Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,347 reviews
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
See on a map
+ 23 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of Lyons views over the Rhône

  • Michelin-star restaurant with panoramic view, brasserie open every day

  • 2 Clefs d'Or Concierges

  • Well-being area

  • Cocktail bar, lounge atmosphere

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed 25.00 EUR
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request
Business services
  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

20, quai Gailleton
69002
lyon
france

Tel: +33472412020

Fax: (+33)4/72412001

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :   Multiples BELLECOUR

  • LYON :   A-D BELLECOUR

  • By plane

    LYON BRON At 15km / 9.38 miles

  • By plane

    LYON SAINT EXUPERY At 25km / 15.63 miles

  • By helicopter

    BRON At 15km / 9.38 miles

  • By helicopter

    SAINT EXUPERY At 25km / 15.63 miles

  • By car

    LYON CENTRE At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    LYON PRESQU'ILE At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By train

    LYON PART DIEU At 3km / 1.88 miles

  • By train

    LYON PERRACHE At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By train

    PERRACHE At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS :45.754188, 4.834351

Currently, close to our hotel

Collections of the Museum of Textiles in Lyon, visit

From 01/01/2010 to 31/12/2019

At 248 m

Tour of the Musée de l'Imprimerie in Lyon

From 01/01/2010 to 31/12/2019

At 1.1 km

The Fourvière Basilica, Lyon, unusual tour of the roof

From 01/06/2019 to 30/11/2019

At 1.3 km

Tour of the Musée Gallo-Romain de Fourvière in Lyon

From 01/01/2010 to 31/12/2019

At 1.3 km

Le Café des Fédérations, tasting

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 1.4 km

Museum of Fine Arts in Lyon, visit

From 01/01/2010 to 31/12/2019

At 1.4 km

Himalayan festivals, the last Kalasha, exhibition

From 23/10/2018 to 01/12/2019

At 2.6 km

Parc de la Tête d'Or in Lyon, walk

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 3.6 km

Tour of the Musée d'Art Contemporain in Lyon

From 30/09/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 3.7 km

Auto Rencard, exhibition of old and exceptional vehicles

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 9.2 km

Our accommodations

Book luxury Lyon accommodation at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour: 164 rooms feature satellite TV, high speed internet and the famed Sofitel MyBed®. Prestige suites have large living rooms, free minibars and river views. Superb central Lyon accommodation.

Classic room - Double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 20
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine(...)

Superior room - Double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine(...)

Superior room - Twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine(...)

Superior room - double bed, river view

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 25
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine
  • Coffee/tea making facilities(...)

Junior suite - Double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 45
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine
  • Coffee/tea making facilities(...)

Junior suite - double bed, river view

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine
  • Coffee/tea making facilities(...)

Prestige Suite - double bed, river view

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 80
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Nespresso machine
  • Coffee/tea making facilities(...)

Our restaurants and bars

LES TROIS DOMES

Type of cuisine: French

This Michelin-starred restaurant, a gastronomic hotspot in Lyons, combines exceptional cuisine and unique views out across the city lights. Sample the creations of chef Christian Lherm accompanied by a glass of fine wine against the backdrop of the Rhône.

Lunch

12:00 - 01:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE SILK BRASSERIE

Type of cuisine: French

Sample the delights of bistro cuisine in the inviting surroundings of Le Silk Brasserie. Chef Philippe Guichonnet creates simple, refined dishes that combine seasonal ingredients and brasserie classics.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:00 - 22:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE MELHOR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Sip signature cocktails at this chic, cozy Lyon bar with stirring views over Lyon. The drinks menu - available on iPad - ranges from a sherry aperitif to a fine cognac or single malt whisky. Live music enlivens Friday and Saturday nights.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LIGHT BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Pop into this contemporary lobby bar and summer terrace for a fresh pastry, informal lunch meeting, afternoon tea or glass of wine by the fire. Indulge in champagne paired with local Bernachon chocolate: scrumptious. Live music Wednesdays.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 317 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 350 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 150 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.2/5

8,792 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,347 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

phil collins in concert

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

martincorbyn1971 Friends getaway - 10/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

old style on outside viewing, we had a junior suite and was pleased with the room. had river view, lovely to be able to open the windows at night and hear the bustle of the city . breakfast very lovely and good choice, bar upstairs for very lush, very busy but only cause phil collins family and band memebers were staying to, but nothing was to much for the staff even though they were busy. definatley return thank you

Very good service, location and lodging.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Pk Couples - 08/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The only issue are the countless homeless and their dogs that live on or near the hotel property.

Dear PK, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to read that you appreciated your stay in Lyon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

good hotel location, great breakfast, needs some upgrades

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Families - 06/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Overall our stay was good. location is good, though there are a lot of people living on the street very near the hotel. We had one of the refreshed rooms, however the furniture was very old/threadbare which was not appealing. Problems with AC, room was very warm despite efforts by staff to fix. Staff very helpful, especially front desk and concierge. Food in the brasserie was good but service was not good at all. Breakfast was the highlight, both food and service excellent and the view is amazing.

Dear Customer, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We thank you for your remarks about the room and the AC as well as our service at the brasserie. We will make sure to improve these services and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused. Also, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and our chef's menu at the brasserie. The Concierge thanks you very much for your positive remarks. We hope to see you soon again ! Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Great Hotel, and staff

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kenneth Friends - 05/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The rooms were excellent, and nice view of the river

Dear Mr.H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our rooms and our staff. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

hotel room was very tired not what i'd expect from an expensive hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Edward Business - 03/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

shower broken carpet worn breakfast was good

Dear Edward, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are currently working on a renovation project for our bedrooms and bathrooms. It should take place soon. Also, we thank you for your nice comments about our breakfast. We are happy to read that it gave a good start to your day. We hope to see you soon again in the City of Lights. Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Great location!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Friends - 03/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Hotel is nice but not there long enough to enjoy. Checked in around 2:30pm on a Sunday and had to bring our bags in. No one at door. One person checking guest in. She was very nice and competent . Our room and friends room not ready . Rooms were booked months in advance. Bathroom and carpets need updates as well as shades and drapes. Rooms are not up to par. We checked out at 3:30am so did not have breakfast. Had a drink at the bar that was wonderful with good service.

Dear Customer, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that our porter could not help you with your luggage upon arrival. Please rest assured that we took the appropriate measures to prevent this situation from occuring again. Also, we are pleased to inform you that we are currently working on a renovation project to upgrade our rooms, including the elements which you mentionned. Concerning your friends' room not being ready at 2:30 p.m., please allow us to explain to you that our rooms are available from 3 p.m. Should you need it earlier, please do not hesitate to advise us so we can find a suitable solution together. Also, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay by us, and particularly the check in and the bar. We hope that your next stay in Lyon will be longer than this one to allow you to enjoy both the hotel and our wonderful city. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon again. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Pleasant staff and great location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 01/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Everything in terms of friendly, helpful staff and great food and drinks was great! The room itself - 526 - was in need of some care. Furniture shabby, wobbly round table - shaky leg on desk. The shower gave us a challenge not to soak floor - dangerous. And not sealed on floor so I am sure that water is causing damage elsewhere. Not a drawer in the room - not useful for a 5 night stay. Apart from the physical issues, the room itself met our needs.

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are truly sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are currently working on a renovation project for our bedrooms and bathrooms. It should take place soon. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, and our food and drink services. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated them. We hope to see you soon again in the City of Lights. Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kristina S. Couples - 30/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Perfect location, nice staff but room was with too old and outworn furniture

Dear Mrs. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we are currently working on a renovation project. Thank you very much for your nice comments about the staff and the hotel location. We sincerely hope that you will come again to enjoy these services. Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Debbie V. Friends - 29/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

When I checked into your hotel, I was told our reservation was cancelled by our travel agent although I had documentation proving that I had a reservation. To be able to get a room your hotel made me pay AGAIN for two nights. Before our departure, the issue was resolved and I was assured by your hotel I would not be charged. However, in checking my credit card statement, you all charged me $596.28 for the two night stay. My travel agent is suppose to be looking into this for me, but your hotel should be the one submitting a credit to me.

Dear Debbie V., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Indeed there was an IT issue preventing your reservation to arrive to our computers. However everything was solved quickly which allowed us to charge you only once for the two nights. We will transfer you your invoice to explain everything in a different email. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Ok but not memorable

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Hh Business - 28/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our first room had a "ramp" into the bathroom, which was carpeted and caused my fiance to slip and fall during the night, hurting his hand as he tried to brace himself. Besides the ramp, there is a carpet strip across the doorway, which is loose, and I caught my heel in it. When reported to the manager, she was polite, moved us to another room, and that was that. The rooms are so small that we literally could not open both suitcases at once. Not good.

Dear HH, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that your fiance slipped on the floor and we hope that his hand is well now. We reported the carpet being loose in your room to our maintenance team to prevent future incidents and thank you very much for telling us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope that your new room was up to your expectations. We understand your disappointment and realise that you did not have a proper Sofitel experience.We apologize and sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust during a next stay and show you the true quality of our five star service. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Excelent

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Maria Business - 27/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room was very good, with great river view and bed very comfortable (actually one of the best we slept on).On the negatives: Building needs refurbishment, I was not helped to carry my luggage in my room, which one would not expect from a 5 star hotel and food was not very good.

Dear Maria , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we are currently working on a renovation project. Also, we are very sorry that you did not get help with your luggage. This does not reflect our five star service and we understand your disappointment. We took the appropriate measures to prevent a future occurence. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Thank you for your very kind comments on the river view and the bed. We are very pleased to read that you had a good night sleep in our hotel ! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Exemplary

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Donna D. Couples - 26/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Your staff is wonderful and the room, amazing. Thank you

Dear Donna D., Thank you so much for these wonderful comments about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour's team ! Your satisfaction is our greatest reward. See you soon, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 25/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

nice room great service

Dear Customer, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our room service ! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Nice stay!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tidiane Business - 24/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

It was overall a very nice stay with a friendly and very helpful. Restaurant is fantastic. Rooms are getting old.

Dear Tidiane, Thank you for your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our staff and restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 23/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We were very disappointed with the shabbiness of the hotel - the arms of the leather chairs in the brasserie were peeling, the arms of the chairs in our room were worn, the chair in our room was stained, the bathroom floor was discoloured, the lighting was poor and the bathroom door would only stay open if propped by a garbage can. Although our room had a river view, it was hard to see as the window was quite dirty. None of this was expected from a hotel that advertises itself as 5 star. We checked out early. That being said, the staff was excellent. In particular, the concierge Sébastien Vermare, went out of his way to be very helpful.

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We are sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. We kindly inform you that we are currently working on a renovation project of the whole hotel. In the meantime, please rest assured that a full cleaning of the windows is planned in the coming weeks, as soon a rain stops in France. Thank you for telling us and helping us improve our quality of service. Also, thank you very much for your very positive comments on our staff and service, and particularly Sébastien. He thanks you very much for this kind attention in your comment. We hope you will come back to enjoy Lyon very soon. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Extremely helpful staff and excellent location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Dr M. P. Business - 23/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We loved our large room looking over the Rhone. We found the staff extremely helpful and charming and seemed eager to answer all our queries and deal with any problem we had, as quickly as possible. We have stayed in a number of hotels over the years and your staff were the best. The only disappointment was that when we came to settle our bill, we found we had been charged for 3 breakfasts instead of 2. That error should not be made. On the subject of breakfast, the choice and quantity of food and drink available was huge and good value for 28 Euros. However we only needed a coffee and either a cereal or croissant and so 28 Euros was too expensive for such a small breakfast. It would be lovely if hotels could offer a small breakfast so that we don't have to find a cafe near to the hotel who can provide us with a coffee and croissant!

Dear Dr Malcolm P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that a billing error was made. We stay at your entire disposal if you need to discuss it further. In the meantime, please rest assured that we took the appropriate measures to prevent a future occurence. We are pleased to inform you that a smaller formula including coffee, orange juice and croissants is available at the Light Bar for those wanting a lighter breakfast. Please do not hesitate to taste it during your next visit in Lyon. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. It really touched us ! All the Ambassadors thank you and hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

To my opinion, the rooms are not suitable for a 5 star hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Aviva H. Friends - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We stayed our last night in Lyon in Sofitel Bellecour and were disappointed from the overall experience. In the beginning of the trip we stayed in MG gallery in Sofitel in Lyon for 3 days. which is a 4 star hotel, and everything was great and satisfying. We had higher expectations from the 5 star hotel but did not enjoy our staying.

Dear Aviva H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust during a next stay. Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

A comfortable stay in a lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The staff made us feel very welcome

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for this wonderful comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour ! We are very happy that you felt home, your satisfaction is our greatest motivation ! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Not up to par with what you would expect from Sofitel hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 19/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Firstly there is a sewer spell throughout the entire hotel which was very unpleasant. The rooms were just ok with the overall aesthetics being somewhat dated. The pillow menu that was offered was not available at 10pm (not an absurd bedtime) when asked since housekeeping is closed. Staff was sufficiently kind without standing out as offering exceptional service. When asked for recommendation we often rec'd same concierge suggestions. Overall we were not impressed and even considered changing a future Athens reservation. A positive comment: we rec'd early check-in at no cost and in and efficient manner. The location was good.

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that you experienced a sewer smell during your stay. We immediatly informed our maintenance staff who are currently looikng for the reason of this smell to prevent future occurence. Also, we are very sorry that our pillow menu was not available at 10 p.m.This comment surprised us as we agree with you that it should be available later in the night than 10 p.m. We will take the appropriate measures to offer this service later at night. Please accept our sincerest apologies for these inconveniences. Although we would prefer your satisfaction, we thank you very much for these comments which help us improve the quality of our service. Also, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your early check in and that our staff was kind. Thank you for these lovely remarks. We hope that you will give another chance to Sofitel by maintening your stay in Athens and wish you a very nice time there. Also, we hope you will give us a chance to regain your trust during a next stay in Lyon. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client

Comfortable hotel in a good location with lovely staff.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Elaine C. Couples - 18/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Smooth check in and out. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Husband was delighted to find that there was a comfortable smoking area.

Dear Elaine C., We very much appreciate your delightful comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All the staff thank you for your very kind comments on their work and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Morgane, Responsable Expérience Client
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in lyon