Hotel - Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Newton Solney 
DE15 0SS  STAFFORDSHIRE
UNITED KINGDOM

384 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 384 reviews
Check Prices
Best price guarantee
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Check Prices
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • Fitness centre
  • 100% non-smoking hotel

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Windows from most of our rooms open onto views of the hotel's landscaped gardens. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • 50 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating3.5/5 Based on 384 reviews
nathansV7232AL 2017/05/10
« left in the past »

The Grounds of the hotel are really nice but inside the room is a different story. unfortunately, the rooms need a total revamp. some sockets in the room did not work. bathroom was really outdated and breakfast for £15.50 was a real let down. stayed for a wedding down the road and the rest of the family who stayed with me all had the same opinion on this accommodation. all in all not worth the £196.00 for 2 nights price and will not be able to reccomend to others.

, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I take on board your comments and I also acknowledge the time you have taken to write a review. Kind regards Wilma

malcolmw275 2017/03/29
« WEEKEND BREAK »

Returned to this hotel after many years absence remembering the great location. If we're honest, the service was a bit mixed. Greeting at Reception was polite although somewhat flat (male) giving the impression that it was just a "transaction" rather than pleased to receive us as guests. He said our booking request for a "quiet room" was noted but he could not guarantee quietness as a charity function was taking place until midnight. All he could do was move us to a standard twin room further away (rather than a Privilege room booked and paid for). Therefore a down-grade rather than an up-grade ! As we were going to be out until midnight ourselves it was not too much of a problem but disappointing after a long trip up from London. Size of room was great. Clean, but perhaps a little tired in decor. Also lacked promised robes & slippers so returned to reception to query. A very friendly and pleasant female apologized and provided these to our room within minutes. She also located the tea/coffee/kettle in our room. Why are these items hidden away in a drawer rather than next to the coffee machine which seems more logical ? The shower water was warm rather than hot (at 17:30 hrs on 25/3) but the following morning (0900 hrs) it was nice and hot as you should expect. So it must have been a hot water supply problem rather than the shower itself. Mentioned it on check out and staff promised to look into it. Minor point but why is there no towel rail near the wash basin ? It is located down the far end of the bathroom which seems strange. The bed was very comfortable and got a good nights sleep. Overall, the full English breakfast was very good. However, the buffet section was somewhat depleted (at 09:45hrs when breakfast runs until 10: 30hrs). Fresh fruit was very low, we had to ask for more yogurt. Our hot food was served very promptly but then we found there was no wholemeal bread to toast. We asked the young assistant (who seemed "not wanting to be there" and lacked the ability to smile) and the impression gained was we would be lucky but she would "see what she could do". 6 slices eventually appeared. Suggest the buffet is more closely monitored so things don't run out. What a shame because the dining room has great views ! Check out was fine and the female assistant who dealt with us was very pleasant. Still loved the location and character of buildings/grounds but service was a bit mixed.

, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and will be addressed with all of the team concerned Once again thank you for your comments. regards Wilma

angelawV5353SV 2016/11/27
« Most Disappointing »

Very, very tired "comfort" rooms last updated in 1985, hole in wall, curtains that entirely covered the radiator, tiny bathroom with 6" between toilet and wall, under filled wine glass from bar, room service loop from room to reception to kitchen to reception - eventually it was easier just to go down to reception to place an order, in the end wished I had driven the 3 hours home. Room service breakfast extortionate at £18 + £5 tray charge. Have stayed in lots of accor hotels (former platinum and now gold member) but unfortunately this was the most disappointing.

, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Dear angelawV5353SV Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you left the hotel feeling disappointed. This is not how we like our guests to leave. I have read your comments with interest regarding our pricing and to be honest they are competitively priced within our competition. Kind regards Wilma

Jez1888 2016/09/07
« More like 3 star ! »

Keep this short and sweet Room dated we stayed in and were given two single beds for a married couple! But didnt complain just pushed beds together Best part of stay for wedding would be the great staff Always helpfull and a smile when busy Breakfast was poor Make your own hot drinks machine did not work The bacon was well undercooked and no black pudding as advertised And the foreign women in charge very slow on the uptake ! Waited 15 minutes for cup of tea Whole building needs work Outside the grounds very poorly maintained and guttering leaking everywhere due to blockages Stay was ok for one night and wedding But would not stat longer

, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Dear Jez1888 Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am so sorry you had such a disappointing stay. Unfortunately when people book a room we never know in advance their marital status, on booking our guests have the option of twin or double rooms, it is their choice which to book. I am so sorry the lack of black pudding and the maintenance of our guttering caused you so much disappointment that you would not return to the hotel. I can honestly say our grounds are well maintained and are attended to by a team of gardeners weekly so I really must dispute that claim. With the regards to my lady in breakfast - she has been with the hotel for many many years, an accomplished author in her own right - travels the world regularly to continue to broaden her knowledge but I am sorry if you felt that during your visit she was "slow on the uptake" I can assure you she is most certainly not. However again please do accept my apologies for the shortcommings you experienced during your stay. Kind regards Wilma

bruynioli 2016/04/27
« Magnificent hotel and gardens. »

Very pleasant hotel. It was like being a visitor in a stately home.fiendly staff. Nice quiet location. Good food in restaurant. Nice big family room. Good shower. Very pleasant gardens.Would definitely visit again.

Dfran0503 2015/09/11
« Average stay »

The hotel was ok - it was a little dated and tired. Our room was in desperate need for modernisation and we thought that the character of the hotel was so nice but it clearly hadn't been used to it's best advantage. We did feel though that it's niche market was weddings and not day to day guests. I have to say that it wouldn't be a place that I would choose to get married! We had booked for dinner, bed and breakfast. At dinner we did ask twice if there were any limitations on what we could order, twice we were told no. Then the manager came to our table and said that our meals did have limits in terms of cost, just as we were finishing!!! The waitress was pleasant but we did say it wasn't her fault regarding the monetary limits on dinner, she clearly hadn't had the right level of training. Overall, a very average stay in what is marketed as 4 stars!!! It won't be somewhere that we would use again.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry there was a communication issue regarding the dinner allowance included in your rate. The waitress was correct in saying there is no limit to what you can choose to eat as instead of restricting the choices or offering a limited TDH menu, we allow guests to choose what they wish to eat from the a la carte menu then deduct the allowance from the bill with the guest paying the difference. We find guests prefer this option as they choose what ever they fancy to eat rather than being restricted to just what is included. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

LeClubMember99 2015/08/26
« I love and hate this hotel »

As a world travelling Accor LeClub member fluctuating between Silver & Platinum, I have always loved this hotel for my regular visit to the village with its traditional style & atmosphere and friendly local staff making up for minor issues from the age of building. But I was initially allocated one of hotel’s worst rooms (112 overlooks rubbish bins & is adjacent to noisy and hot kitchen & laundry, windowless bathroom with inadequate light– unable to see to shave, hole in room floor disguised by thick carpet, etc.) despite being a LeClub Member and others at same price being available. Breakfast has abandoned traditional kippers & the service of toast at tables - I was reprimanded by young ‘waiter’ for eating cereal rather than watching my toast cook very slowly in the poor toaster ('fire risk' – he then stood over me until it was cooked!) Dinner - non wedding party guests made to have dinner in the non-atmosphere make-shift Trent Room, no view outside, steak tough (poor sourcing by hotel), none of our 3 meals were cooked as requested, wine awful, ‘waiter’ not trained in wine service, entire meal over-priced and far inferior to what available on several outstanding ‘pub’ restaurants within 5 mile radius (I recommend you and your 'chef' to dine at the Boot in Repton) - my 2 invited dinner guests were most unimpressed, they were expecting an oak-panelled room and good food and wine. The Credit Card machine invited a gratuity but already included at 10%! I feel Accor & LeClub are of no interest to UK’s Jupiter Hotels - they are letting down Accor where I am used to LeClub recognition and good food, accommodation and service and I would not expect individual guests to be treated as inferior to wedding parties, even if the latter are key to hotel’s financial survival. They do still have some good long-serving staff, such as waitress Nina. I ‘love and hate’ this hotel.'

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with this stay. I have asked my Food & Beverage Manager to look into the problems you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

redbox001 2015/08/25
« Nice place but dry irons??? »

Had a good night's stay here. Hotel is beautiful in a country manor style. Bedroom was spacious and with lovely views over a grand and well maintained garden. I enjoyed a nice meal in the hotel bar. Two things let down the hotel, significantly in my eyes. The TV, whilst being flat screen is hooked up to what can only be described as an antiquated, grainy, analogue tv signal.It was uncomfortable watching as the signal was so poor, and the channel choice (those that were working) was limited. The second issue I had was with the dry iron (yes really, in 2015!) and mini ironing board fixed to the wall. As a business customer, and requiring to iron shirts, I really don't understand why some hotels think that dry irons can ever be acceptable. These two issues with the room really brought the hotel down in my estimation, and both would may me consider staying elsewhere in the future.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear you had issues with the TV. We are currently awaiting new 32" TV's and an upgrade to our TV system in the next few months. With regards irons, we do have steam irons available on request from Reception and are in the process of removing dry irons from the bedrooms. Thank you again for the review and I hope you will return to the hotel next time you are in the area. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

620mauriceg 2015/07/16
« good location, shame about the Breakfast »

this hotel looks lovely on the web site but i am afraid it is looking very tired inside and could benefit from some tlc. it also praises itself on it's breakfast which in all my years of traveling around the world,this takes the prize of the worst yet! especially for the price. coffee tasted as if it had been made a week before using cheap instant, very poor choice of fruit if you wanted a continental breakfast only and the choice of bread was sliced or a stale loaf, no cheese or ham etc. so opted for scrambled and mushrooms, big mistake, scrambled overcooked and mushrooms tasted awful. and to top it all not a happy waitress serving and made a lot of noise banging plates on the table, not a pleasant start to the day. this hotel is not up to Mercure normal standards.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Breakfast. I have asked my Food Beverage Manager to investigate this as this is not our usual standard. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

pdvh 2015/05/27
« Shocked »

We had booked one night at the hotel as a romantic getaway over the weekend, as we were visiting the area for a wedding anyway. The pictures on the website seemed to suggest a lovely manor house, with beautiful classical decor. When we arrived, the exterior looked worn out, and in dire need of some TLC, and while my heart sank a little it wasn't quite enough to put me off. However, as we made our way from reception to the room it became clear this hotel was in desperate need of a refurb. Not only was everything outdated, it was for the most part broken, dirty, falling apart, looked unsafe, etc. As we got into our room the state was bad enough that I was close to tears. Not a room worth the £139 we had paid for our stay. Dust had settled heavily on some furniture, coffee stains decorated others, and odd white stains could be seen on the chairs. The bathroom looked like it was about to collapse, and the shower like it might leave you far less clean then when you started. There was hazard tape wrapped around a heater in an effort to fix something, and overall this was as far from a romantic weekend getaway as you could get. The more we looked around the more uncomfortable we felt, so ended up back at reception requesting a refund. Cudos to the receptionist who quickly obliged and I would imagine has had to deal with this before. We ended up staying at the Hilton (St George's Park) which was absolutely fabulous (and has a Spa) so I would highly recommend this as an option. Modern vibes, granted, but surrounded by greenery and all in all they provided a great service and experience. For the Mercure however, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone in this state and it certainly is not worth the £100+ they charge per night. Perhaps £40 would be more like it...

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Whilst we are not in the same league as a brand new, purpose built Hilton, I feel your comments are somewhat unfair and unjustified. On being advised of your early check out and refund, I have personally checked this room and whilst there is electrical tape on the heated towel rail, the bathroom is certainly not falling down and the shower works properly. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

Huskyneus 2015/02/18
« Slightly spoiled Valentine's day »

For Valentines day I booked us a room in this hotel. The room itsself was ok, but sadly the shower didn't work. There was only a bath available. Though the very nice staff did their best to accomodate us, the only other option was a room with twin beds. Not the Valentines day I had envisioned......

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry that to hear that the shower did not work in your room. As it was Valentine's weekend all double rooms were fully booked so unfortunately the team were only able to offer you a room move to a twin room. Thank you for your feedback. Regards Moira Banks General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 4.5 km ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
From
From 36.00 GBP Non member rate
From 34.20 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 22 km Novotel Nottingham Derby
Novotel Nottingham Derby Hotel
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in STAFFORDSHIRE
Check Prices