Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Chester Hotels > Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • High-speed internet
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Sauna
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 126
  • Hotel location: In the country
  • Main point of interest: CHESTER (2.41 km)

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel - hotel reviews in Chester

Hotel code: 8329

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend in Chester"

18th September 2013

We had a lovely stay this hotel, staff were extremely helpful, room was lovely. Large buffet breakfast choice. Location was fine, only a short taxi ride into the centre or the is a park and ride right next door.Only thing I can possibly fault, and it was far outweighed by the positives, is that the walls were extremely thin, you could hear every conversation in the neighbouring rooms.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip AdvisorThank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.comI was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Why not follow us on twitter @mercurechester or like us on Facebook at ‘Mercure Chester Abbots Well’ for special offers and information.Yours SincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "One Night Stop Over"

18th September 2013, derufini, London, United Kingdom

Stopped over for a night to visit Chester Town the following day.Over all was ok - water pressure in the shower was a bit low.Had the usual noise from people up and about at 5:30 - 6:00 am, perhaps going to work after a stop over?Also if you arrange to have a newspaper delivered in the morning make sure they give you a knock on the door as it may end up being nicked by some low life otherwise.Perhaps I should have opted to have the Telegraph or Guardian delivered as they would have left them alone knowing they could not read the big words -Scum everywhere and just for a paper.Informed reception - They said they would look into it.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good alround hotel"

11th September 2013, 442carol, Lancaster, United Kingdom

Good all round hotel little expensive in bar 7pounds four glass of wine ? . Leisure facilities very good . Would stay again .Good location 4'30 into town by u could walk it in 20 mins or so went to races great day out . Lots to do and see in town great choice of restarants and bars

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip AdvisorThank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.comI was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Why not follow us on twitter @mercurechester or like us on Facebook at ‘Mercure Chester Abbots Well’ for special offers and information.Yours SincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "2 DAY VISIT- SEPTEMBER 5th-7th."

10th September 2013, scraps48, Colchester, United Kingdom

Whilst the general public area i.e lounge, restaurant and leisure facilities could not be faulted , the bedroom (CLASSIC room- with limited television reception and no ceefax ) and bathroom were compact and lacked adequate storage areas . HOTEL - Good location on OUTSKIRTS of Chester - very convenient for PARK AND RIDE. Good breakfast selection available.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "So So hotel"

3rd September 2013, djw1005, Leeds

We recently stayed at the hotel, which was pleasant enough, but the rooms were awfully warm for the time of year and quiet a lot of noise first thing in the morning ie 6am. Obviously the hotel primarly caters for business and not pleasure, so if your looking for something for a weekend break look elsewhere.Other than that not too bad, but would stay elsewhere if visiting chester again

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Really enjoyable and good value"

27th August 2013, t0gether4ever, Durham, United Kingdom

Booked this hotel through mercure website and got deal for two nights stay (for two adults) with evening meal on first night and breakfasts for both days for good price. Very impressed with meal on evening (We both opted for the set menu of three course dinner and really enjoyed it ). Have to say our waiter (Phil) was excellent and I decided to write a review due to the fact he was so good at his job. Rooms good (shower only in our room this time, with jets at the sides! ) Excellent pool,jacuzzi,sauna and steam room which my partner loved. Breakfast was very organised and well laid out. Virtually right next door to park and ride to get into Chester city centre (£2 each return) a short ride away. Chester zoo is approx 3 miles away also which was a Godsend when you've walked all day! Really enjoyable. We've also stayed at the Leeds Mercure hotel and had similar experience.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip AdvisorThank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.comI was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the customer service you received from Phil, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto him and the remainder of the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Why not follow us on twitter @mercurechester or like us on Facebook at ‘Mercure Chester Abbots Well’ for special offers and information.Yours SincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Chester visit"

22nd August 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a visit to the races over the weekend of the 17th. Staff were mostly helpful although we could not check in our room early and ended up having to change for the racesin the leisure complex which was not ideal and not the cleanest. The family room we had was quite dated and didnt have the normal Mercure standard. The air conditioning unit when swictched on gave out a terrible rotten fish smell so was not used (not really needed) we were also woken early hours by a returning stag party. Breakfast was excellent and overall stay was not hugely affected, hotel rooms and leisure club does need updating

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "An average hotel at an expensive price"

9th August 2013, doug2422, Dumfries, United Kingdom

Service on arrival was excellent. We were advised in our booking confirmation that we would receive a gift on arrival. On informing the reception of this we were underwhelmed with the offer of 2 bottles of water and a cereal bar. However we requested the gift be delivered to our room. After a further 3 requests we eventually received the water on our departure. The restaurant was extremely under staffed with tables being left dirty for the duration of each breakfast visit. The service from the kitchen provided was poor, we waited for 40 minutes for an afternoon cream tea. The staff on duty were all very pleasant but overworked. This is certainly not what we have experienced from 4 star hotels on previous holidays. Disappointing and over priced.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Awful room for a Mercure."

22nd July 2013, HARWOOD60, CLEVELAND UK

Having stopped at Mercure hotels in several countries I am used to a high standard of accomodation. However at Chester I was given a room which would have been ok for a budget hotel, but not for a chain which normally provides high standards. The room was dark [only a 'half' window], small, with a tiny bathroom, and a dated worn decor. Overall when you walked into the room your first thought was disappointment. The other rooms in the hotel seemed ok, but this one corridor of poor rooms seemed to be allocated to single travellers. If you stop at this hotel don't accept a room with a number in the low hundreds!

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. We do have a minority of our bedrooms which are smaller than the vast majority and we generally use these for single guests staying for one evening. I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "The Mecure Chester Abbots Well Hotel"

16th July 2013, Cheryl H

Myself and my partner arrived at this hotel and were extremely disappointed. We were given the key to our room and found it to be very basic and worn to say the least. The towels were dirty and there was a damp smell in the room. We immediately complained at the reception desk and were given the key to a further 2 rooms, which were of equal poor quality, one of which had what appeared to be a bad leak on the ceiling which looked like it was about to collapse and the bed was broken. The hotel rated as a 4 star was more like a 2 star!! We eventually received a refund and booked ourselves into the beautiful Crabwall Manor a couple of miles down the road.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip Advisor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel.Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. The hotel however has been independently checked against criteria set by all recognised bodies and in our case assessed by the AA and we have awarded four stars. I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.Yours sincerelyJames Lake
« hide

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent value & position"

16th July 2013, mns_underwood1, Chesterfield, United Kingdom

Lovely modern hotel. Large car park. !0 minutes travel time by car to Chester and the Zoo, short walk to the Park and Ride. Big rooms, king size bed, lovely pool and leisure area. Staff friendly & accommodating. Check-in easy.

View management response »

Management responseDear Trip AdvisorThank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester Abbots Well on Tripadvisor.comI was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Why not follow us on twitter @mercurechester or like us on Facebook at ‘Mercure Chester Abbots Well’ for special offers and information.Yours SincerelyJames Lake
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.