Melbourne. Guests staying at this stylish Melbourne hotel can choose from a range of guest rooms and suites, with Superior options available. Beautifully appointed and spacious, each guest room features a range of amenities, including an LCD TV with Foxtel and pay movies, a DVD player & DVD library, a microwave, and wired and WIFI Internet access.

  • 202 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 24 connecting rooms
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Opening windows
    • Direct dial telephone
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.2/5 AccorHotels Rating 9,877 reviews

Our guest reviews for The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,770 reviews
Anonymous Couples - 09/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« good but hotel is a bit old »

Had a good time close to everything, bar area is very old room was old as well but I know you are refurbisihing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thanks and I'm glad that you liked our great location. As you mentioned we are refurbishing and we are so excited about how well the new rooms are turning out. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon so you can experience one for yourself. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Neville Business - 08/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Could do better! »

Carpets were grubby but the rest was okay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Neville, Thanks for your comments. I'm not sure if you are aware but we are refurbishing the whole hotel and the new rooms look fabulous and we even have our own exclusive carpets in the rooms and passageways made just for our hotel! We hope to see you at the hotel again soon so that you can check them out for yourself. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Ben W. Business - 08/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Staff friendly, food not good, had housekeeping staff enter at 830am.. »

Comfortable hotel, but amenities around it were not great.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ben, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I can only assume that our Housekeeping staff must have got confused with a room number because they normally wouldn't try to enter a room that early. However I am glad that you found the hotel comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Deborah T. Couples - 08/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely room and helpful staff »

We loved our new Pullman room so spacious and great bed...,had to shift the waste bin to the living area...,and one day our room was not made up... we appreciated good help at the front desk.. but staff were busy and it was a bit of waiting

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Deborah, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially about our friendly staff and fabulous new Pullman rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Tony L. Solo - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Positive Feedback »

Comfortable in a newly renovated room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Tony L., Thank you for sharing your positive experience. Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and we look forward to see you again for another comfortable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Garry S. M. Couples - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable room, great location and service. »

Front of house Staff made check in very easy. Initial issue with wifi to our room was dealt with quickly and professionally and with sincere apologies for any inconvenience. All interactions with staff were positive, friendly and helpful. Room and facilities were very good. Daily housekeeping was excellent. Great location in central Melbourne. In-house dining opportunities and outside recommendations left nothing to desire.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Garry S. M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. Sincere apologies for the initial inconveniences experienced due to WiFI Issues, but delighted that it got rectified very quickly to your requirements. We truly appreciate you highlighting the positive aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Carolina C. Business - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Everything was what I epxected it to be as I have stayed their previously. »

Nice to find small bag of chocolates in the room. Room was clean and functional. I was only staying for one night so it met all my requirements for my short stay. Very pleased that a Taxi was available immediately on leaving in the morning as I needed to be at my meeting on time. I would however like to comment that when I called to book my room I was not pleased with the way my enquiry regarding corporate rate was handled. Initially I was told that I could not get a corporate rate and when I went on to say that my organisation does have a current corporate rate arrangement in place I was told that they would need to check with 'Revenue' to see if a corporate rate was in fact available and if I could use it. I was put on hold and then was told that yes the corporate rate was applicable. Very clunky process and I was frustrated with the level of expertise from the person who I was dealing with.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Carolina C., Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are delighted that the accommodation provided met your requirements for a one nights stay. And apologies for the confusion and inconveniences experienced during the process of making the reservations. I have addressed your concerns to our Front Office Manager, as well as our Reservations Manager for their urgent attention. We thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Lie J. F. Families - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Best location in downtown Melbourne »

Clean& spacious room

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lie Jong F., Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Melbourne. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, and found the accommodation provided to be spacious and clean. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Norsiyah M. Business - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review

I was fortunate to stay in the newly renovate floor. Amazing, comfortable. A desk area would be good if you where staying more than one night for business.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Norsiyah M., We are very appreciative of your positive feedback on our newly refurbished rooms and for your constructive feedback regarding the desk in the room. We hope to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Jodie W. Solo - 07/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review

As I had just gotten out of hospital prior to check-in, in a city where I knew no one. The minute I walked into the room, I felt safe and relaxed. The bed was so comfortable, I ordered room service, the young female whom brought my order up was so happy and hospitable, the encounter left me smiling and feeling happy. The room was clean, the decor modern. I didn’t want to leave as I found it so relaxing. Thank you for a stress free experience. Jodie W Tasmania

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jodie W., It puts the biggest smile on our deal to receive such positive feedback. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We are so happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne. Thank you again for your words of encouragement. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Anonymous Couples - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Every aspect of our stay was excellent - from arrival at the Hotel to departure. »

The friendly and courteous front of house, bar and restaurant personnel are second to none. Staying right in the city was a new experience and I will certainly do it again. I look forward to seeing the upgrade of the Hotel in the future. My thanks to Management and Staff for the gifts for my birthday.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for responding to our Guest Survey and for giving us a good score in relation to your recent stay at the Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I'm certainly glad that we were able to help you celebrate your birthday. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Valerie Couples - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient, friendly & excellent accomodation »

We were very happy with our really good accomodation & the helpful staff, plus the convenience of the location.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Valerie, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the benefits of being so conveniently located in the heart of the city. Appreciate you highlighting the helpfulness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

A E. Families - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient »

Close to Chinatown ,Everything was close by. Staff was very friendly! We stayed for a few days , maybe the breakfast menu could change every few days?

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear A E., Thank you for sharing your feedback after staying with us recently. Appreciate you highlight aspects of your stay that you enjoyed and for being constructive with your feedback regarding breakfast. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Executive Chef. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Steve Business - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A real mixed bag »

Good location but rooms noisy, run down and Wi-Fi didn’t work. Room very spacious but bed very soft. Disappointed that complimentary water bottles weren’t replaced after first night.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In regards to the complimentary bottles of water, unfortunately we only provide them on the day of arrival. As you might be aware that we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and they are being done in stages. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future and for you to try one of the refurbished accommodation rooms. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Elizabeth S. Families - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Great newly refurbished room. Wonderful accommodating staff. A special shout out to Lizzy on reception.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Elizabeth S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. So happy to read that you enjoyed the accommodation provided and truly appreciate the kind words on the wonderful service provided to our staff, in particular to Lizzy. I will be sure to share your kind words to them. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again for another enjoyable stay with us. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Cyril R. Families - 06/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Happy customer »

We had no problems during our stay, staff were efficient and courteous and the facilities meet our expectation

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Cyril, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially about our excellent facilities and friendly staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Anonymous Business - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Poor service for accor plus member »

I am an Accor plus member and booked the accommodation. I was delayed due to work commitments and my daughter checked in for me and thought she would stay with me in Melbourne. The check in person (don't know her name) made the check in difficult. My daughter was asked to pay extra ($75) at check in as the reception would not accept the Accor plus card and as I was not present. She paid the fee, as she did not know what else to do. No Accor plus member drink vouchers were offered at check-in. However, drink vouchers were supplied in envelope under door next morning and refund given when she checked out. Overall it made the stay very unpleasant!! I don't think I will be staying here again

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Pauline E., Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your experience. I apologize for the inconveniences experienced, however I hope that you can understand that our staff did what's required to process as reservation - in this case, you booked an ACCOR Plus 20% mobile discount rate, which as per the Terms & Conditions, we can process it unless the the actual card holder and the name of the reservation present at check-in. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience. You have mentioned that you might not be staying with us again, and I am sorry to hear that. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Andrew R. Business - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« good location, reasonably priced with tired furnishings »

Not too bad. Upon check-in as a Platinum member I was : - not acknowledged - given a room upgrade (thank-you) - no complimentary water - no 'welcome gift' 2 x drink vouchers (thank-you) Room cleaning threw out 3 travel receipts I had left with some papers & other belongings. An offer was made to 'tax invoice' the values on my hotel bill (creative but dishonest). I did not take up the offer. Cocoon bar was excellent! NB I booked using the Accor Hotels app. There is NO option for this in the next question...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Andrew R., Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your experience through this avenue as well as your email to Simon McGrath, our Chief Operating Officer. Andrew, we take your concerns on board and have addressed them to our relevant Department Heads for their urgent attention. Unfortunately, like most organisations, our systems and our staff are not 100% foolproof, and from time to time this results in us not delivering the service or comfort which we aspire to. Our General Manager, James will make contact with you sometimes today or tomorrow to further discuss your concerns. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you back in the future for a better experience. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Wade M. Business - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Awesome »

Great stay as per the norm.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Wade, Thank you for responding to our Guest Survey and for giving us a perfect score in relation to your recent stay at the Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Rob T. Business - 05/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« It was a pleasurable stay »

It was a short business trip but was nice accommodation

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rob, Thank you for responding to our Guest Survey and for giving us a good score in relation to your recent stay at the Mercure Welcome Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Nick Phillips Guest Relations

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 161.00 AUD Non member rate
From 161.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates