Hotel - Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Newton Solney 
DE15 0SS STAFFORDSHIRE
UNITED KINGDOM

352 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 352 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 67.50 GBP Non member rate
From 60.75 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 67.50 GBP

Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

The 4-star Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park is a grand, Italianate-style country manor in 8 acres of grounds. This Burton-upon-Trent hotel is a grade-II listed building, 7 miles from Derby. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in the 50 modern guest rooms and throughout the hotel. The Folly Restaurant serves international cuisine and the Club Bar is a peaceful spot for a nightcap. There are 8 fully-equipped meeting rooms, the largest of which can welcome up to 120 guests.

The Mecure Burton Upon Trent, Newton Park hotel is 3 miles from Burton-upon-Trent and 7 miles from Derby. The Peak District is 25 miles away. For modern-day thrills, take a family daytrip to nearby Alton Towers theme park (tickets for sale at reception).

Hotel extras

The hotel is the former home of Staffordshire brewer William Worthington. Herbs proliferate in the kitchen garden and picture windows see the seasons change across our landscaped gardens.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Newton Solney
DE15 0SS
STAFFORDSHIRE
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)844/8159018
Fax: (+44)128/3703214

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • EAST MIDLAND At 20.92km / 13 miles
  • BURTON UPON TRENT At 5.63km / 3.5 miles

GPS : 52.825704, -1.588340

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Windows from most of our rooms open onto views of the hotel's landscaped gardens. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child
    Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child

    Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.

  • Privilege room with 1 double bed
    Privilege room with 1 double bed

    Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Classic room with 1 single bed
    Classic room with 1 single bed

    Classic bedroom with 1 single bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 1 adult.

  • Classic room with 1 double bed
    Classic room with 1 double bed

    Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Classic room with 2 single beds
    Classic room with 2 single beds

    Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Superior room with 1 double bed
    Superior room with 1 double bed

    One of our best rooms! Superior bedroom with lounge area, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • 50 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

FOLLY RESTAURANT Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Dinner 18:30 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

FOLLY RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: International


Choose from a diverse collection of mouth watering dishes prepared using fresh ingredients and locally sourced produce.Choose from our selection of fine wines, from Australia to Italy. Indulge in one of our delicious desserts.

Find out more and book
CLUB BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CLUB BAR


The Club bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 6
  • Maximum size: 114 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 120
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120

Our customer reviews for Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 352 reviews
Jez1888 2016/09/07
« More like 3 star ! »

Keep this short and sweet Room dated we stayed in and were given two single beds for a married couple! But didnt complain just pushed beds together Best part of stay for wedding would be the great staff Always helpfull and a smile when busy Breakfast was poor Make your own hot drinks machine did not work The bacon was well undercooked and no black pudding as advertised And the foreign women in charge very slow on the uptake ! Waited 15 minutes for cup of tea Whole building needs work Outside the grounds very poorly maintained and guttering leaking everywhere due to blockages Stay was ok for one night and wedding But would not stat longer

, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Dear Jez1888 Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am so sorry you had such a disappointing stay. Unfortunately when people book a room we never know in advance their marital status, on booking our guests have the option of twin or double rooms, it is their choice which to book. I am so sorry the lack of black pudding and the maintenance of our guttering caused you so much disappointment that you would not return to the hotel. I can honestly say our grounds are well maintained and are attended to by a team of gardeners weekly so I really must dispute that claim. With the regards to my lady in breakfast - she has been with the hotel for many many years, an accomplished author in her own right - travels the world regularly to continue to broaden her knowledge but I am sorry if you felt that during your visit she was "slow on the uptake" I can assure you she is most certainly not. However again please do accept my apologies for the shortcommings you experienced during your stay. Kind regards Wilma

bruynioli 2016/04/27
« Magnificent hotel and gardens. »

Very pleasant hotel. It was like being a visitor in a stately home.fiendly staff. Nice quiet location. Good food in restaurant. Nice big family room. Good shower. Very pleasant gardens.Would definitely visit again.

Dfran0503 2015/09/11
« Average stay »

The hotel was ok - it was a little dated and tired. Our room was in desperate need for modernisation and we thought that the character of the hotel was so nice but it clearly hadn't been used to it's best advantage. We did feel though that it's niche market was weddings and not day to day guests. I have to say that it wouldn't be a place that I would choose to get married! We had booked for dinner, bed and breakfast. At dinner we did ask twice if there were any limitations on what we could order, twice we were told no. Then the manager came to our table and said that our meals did have limits in terms of cost, just as we were finishing!!! The waitress was pleasant but we did say it wasn't her fault regarding the monetary limits on dinner, she clearly hadn't had the right level of training. Overall, a very average stay in what is marketed as 4 stars!!! It won't be somewhere that we would use again.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry there was a communication issue regarding the dinner allowance included in your rate. The waitress was correct in saying there is no limit to what you can choose to eat as instead of restricting the choices or offering a limited TDH menu, we allow guests to choose what they wish to eat from the a la carte menu then deduct the allowance from the bill with the guest paying the difference. We find guests prefer this option as they choose what ever they fancy to eat rather than being restricted to just what is included. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

LeClubMember99 2015/08/26
« I love and hate this hotel »

As a world travelling Accor LeClub member fluctuating between Silver & Platinum, I have always loved this hotel for my regular visit to the village with its traditional style & atmosphere and friendly local staff making up for minor issues from the age of building. But I was initially allocated one of hotel’s worst rooms (112 overlooks rubbish bins & is adjacent to noisy and hot kitchen & laundry, windowless bathroom with inadequate light– unable to see to shave, hole in room floor disguised by thick carpet, etc.) despite being a LeClub Member and others at same price being available. Breakfast has abandoned traditional kippers & the service of toast at tables - I was reprimanded by young ‘waiter’ for eating cereal rather than watching my toast cook very slowly in the poor toaster ('fire risk' – he then stood over me until it was cooked!) Dinner - non wedding party guests made to have dinner in the non-atmosphere make-shift Trent Room, no view outside, steak tough (poor sourcing by hotel), none of our 3 meals were cooked as requested, wine awful, ‘waiter’ not trained in wine service, entire meal over-priced and far inferior to what available on several outstanding ‘pub’ restaurants within 5 mile radius (I recommend you and your 'chef' to dine at the Boot in Repton) - my 2 invited dinner guests were most unimpressed, they were expecting an oak-panelled room and good food and wine. The Credit Card machine invited a gratuity but already included at 10%! I feel Accor & LeClub are of no interest to UK’s Jupiter Hotels - they are letting down Accor where I am used to LeClub recognition and good food, accommodation and service and I would not expect individual guests to be treated as inferior to wedding parties, even if the latter are key to hotel’s financial survival. They do still have some good long-serving staff, such as waitress Nina. I ‘love and hate’ this hotel.'

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with this stay. I have asked my Food & Beverage Manager to look into the problems you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

redbox001 2015/08/25
« Nice place but dry irons??? »

Had a good night's stay here. Hotel is beautiful in a country manor style. Bedroom was spacious and with lovely views over a grand and well maintained garden. I enjoyed a nice meal in the hotel bar. Two things let down the hotel, significantly in my eyes. The TV, whilst being flat screen is hooked up to what can only be described as an antiquated, grainy, analogue tv signal.It was uncomfortable watching as the signal was so poor, and the channel choice (those that were working) was limited. The second issue I had was with the dry iron (yes really, in 2015!) and mini ironing board fixed to the wall. As a business customer, and requiring to iron shirts, I really don't understand why some hotels think that dry irons can ever be acceptable. These two issues with the room really brought the hotel down in my estimation, and both would may me consider staying elsewhere in the future.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear you had issues with the TV. We are currently awaiting new 32" TV's and an upgrade to our TV system in the next few months. With regards irons, we do have steam irons available on request from Reception and are in the process of removing dry irons from the bedrooms. Thank you again for the review and I hope you will return to the hotel next time you are in the area. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

620mauriceg 2015/07/16
« good location, shame about the Breakfast »

this hotel looks lovely on the web site but i am afraid it is looking very tired inside and could benefit from some tlc. it also praises itself on it's breakfast which in all my years of traveling around the world,this takes the prize of the worst yet! especially for the price. coffee tasted as if it had been made a week before using cheap instant, very poor choice of fruit if you wanted a continental breakfast only and the choice of bread was sliced or a stale loaf, no cheese or ham etc. so opted for scrambled and mushrooms, big mistake, scrambled overcooked and mushrooms tasted awful. and to top it all not a happy waitress serving and made a lot of noise banging plates on the table, not a pleasant start to the day. this hotel is not up to Mercure normal standards.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Breakfast. I have asked my Food Beverage Manager to investigate this as this is not our usual standard. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

pdvh 2015/05/27
« Shocked »

We had booked one night at the hotel as a romantic getaway over the weekend, as we were visiting the area for a wedding anyway. The pictures on the website seemed to suggest a lovely manor house, with beautiful classical decor. When we arrived, the exterior looked worn out, and in dire need of some TLC, and while my heart sank a little it wasn't quite enough to put me off. However, as we made our way from reception to the room it became clear this hotel was in desperate need of a refurb. Not only was everything outdated, it was for the most part broken, dirty, falling apart, looked unsafe, etc. As we got into our room the state was bad enough that I was close to tears. Not a room worth the £139 we had paid for our stay. Dust had settled heavily on some furniture, coffee stains decorated others, and odd white stains could be seen on the chairs. The bathroom looked like it was about to collapse, and the shower like it might leave you far less clean then when you started. There was hazard tape wrapped around a heater in an effort to fix something, and overall this was as far from a romantic weekend getaway as you could get. The more we looked around the more uncomfortable we felt, so ended up back at reception requesting a refund. Cudos to the receptionist who quickly obliged and I would imagine has had to deal with this before. We ended up staying at the Hilton (St George's Park) which was absolutely fabulous (and has a Spa) so I would highly recommend this as an option. Modern vibes, granted, but surrounded by greenery and all in all they provided a great service and experience. For the Mercure however, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone in this state and it certainly is not worth the £100+ they charge per night. Perhaps £40 would be more like it...

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Whilst we are not in the same league as a brand new, purpose built Hilton, I feel your comments are somewhat unfair and unjustified. On being advised of your early check out and refund, I have personally checked this room and whilst there is electrical tape on the heated towel rail, the bathroom is certainly not falling down and the shower works properly. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

Huskyneus 2015/02/18
« Slightly spoiled Valentine's day »

For Valentines day I booked us a room in this hotel. The room itsself was ok, but sadly the shower didn't work. There was only a bath available. Though the very nice staff did their best to accomodate us, the only other option was a room with twin beds. Not the Valentines day I had envisioned......

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry that to hear that the shower did not work in your room. As it was Valentine's weekend all double rooms were fully booked so unfortunately the team were only able to offer you a room move to a twin room. Thank you for your feedback. Regards Moira Banks General Manager

Tulleym T 2014/05/25
« Not enough Staff »

We arrived early at 13:00 (an hour before the stated time that we could check-in - at 14:00). We were informed that two of our three rooms were ready, and were given the keys. However one room had not even been touched since the last visitors, and I informed the reception desk of this. This was important to us as we had to leave the hotel by 14:25 to attend a nearby wedding, and we all needed to change first. The receptionist said that this would not be a problem and not to worry as the room would definitely be available by 14:00. When I went to the reception desk at 14:00 to say that the room was not ready, she stated that 14:00 was only a guideline, meaning that they did not commit to any rooms being available BEFORE 14:00 and that check-in was only possible FROM 14;00 if the room was ready. Rooms may indeed not be available for some time after 14:00. I stated that this was nonsense, and check-in at 14:00 meant that ALL rooms must be available by 14:00 otherwise how could anyone plan their preparations for an important event. She was adamant that this was not the case, and I would have to wait for my room to be cleaned. On informing how upset and angry I was, she reluctantly offered me a single room to change in at 14:10, which my wife and I used for changing into our wedding attire, which took 20 minutes, so we were now late for the wedding. On passing reception, I was informed that our original double room was nearly ready (it was actually completed at 14:40!). The receptionist was very rude, and informed us that the hotel only had a limited number of staff, and I responded that this was very bad planning as they knew how many people had booked into the hotel, especially as there was another weeding reception in the hotel itself. I was told my behaviour was unacceptable, because I was not accepting that the situation the hotel had put us in was normal practice. If this is the case, that you cannot rely on this hotel providing available rooms at the stated check-in time, then I suggest as we will do, that you look elsewhere.

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review. I am sorry your room was not ready on your arrival; however, check in time is from 2pm. There was plenty of housekeeping staff on duty to clean the rooms; however, with late check outs it is not always possible for all 50 rooms to be ready by 2pm. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

COLLYWOOBBLES 2014/04/17
« a few days away »

we loved our stay at Newton Park , as usual all staff at Mercure Hotels were very friendly bedroom was adequate and had a nice outlook , maybe a little more modern than we had expected as the staircase was beautiful . food was extremely tasty .

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I hope it won't be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager

Barry D 2014/03/14
« Nice hotel but problems »

Lovely Hotel / Rooms / Grounds. Rooms were red hot due to pipes around the room that couldn't be turned off. Food was very mixed, especially as it wasn't particularly cheap. Nachos were cold and had virtually no cheese on, basically just crisps! Parsnip was cold and gratin potato was probably microwaved as was hot and cold in parts.Receptionist was rude to people before us and not very nice to driver who asked where to deliver stuff to the hotel. She was just plain miserable, don't know why she was working in customer service! Oh, and the gym was a 15' by 15' room with three machines in, ok for me but not for anyone who wants a proper gym! This is the first time I've added comment to trip advisor but my colleague said I should get it off my cheat!

hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review. As General Manager, I would have been pleased to hear your comments directly by email or phone to enable me to deal with them personally rather than "you get them off your chest" on here. I will speak to the Head Chef and the Receptionist concerned. Thank you once again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 67.50 GBP Non member rate
From 60.75 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 4.5 km ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
From
From 36.00 GBP Non member rate
From 34.20 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 22 km Novotel Nottingham Derby
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 44.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in STAFFORDSHIRE
Select your dates 67.50 GBP Rooms from 67.50 GBP