Hotel - The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure
Grand Mercure Hotel Grand Mercure Hotel

The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure

4.0/5 2,811 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 201.00 AUD Non member rate
From 201.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Parking
    • Public indoor parking
    • Valet parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • French
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours
  • Snack & beverage machine

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Offering elegant accommodation in the centre of the city, The Swanston Hotel Melbourne, Grand Mercure is the ideal option for visitors looking for hotels in Melbourne. Guests staying at this stylish Melbourne hotel can choose from a range of guest rooms and suites, with Superior options available. Beautifully appointed and spacious, each guest room features a range of amenities, including an LCD TV with Foxtel and pay movies, a DVD player & DVD library, a microwave, and wired and WIFI Internet access.

  • 202 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 24 connecting rooms
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.2/5 AccorHotels Rating 10,609 reviews

Our guest reviews for The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,811 reviews
Alex Business - 18/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Great Visit, pleasant staff, perfect for business »

Was great, check in crew was lovely. They tentatively look after my needs. It was quick and painless.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Alex , Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your stay was great and the facilities and services provided was perfect for your business requirements. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Anonymous Business - 18/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« lovely comfortable room, very spacious. Friendly efficient staff »

Terrific location in the heart of Melbourne. Lovely new room to stay in and helpful efficient staff. We'll be back

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Claire, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your words of encouragement and they have been passed on to our team. We look forward to see you again for another comfortable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Mark H. Business - 18/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very dissappointing stay to say the least »

I wasn't impressed with numerous issues and after bringing my complaint to Toby he advised he would look into it on day 2 of my 5 night stay and I never heard back from him especially when I made a point to say I mystery shop for the travel industry ...his reply I hope the rest of your stay is better

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mark H., Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I have certainly raised your concern to our Management and we have since addressed it directly with Toby. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement. Once again please accept my apology and thank you for being constructive with your review. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

J. Couples - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent location and room »

We were disappointed that we booked Louden Lounge for Valentine’s Day but weren’t told that only the limited menu and Cocoon Bar was open. Our only issue for stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear J., Thank you for staying with us recently. Apologies that your stay was negatively impacted by your dining experience. We take your comment on board and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Sam C. Couples - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Upgrade was unexpected and appreciated. »

Staff at reception were brill.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sam C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on our reception staff. And we couldn't be happier that we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and that it was well received. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Bmunro Business - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Renovations are great »

Delighted with the renovated rooms Comfortable bed Great bathroom Nice couch and space. Thanks for the welcome drinks

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear BMunro, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Calvin Families - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Not informed that pool was under renovation »

Location was great, however we were very disappointed when we arrived we were told that the pool was under renovation. Staying with 2 kids, one of the main reason we chose the hotel was so that we could have a swim with the kids. If we knew the pool was closed we would have not chose this hotel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Calvin, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to the closure of the pool from the 1st of February 2019. We were being very transparent by removing the information regarding the pool from the websites. I noticed that yu made the reservation through accorhotels.com and unfortunately despite our request in advance to have the pool facilities removed from the website, it did take a while for it to be action. I can certainly understand the disappointment of your children and once again our sincere apologies. Please do not hesitate to contact myself if I can be of any assistance in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Aimee Business - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Treated poorly by staff, bathroom had blood on the wall. »

From the minute I entered I was treated poorly and had issue after issue.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Aimee, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read about your disappointed stay. I am aware of your situation on arrival where there was no authority to charge-back, and that we had to contact your family member for a guarantee. We were being very accommodating with your circumstances and we are sorry to hear that you felt that you're being treated poorly by our staff. Unfortunately, like most organisations, our systems and our staff are not 100% foolproof, and from time to time this results in us not delivering the service or comfort which we aspire to. In your case however, I am personally very disappointed and somewhat surprised to read that we seem to have let you down in so many ways. Allow me to once again apologize that your visit was not enjoyable. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Aubrey S. Couples - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Disappointed »

The room had no view & was noisy due to renovations.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Aubrey S., Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback. Unfortunately being right in the heart of the city, surrounded by other buildings has its downfall, where we do not have much view on offer. As for as the benefit of being a CLASSIC Le Club members: you are entitled for the following : Members' rate: up to 10% extra off Advance access to private sales on accorhotels.com Online check-in, fast check-out Free internet access worldwide Rewards points are earned on every euro spent, which can then be swapped for gifts. Our apologies again that we were unable to provide you with a comfortable & enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Chris J. Couples - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Disappointing »

We checked into a room that did not look like the photos we based our booking on. One day the water wasn't working, so we complained. At this time, we were advised that a letter circulated around the hotel noting that the water would be off from 10 until 3 or something like that. We did not receive this letter. We took the opportunity to express our disappointment with the room.. We were offered an upgraded room at half price, which was quite cheeky considering we booked the room based on the understanding that we would get the upgraded room in the first place. In the end, we got the upgrade for free... which was great... except for the fact that there was an incredibly loud and disturbing water/plumbing noise on for 24 hours a day. We also stumbled across significant building noise before 8am most days despite being told that renovations would not disrupt our stay and would start after 8am. We were also excited about using the pool facilities (as advertised when we booked), but alas, they weren't available. Reception staff seemed nice though! A+ for them!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Chris J., Thank you for your recent patronage and time to provide feedback. I am disappointed that not everything was as you expected. In regards to the room booked, I have had a look at your reservation and can confirmed that the room that you booked was not our refurbished room type. It's a different room type, as well as different price point and it's visible on the website where you made the booking at. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced and this has been passed on to our Management for their urgent attention. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Lynn P. Solo - 17/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« My room was amazing! »

I stayed in a Deluxe room and the décor was lovely throughout. The view was better than I expected and the staff very efficient. I will be back because the major stores are minutes away!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lynn P, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to see you again for another great stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Nina Business - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Surpringly comfortable »

Check in was a really good experience in terms of service although the hotel lobby and restaurant is desperately in need of a makeover. I was put in a newly renovated room which was truly comfortable and well designed. I really enjoyed it, and will stay again

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nina, Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can change. It is helpful to know what we need to improve and rest assured that they will get their much deserved make-over as part of our refurbishment. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Leon V. E. Couples - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Great staff, big room but no electricity for 24 hours was disappointing. »

Nice hotel and staff very good but lost one of our days due to no electicity. I honestly believe Accor should do the right thing and credit me with a day to replace the one I lost!

Mandy M. Families - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« great location and fantastic staff »

really good, staff were excellent, breakfast was good, good location.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mandy M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

C J. Couples - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Drab and needing refurbishment to the room but clean also very noisy »

A very sad room but clean needs a lot of refurbishment also very noisy. Breakfast did not have very good choices

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear C J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you might be aware that we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and they are being done in stages. Currently we have completed 60% of our rooms inventory. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future and for you to book and try our refurbished rooms, so you can experience the difference in products. Once again our sincere apologies for not able to tick all the boxes on this occasion. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

T E. Business - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Was given an “upgrade” to a construction zone »

Was told on check in that they were giving me an upgrade to which I thanked them what followed was Loud noises late at night which I thought was noisy neighbours followed by early morning angle grinding loud hammering directly against the wall and further loud noises Extremely disrupted sleepin a room which was extremely below par in asthetics I cut my stay short and demanded a refund for the final night would have expected a refund for the full stay, gentleman at the counter also stated they would cover a bottle of water I consumed which I did not ask for only to later find it on the bill This is my second negative Accor experience in a row extremely disappointing

Helen M. Couples - 16/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« comfortable and quiet in midst of a big city »

Enjoyable. Even though we had checked in online it seemed to take ages to actually check in.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Helen M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. Apologies for the delay in getting you checked-in to your room, but delighted to read that you had a quiet & comfortable stay with us. We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Leanne C. Solo - 15/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Unmemorable »

I stayed for 2 nights. As an advantage plus member I was disappointed that I wasn't offered one of the upgraded rooms. I was happy to receive a 12 noon check out on the date of my departure. I was unhappy that housekeeping entered the room before this time, and woke me up!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Leanne C., Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback. Apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to our Housekeeping staff accessed your room prior to your departure time. In regards to the upgrade, unfortunately it's always subject to availability. Appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Lachlan C. Solo - 15/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent despite a small issue with the Bathroom Fan »

Check-in was swift, got a lovely upgrade from a Queen to King room. Juggling the separate cards for Room and Elevator was a little annoying as I kept thinking I was going to misplace either. The Room was great, bed was comfy, people were very helpful The only real issue was when the bathroom light/fan was switched after 15 minutes or so some weird gurgling like water having trouble trying to drain away would start (it might have had something to do with a dehumidifier or the A/C or something), it took me the first day to work out what was happening as the noise would persist after the light/fan was switched off. The room was well placed and very quiet Oh, the Window frame needed a good clean And some Ice in the mini-fridge would have been handy Most of these where just nitpicks though, nothing serious

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lachlan C., Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I will share your encouragement and constructive feedback with our team. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you again for providing a review. Please do not hesitate to contact myself if I can be of any further assistance in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Anonymous Solo - 15/02/2019 AccorHotels certified review

No water in my room on the second day. The quality of a room service is poor.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Robyne, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We provide information regarding no access to the water in all rooms one day prior prior to the shut-down. I understand and apologize for the inconveniences experienced, unfortunately it needed to be done as part of our refurbishments. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a better experience. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 201.00 AUD Non member rate
From 201.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates