Hotel address201 Ingram Street
G1 1DQ GLASGOW
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 55° 51' 36.31'' W 4° 14' 59.97''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159103
- Fax. (+44)141/2218367
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel - hotel reviews in Glasgow
Hotel code: 8336
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
8th March 2013, BrenandJo, London
Nice hotel in a great location right in Merchant City. Overall the hotel was fine, with a good Accor Hotels Priviledge card rate offer, I can't complain too much! The hotel itself is a liit;e worn and old fashioned, if not out-dated/ Walls very thin and at times the noise from the 'hen party' in the room next door was unbearable, door constantly being opened and loud banging when closed! Even laughing and gnerally normal talking could be heard... The corner room I had, also had an odd layout with parts of the shelving not being easily accessable. These were also dusty, along with the bedside lamps... Bathroom needs a tidy up, extractor fan was very dusty and the tiling around the bathroom was messy and unnattractive! Other than that the reception staff were charming and very helpful, interested in my visit. Weekday breakfast staff were an older employee (and seemed local) they knew what they were doing, were very professional and rated excellent!! The weekend staff, much younger and possibly Eastern EU employees were not so.... Poor!!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review and comments on your stay at the hotel.I must apologise for the shortcomings you have experienced with the cleanliness of your room, this is not indicative of our usual high standards and I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team for immediate redress.I do hope that the noise issues did not detract from your stay. We are normally able to deal with such issues swiftly as they are reported to us.I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking with other Mercure hotels in the future.Yours sincerelyMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
25th February 2013, JeremiahHuff, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
A good clean hotel, efficient service, nice bar, but room was a bit cold and no air conditioning, only a radiator which wasn't always on. Location is central and handy for shops etc. Just about qualifies as value for money - pushing the top end of that category for me!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review about your stay with us at Mercure Glasgow City.The central heating system is operated with a timer as most guests are out of the building during the day. We can provide fan heaters if required outwith these time if required.I was pleased you were able to take advantage of the hotel's great location and I do hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.Many thanksMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
"Good Location - Friendly Staff - Need for Refurbishment"
11th February 2013, Cityboy92, Rome, Italy
Overall, I have enjoyed my 6-night stay at this hotel. The staff was very kind, and although I was given a small room that urgently needs refurbishment, they immediately agreed to move me to another one the second night.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City.I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.I do hope that you will return and stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow.Thank you once againMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
"Glasgow on Foot"
1st February 2013, RabPBris, Bristol
We had used this hotel perviously for a base to attend a wedding last June. The hotel was good as was breakfast. however they promote use of local produce but to be hionest this was only honey, not everybody's favourite early morning. I was disappointed not to see ayrshire bacon, square slice sausages tattie scones and black and white pudding. These are as much a local flavour as the honey, again while not to everyone's taste or dietary needs coudl be offered, nonetheless the breakfast was good and the staff in the restaurant attentive.I alos have sent a seperate complaint about certain thngs that were not in place as advertised by mercure, a welcome pack, even after not receiving this nor discovering in rom allowed time for staff to realise it had been forgotten to discreetly place in the room, the other disappoinment was that it took so long to queque to offer the complaint that our schedule took over and we got on. It was also too late on the last day then to complain about a welcome gift. The hotel for all that had friendly staff, good location for all of Glasgows attractions and is convenient for the airport bus . I am a Glasgow man so can certainly recommend but if you book at a price make sure you get what you were promised. The location offers opportunity to see City Centre attractions on foot.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you very much for your review and feedback about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City.Where possible, we do endeavour to use as much locally sourced produce as we can on our menus. Sometimes, whether or not a certain product can be used comes down to availability and supply in order to meet demand. I will pass your comments onto the Head Chef in order to ensure any changes are made as we can.I am sorry that the welcome gift was not in your room for arrival nor provided during your stay. This was an oversight by our front office team and I can only apologise for this. We would have provided it for your onward journey if you had mentioned it at check out however, I do understand the circumstances and I am very sorry for this.I do hope that this has not put you off booking with us again in the future, as we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.Kind regardsMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
3rd January 2013, Halton, Lancaster
I stay here every time I come to Glasgow always excellent though iced water machine faulty and the mushrooms were cold at breakfast!!!Reception excellent and my only criticism was the breakfast!My room was lovely and beautifully cleaned!Bar staff great!!!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review and continued support.It is always great to hear from guests who return to the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoy your stays with us, although sorry to hear about the problems at breakfast. I can only hope that it was a one off at the time you stayed.I have not been aware of any issues with the equipment however, I will pass on your comments to the food and beverage team and ensure all equipment is checked fully.I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Thanks againMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
"Mercure For My Hangover!!!!"
24th October 2012, Halton, Lancaster
Spent a very enjoyable weekend here whilst meeting up with my friends for a football match and beer! The football match was won by my team and the beer went down well! Lovely to get back to this hotel for a lovely sleep followed by a great breakfast each day of my stay!!!Thanks to all the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff for making my weekend so enjoyable!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you very much for your review and kind comments.I am pleased that your football team won their game! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.I do hope to see you again sometime in the future.Thanks againMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
30th September 2012, showbizandi, London
This hotel was previously something else and was taken over by Mercure. My room was so small that I had to turn sideways to move around the bed. There were only 9 inches (22cm) between the bottom of the bed and the desk. One very small window over an alleyway and in Glasgow alleyways are NEVER quiet places. Breakfast was very low quality and the dining was in Reception as there was a function going on in the restaurant, so I was able to watch people check in as I wondered if my bacon had seen a grill. Additional charge for cappuccinos at breakfast time is poor. Wouldn't recommend it. Staff were fine, didn't make me feel welcome or go the extra mile but were fine.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review and feedback about your stay at the hotel.I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary, however, we rarely get complaints that they are inadequate.I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet your expectations, I do hope that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion of us and that you will choose to book at other Mercure properties in the future.Kind regardsMonica DochertyGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.