Hotel - ibis Koeln Am Dom
Ibis Hotel Hotel Ibis Hotel Hotel

ibis Koeln Am Dom Hotel

4.0/5 972 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel does not have a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 75.05 EUR Non member rate
From 71.30 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection. (Paying)
  • Public indoor parking  (Nearby)
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Shoe shine machine

Leisure and activities

  • Other sports activities
    • Bike rack facilities (Paying)
    • Jogging track

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

The ibis Köln am Dom hotel has 71 extra-comfortable rooms featuring Sweet Bed by ibis beds for a good night's sleep guaranteed. Room amenities include free WIFI, a desk so that you can work in peace and TV with a wide range of Sky channels.

  • 71 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Automatic air control
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Baby bed
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Direct dial telephone
    • High speed transmission line
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • Shower
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating 2,209 reviews

Our guest reviews for ibis Koeln Am Dom

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 972 reviews
Mats Solo - 10/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« AccorHotels during Amphi »

Good with nice air condotion. Close to the Amphi festival area. And close to the airport trains.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. D., we very much appreciate your comments and the positive evaluation regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Phil Friends - 09/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient location, sparse room, rude staff »

The location was very convenient right in central station but the room was really basic and small. The front desk person who works something like 7am-3pm was very rude and made my stay enjoyable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. P., thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am very disapointed that you didn' like the room, because you had one of the freshly renovated rooms on the third floor which we are very proud of. They absolutely fullfill the IBIS 2* standards. Regarding your comments about our staff I have to apologize if our colleague didn't act like you expected. This of course is not what we want. If you have any addtional questions or comments do not hesitate to contact us again at any time. Best regards from Cologne. Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Janet H. Families - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Perfect location and accommodation accumulating in memorable stay . »

Lovely comfortable peaceful rooms even though renovations were being carried out , rooms had good climate control to combat the extremely hot weather, breakfast were to a high standard, also considering it was at a train station no noise was heard from the station.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. and Mrs. H., we very much appreciate your comments and your very positive feedback regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

K. Couples - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« K. »

very good

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. K., we very much appreciate your positive evaluation regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Phil P Friends getaway - 05/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Convenient location but rude staff »

Rooms are clean but very small and sparse. Convenient location to central station so if you just need somewhere close then this place is fine. However, the staff is very rude. The guy at the desk who works like 7am-3pm should not be in the hospitality industry.

Anonymous Couples - 01/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Not as good a standard as I am used to »

We have been staying preferably in Accor hotels for the last years since we felt that they have really raised their standard. The beds are very comfortable and long and it is good value for money. Staying at Ibis Cologne was disappointing since the beds were very uncomfortable. They were so hard that I had a poor nights sleep and was aching all over the next day. I asked for an additional mattress cover, which is not available and was offered a duvet instead. Unfortunately when we came to the hotel at night and I was just about to make the bed with it to get into it, I found that they gave me two pillows. The third night I had this extra duvet and slept a little better. Overall though I am disappointed of this experience. I recently stayed at an Ibis Budget for the first time and thought that the beds there are a nightmare because, well, it's budget. To find similar beds now at a normal Ibis makes me wonder....

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Paul C. Couples - 31/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr. Paul C. »

Welcoming, comfortable, convenient to the train station, breakfast good, check- in easy.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

T A. H. Friends - 31/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Recommended!! »

We had a great experience staying at Ibis Köln Am Dom. The staff were helpful, especially when we first arrived, when we needed to enquire about a taxi to the airport and when our room keys had stopped working (because I'd stored them in beside my mobile phone). The room was clean and modern and had just the right amount of room for a mother and daughter getaway (we'd booked a twin room). We reserved our room a year before travel easily through Accor by email as it was too far ahead to book directly through the hotel website online. Thank you. We stayed from Friday 20th July to Saturday 28th July so 8 nights in total. Unfortunately there were some renovations being done to the hotel at the time we stayed which ment that at 7am on 2 mornings out of 8 (so can't really complain) we were rudely awoken by someone drilling loudly in the room below us, which woke us up. Other than that though the room was pretty peaceful considering you are in the middle of a busy city and situated right beside Köln Central station, which is busy every day of the week with locals and tourists, and also directly adjacent to the Cathedral (stunning view from bedroom). I think renovations are almost complete now - I wouldn't let that put you off booking at all as overall they didn't really affect us that much and it would be impractical for a hotel to completely shut while work is done. There is good, easy to use, air con in the rooms which we definitely needed in this recent heatwave! (36 degrees most days). We tried just to keep it on full wack during the day and switch it off at night as It is loud if you're trying to sleep with it on, but in the end we had to have it on during the night on a few occasions as it was just too hot (we come from Scotland so are not accustomed to the heat, haha). My recommendation to you would be to bring a set of earplugs per person, per night to block out the noise from the air con and any other noise that might prevent you having a peaceful nights sleep (there is realistically only so soundproof anyone can make a hotel and whilst this Ibis has done a pretty good job of that here you will still hear some noise so just bring earplugs). Towel changes, rooms and bathroom cleaned, beds made daily. Working lift which was handy as we were on the 3rd floor and definitely needed it at the end of the day and after climbing up the Cathedral. Deluxe Music channel on the tv gives you tunes for getting reading to go out. The hotel is in a perfect location for discovering the city and surrounding areas by train. We got the train directly from Cologne/Bonn airport to Koln Hauptbahnhof on arrival which was easy enough, and only cost €2.90 each. However, if you have large suitcases like we did or you're an older person, if you can afford it just get a taxi €35 as it takes the stress out of trying to navigate your way to the station in the airport and trying to find your way out of the train station to the hotel at the other end. Our bags were so heavy on leaving that we opted for a taxi which just made life so much easier. There's a taxi rank just outside the hotel. The buffet style breakfast was first class! Just give your room number to the nice ladies that work in the breakfast room and tuck in. Good selection of food (didn't get bored of the food the whole time we were there) - I would recommend trying a bowl of the fruit salad topped with a ladle or two of museli - yum!! The view from the breakfast room is pretty stunning too as you can gaze out onto the Cathedral - bliss. When deciding what IBIS in Köln to choose if you're a tourist then I'd recommend spending that little bit extra to use Köln am Dom as the location is absolutely perfect for discovering Köln. Helpful hints: Pick this Ibis it's great. Try a meal at "Em Krützche" one of the restaurants near the river across from KD Cruise boats office (lovely local food). Take the city tour bus and 1 hour sightseeing cruise one one of the first days you get there to help you get to know your way around (take earphones for on the bus for guide in your language). Bring earplugs. Almost everyone speaks English but it is only polite to at least try to initiate a conversation in German first!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Rude P. A. T. R. D. Families - 16/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Rude person at front d.. Will stay at Ibis but not at this one again! »

The hotel is always ok. I never had a bad experience, but I must mentioned that the woman at the front d. was rude and unfriendly. She spoke English but was not nice at all. It was not the usual customer service. Not from this lady. When I called the man that answer was very nice.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs.G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Business - 16/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Steady as she goes - and she goes well »

Service here is a little impatient, but this can't outweigh the qualities of the accommodation (its standards are still raising with the refurbishment) or especially the excellent location of this hotel, to which I can attest as a frequent business traveller

Business - 11/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Summer Trip »

Internet connection very poor, I am Gold card member for ACCOR but they didn't give me premium connection. Construction work under process going on which also put very bad impact of this Hotel envirnment.

Roger K. Couples - 06/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very good and attentive. »

Excellent stay in all respects.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Business - 06/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Another Excellent Stay At the Ibis Köln Dom »

This was a really good stop-over in Cologne. The hotel staff, as usual, were really helpful. My note about needing a room on a floor where access was by lift, not stairs, had been taken into account, and the chap on reception even knew we were coming back in a few weeks. The hotel does need a little freshening up, but a renovation has started and will make it even better. And the breakfast is excellent - a good choice of very nice items, at a very good price.

Jan K. Friends - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Unbeatable location »

Good breakfast buffet, helpful staff, newly renovated room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Matthew S. Couples - 29/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great location »

We wandered out of the station straight into the hotel. The young guy at reception was so quick, helpful and professional, he made everything very easy. It’s s great place to stay with great staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Stretch7250 Solo - 27/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Yvery central »

Located actually "in" Cologne Hauptbanhhof this small hotel is within walking distance of various cafes, restaurants and shopping precincts and of course Koln Dom. I thought is may be noisy with the station so close, and the people, but it was surprisingly quiet once inside.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mehmet Altas - Direktor Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Solo travel - 24/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Actually in the Cologne haiptbahnhof »

Actually in the Cologne haiptbahnhof and directly across from the Dom, this hotel is perfect for those needing a few nights close to the centre of Cologne. Trains run directly from the Cologne/Bonn Airport to this station. Rooms are very adequate and the breakfast is ample. There are 4 floors in this hotel. The lift only goes to the 3rd floor but there are only a dozen steps to the 4th floor. At time of submitting this review there is considerable referbishment under way but (on my experience) work/noise doesn't start very early and is completed by around 6pm A variety of cafes, restaurants, coffee shops and ice-cream shops abound nearby.

Family - 22/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Trip to Koln »

Quick trip to Koln for the night of 18th to 19th of June 2018. The hotel is centrally located next to the Main Station and the famous Cathedral. Close to the river and the many interesting sites to see in the city and surrounding area.

P. Business - 21/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very Bad Wifi »

Wifi signal strength was so bad. So Small bathroom. Very hard to take bath for a 6 feet person. No Coffee maker. No Water. Only benefit is the proximity to Cathedral & Train station. Not at all worth for 100 Euro per night.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. P., thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you might have seen we are renovating the rooms right now. This also includes the Wifi which will improve the performance. You could have asked for a quicker access all the time at the reception. You mentioned other points like the size of the bathroom or coffee facilities. The size of the rooms is absolute IBIS standard, most of the rooms are even bigger. Coffee machines are also not standard in 2* hotels. You can buy a coffee at the lobby bar 24 hours. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future with our completely new rooms. Sincerely, Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Kerry W. Friends - 16/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« City break in Cologne »

I was very disappointed with the decor of the hotel. It was very tired looking and the room was very uninviting. I think the hotel is being improved but at the moment it does not compare well to the new style hotels. The bed was comfortable however and the room was clean. I really missed having a bar to sit at for a drink in the evening. You can get a drink or a coffee but on several occasions there were no staff on reception when I went to get a coffee. If the bar is 24 hours then there really should be somebody to serve guests. The hotel is conveniently situated next to the station and the cathedral but I doubt I would stay there again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. W., thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Am Dom. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. You are right, we are just renovating our rooms at the moment and from Mid August on all rooms will be on absolute modern standards and quite stylish as well. I hope you will visit our hotel again in the nearby future to see the improvement that we made. Regarding the 24 hours service you are absolutely right as well. We offer this service so you should be able to order something at any time. We have somebody at the reception for 24 hours, why this didn't work in your case, is not clear to me at this point. I still hope that you give our hotel a chance when you visit Cologne again. You can contact us personally for a future booking at any time. Best regards Lars Segers - Assistant to General Manager Ibis Köln am Dom Bahnhofsvorplatz • 50667 Köln • Deutschland T +4…580 • F +4…58199 h0… ibis.com • accorhotels.com

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 75.05 EUR Non member rate
From 71.30 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates