Hotel - Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Whitchurch Road  Christleton 
CH3 5QL CHESTER
UNITED KINGDOM

1,254 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,254 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 81.00 GBP Non member rate
From 72.90 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 81.00 GBP

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Book into this 4-star Chester hotel close to the city's main attractions. Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel is nestled amidst two acres of landscaped gardens just two miles from the city centre and Cheshire Oaks. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in the 126 guest rooms and throughout the hotel. The Brasserie and Bar offer gourmet cuisine, light snacks and a cosy spot for a nightcap. Enjoy the onsite Feel Good Health Club with heated pool. The 11 meeting rooms welcome up to 220 people.

The Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel provides accommodation 2 miles from Chester railway station and the historic city centre. Visit the ancient cathedral or shop for designer fashions at Cheshire Oaks outlet village.

Hotel extras

The hotel is just two miles from Chester's enchanting history. Explore the Roman Amphitheatre, medieval half-timbered buildings and charming shops, restaurants and the ancient Cathedral.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Whitchurch Road
Christleton
CH3 5QL
CHESTER
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)844/8159001
Fax: (+44)1244/333437

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • CHESTER : CHESTER
  • LIVERPOOL J LENNON At 40.23km / 25 miles
  • CHESTER At 3.38km / 2.1 miles

GPS : 53.185516, -2.848045

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Most rooms offer views of the hotel courtyard and there is a choice of interconnecting rooms for families.In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child
    Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child

    Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.

  • Classic family room for 2 adults and 2 children
    Classic family room for 2 adults and 2 children

    Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 2 children, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.

  • Privilege room with 1 double bed
    Privilege room with 1 double bed

    Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Classic room with 1 double bed
    Classic room with 1 double bed

    Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Superior suite with 1 double bed
    Superior suite with 1 double bed

    One of our best rooms! Superior suite with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Classic room with 2 single beds
    Classic room with 2 single beds

    Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • Classic adapted room with 1 double bed
    Classic adapted room with 1 double bed

    Classic adapted bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

  • 126 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 1 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • High speed transmission line
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

THE BRASSERIE Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Lunch
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner 18:30 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE BRASSERIE Type of cuisine: Brasserie


The hotel's friendly, professional team make sure dishes from the The Brasserie Menu are served just the way you like. Order afternoon tea with scones and tempting snacks from the lounge menu, or take advantage of room service 24 hours a day.

Find out more and book
THE BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE BAR


The Club bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 8
  • Maximum size: 122 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 100
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 90

Our customer reviews for Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 1,254 reviews

Ruth M 2016/08/27
« Good hotel for Chester »

Not the biggest room we have stayed in , always cleaned well, but would pay the extra as would not want a smaller one. Shower sometimes didnt work first time but maybe hotel busy! Breakfast after a couple of days got a bit boring could do with some variation. All staff lovely except for when checking out the lovely young receptionist was confused about bill as were we so asked a senior member of staff for help . She wasnt as pleasant and felt a little condescending to us didnt want to make a fuss so just left but felt it spoiled our holiday a bit.. Plus point hotel great for Chester park and ride so near. Good spa as well. Lovely walk along canal to a great eating place about 15 mins away just get across busy road first .The Cheshire Cat its called.

Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback. I am very pleased to hear that on the whole you found my team to be lovely, I will share your feedback with all team members and address your constructive feedback. Thank you for pointing out how convenient we are for the Chester park and ride, there are also a number of nice walks to be had from the hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Bethan Johnston General Manager

Just29 2016/07/09
« Chester Stay »

Staff left a little to be desired and left guests to their own devices to find things. Bar staff much better but again they were busy with functions and guests were second. Rooms old and small with bathrooms difficult to manoeuvre to have a shower. If you cannot climb into a high bath this hotel is not for you. Out of town a distance and bus at door costs over 7 pound return and they stop at 6pm. Park and ride bus also available but a decent walk across a very busy roundabout. We changed hotels during our stay and moved into the city and we are gold members for this hotel chain.

Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Just29 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear you received a poor level of service, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your experience is not usual for us and I know the team will be disappointed to read this review as normally customer service is what we do well as highlighted in other reviews Thank you again for taking the time to highlight this slip in our usually high service standards Yours Sincerely Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

RobbeyRich 2016/06/03
« Excellent Staff »

Really good break over the bank holiday weekend. 3 nights Saturday to Tuesday. Good facilities. First room was a bit small for 3 night break but we were moved to a larger room the next day without any fuss... Pool very good. The pleasant staff made it for us though. Will stay again.

Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor. Feedback is always valuable and appreciated both negative and positive as it aids us to constantly improve our offering and reward team members accordingly. Unfortunately today is my first day in the position, having not been in situ during your stay I am not really in a position to respond fully but I didn’t want you to think your comments were not being respectfully reviewed hence my response. We do hope to welcome you back in the future were hopefully I will be in a position to positively interact with you. Once again many thanks and sorry for the delay in responding Yours Sincerely Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

brinnyblade 2016/05/10
« The Cleanest Hotel I've Ever Stayed In »

First time staying at Mercure Abbots Well and hope it won't be the last. This was a business trip though would choose this hotel if I was staying in/near Chester. Plenty of free parking, nice setting, friendly staff and a really pleasant place to stay overall. The thing that stood out was the cleanliness of the whole hotel. Shiny taps in the bathroom, a clean shower-head and no dust - anywhere. Not even in the usual hotel dust-traps like the tops of sockets & light switches. Clearly the folks who maintain this place are proud of the job they do and it's a credit to them. Friendly check-in, helpful conferencing team (thanks Nicky) and everyone had a smile and a word for you. Looking for a hotel near Chester - book this place.

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Regards Chris Hull

Kilmahew 2016/04/26
« Nice and convenient »

On arrival the receptionist was pleasant and efficient and we were soon on our way to the room. There is no lift therefore a flight of stairs was negotiated to the room which was comfortable, clean and tidy, there was limited hanging space but little other storage. The bathroom was roomy and included soaps and shampoos. We had breakfast's and meals here which we found very good, there is a good choice of foods both at breakfast and for lunch/dinner. We ate both in the restaurant and bar area where we found the staff friendly and efficient. The bar area is inviting and comfortable and although there is a TV you can avoid this. This hotel is very convenient for a Chester visit as the park and ride service is just a short walk away so you can leave your car in the hotel car park. It is currently just £2, no concessions, for return trip to Chester.

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review on your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Regards Chris Hull

24jend15 2016/03/18
« Nice staff, room was well below standard. »

Hotel itself is really nice. staff are great, friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the room we were allocated was nowhere near the standard I would expect for the price. Whilst it was clean enough, it was tiny, and slightly shabby. I was really disappointed and if I had paid the going rate I would have been livid. As it was I was on a 'Love Deal' which worked out ok for what we got. The other people we were with, on the same deal, had a much nicer room, more of a standard I was expecting. It is probably just the luck of the draw, but it was quite disappointing. The only other gripe was the service at the bar which was really slow, it was busy but they could've done with a couple more staff .

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Regards Chris Hull

P611IFjuliem 2016/02/25
« Enjoyble stay »

Enjoyable weekend break with family. Lovely clean rooms and hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Great swimming pool/sauna/steam room/gym. Excellent food at breakfast and dinner. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Abbots Well hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Chris Hull

gourm007 2016/02/02
« Scruffy and dated decor »

Long depressing corridors with very dull and dated decor. Worn and unhygienic looking carpet. Bleak and dull room. No lift so we had to lug baggage up stairs and then about 150 metres along corridors. I think it is a complete cheek to call this scruffy old hotel a 4 star.

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Regards Chris Hull

Jean C 2015/12/03
« Pity about the wine! »

Excellent staff , friendly and very helpful, good location but restaurant food not the best and the bottle of white wine was awful! We will definitely use this hotel again when travelling but will probably eat elsewhere in future - although the breakfast was excellent.

GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review on your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Chris Hull

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 81.00 GBP Non member rate
From 72.90 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 13 km Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
From
From 55.00 GBP Non member rate
From 49.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 25 km Pullman Liverpool
Hotel Pullman Liverpool
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 67.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 26 km ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
Hotel ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
From
From 53.00 GBP Non member rate
From 50.35 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 26 km Novotel Liverpool Centre
Hotel Novotel Liverpool Centre
From
From 79.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in CHESTER
Select your dates 81.00 GBP Rooms from 81.00 GBP