Hotel - Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Eddleston 
EH45 8QW PEEBLES
UNITED KINGDOM

1,283 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,283 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 37.00 GBP Non member rate
From 33.30 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Select your dates 37.00 GBP

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

This grand 16th century Castle has evolved into a traditional hotel, with 72 bedrooms, an award winning restaurant "Thomson's @ the Castle", Blue Dug Bar and leisure facilities incuding a 10 metre pool, sauna, gym and treatment rooms. Located just 35 minutes (17 miles) south of Edinburgh on the edge of the Scottish Borders. The lovely town of Peebles, which sits on the banks of the celebrated River Tweed, is only a 10-minute drive away.

Geat location, only 25 min to Edinburgh for visiting the main tourist attractions of the city, or only 10 min to the Scottish Borders, where you can visit Castles, Houses and Gardens. Fantastic place to stay and have a variety of choices available.

Hotel extras

Explore the many bike and forest walking routes around Glentress, visit the grand Traquair House or discover the Great Polish Map located in the 25 acres surrounding the hotel. Three is lots more to discover in the direct local area.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-00:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-00:00

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Eddleston
EH45 8QW
PEEBLES
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)1721730395
Fax: (+44)1721730275

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • EDINBURGH At 36.7km / 22.8 miles
  • EDINBURGH AIRPORT At 36.7km / 22.8 miles

GPS : 55.712879, -3.216902

Our rooms

The Castle's bedrooms are all very warm and welcoming and offer all the comforts of home. The hotel is a Castle so not all rooms are the same and have various views of the surrounding garden, woodland and glen.

  • Standard Room with one double bed
    Standard Room with one double bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 double bed, remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-smoking.

  • Superior Double with 1 double bed
    Superior Double with 1 double bed

    Superior Double room with 1 Double bed, remote control TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryer, Iron and Ironing board, Free WiFi, Desk, Wake up calls, Views of the grounds. Mini fridge and coffee machine. Non-Smoking

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 Double bed and 1 single bed. Remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-Smoking

  • Standard Room with 1 single bed
    Standard Room with 1 single bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 single bed, remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-Smoking

  • 75 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • High speed transmission line
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

THOMSON'S @ THE CASTLE Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Dinner 18:00 - 22:00
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THOMSON'S @ THE CASTLE Type of cuisine: International


Barony Castles Blue Dug Restaurant is a quirky restaurant offering fine food and drink. The Castle has just been awarded The Healthy Living Award. The restaurant can seat 120 guests in total.

Find out more and book
BLUE DUG BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BLUE DUG BAR


The hotel bar is a nice open space over two levels and is easily accessible. It has a warm welcoming feeling, not only with the decor but also from the staff. The bar itself is well stocked and has a fantastic range of whiskeys available.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 6
  • Maximum size: 176 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 200
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120

Our customer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 1,283 reviews

chrisH1935WZ 2016/10/21
« A Unique Scotish Expetriece »

The Barony Castle Hotel is as dignified as its title suggests. Our room was on the top floor, comfortable, well furnished but with a sloping roof and small window. The only snag was the sluggish and rather unpredictable lift. A warm and inviting swimming pool with sauna and showers was a pleasure. The extensive grounds were a delight for walks and the unique feature was the largest relief map in the world, build by Polish war veterans and now being lovingly restored. It shows the whole geography of Scotland. The warmth of welcome by the staff, excellent food and whole ambiance of the place made us mark it up for a return visit.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrisH1935WZ, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Raffles321 2016/10/03
« Not as expected »

Alas our experience was poor from the moment we arrived, receptionist clearly too busy. We could not figure out the room numbering......................it was beyond complicated. Bedroom dirty, windows a disgrace, bathroom, mouldy, smelly, dirty andhad more broken fitments that working ones. Bar meal stated crispy salad..........maybe once it was crispy. How difficult is it to make mac n cheese? I did not taste cheese only cream. Another rather poor experience. We did stick around for breakfast.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raffles321, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

stevebA2809HT 2016/08/26
« Short break in Peebles »

Good overall 4 day stay at Barony Castle. Good room excellent food and good friendly service. We were a little concerned about previous reviews but these have either been overblown or correctly addressed by the management and staff. Location great for Edinburgh park and ride (30 mins), Roslin Chapel and other Borders attractions.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StevebA2809HT We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Sue N 2016/08/15
« Beautiful Location but the Hotel has some Housekeeping Challenges »

I stayed here overnight while on a business trip. The hotel is in beautiful grounds with stunning scenery. Unfortunately the rooms are a little tired and when I walked into my room, there was a pile of dirty towels in the corner that had obviously belonged to the previous occupants! This made me unsure as to how clean the rest of the room was. As it was late, I just went to bed but mentioned it to reception as I checked out. I then followed up with an email to the hotel to let them know of my experience for their housekeeping purposes but to date have received no response. This in my opinion is very poor customer service.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue N, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was below your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. After investigating your comments, we found out that the room in question relates to an a small incident within the Housekeeping department. One of the chambermaids was not feeling very well and had to go to hospital however it was never communicated that there was still a pile of towels to be taken from the room. Usually the dirty linen is placed outside the room for collection, however as the corridor outside the room is very narrow, the linen was moved to the room. I can assure that room itself was fully serviced. I hope this makes sense and once again I am sorry for the inconvenience. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Gary G 2016/08/06
« Very nice hotel for a relxing weekend break »

I booked a night away to celebrate my girlfriends graduation. We have stayed at this hotel before and know what it is like. Like our stay before, we had another brilliant and relaxing night away. I booked through Accor website which meant we got a 'Priviledge room', which had an excellent view over the gardens at rear of the hotel. The room itself was clean and tidy, a little dated but nothing to to complain about. We used the pool, steam and sauna which was good but couldn't get booked in for a treatment as it was fully booked, so i would recommend booking in advance. we had dinner in the hotel and the food was brilliant and was quickly served up. All the staff couldn't be anymore helpful. Overall, i would 100% recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing night away ina quality hotel.

PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary G, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much. I would say clean room, welcoming and friendly staff as well as delicious food are keys for a pleasant and relaxing stay. We always focus on delivering all at once. Of course, the Hotel itself is quite old and perhaps some areas do look more tired than the others, but we are working hard to improve the overall facilities and do hope our guests will appreciate it. Usually our SPA is extremely popular and we do encourage guests to book in advance. I am sorry to hear if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

JP4562016 2016/06/18
« Lovely hotel with good facilities »

This is a lovely hotel in gorgeous surroundings, some of it feels a bit tired and worn, but there was evidence of a refurbishment programme going on while we were there. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We were upgraded to a better room, which was a nice surprise on arrival! We had a family room for 3 of us, room was nice, very comfortable and a maintenance issue with the bath plug was sorted quickly.

BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JP4562016, thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive reviews. It serves as an acknowledgment of effort we put in to deliver exceptional level of service. We do understand not everything is perfect, but for us it is important to listen and understand what our guests want. Barony Castle itself is an old lady who requires a little more TLC than a standard building would. Refurbishment is just one form of care we deliver in protecting the integrity of the building as well as improving our services. Whilst is is a Titan's work, we have already achieved significant results and will continue to do so. Thank you again, and I hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 37.00 GBP Non member rate
From 33.30 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 25 km Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park hotel
From
From 51.00 GBP Non member rate
From 45.90 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 26 km Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
From
From 59.00 GBP Non member rate
From 53.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 26 km Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre hotel
From
From 79.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 26 km ibis budget Edinburgh Park
ibis budget Edinburgh Park
From
From 31.00 GBP Non member rate
From 29.45 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in PEEBLES
Select your dates 37.00 GBP Rooms from 37.00 GBP