Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 920 reviews
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance Hotel
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the city center.

  • 24-hour fitness room

  • Free WIFI - wide choice of TV channels including beIN Sports and CANAL+

  • Secure, private car park with charging terminals for electric cars

  • Family rooms

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Hairdressing salon
  • PorterPaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 17 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance Hotel

1 rue de Courtonne
CS 43086
CAEN CEDEX 2
14000
caen
france

Tel: +33231472424

Fax: (+33)2/31474388

Contact email

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Railways station :   All Tour Leroy

  • By plane

    CAEN CARPIQUET At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By plane

    PARIS ORLY At 250km / 155.34 miles

  • By plane

    ROISSY CDG At 280km / 174 miles

  • By boat

    BRITANNY FERRIES At 12km / 7.46 miles

  • By boat

    OUISTREHAM At 15km / 9.38 miles

  • By helicopter

    CAEN CARPIQUET At 10km / 6.25 miles

  • By train

    CAEN At 2km / 1.24 miles

GPS :49.184151, -0.355551

Our accommodations

Choose from our Standard Rooms, with views over the marina or with calmer views over the terrace, or our Privilege Rooms to make the most of a wider range of services.

Classic Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Classic Room with twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products

Privilege Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products(...)

Family Suite with 1 double bed and 1 double sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 42
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

BAR LOUNGE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Our bar, Le Between, welcomes you in pleasant, cozy surroundings with views of the port and a gallery of photos providing an alternative way to discover the town. Furnished with large sofas and comfy armchairs where you can sample our Grands Vins Mercure.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 17

  • Maximum size: 450

  • Maximum capacity: 450 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 450 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.3/5

3,242 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

920 reviews

Dangerously defective

Customer review rating 4.3/5

George R. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

My experience was fully explained to manager on duty

Dear GEORGE R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence, as my colleague did explained to you. We appreciate your sharing your concerns regarding your room, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jean-Yves GUTH Directeur

VERT ENJOYABLE BREAK WITH PERFECT LOCATION

Customer review rating 4.3/5

John M. Friends - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

HOTEL WAS COMFORTABLE WITH AN EXCELLENT LOCATION WOULD STAY AGAIN.

Dear JOHN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Have a good day, Juliette

Helpful staff and good size rooms

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Nicola L. Families - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were helpful and attentive. Rooms nice size- we had a priviledge room. Hotel parking was a godsend as we had security.

Dear NICOLA L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. And thank you also for the information regarding the toilets, our technicians are going to take care of it. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Have a good day, Juliette

The appearance,quality of reception and accommodation and efficiency were most impressive

Customer review rating 4.3/5

G. Couples - 28/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We didn't, eat there,but the overall facilities looked good

Dear JEREMY G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Have a good day, Juliette

Bedding & bathroom not to the standard

Customer review rating 4.3/5

B. Couples - 27/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Good location, staff very pleasant. Bathroom and particularly towel rail over the bath is an accident waiting to happen. Bedding not the most comfortable.

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.3/5

William Couples - 25/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Perfect. The location, bar, facilities and staff were first class.

Dear Monsieur M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Juliette

Destined to go out of business

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jan V. Couples - 23/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We booked this room following several stays in other Mercure hotels (Saint Malo, Cherbourg-en-Cotentin) and found the rooms in the Mercure in Caen terribly outdated and very bad value for money. The lobby looks fresh and stylish and then you get up to your room and it’s like I’m walking into a motel room of the 90’s. So depressing (and so deceptive). Upon entering the room, there was a prominent cigarette smell. We a actually had the impression it previously was a smokers room. There was also insufficient daylight in the room because of one single small window. The furniture had lots of scratches and was outdated. The mattress in the double bed that we slept in had a dent in the middle so we both rolled to the center, we had a terrible night here. We paid too much for this room. The breakfast was the same as in otter Mercure hotels and good. Check-in and check-out was equally good. We mentioned the issues to the reception desk. We found the contrast in between Mercure hotels, with the same star rating and all located closely to each other, so so BIG. The hotels in Saint-Malo and Cherbourg are up to date, trendy and so comfortable. You get up to your room and it’s a room you want to stay in, with huge comfortable beds, large windows, large bathroom even with the latest technology such as heated mirrors. These are examples of rooms that do not have a negatieve impact on your holidays, yours does.

Dear JAN V., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We noticed that you did not like your room, and we are really sorry for that. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. By the end of the year, we have planned an important rehabilitation of our rooms, as we did last year for our lobby. We could not do the two of them at the same time alas. That does explain the contrast. We are really sorry that that contrast felt too important for you, as I understand it did. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. We really hope that we will have the opportunity to see you next year in our renovated rooms, be sure that we will due our very best to please you. I also hope that you enjoyed your time in France, and especially in Normandy and Brittany. Sincerely, Juliette

Great stay and good location.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 22/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Stayed for visiting the D-Day beaches. Very convenient location and comfortable hotel.

Dear HELEN M., Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very pleased to read you and see that you enjoyed your stay in Normandy. Have a good day Madame, Juliette

Very helpful staff and a great location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DublinF247 Family - 15/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

We were arriving late so called ahead to ask about restaurant closure times, parking, etc. and got all the information we needed from a very polite and cheerful lady from Chicago, which gave me a welcome break from trying my holiday French. We missed the restaurant, but had a very nice bottle of St Emilion from the bar. The hotel is in an excellent location, but felt more functional than luxurious. However it was very well priced and we had a complimentary mini-bar, dressing gowns, etc., which were nice.

Good day! Thank you so much for your comment. My colleagues, especially our cheerful lady from Chicago, Amy, and I were very pleased to read you. Hope you enjoyed your french holidays! Regards, Juliette

Terrible breakfast & mold in shower

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Moldy R. Business - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Front desk personnel were friendly. Carpet in R. and hall needs to be cleaned.

Dear Monsieur Guy G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem in the R. you had and prevent future occurrence. I am also sorry that you did not like our breakfast, to whom we are usually very proud. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Juliette

Average and needs room refresh

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Eoin Families - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Room needs refresh (shower old and weak, dirty carpet, curtain falling down in room)and was not possible to make fully dark which is problem when you want to have children sleep in the evening.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Amanda S. Friends - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Very short stay using bedroom and parking only. Excellent location for “doing” the sights of Caen. Helpful staff answering all our questions pleasantly.

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Zoe Couples - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Clean Polite, happy and helpful staff

Great location, lovely hotel with friendly staff.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mrs R. D. Couples - 02/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Great stay. Hotel in great location with a short walk to shops and restaurants. Staff friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Buffet breakfasts lovely and a good variety of food. Room service was excellent. Rooms were lovely and clean. Only downside, no safe in room.

Room not very attractive

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 19/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The room rug had a big bleached spot, and there were smears that appeared to be food or blood on The bathroom door. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Very good.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mr D. S. Solo - 15/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Your Reception team were very kind in arranging a quiet room for me, as I'm a pensioner and a very light sleeper. Appreciated . On after thought: I found the kettle in the room very helpful, and noted that it was 800w "Green Choice" from Manusec, who seem to me to be located in Villepreux (78450) France, south west of Paris. I would very much like to buy one, but it seems to me that Manusec would only sell in quantity, to hotels direct. => this QUESTION: Would it be possible for me to buy one 800w electric kettle from you next time, please, and if so for what sort of price? My email address: donstickland@ hotmail.com

Dear DONALD S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Alas, and I am very sorry to say that, we cannot sell our kettles to our clients. As as you say, it is a product that is sold to hotels only, I am very sorry. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Have a good day Sir and see you soon! Juliette

Welcoming, clean, comfortable bed and good breakfast

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Elizabeth P. Friends - 15/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Very satisfied with room overall but a walk in shower would’ve been preferred due to stiff knees! Breakfast teabag would also be appreciated as we don’t drink earl gray nor fruit tea. The bed was perfect and extra pillows were welcome.

Dear Mr P., Thank you so much for your kind and constructive feedback! We took good note of your comment regarding the tea in the room and see how we can improve our service. Best regards, Lucie

Very good experience

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Derek B. Couples - 13/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Very good on the whole but hated the shower in room 258. The water escapes so easily from the shower tray and the shower was always only lukewarm. It was a bad experience using it. The bedroom lighting was very dark, we could hardly see to read.

Dear Monsieur B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Juliette

Great hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dee Families - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Location beside the port is excellent Staff are very friendly & helpful Stayed in family suite - great space, huge shower & a bath, lots of lovely toiletries Very quiet Excellent choices for breakfast buffet

Dear Dee G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Regards, Juliette

Did not use all facilities but what we used was good.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Fiona D. Families - 10/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Slight delay at reception - and noticed this a few times.

Dear Madame D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Regards, Juliette
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in caen