Hotel - Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Sofitel Hotel Sofitel Hotel

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel

4.0/5 2,275 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 220.00 EUR Non member rate
From 209.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
    • Internet access via Fiber Optics
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Nearby)
    • Valet parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pets allowed 25  EUR
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Japanese
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
    • Hairdressing salon
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Hammam
    • Massage (Paying)
  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Book luxury Lyon accommodation at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour: 164 rooms feature satellite TV, high speed internet and the famed Sofitel MyBed®. Prestige suites have large living rooms, free minibars and river views. Superb central Lyon accommodation.

  • 164 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 40 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Web TV
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • TV Bouquet beIN Sports
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Manual temperature control
    • Bouquet TV Canal+ and Canalsat
    • Automatic temperature control
    • WIFI in your room
    • Baby bed
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Internet access via Fiber Optics
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 2,275 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2018
Solo travel - 23/01/2019 TripAdvisor review
« appalling, do not stay here »

Place stinks of sewage, neither TV in my room worked, furniture and furnishings badly scuffed and need replacing. Saw a mouse in the Silk Brasserie. The place is disgusting. I left for the much better McGallery, also Sofitel round the corner

Couples - 10/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Probably the best Hotel in Lyon »

We were very pleased with the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. Our room had great views of the Rhone. It is centrally located. We were able to self park our car in the hotel parking garage. The room was luxurious and quiet. Climate control system worked well. TV had English programming. Bed spacious and comfortable. Staff were most courteous, friendly and helpful from the bell captain at the front entrance to the front desk agents, to the Concierge who gave us great sightseeing advice.. Check-in and check out were swift and trouble-free. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Paul Bocuse Culinary School Restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent and very reasonable dinner.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gary S, Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all of our services. That is very encouraging ! :) We will communicate your lovely comments with our team, they will be really happy as they strive to provide a superior service for every customer. We would be delighted to welcome you again ! Sincerely

Teachervani Couples - 29/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Lyon, a mix of old and modern lovely city »

Lyon was a great surprise for me. We can have everything in the city, good restaurantes, stores tgood price and the best: there is no need of a car. It is a city to walk in. There is two rivers and for me the best part of the city is in the aisle between the rivers. staying at Sofitel hotel in a room with view to the river was the best. Loved the city. It seems to be a peaceful city. The cathedral is wonderful worths a visit.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Teachervani, Thank you for sharing your review regarding your stay at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our beautiful city ! Indeed, the view on the Rhône is beautiful :) We hope you will choose us for your next visit in Lyon, dear Teachervani. See you soon !

Couples - 27/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Very comfortable »

Excellent location with secure car parking. Room was very well appointed with probably the largest and most comfortable bed we have had in any hotel ever!The little cocktail bar on the 8th floor has a James Bond vibe, the service was very good and the view of the river stunning.Breakfast was pretty much as expected - again with the stunning view. A very nice stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hello Quilter30, Thank you for your nice comments about your recent stay at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your room, our bedding, the bar Le Melhor, the panoramic view and breakfast :) We will share your review with our teams, they will be really happy ! Your satisfaction is our best reward. We hope to see you soon, dear Quilter30 ! Sincerely

Solo travel - 23/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Comfortable hotel in a wonderful central location »

While its architecture may be out of step with the many of the surrounding buildings, the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour more that makes up for this minor defect by being in such a great location for exploring the beautiful city of Lyon. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms well appointed and clean. The breakfasts were both varied and ample, while a dinner in the Les Trois Domes Restaurant is a culinary experience well worth experiencing, especially as the sun sets over the city and the Rhone.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hello Russell201760, Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and all of our services. Thank you for your compliments about breakfast, rooms, location, les Trois Dômes and our Ambassadors ! We will be delighted to welcome you back soon :) Sincerely

dborch Couples - 03/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« great location , nice rooms »

right on the riverside and an easy walk to shopping areas and the old town. Very helpful reception and helpful and knowledgable concierge. Rooms are quiet and decor is clean and up to date. Great view from the breakfast restaurant

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear dborch, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Also, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the professionalism of our Ambassadors and the comfort of your room. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Sylvain, Guest Experience Coordinator.

Couples - 01/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Relaxing conforatble quiet stay with good food and service »

Had a short break at the hotel, which as others say is not the most elegant from the outside and is undergoing some refurbishment. This did not detract from the stay too much, although the wifi and TV cable service did have some lapses in connection. The room was comfortable and quiet and the bed as in Sofitels very comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient and made our stay welcome. The cocktail bar on the 8th floor whilst a little pricey offered good views and served excellent alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails. We ate at Le Trois Domes which was an excellent night of food and wine. The only negative for the hotel is breakfast, I didn't feel that was up to Sofitel standard in both what was offered and the service. The staff were pleasant and friendly but service say for hot water for tea was very slow. All in all would stay again at the hotel when I visit Lyon.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear curlew, We would like to thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry to read that you meet some trouble with our wifi and TV cable service. During your stay, we had on going work on the wifi network of the hotel, in order to improve your comfort. Also, we took time to exchange with the breakfast team in order to better anticipate peak periods. Please accept our sinceres apologies for those inconveniences. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the professionalism of our Ambassadors, and the quality of our rooms. We hope we will get the pleasure to welcome you soon. Sylvain, Guest Experience Coordinator

Business - 30/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Staff is the hotel's asset »

The hotel is a little dated, but the staff is top notch. I was only there for one night. Had fish and chips in Silk - yum. Love the automated blinds, but I would consider adding a note to customers that they are automated and where the button is (google Sofitel and automated blinds - funny!). View for breakfast is lovely - breakfast buffet is good, a little bit of everything. But i really like the kind, professional staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Memako, We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry to read that our place did not meet your expectations. We are currently working on a renovation project of our rooms, and we hope that you will appreciate this futur new design. Also, we took note of your advice regarding the automated blinds. Finally, this is a pleasure to read that you underline the professionalism of our Ambassadors, and that you enjoyed the Silk Brasserie's Fish and chips ! We hope we will get the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Sylvain, Guest Experience Coordinator

Couples - 08/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Could do better »

We checked in online and stated that we would arrive before 3 pm. On arrival we were told our room was not ready and would not be ready until after 3pm We also orderd an international newspaper which we did not receive. We had requested a high floor room when booking. The room we were first given was on the 4th floor and desperately need refurbishment. We then changed our room but were given a refurbished room on the 3rd floor (not exactly high). We had booked dinner in Les Trois Domes which overlooks the city of Lyon. This was a great success. The staff were very pleasant and the food delightful. Would highly recommend, it is a lovely experience. The next morning we went for breakfast. What a fiasco! We stood queueing for ages until we got a table and then the majority of the dishes, bread, cheese etc. were empty. We had to request that they be replenished. This was done very slowly. The next mornings breakfast was a great improvement.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Brenda F, We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations, and that you had troubles during your check-in. The online check-in enable to reduce the time spent at the desk during your arrival, but it is not a early check-in : which is a making available of your room sooner. Also, we are sorry for your first experience at the breakfast. We took note of your situation and warn the breakfast team in order to better anticipate our stocks. We are happy to read that you had a great time during your dinner at our restaurant Les Trois Dômes, and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience again, and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you soon. Sincerely, Sylvain Guest Experience Coordinator

Solo travel - 05/05/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Superb »

Staff excellent, room excellent, I loved the design of the room with a walk in wardrobe and excellent bathroom. The rooms spacious and well appointed. The location was within easy walking distance of the centre of the city and good restaurants were nearby. My room had a view of the river.

Solo travel - 03/05/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Comforts of a home away from home! »

Sofitel Bellecour felt like a home away from home. The room I was given had all the comforts I needed...a very comfortable bed and nice plush pillows. The room was very clean and spacious enough by European standards. The staff was very nice, welcoming and extremely corteous and helpful. Location-wise, the hotel was literally a 5- minute walk to Place Bellecour and the major city attractions and exquisite shops and restaurants.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Luis V, We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are happy to read that you felt like home in our place. We also appreciate your nice words about our staff, and we will share it with them. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sylvain Guest Experience Coordinator

Business - 21/04/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Excellent hotel! »

An excellent hotel in a convenient location in the centre of Lyon. Spacious rooms and helpful staff. The only drawback was the hairdryer in the room: it had no power at all. I would expect a 5 star hotel to have proper hairdryers in their rooms...

Couples - 10/04/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great location and beautiful views »

This hotel is very conveniently located near place bellecour and most places a visitor wants to go. The room was nice but the best thing about this hotel are the striking views from the hotel bar. Go in the daytime, sunset or night to see Lyon. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only downside was the lack of WiFi. It was too slow to check email.

Couples - 10/01/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great location »

Good hotel fantastic location. River view room well worth it. Breakfast good in stunning high location with beautiful views though a bit pricey. We were given a room which had none of our preferences but they apologised and changed our room immediately. Staff friendly and helpful.

thomassY9042WS Couples - 20/06/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Great breakfast »

The hotel needs some TLC, it is very tired but the staff are good, breakfast overlooking the city is magnificent. Rooms are small as are the beds, hardly any closet space and heavy winter duvets totally unnecessary in June with temperatures in the 30's C. Difficult to sleep. Location excellent.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear thomassY9042WS, We thank you for your recent stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. For your next stay with us please do not hesitate to ask to the reception if you wish to have a bed made without duvet. We hope to have the pleasure to host you back soon again in the heart of Lyon. Best regards.

896thierrye Family - 13/06/2017 TripAdvisor review
« This hotel deserves a maximum of 4 stars »

Poor experience. It is indicated as a five stars hotel. But the welcome, the reception, the whole service is of a very low level compared to expectations. Sofitel outside France and Sofitel inside France are not comparable in particular if one compares the level of service

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear guest, We are very sorry to learn that you did not feel welcome during your stay with us. Please be reassured that this is certainly not the quality of service upon which we base our reputation and we reviewed your comments to all the Ambassadors in order to improve the "feel welcome" standard. We hope to regain your trust in the futur, in the meantime we remain at your disposal. Best regards.

Couples - 20/05/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Great views, easy access to cafes & river »

Wonderful view and access to Rhone River. Cafes and shopping blocks away. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to our early arrival. Our river view room was spacious with a quirky walk in closet. Double doors at entry eliminated any noise from elevators or people in hallway. Although not so attractive from the exterior, we would absolutely stay here again. Breakfast with a view and wonderful coffee. One negative was the bar prices were high with very skimpy pours but the view is worth a visit. Book in advance for the best value. We saved hundreds and also got breakfast included.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

verag751, We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the friendliness of our Ambassadors and enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We look forward to host you back soon again ! Best regards

Couples - 20/04/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Light & Shadow »

The hotel rooms are a bit outdated and it was impossible to have breakfast on Easter Sunday as the hotel was crowded but the location was too small. All over our stay, the personnel at reception and in the bar was outstandingly kind.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, What a pleasure to read your wonderful comment regarding your recent stay with us ! We thank you for your remark regarding the breakfast. We took good note of it as it helps us to improve the quality of our services. We have shared your compliments to all our Ambassadors as your satisfaction is their greatest reward. We hope to have the pleasure to host you soon again ! Best regards.

Couples - 09/04/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Magnifique strausborg touch. »

We felt very much at home, the people were so extremely nice and accommodating. The hotel's entrance spells simplicity and exquisiteness. Our hotel room superbly chosen with a view of st. Julienne cathedral. The location perfect!!!!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear guest, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay at the Sofitel Starsbourg and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour! Best regards

Couples - 24/01/2017 TripAdvisor review
« stopover at Lyon was great success »

on our way to the French Alps we stayed at this great hotel. Very nice staff. Clean and spacious room. Dinner at the 8th floor restaurant was excellent. Tasteful dishes, the accompanying wines well matched. For sure to be repeated before long

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 220.00 EUR Non member rate
From 209.00 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates