Hotel - Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Hotel Novotel Hotel

Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel

4.0/5 3,192 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 99.00 EUR Non member rate
From 94.05 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • Optic fiber technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pets allowed 25  EUR
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Italian
    • Dutch
    • Portuguese
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Sauna
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycles rental (Paying)
    • Jogging track (Nearby)
    • Table tennis

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-24:00
  • Snack & beverage machine

Business services

  • 18 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.We treat your children as our VIP guests. Accommodation and breakfast are free of charge for one child up to 16 years when sharing a room with their parents or grandparents.

  • 610 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 608 family rooms
  • 55 connecting rooms
  • Baby bed
    • Ice machine
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Radio in bathroom
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Minibar
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.2/5 AccorHotels Rating 10,915 reviews

Our guest reviews for Novotel Amsterdam City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,192 reviews
Liz A. D. Families - 15/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Perfect stay »

We chose this hotel because it was close to my sons home. We had 5 nights there and could not complain at all. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, and the staff were great. My mother was staying in another room and had very noisy neighbours; the staff immediately addressed the situation and also moved her. There is a restaurant downstairs for breakfast which we didn’t use : instead we were able to go to the local Albert Heijn and get supplies. An easy walk to it or there is a shuttle from the hotel. The metro is super close making it easy to get into the city. Amstel Park is right nearby and is lovely to go for a walk through. Housekeeping is available every day or you can opt to not have your room cleaned and earn a 5€ voucher to spend in the restaurant downstairs. Highly recommend this hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Liz and D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. Thank you for the kind words and it was an absolute pleasure taking care of you these last day's and nights! I hope your mother is doing better and enjoyed the room next to you. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we would love to welcome you back in the near future Kind regards, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Marieke Business - 14/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant and comfortable »

I had a pleasant and comfortable stay at your hotel. The food had improved and i love the refurbishment. For us as business guest it would be nice to recive a specified check at the end of our stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Marieke, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Great to read that you experienced improvements regarding the food and of course our refurbished rooms! I am wondering if everything is already solved with the specified invoice? If not, you can contact us by answering this mail. Looking forward to welcome you again! Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Bruno E. Business - 14/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« if that ornament from the headboard didn't attack me at night it would have been great »

And of course I forgot a brand new pair of blue Nike shoes in my room 1309. If you found them I would greatly appreciate if you can send them to Landhuizenweg 7 te 1650 Beersel Belgie

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Bruno E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. Our sincere apologies for the headboard which was attacking you during the night! I can assure you this quality of room is not the service we aim to provide. As I know, this is repaired directly after your mention. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience. At this moment we did not find any blue Nikes. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon again! Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Alison H. Families - 14/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent place to stay »

We were made to feel very welcome and the hotel was of a high standard.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Alison, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Anonymous Business - 14/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Prima »

Alles was prima.

Terry S. Friends - 13/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Despite sending messages to the hotel days before our arrival, requesting single beds in all rooms booked, we had to change rooms twice »

Rooms were not as requested regarding bed set ups, and I am still waiting for on e of the 2x security deposits to be returned to my account.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Terry, Thank you for choosing Novotel Amsterdam City as your residence of choice when you visited Amsterdam. We highly appreciate it that you have taken the time to write a review about your stay. We always aim to provide a high level of service to all our guests. Therefore it is very unfortunate to read that your request for the right room setup did not go well the first time. As I can see in you reservation your request was submitted well and your preferences had been set in the reservation. However, on the day of arrival your room type was changed to surprise you with a free upgrade. Unfortunate did not match the room preference. I am sorry that this happend and I will make sure to share your feedback with our Front Office team. In reference to the release of the deposit, this can take up to 10 working days and the amount of the deposit will be around €67 euro's because of charges that are taken from the deposit. If this is not clear, please inform us so I can send the invoices to and explain the situation. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. We would love to have the chance to welcome you again at Novotel. Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Johan G. Business - 12/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« disgusting »

I arrived approximately at 9 pm. I called pro-actively the hotel that I would be later. The person at the other side of the phone seemed to be very surprised, was unfriendly. And we just wanted to be fair. I ordered a rib eye in the restaurant. The ‘dauphinois ‘ was cold , my steak was cold but I was so hungry and I did not see a waitress immediately that I ate this rubbish. I informed the waitress later. She said that I didn’t need to pay that part but she did not propose an alternative. I got a ‘ mousse au chocolat’ I have never had such a bad experience in a hotel and I’m a loyal customer. I’m always busy and I’m in charge a risk director of Allianz. So I require fairness , pro-activity and customer centricity. Now I went to my room around 10 pm with a very bad feeling. Even more I do not accept this treatment anymore

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. First, I would like to thank you for letting us know that you would arrive a little later so we were able to keep this in mind. This is indeed very pro-active but mostly something we don't experience that much and that might have been the reason of the surprised answer. I will make sure your feedback will be shared with the Front office department. Secondly, I am sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our restaurant and that this had such a big effect on your stay with us. We always try to compensate our guest when something goes wrong and it is a same to read that one of our staff members did not check if this way of compensation was up to your preference. I will also make sure that this will be shared with the Restaurant department. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please let us know if we can do anything else for you to make sure you are compensated to your preferences! Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Dean P. Families - 12/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« A very enjoyable stay with very accommodating staff. »

A pleasant stay and made memorable by the friendly team at Novotel Amsterdam.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dean, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Nikolaos Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Amsterdam »

Very good breakfast Late check—in (after 16:00) Location away from center

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nikolaos, Feel Welcome! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another pleasant stay with us. Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Abdullah A. Business - 07/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Accomidation »

There’s no business lounge There’s no complimentery water I have touch with the employee who work in SCATCH Cafe he was rude

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Abduallah, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. You are correct that we do not have a Business lounge. this is something we would really like to have so we try to give you this experience in our breakfast area where our Platinum and Gold members are able to enjoy their breakfast in a more private setting. But please inform us if you were told that we did have a business area so I can take action on this. A complementary bottle of water is given to all our guest per room for the whole stay. This can be found in the minibar of the hotel room. I am sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy this. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. For any questions you can always contact by responding on the email you received. Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Kayleigh Couples - 06/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice hotel »

It was a nice hotel and friendly staff

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kayleigh, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Ffion Couples - 05/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Easy, clean and efficient »

Really enjoyable and easy. Quick check in and good room service turn around with beds towels etc. Location was good for travel. However the staff were nice but not always the most helpful in attitude.

Anonymous Couples - 05/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Great stay »

Lovely hotel, friendly & welcoming staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Joanne, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another pleasant stay with us. Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Xinyi F. Friends - 04/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« A delightful stay »

it's a rainy night when I and my friend checked in, the clerk was very friendly and efficient. I got a cold during the flight and she helped us changed the room into two single beds, in case I infect my friend, which is thoughtful and caring. This holiday is not long enough for us to go back home, but this stay really made us feel like as warm as home. By the way, we all love the Christmas decoration and staffs' custom.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Xinyi, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Dr J. H. Business - 03/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Reliable, clean and friendly with a very useful shuttle service to my work (AkzoNobel) »

Pleasant. Staff always helpful and friendly. Rooms and beds comfortable, without being too ostentatious (c.f. other local hotels) which means the hotel is not seen to be 'too luxurious' by my company management. Novotel AMS Zuid is my perfereed hotel in Amsterdam as I visit 2-weekly as part of my job with AkzoNobel. I am a member of the accor program and religioulsy give my card in on check-in. However I am at a loss to understand how many points I have or what I can do with them.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Julian, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I would love to show and give you all the information about your Le club membership during your next visit! I can already see that you have had a bit of experience with us and it is great to hear that this is going great so far. Please inform me before your visit so I can make the time for you. Of course their might be a change that I am not here and then one of my front office colleagues will love to help you out. In the mean time I would like to refer you to our online platform for our Le Club members. You can find this on www.Accorhotels.com. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Joanna &. I. Couples - 03/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Overcharged, didn’t get what we booked either »

Unexpected charges upon check in. Still haven’t been reimbursed for this. Didn’t get the room which we had booked! Left waiting over an hour for check in. When complained about room we were told to come down to reception and que again (which took an hour and more at arrival)!! We were not at all happy with our stay and wish we would just get our deposit back!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Joanna & I., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have also been informed that you already spoke to one of our Front office shift leaders and that she tried to explain the situation to you. Unfortunately the shift leader also informed me that this was not a very pleasant conversation, we are humans and we deserve the respect of each other. There for, name calling and swearing on the phone will not resolve the problem for you. However we would like to help you with the situation. As I can see from your reservation you received a free upgrade to one of our renovated rooms. We always like to exceed the experience of our guest and I am sorry that this time it was not well received. I will make sure that the incident with our front office department will be handled correctly to prevent this from happening in the future. Concerning your unexpected charges on arrival, I assume your are referring to the asked deposit for the room of €70,00 euro's. This amount is an authorization on your credit card. This gives you the possibility to charge your expenses from breakfast,bar or restaurant on the room and to make sure your City tax will be paid. This information is given to you on check in and on the conformation you received when you made the booking. If this information was not in your conformation please let us know so I can take action on this. I will make sure our Front office department will get in contact with the company that holds these authorizations. Please take in consideration that normally this takes 10 working days and that the city tax costs are taken away from the deposit. On this occasion it will probably be done on Monday the 7th of January. I hope I have informed you sufficient and I am sorry that this happend to you! We always try to do the best we can and always will be willing to help in any circumstances. Therefor I hope to welcome you again in the future and make sure your experience exceeds your expectations. Yours sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Cristina Couples - 02/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Good stay again »

Second visit to this hotel, same nice service.

Deepak M. Couples - 31/12/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

It was nice but the rooms was ok compared to other hotels i enjoyed drinking juice during breakfast

Chris Couples - 30/12/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Nice rooms with excellent dinner and breakfast »

It was ok, we stayed only one night i a decent, normal size room. It was clean. No electric fan or something in the bathroom so it was warm and humid inside. staff was friendly (reception desk and in restaurant for dinner and breakfast). Elevator was extremely slow, waiting long before elevator arrived.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Chris, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Kevin H. Business - 27/12/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient, comfortable, predictable »

This was a business stay and it is important that rooms are clean and comfortable and services are responsive which they all were.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kevin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jeroen Klijnsma Guest Relations Officer / Manager on Duty

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 99.00 EUR Non member rate
From 94.05 EUR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates