Hotel address149 Kings Road
BN1 2PP BRIGHTON
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 50° 49' 21.95'' W 0° 9' 19.74''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159061
- Fax. (+44)127/3821752
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel - hotel reviews in Brighton
Hotel code: 8335
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Brighton Weekend room number 110"
1st March 2013, Cardiff, United Kingdom
On checking in I found the staff very helpful we were offered an upgrade to balcony sea facing room for £30 per night extra i don't think that this up grade is worth the money as the room is very noisy from the road traffic windows are not double glazed and don't shut properly.The other complaint I have is that the room was on the first floor above reception where the sound of people talking at 2am in the morning could be heard a lot of the sound came under the door as there was a big gap big enough to push the free morning paper underView management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us.I believe you spoke to the Guest Care Manager on duty on check-out who relayed our apologies.Our Executive Sea view rooms are in short supply (only 16 in total) and are always in demand attracting a supplement over the usual standard rate. Whilst each of these rooms have stunning views and are generally well appointed it is true that due the location at times there can be traffic noise. The sash windows and French doors in the room you stayed usually give a good level of insulation and I’ll ensure this is checked for correct and proper operation.Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff you encountered. Please be sure to let me know if you are thinking of coming back so I can make every effort to assure of a warm welcome.Kind regardsMatthew
20th February 2013, murphy_paula, Watford, United Kingdom
Only stayed one night, but would highly recommend it. Excellent location only a few minutesw walk to the Lanes and Pier. service was great, there was a problem with the system when we arrived so couldnt check in, staff were great offered to store our bags if we wanted to go out and complimentary tea and coffee offered. The room was very clean great size bed. Overall a very enjoyable stay.View management response »
Management responseDear Murphy_paulaThank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.Firstly, thank you for your understanding regarding the delays experienced on arrival and I was pleased that you were able to take advantage of us looking after your bags and were offered a complimentary cuppa.I was also pleased to read that found both the location of the hotel great for access to the City and your bedroom was clean and comfortable.Hopefully after this ‘very enjoyable stay’ we might see you again sometime very soon.Thank you once again.RegardsMatthew
"3 night trip at mercure brighton"
29th January 2013, cookie_monster998, Lincoln, United Kingdom
We had booked a two night trip here from a special offer. However, in view we live a four hour drive away we decided to stay an extra night to travel on a less snowy day. Upon arrival reception had no problem in arranging this, ensuring we had the same room throughout our stay. We found all the staff very friendly and welcoming.Car parking on site was no problem for us in a covered rear car park. There are also spaces in front of the hotel although parking is limited so it could be tricky in peak season. The parking costs £15 night, which we were aware of.The hotel is nicely furnished, we had a side room but could still just see the sea. The room was very clean. Although initially we thought it had a slightly drafty window, this was actually a benefit as I do find hotel rooms can be quite airless. Although there was a wedding reception and we could hear some music, I can honestly say it did not disurb us and we had three nights great sleep. We had dinner on one night and there was a good choice. Portion size was such that we couldn't manage dessert. Breakfast was buffet at the week-end and hot selection cooked to our request on the weekday mornings and very good. During our trip we walked into the centre each day and agan at night and this was a good 10 to 15 min walk which was fine for us.We would stop here again on a future trip to Brighton.View management response »
Management responseDear cookie_monster998Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 3 night stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.It was great to read that your arrival experience met our usual standards and the team were friendly and welcoming making arrangements to ensure your multiple reservations were linked.I’m also glad that you managed to park with us – as you state spaces are limited and the cost is very reasonable compared to other facilities in the City.Thank you for your feedback regarding the quality of food received both for Dinner and your Breakfast and I’m sorry you didn’t have enough room for pudding!It is encouraging to read that you were comfortable in your room and that you had three great night’s sleep. I hope your journey home was less snowy after staying the extra night with us.We do hope we will see you again very soon.Kindest regardsMatthew
1st January 2013, X-Deepak-X, London, United Kingdom
We normally stay at the Thistle or the Old Ship, but this was offered at a very good rate. We were worried about the noise and how good the rooms would be. We stayed at one of the renovated "Mews" rooms. Extremely quite and we loved the layout (I've heard that some don't). For the cost, this was the best stay we've had in Brighton. My only complaint is that, when we asked for a space in the hotel where we could practise a bit of our ballroom dancing - we were flatly told "no" without the staff even bothering to think about it. We found a little landing where we could practise. Staff in good hotels are trained not to say "no", but to see how the customer can best be helped!View management response »
Management responseDear X-Deepak-X,Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Mercure in Brighton.It was great to read that you have experience at other hotels in the city so and I was further pleased to see you took the opportunity to try the Mercure instead of your usual choice.The Mews bedrooms represent the ‘newest’ section of rooms in the Hotel and with its quirky layout and quiet area, guests really enjoy staying there, and when you have a good rate on offer it makes it even more worth the choice!I wish to apologise for the response you had from the reception staff regarding a space for your ballroom dancing practice. I have passed your disappointment onto the front desk team who would like to be associated with my apologies. I hope this did not affect your stay with us or cause you too much inconvenience. Thanks again for your warm review and ill look forward to welcoming you back in the future (I promise we can find you somewhere to Dance!)Happy New YearKind RegardsMatthew
"A little tired but excellent service"
12th December 2012, DaveOr_12, Amersham, United Kingdom
We got a free room upgrade and the front desk staff were extremely welcoming and courteous, sorting out an issue with my points usage even though it was partly down to my lack of understanding on their policy. Although our room was fantastic, the public areas are a bit worn and the breakfast wasn't the best quality. It's a great location though, and fantastic to be able to park directly in front of the hotel (although we were lucky to find a space, I think).View management response »
Management responseDear DaveOr_12Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.I was delighted to read your arrival experience was ‘extremely welcoming and courteous’ and we were able to rectify an issue with your loyalty club points.We do have ongoing plans to refresh parts of the Hotel and we hope you will be back sometime in the future to see how we will be making changes.Finally, thank you for the words in your title ‘Excellent Service’ the team here work hard and all feedback we received is shared and is really encouraging!Hope to see you again soon.Festive regardsMatthew
"Great hotel, perfect location and parking!"
30th November 2012, JamesMXYZ, London, United Kingdom
The staff were all very friendly, the service was great. Parking in the hotel is a bonus in Brighton. Lovely rooms, worth paying for the sea view. Room service and service in the bar and restaurant quick and courteousView management response »
Management responseDear JamesMXYZThank you for a review of your recent stay at the Mercure.I was pleased to see you enjoyed your break with us and that you were able to make use of the parking facilities as since you stated parking can be ‘tricky’ in Brighton. It was great to see you received our usual level of polite and friendly service from the staff and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure soon.Best RegardsMatthew
"surly waiter-very salty food"
8th October 2012, warra69, tasmania
stayed in a beautiful deluxe room on the top floor with lovely view of the beach which was a great start to our stay. Front of house staff were friendly and courteous but the restaurant food was very salt, particularly the soup. When we pointed this out to the waiter he simply returned it to the kitchen and brought back an equally salty concoction. When I suggested that the chef was using far too much soup he said he would pass on my comments. As we were leaving he muttered something derogatory under his breath but loud enough to be audible. Probably the worst restaurant meal in 47 days in the UK.View management response »
Management responseDear warra69,Thank you for your review. I was surprised to read your comments regarding the behaviour of the waiting staff on the evening in question and I wish to sincerely apologise for this. We strive to ensure each guest has a happy and enjoyable experience during their stay and we take comments like these very seriously. I have passed your comments regarding the salty food over to the chefs and they wish to be associated with my apologies and will make certain this does not recur.Whilst some time has passed since your stay, I am sincerely sorry that we were not able to take action at the time. I am proud of the usually friendly and welcoming service my team provides here and I would ask that you contact me directly so that I can look into your claims further and take appropriate action.Thank you again for your comments Best RegardsMatthew
"Lovely hotel on Brighton seafront"
27th August 2012, London
A beautiful hotel situated right on the beach, just a very short walk from the centre of town and the pier. We had a great breakfast and were treated very well. The only thing is that the room was a bit small - absolutely nothing wrong with it, and the bed was very comfortable, but not so big.View management response »
Management responseDear Accorhotels.com travellerThank you for your most valued review of your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront.I am delighted you received our usual level of polite and friendly customer service and that you were ‘treated very well’. We are in a perfect location on the Seafront with just a short walk to the popular attractions which is what makes our Hotel very desirable to travellers.All our rooms vary in size due to the volume of rooms we hold in the building but each room has its own style to it. The Mews section was added in the mid 80s and overlooks a great courtyard with quirky features and I recommend you to request this area if you decide to stay again. We also hold fantastic sea view rooms with its own private balcony which is always a favourite with our guests. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure in the future.Kind RegardsMatthew
9th August 2012, trudi_morgan, Warwick, United Kingdom
We were disappointed with the room we were allocated - on the side of the hotel with an outside staircase directly outside and noisy pigeons nesting on a ledge above our room window. Very hot room and window only opened a small way. Overall very disappointed with having no view at all. Room otherwise clean and comfortable. Also, £15.00 is very expensive to pay to park in hotel's own car park overnight!On a positive note - a very nice selection of cold or hot breakfastView management response »
Management responseDear trudi_morganThank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us.I was sincerely sorry to read that you were disappointed with the room allocated and that we were not able to do more for you when you were still in the Hotel.We have active measures to control the external influences and I will check the areas on the rear external staircase to see if more can be done to avoid the roosting and noise this causes.I was pleased that this aside you did find the room clean and comfortable.Our parking tariff is highly competitive compared to both other hotels and municipal facilities and does reflect the premium of parking in the City (I paid £6 for 2 hours on street parking today!)Thank you for your final positive note about breakfast which I hope set you up with better feelings about the Hotel before you departed.Thank you once again.Kind regardsMatthew
"Excellent value for money."
23rd July 2012, Momac2308, Honiton, United Kingdom
Rather grand looking from the front but somewhat faded and shabby inside. A bit of a 'rabbit warren' due to all the additions. We were given a room at the back that was quite a long way from reception and up several flights of stairs which we found a bit difficult with luggage. However, the room was large and bright with french doors leading to a kind of verandah but looked out on to the opposite of rooms only. Parking was £15 for 24 hours - a very good price for secure parking in Brighton. Position is right on the seafront and about a 20 minute, pleasant walk to town.Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice - buffet style.All the staff we encountered were helpful and very pleasant. We go to Brighton quite often to visit family and will definitely use this hotel again.View management response »
Management responseDear Momac2308Thank you for taking the time to post a most constructive and helpful review of your recent stay with us.As a 150+ year old building we do have constant challenges not only with the design and layout but also making timely sympathetic improvements to the building. We also have some quirky access routes to some of our rooms particularly in the ‘Mews’ and my team are always willing to offer assistance with luggage. This said it was pleasing to note that you liked your room with access to the shared balcony areas.Parking is at a real premium throughout the City and I’m glad you agree and appreciate that the current nightly charge of £15 is very competitive.It is always pleasing to read that we have demonstrated our usual friendly and helpful service and I thank you for your encouraging remarks.Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.Kind regardsMatthew
"Not worth the price"
12th July 2012, San Diego, California, USA
This is an expensive hotel by any standards....and more than even Mercure properties in Central London. That would be OK if the property matches up to the price. Unfortunately, that is not the case. One of our bookings was upgraded to large room with a sea view, which was fine, although by no means luxurious. The standard room, however, was small and in some remote annex at the back up a narrow staircase that was challenging to navigate with luggage. To top this off, the internet was not working and the lobby was filled during most of our stay with what seemed like almost all the guests at a large wedding reception being held in the ballroom, who got more and more inebriated and unpleasant as the day went on. I realize that all guests have access to the public areas, but their initial drinks were actually provided in the lobby and there was barely room to squeeze past them to register. All in all, while the company was great the hotel was somewhat disappointing and I would not stay there again by choice.View management response »
Management responseDear CAtraveller995Thank you for taking the time to post a valued review following your recent stay with us.I was saddened to read that you did not feel your stay with us represented value.Brighton is a highly popular destination and particularly at weekends and I’m confident that both our ‘normal’ and promotional rates are highly competitive compared with other properties in the City.I believe that you stayed in one of our standard bedrooms located in the Mews area of the hotel which have all had recent refurbishments and are fitted with modern open plan furniture. Some of these rooms are on a split level and access via some stairs and I am also sorry that we were not able to provide assistance with your luggage.We do host weddings most weekends and aim to balance the comfort and enjoyment of all our guests and I am sorry if this made your stay less comfortable.Finally, I was sorry that you experienced access issues with the internet at the Hotel. Our system is supported and provided by a third party and we do monitor its operation to make sure downtimes are recovered as swiftly as possible.If you do need to return to Brighton please do contact us personally so we can make arrangements to ensure you have a fully comfortable stay.Kind regardsMatthew
"Brighton Beach our first visit"
24th May 2012, lorraine0212, Perth, Australia
We had a lovely 2 nights at the Brighton Seafront Hotel. What a great view from our room and the bed was so comfortable. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed at lovely breakfast.View management response »
Management responseDear lorraine0212Thank you for your valued review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.It was great to read that you found the bed comfortable and enjoyed the view from you Executive room.Thank you also for your kind review on the service received and your enjoyment of Breakfast.Hope to see you back in Brighton at the Mercure Hotel sometime soon.Best regardsMatthew
8th May 2012, Navly, London, United Kingdom
As we travelled a distance we arrived at the hotel an hour before check in. The plan was to park at the hotel and go get some lunch then check in when we returned however the reception staff allowed us to check in straight away which gave us the chance to freshen up before we went out.the room was clean but not as big as i hoped for. We went for the deal of two nights which includes dinner on 1 night and breakfast on both mornings. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful and polite.The location was great we were within walking distance of brighton pier and the all the shops and the pier. However the walk is about 15/20 minutes and as a young couple it is ok however it was quite tiring but cab only cost approx £4 if you do choose to travel by cab.overall a lovely trip.View management response »
Management responseDear NavlyThank you for making the effort to post a review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.I was delighted to read that you were able to check in as soon as you arrived and that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant from your inclusive package.Thank you for your kind words about the service received from the staff and for the traveller tip on the cost of a cab to the centre!I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brighton.Kind regardsMatthew