Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Peebles Hotels > Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Sauna
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 83
  • Hotel location: In the country
  • Main point of interest: EDINBURGH (30.60 km)

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel - hotel reviews in Peebles

Hotel code: 8982

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing stay"

31st August 2013, 533Henderson, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Billing a shambles - when we checked in (I had booked for myself and a couple online) we were told our bill was paid. Normally when I do an advance booking it is taken off my credit card at time of booking. When we checked out we were presented with an invoice that said we had not paid. Blind fell down in double room. At dinner wood pigeon starter inedible - it was so tough. Wine waiter slopped wine red over the glass and had to go and get a cloth to wipe the table. Double room booking was supposed to be superior room and was not. Altogether a very disappointing stay

View management response »

Management responseDear 533HendersonThank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating the matters you have raised accordingly. I have spoken to the chef who is currently speaking to our meat supplier with regard to the wood pigeon. Best RegardsJamie Mackie
« hide

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "A special hideaway"

11th August 2013, MrsSz, Lancaster, United Kingdom

We love going to Barony Castle it is a very special place for us and we can take our dog Bonnie with us so even better. Lots of walks nearby, or chill in the spa/ pool or just sit and read a book. The food is very good, we had breakfast and had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very good and fairly competitively priced for a hotel. Our room was spotless and I would like to add that we met the happiest chambermaid ever!! she was lovely, nothing too much trouble and out room as always was spotless. All the staff are friendly and more then helpful, we will be back.

View management response »

Management responseDear MrsSz,Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best RegardsJamie Mackie
« hide

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great stay"

22nd July 2013, Warwick

Great hotel with very welcoming staff. The location of the hotel was excellent and easy to find. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are well appointed. The restaurant offered very good value for money with a varied menu. We will definately be staying again.

View management response »

Management responseDear TripAdvisor Member,Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,Jamie Mackie
« hide

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Poor start better end"

12th July 2013, Taggart2, Glasgow, Scotland

We were going to a wedding and there were not nearly enough staff on duty to get the rooms turned round in time for the incoming guests.We chose to take an uncleaned room otherwise we would have missed the service.The weather was beautiful and we were in the gardens but I am not sure how much room there would have been if we were all inside.Meal service was good but the bar was quite small so only 2 staff could serve that it was a bit slow.The breakfast was very good with a good selection of food.Beautiful setting for a wedding but make sure you give your guests time to get into their rooms and get ready

View management response »

Management responseDear Taggart2,Thank you for your comments, I can assure you that the matters you have brought to our attention are being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards,Jamie Mackie
« hide

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Brilliant value in the Borders"

5th July 2013, Sara F, Rochester, England, United Kingdom

This was my second stay in a Mercure hotel, and I find I'm inclined to like the chain - as before, my room (including en-suite bathroom) was well-decorated, comfortable, and spotlessly clean, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the food (I ate in the bar) tasty and well-presented. What really sets the Eddleston Barony Castle apart from other chain hotels is the building: this is a real Scottish castle, with lovely grounds including a stream and waterfalls and the extraordinary Great Polish Map of Scotland. The other thing which made this hotel stand out was the price - I spend a night there, with buffet breakfast, for only £45.50. Yes, the location (a few miles north of Peebles) may seem out-of-the way, but there's lots to explore and some lovely country in the Scottish Borders, so if you're thinking of taking a break in that part of the UK, I recommend a visit to Mercure's website - I shall certainly see what they have to offer next time I'm looking for a hotel.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Borders value!"

28th June 2013, Willfy, Manchester, United Kingdom

A wonderful historic building in a lovely rural seting. The rooms exceeded our expectations for a 3 star hotel, as did the bar & dining area. The dinner & breakfast menus and standards of food were far better than a famous 4 star hotel we have recently stayed in on Skye, and the staff most pleasant and attentive. We were sorry we were only staying one night in passing and didn't have time to enjoy the spa or stay longer. Excellent value for money overall and a good standard. Thank you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Little things could make a big improvement"

27th June 2013, jonathanjj1, Aberdeen, United Kingdom

I expected great things, but was a bit dissapointed. the small things. Fancy coffee in the room - great - but no machine to make it with they were all broken.Beautiful location and was sent on a walk round the property - found their dump on our route!!!The toasters at breakfast did not work as there was no extention cable. no toast!!!Breakfast started at 7am. We went down at 7.20 and the breakfast was not ready.They were desperate to charge me extra for my dog even though she was never in the hotel!!!These small things need to be addressed, as all together they ruined an otherwise enjoyable night.Please pay attention to the small things. They do make a difference

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.