Hotel - Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Eddleston 
EH45 8QW PEEBLES
UNITED KINGDOM

1,238 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,238 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 58.00 GBP Non member rate
From 52.20 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 58.00 GBP

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

This grand 16th century Castle has evolved into a traditional hotel, with 72 bedrooms, an award winning restaurant "Thomson's @ the Castle", Blue Dug Bar and leisure facilities incuding a 10 metre pool, sauna, gym and treatment rooms. Located just 35 minutes (17 miles) south of Edinburgh on the edge of the Scottish Borders. The lovely town of Peebles, which sits on the banks of the celebrated River Tweed, is only a 10-minute drive away.

Geat location, only 25 min to Edinburgh for visiting the main tourist attractions of the city, or only 10 min to the Scottish Borders, where you can visit Castles, Houses and Gardens. Fantastic place to stay and have a variety of choices available.

Hotel extras

Explore the many bike and forest walking routes around Glentress, visit the grand Traquair House or discover the Great Polish Map located in the 25 acres surrounding the hotel. Three is lots more to discover in the direct local area.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-00:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-00:00

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Eddleston
EH45 8QW
PEEBLES
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)1721730395
Fax: (+44)1721730275

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • EDINBURGH At 36.7km / 22.8 miles
  • EDINBURGH AIRPORT At 36.7km / 22.8 miles

GPS : 55.712879, -3.216902

Our rooms

The Castle's bedrooms are all very warm and welcoming and offer all the comforts of home. The hotel is a Castle so not all rooms are the same and have various views of the surrounding garden, woodland and glen.

  • Standard Room with one double bed
    Standard Room with one double bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 double bed, remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-smoking.

  • Superior Double with 1 double bed
    Superior Double with 1 double bed

    Superior Double room with 1 Double bed, remote control TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryer, Iron and Ironing board, Free WiFi, Desk, Wake up calls, Views of the grounds. Mini fridge and coffee machine. Non-Smoking

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 Double bed and 1 single bed. Remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-Smoking

  • Standard Room with 1 single bed
    Standard Room with 1 single bed

    Standard en-suite room with 1 single bed, remote control TV, Tea and Coffee facilities, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, Free WiFi, Wake up Calls. Various views of the grounds. Non-Smoking

  • 75 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • High speed transmission line
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

THOMSON'S @ THE CASTLE Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Dinner 18:00 - 22:00
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THOMSON'S @ THE CASTLE Type of cuisine: International


Barony Castles Blue Dug Restaurant is a quirky restaurant offering fine food and drink. The Castle has just been awarded The Healthy Living Award. The restaurant can seat 120 guests in total.

Find out more and book
BLUE DUG BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BLUE DUG BAR


The hotel bar is a nice open space over two levels and is easily accessible. It has a warm welcoming feeling, not only with the decor but also from the staff. The bar itself is well stocked and has a fantastic range of whiskeys available.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 6
  • Maximum size: 176 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 200
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120

Our customer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 1,238 reviews

stevebA2809HT 2016/08/26
« Short break in Peebles »

Good overall 4 day stay at Barony Castle. Good room excellent food and good friendly service. We were a little concerned about previous reviews but these have either been overblown or correctly addressed by the management and staff. Location great for Edinburgh park and ride (30 mins), Roslin Chapel and other Borders attractions.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StevebA2809HT We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Sue N 2016/08/15
« Beautiful Location but the Hotel has some Housekeeping Challenges »

I stayed here overnight while on a business trip. The hotel is in beautiful grounds with stunning scenery. Unfortunately the rooms are a little tired and when I walked into my room, there was a pile of dirty towels in the corner that had obviously belonged to the previous occupants! This made me unsure as to how clean the rest of the room was. As it was late, I just went to bed but mentioned it to reception as I checked out. I then followed up with an email to the hotel to let them know of my experience for their housekeeping purposes but to date have received no response. This in my opinion is very poor customer service.

MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue N, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was below your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. After investigating your comments, we found out that the room in question relates to an a small incident within the Housekeeping department. One of the chambermaids was not feeling very well and had to go to hospital however it was never communicated that there was still a pile of towels to be taken from the room. Usually the dirty linen is placed outside the room for collection, however as the corridor outside the room is very narrow, the linen was moved to the room. I can assure that room itself was fully serviced. I hope this makes sense and once again I am sorry for the inconvenience. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Gary G 2016/08/06
« Very nice hotel for a relxing weekend break »

I booked a night away to celebrate my girlfriends graduation. We have stayed at this hotel before and know what it is like. Like our stay before, we had another brilliant and relaxing night away. I booked through Accor website which meant we got a 'Priviledge room', which had an excellent view over the gardens at rear of the hotel. The room itself was clean and tidy, a little dated but nothing to to complain about. We used the pool, steam and sauna which was good but couldn't get booked in for a treatment as it was fully booked, so i would recommend booking in advance. we had dinner in the hotel and the food was brilliant and was quickly served up. All the staff couldn't be anymore helpful. Overall, i would 100% recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing night away ina quality hotel.

PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary G, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much. I would say clean room, welcoming and friendly staff as well as delicious food are keys for a pleasant and relaxing stay. We always focus on delivering all at once. Of course, the Hotel itself is quite old and perhaps some areas do look more tired than the others, but we are working hard to improve the overall facilities and do hope our guests will appreciate it. Usually our SPA is extremely popular and we do encourage guests to book in advance. I am sorry to hear if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

JP4562016 2016/06/18
« Lovely hotel with good facilities »

This is a lovely hotel in gorgeous surroundings, some of it feels a bit tired and worn, but there was evidence of a refurbishment programme going on while we were there. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We were upgraded to a better room, which was a nice surprise on arrival! We had a family room for 3 of us, room was nice, very comfortable and a maintenance issue with the bath plug was sorted quickly.

BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JP4562016, thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive reviews. It serves as an acknowledgment of effort we put in to deliver exceptional level of service. We do understand not everything is perfect, but for us it is important to listen and understand what our guests want. Barony Castle itself is an old lady who requires a little more TLC than a standard building would. Refurbishment is just one form of care we deliver in protecting the integrity of the building as well as improving our services. Whilst is is a Titan's work, we have already achieved significant results and will continue to do so. Thank you again, and I hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Michael19472014 2016/03/14
« Short break »

Stayed here for 3 nights,apart from the hotel needs a bit of a spruce up we enjoyed our time there,the staff were very pleasant and the food from the restaurant was excellent. We have stayed in mercures all over Europe and apart from the decoration we would certainly go back to Barony Castle

BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael19472014, thank you for taking time in sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Barony Castle Hotel. I will share it with my team, I am sure they will be delighted to hear your kind words and this will serve as an encouragement for them to strive even further. As I have mentioned in my previous comments, we listen to our guests' feedback and always try to improve. A professional decorator and painter is joining us very soon who will take full charge of dealing with restoration elements and giving the needed love and care to our old lady Barony Castle. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Jim F 2016/03/14
« More work to do to improve. »

Superb building but in need of improvement, décor is tired, carpets frayed and window blinds water stained. Very noisy heating system kept us awake and single glazed windows do let you have the full benefit of the bird song. The duvet did not seem to be quite big enough for the bed and had padding leaking out of the frayed seam. Took housekeeping 3 days to realise the box of tissues in the bedroom needed to be replenished. The bedroom door handle / lock arrangement is an irritation as it is almost impossible to open the door without skinning you knuckles. Restaurant was hit and miss, 2 good meals, 1 average and 1 returned to the kitchen as unacceptable. WiFi is a bit of a concern, you cannot unchek the boxes to prevent marketing material and have to login to your e-mail over an unsecure connection to validate your access. If you don't, you only get 15 minutes - but they then send messages every 2 hours reminding you. Not welcome at 1.38, 3.38 etc in the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful, grounds are wonderful for a short walk and look at the "MapaScotland". With a bit more investment and attention to detail this hotel has the potential to be wonderful but at the moment falls a bit short of what you would expect of Mercure, this is probably reflected in the room rate.

BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim F, thank you for your review. First off all, please accept my apologies over the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay at Barony Castle. I have taken the note of your comments are share it with my team. Despite a few small but important things which did not go as planned, you still acknowledged the great potential this Hotel has. I could not agree more. Apart from maintenance issues you've listed, everything else can and will be tackled with extra training and attention to detail. I understand that it always is these small things that make our stay most enjoyable. On a positive note, I wanted to share some good news with you. Starting next month, we will have a full time painter-decorator joining our team at Barony who will take full ownership of the refurbishment aspects of the Hotel. I am sure that if you decide and give us another chance in future, you will be positively surprised. Thank you again for staying with us and wish to see you back soon. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Barbourandy11111 2016/02/18
« An enjoyable Stay... »

We had a fantastic stay... The lesuire facility's were good and the breakfast was outstanding.... Only bad points was food and drink is expensive and the rooms and hallway could do with a fresh coat of paint. But I would stay here again and recommend it to people ...

BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbourandy11111, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I would like to add, that hotel is undergoing refurbishment and this is rather an ongoing process. A lot has already been done, but we are fully focused on bringing this Hotel back to a former glory and refurbishment is among other tools to achieve it. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 58.00 GBP Non member rate
From 52.20 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 25 km Novotel Edinburgh Park
Hotel Novotel Edinburgh Park
From
From 68.00 GBP Non member rate
From 68.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 26 km Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 62.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 26 km Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Hotel Novotel Edinburgh Centre
From
From 95.00 GBP Non member rate
From 85.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 26 km ibis budget Edinburgh Park
ibis budget Edinburgh Park
From
From 44.00 GBP Non member rate
From 41.80 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in PEEBLES
Select your dates 58.00 GBP Rooms from 58.00 GBP