Novotel York Centre Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,919 reviews
Novotel York Centre
See on a map
+ 24 Services
Book this hotel
Ceci est un message d'erreur

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Indoor heated pool with natural light

  • Lavish hot breakfast buffet

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining

  • Choice of flexible rooms for events that work

  • Lobby video games for kids big and small

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed 12.00 GBP
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions Nearby
  • Bike rack facilities
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel York Centre

Fishergate
YO10 4FD
york
united kingdom

Tel: +441133969004

Fax: (+44)1904/610925

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 50km / 31.25 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER At 136km / 85 miles

  • By plane

    SHEFFIELD AIROPRT At 93.33km / 58 miles

  • By boat

    HULL At 60km / 37.5 miles

  • By boat

    NEWCASTLE At 140.81km / 87.5 miles

  • By helicopter

    YORK RACE COURSE HELIPAD At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By helicopter

    YORK RACECOURSE At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By car

    A19 At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By car

    A64 At 3.22km / 2 miles

  • By car

    AIM/A19 At 20km / 12.5 miles

  • By train

    LEEDS At 32.18km / 20 miles

  • By train

    YORK STATION At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.952728, -1.077586

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting.Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Lunch

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 20:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 200 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 210 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more
Novotel York Centre Meeting Room

Our guest reviews for
Novotel York Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.3/5

8,734 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,919 reviews

dirty room ,very of putting spoilt the break

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Graham C. Couples - 19/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

the first room , toilet room , bed cover ,skirting boards covered in dog hair truly disgusting . kettle area , biscuits crumbs and empty biscuit wrappers , not clean at all. Second room still not totally clean , crumbs and bits about ,also no toilet brushes in either room , poor standards . The last time i stayed no problem.

Enjoyed our stay.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Andy H. Families - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Enjoyed our stay, but it could of been better. Impressed with the layout of the hotel on arrival, and recieved a friendly welcome from the staff. Our room was nice and big with everything we needed. One issue was the toilet being on it's own, this seems a rather silly idea, certainly in the middle of the night when you need the toilet, and need to manoeuvre from the toilet to the bathroom to wash your hands. All whilst not trying to wake the rest of the family up with turning too many lights on! The swimming pool was nice and the kids loved it. Unfortunately on our departure day, I took the kids down at 8am for a swim before breakfast, but found it to be closed due to issues with the chemicals. The pool did open around 75mins later, however this meant that by thr time we had used thr pool and got ready, we had missed breakfast. Novotel offer a kids room with s xbox and PC, yet during our stay neither of these worked which left our kids a little glum. Your new restaurant looks lovely and your bar area was also nice, yet one small issue was the length of time it took to get served. This was the same when we ate in the restaurant, it seemed an age for the staff to come and serve us, and when we did order, the food took over 30mins to arrive. The staff did however inform. Us of the delay in the kitchen and brought us some complimentary bread. The food was also lovely. I also think that the parking charge of £13 seems a little excessive, certainly for hotel residents. Overall, we really liked this hotel, yet I'm not sure if we got our monies worth due some of the issues had during our stay. This makes me question, if it makes sense staying with you in the future or a cheap budget hotel, I.e the one around the corner from yourselves.

Great team

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Aija K. Families - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Excellent stay. Special mention to Jessica and Kelly at reception. They are a credit to your hotel. Well done.

ok hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

David Solo - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

room = alright. service = good. + help when I left charger. Food = poor

Very bad experience, worst house keeping, dirty rooms and bad customer service

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mansoor S. Families - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

It was one of the worst experience we have ever had. Being a pet friendly hotel, you need to clean your rooms every day. However we were told that rooms are cleaned every third day! This is ridiculous. You don't even clean bathrooms everyday which is pathetic. Also we were entitled to slippers and water bottles in our room which was not there when we arrived. Upon asking and calling the reception 3 times, were we able to get it after several hours. In fact the receptionist first told us that only Executive rooms are entitled; we were in an executive room!@£$. Also the room was not clean upon check-in; there was dust and the space on top of the cabinet doors was filled with food crumbs. Also the mattress had a huge stain on it. It seems that you guys have the worst housekeeping ever. The head of housekeeping (an old lady with a loud voice) was very rude when we asked her about it. It shows the service attitude you teach your staff. I don't think you should call yourself four star hotel with this situation. Finally although you cannot make structural changes, but having the WC separate from washing area does not make any sense. What are you supposed to do after the toilet visit? Walk all the way to the other side of the room to wash hands?? This is such basic stuff and clearly someone has missed the mark here. Also in the bathroom, what is the sense of putting French doors with a wide gap so people outside can see you. Please explain the logic of this lack of privacy. Your reception staff clearly does not care about customers experience. Upon checkout, the lady did not even bother to ask how was our stay. Amazing! About the breakfast; the scrambled eggs were not well done since we can still see the milk/liquid in the chaffing tray. Also plates were very old and we can see several scratch marks on the plates. The arrangement was such that we have to visit five different locations in the area to complete the plate. I really don't know who is managing your hotel.

Dear MANSOOR S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel York Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our rooms are cleaned daily, however we do not change bed linen daily unless this is requested or the bed linen is stained or visibly dirty; these will be changed every other day. I am unsure if you mean no one cleaned the room (vacuumed, made bed etc) or if your room was not attended at all, but I am sorry for your inconvenience. As we were just finishing off our new restaurant on the day you checked out, we have been making use of the lounge/lobby for breakfast. If we tried to put all items in the same area, there would be unnecessary and unwanted queuing and bottle-necks - hence the reason of having 4 clearly defined areas for different needs. I am sorry you were not impressed with the service you received from the team, this is quite surprising as you may see from other reviews, the team is very regularly praised for their attitude and focus on the guests. I will be grateful to speak with you personally about your stay if you have some time. I do have to add that I don't feel the method of describing our head housekeeper is appropriate. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kai Ikulayo h0… 01… 660

Very friendly,clean and professional

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ian W. Couples - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very nice hotel the staff where very professional and friendly. Room was lovely and the food was ok. Would stay again

Fantastic as always.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Syd C. Couples - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very helpful staff as usual, we will definitely stAy again.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jason Families - 18/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Lovely as always & nice to finally get to use the new rooms - both the suite & the new restaurant

MRS

Customer review rating 4.3/5

M I. Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

THERE WERE A FEW ISSUES WITH OUR ROOM. THE BATH/SHOWER WAS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN SHOWERING. AS IT IS NOT ANTI SLIP WHEN SHOWERING THE BATH BECAME VERY SLIPPERY AND DANGEROUS TO GET OUT OF. BEDS WERE ROCK HARD AND NOT ENOUGH CUSHIONS ON THE BEDS. THERE WERE 3 OF US IN THE ROOM AND WE WERE ONLY PROVIDED WITH 2 BATH TOWELS??? WE WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE DISRUPTIONS OF THE RESTAUARNT SO BREAKFAST WAS BEDLAM. NOT ENOUGH TABLES AND HEALTH AND SAFETY ISSUES CARRYING HOT FOOD AND DRINKS. NOT A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE THIS TIME AT THE NOVOTEL WHICH IS A SHAME AS WE NORMALLY ALWAYS STAY HERE.

Great location, staff very helpful, excellent car parking

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Pauline Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our stay was enjoyable but the beds/pillows were uncomfortable. Staff were extremely helpful

Served our purpose

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Kate Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

2 families having a city break. The hotel served its purpose but we felt the staff were inexperienced, no room service at all ie dirty glasses and cups left in room for 3 days. No radiators or hooks to hang towels for 4 people. The pool was great for the kids but I'd describe it as murky. It was a short walk to the city centre and to restaurants and the city wall. But I'd still rather stay there and have the pool and have breakfast provided and not have to clean after ourselves than stay in an airbnb.

Nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sophie Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Nice hotel, was a bit disappointed our daughters bed wasn’t made up when we had got to our room. The swimming pool was rather dirty so had to get out after 10 minutes. Breakfast good, lots of choices!

Nice hotel, be better once refurb finished as Breakfast not great.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Chris Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room modern but bathroom/toilet could have been bigger as very tight for space. Atmosphere in bar not very good and breakfast very manic, maybe due to refurbishment. Location good and car parking very useful.

City break

Customer review rating 4.3/5

J. T. Couples - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great location by river super for walking dogs and made for lovely walk into city centre. Good breakfast. Spacious clean and comfortable room. Only negative was the towels which were thin and small in size.

Comfortable stay in a pleasant room

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Paul Couples - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Check in a bit chaotic as a large tour party had just arrived but otherwise fine.

Poor communication

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Nick T. Families - 17/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Booked your hotel because it had a pool, arrived to be told there was a queue ( ok) but then told I could get in by 6.20 but had to be out by 6.30 as it was adult only. If I had been told that at time of booking I would have arrived earlier. So paid a premium for a pool I didn’t use.

Miss A.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Miss A. Couples - 16/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was not suitably clean - our towels had black stains on them, there was scum around the sink and bath and the drains in our bathroom smelt of egg. The TV, despite being free view, barely showed 1, 2, 3 and 4. Tried to ring down to reception 3 times to discuss the issue but each time no answer and every time I left the hotel and attempted to talk to reception on the way out, it was not suitably staffed to discuss matters only welcome new guests. The room in itself was decorated nice and the bed was very comfortable but all in all I do not expect to pay £150 a night for an unclean room and unacceptable appliances.

Excellent

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SqueakyUK Solo travel - 16/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

This was my first time at the Novotel York Centre and I must admit that I was impressed. Friendly, polite staff. Well presented, tidy, clean rooms. The food, (breakfast,) was also very good. I will be going back.

Reception staff on Sunday ill informed. Breakfast chaotic but staff excellent.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Steve E. Families - 15/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our son's room was not cleaned and when we informed a cleaner we were told not his responsibilty but to speak to the other team! Really poor customer care. The layout of the restaurant is appalling. We were sitting amongst people checking in and out.

Nice room could have been cleaner

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Steve S. Families - 15/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Slow check in, advised room would be ready by 2pm when we went back at 4pm still not ready. Building work being carried out and room looked very new. Builders dust on a lot of stuff. Nice staff

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Powered by

Trustyou

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in york