Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Brighton Hotels > Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 3
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 116
  • Hotel location: At the seaside
  • Main point of interest: BRIGHTON SEAFRONT (0.16 km)

Hotel address

149 Kings Road
BN1 2PP BRIGHTON
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 50° 49' 21.95'' W 0° 9' 19.74'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel - hotel reviews in Brighton

Hotel code: 8335

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Hotel with character 10 minutes from centre of town"

3rd September 2013, jonkay123, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

From the moment of arrival when we were greeted at reception the stay was a delight. My wife has claustrophobia so doesn't like lifts. I had mentioned this when booking but we weren't too bothered. However, the receptionist told us they had picked the room that they thought best suited and if we weren't satisfied. We should come back and they would provide an alternative. The corridors are narrow, as some people have mentioned, but for me if you book an old hotel that is part of the charm. I have stayed in newer hotels whic are purpose built but they have no character The room was clean and well appointed We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many options in Brighton but the room service menu looked good value.Its hard to pick out a member of staff for special praise as everybody was lovely, but we were very impressed with Rory behind the bar.The 12 o'clock checkout was very genorous too.We paid £172 for 2 nights which included a £20 supplement to allow us to check in from 10 o'clock.

View management response »

Management responseDear jonkay123,Many thanks for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor.Its always a pleasure to receive such great feedback, especially this one, which is highly demonstrative of the hard work the team do.I will obviously be passing your feedback on to the team, in particular Rory, whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback.Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon,Kind RegardsPeter Nye
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Poor value..... exploiting its position and not living up to corporate image"

21st August 2013, gudniteout, Farnborough, United Kingdom

For the price paid the room too small and its bathroom facilities were not in keeping with 4star expectations.Don't like the fact that you also get charged £15 for car parking.Front office staff were helpful but bar and restaurant staff had poor atitiude.

View management response »

Management responseDear gudniteout Thank you for your review although I’m saddened to read that your experience did not meet your expectations.I have responded previously that we are officially rated as 4*, and do where possible offer alternative rooms if those allocated do not meet individual needs. Furthermore parking has been well review and I reiterate our current tariff offers great value compared to the alternatives in the City.Other readers will note how often the Food & Beverage staff are mentioned delivering their usual high standards, and I’m further sorry if you did not experience this. I was pleased to note however your mention of the helpfulness of the front office team and remain sorry that we were not able to do more to make your stay a better.Do let us know if you are thinking of returning as we’d love you to experience us again.Kind regardsMatthew
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A beach retreat"

13th August 2013, Silver0607, Gosford

The hotel was on the beach front and in easy walking distance of the many attractions in Brighton and surrounding area. The hotel is an old building and some oftthe rooms were small for a person travelling and having more than the general baggage. The rooms has no air conditioning which ws unfortunate as we were there during a reasonably hot part of the year. The reception staff were very helpful in finding the right room as the first was very small and clastrophobic.

View management response »

Management responseDear Silver0607Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.I was delighted to read that the team were able to offer you an alternative room for your stay which met your needs.As I have responded previously the hot spell has lasted much longer than expected and I do hope the fan in your room helped make you more comfortable.We do hope to see you again soon for your next trip to the sea side.Best regardsMatthew
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect position"

1st August 2013, Peter T, Oxford, United Kingdom

Beautiflul building, in its Victorian heyday it must have been stunning. Sadly, Health and Safety have ruined a beautiful staircase with fire doors, and the windows in our room were fixed ajar, so we had no chance to open or close them. Lovely room, smart bathroom. It was a heatwave during our stay, and airconditioning would have been a big plus, so we had to manage with a small fan.WE did not eat in the hotel, as regular visitors to Brighton we have our favourite haunts, for food and drink.

View management response »

Management responseDear Peter TThank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.We agree that the Hotel is perfectly placed and I was pleased to read that the fan helped a little with the unusually high temperatures we have been enjoying.I have commented before on the fire protection on the staircase and agree it would have been atheistically more pleasing if we could open this up.I note you’re a regular visitor and do hope we might welcome you back sometime soon.Kind regardsMatthew
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "birthday trip"

20th July 2013, domdom1978, Manchester, United Kingdom

Stayed here recently for a birthday treat. Hotel is in a great location only a few mins walk from the pier. Compares well with other mercures. Room was basic and clean although the fire doors outside could do with some adjustments to stop the noise as people were coming in and out.... Bit frustrating when trying to relax.The mercure group seem to be gradually cutting corners on the nice touches which I wish they would put back though (less in bathroom range and the biscuits have now been taken away)... Sounds sad but I like my brew and biscuit after a long drive. Slightly annoyingly the computer generated about 120 additional charges I had not had (breakfasts, evening meal) so keep an eye out for this! I think there was a fault though at the time. As ever with mercure..... Brilliant and friendly staff sorted it out quickly. We managed to get a decent deal so overall would stay again but only if on a similar rate. Needs a bit more updating to convince me to pay full rate.

View management response »

Management responseDear domdom1978Firstly, a belated Happy Birthday!It was delighted to read that you enjoyed our great location although I’m sorry if you were disturbed by any doors closing. We try to adjust these to the optimal level so that all doors close using the automatic devices!We constantly review our amenities against our stablemates although we are always willing to deliver any required items to rooms on request.I’m sorry if the ‘computer’ had a momentary glitch with you final account and was even more pleased you found the ‘brilliant and friendly’ team able to quickly resolve!We do hope we might see you sometime soon.Kind regardsMatthew
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure Brighton"

17th July 2013

Ok and service great but overpriced small rooms no air con. Slow free wifi. Breakfast good for buffet. All staff charming but really typical British disappointing for cost. And £15.00 for parking when the room is £159.00,a bot rich to say the least and charged for a newspaper. Not much for the money really. Then again others in Brighton,no better value.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review which offered encouragement that you rated overall ‘OK’ but with great service!I was pleased to note that you thought that our breakfast was good and found the staff ‘charming’Our complimentary Wi-Fi is on a limited bandwidth which is usually sufficient fore emails and basic browsing and for customers requiring an enhanced connection speed this service is offered additionally.Thank you once again and we hope to see you if you’re coming back to Brighton in the future.Kind regardsMatthew
« hide

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "FANTASTIC HOTEL & STAFF!!!!!"

4th July 2013, SueJohn2013, Croydon, United Kingdom

My husband and I have stayed at the Mercure Brighton many times throughout the past years and have ALWAYS thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location and offers varying types of rooms all of which are most comfortable, clean and well equipped with nice goodies, soft towels & robes plus tea/coffee making facilities. The staff are truly superb whereby nothing is too much trouble for them. You are always greeted with a warm & friendly smile no matter what time of the day or how busy they are.We always enjoy our stays at the Mercure and leave looking forward to the next visit!WE HIGHLY RATE THE MERCURE & IT'S STAFF WHO TRULY ARE NO.1 - THE BEST!!!!!!Sue & John

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A very nice sea front hotel"

2nd July 2013, 307Matt, London, United Kingdom

Check in with Reception was great - the rooms were nice - but a little old fashioned. Breakfast was good and I would recommend. What I didn't like was the 07:50 phone call to move my car from it's parking space to the underground parking.

View management response »

Management responseDear 307MattThank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.I was delighted to read that you had a ‘great’ welcome from Reception and found your room to be ‘nice’It was also pleasing to read that you enjoyed breakfast and would recommend this.Sorry that you were called to move your car. I believe this may have been due to the arrival of the ‘’cherry picker’ required to clean the external and windows of the building. We do plan this and aim to inform any guests in advance that we required the front car park to be cleared. Once again I am sorry if this wasn’t the case.Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.Kind regardsMatthew
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.