Hotel addressA41 Watford Bypass
WD25 8JH WATFORD
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159056
- Fax. (+44)208/9507809
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure London Watford Hotel - hotel reviews in Watford
Hotel code: 8326
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Don't stay here if you are coeliac - they just don't understand what can and can't be eaten."
7th September 2013, One91, Leeds, United Kingdom
Telephoned before booking to confirm they could provide gluten free food - they assured it would not be a problem. Unfortunately when we ordered evening meal (plain grilled fish, salad and potatoes - direct with the chef) it came smothered with some sort of sauce. It had to be sent back together with two other guests chicken burgers that were not thoroughly cooked. Gluten free bread on first 2 days but none the next day. The waitress said they had a coeliac in the previous week and 'it caused a lot of confusion in the kitchen'. Breakfast menu offers selection of meats, cheeses yogurts, probiotic drinks but none were on display. When asked if any cheese was available we were told they didn't have any!! Decorations are very tired, toilet needed a dose of bleach and the towels were frayed. It needs a small fortune spending to bring it up to modern standards.View management response »
Management responseDear One91Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the head chef to prevent future occurrences.At present we are compiling a capital investment programme to improve many areas of the hotel to enhance our guest experience.If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.Kind regardsJanette McKenna
"Meal Disaster/Creaky floor boards in bedroom."
4th September 2013, pamella_peter, Glossop, United Kingdom
This is the first time we were horrified at the quality of food served during dinner - My burger was overdone and chewy and my husbands fish wasn't cooked .My daughters bangers were fine but lumpiest and driest mash I have ever tasted !Dinner was fairly decent the following night .There seems to be communication breakdown between dining room staff and reception ,though we settled the drinks bill every night ,while checking out we were told they were outstanding drinks bill ! The same thing happened the previous 2 stays as well.Room - 430 ,creaky floor boards and really stuffy despite having all the windows open and the fan on . So sleep was disturbed every time some one passed outside the door due to the noisy floor and warm and stuffy room.The only saving grace was a well maintained swimming pool and jacuzzi . Unfortunately steam room was broken down and got a vague response from gym staff as to when possibly it will be fixed.View management response »
Management responseDear pamella_peterThank you for providing your valuable feedback. I will ensure it is all passed on to the management team to avoid future occurrences.I am sorry that you experienced difficulties during your stay. At present we are compiling a capital investment plan which will enhance many areas of the hotel.If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.Kind regardsJanette McKenna
"A poorly tarted-up motel"
1st September 2013, NorthernTraveller110, Manchester, United Kingdom
I read quite a few negative reviews before staying here but decided to ignore them as I have recently stayed in 4 other Accor group hotels (Ibis Styles, Novotel, Suitehotel & Pullman) and they have all been absolutely fine. Unfortunately, the reviews were correct on this occasion.The hotel is basically a 1970's motel which has been given a coat of paint. There has been no real updating - there's no air-conditioning and the the small rooms get uncomfortably hot & stuffy very quickly. I stayed in a so-called privilege room but it was not a privilege in any way. The furniture was literally falling apart (wardrobe doors wouldn't close/ the drawers wouldn't shut once opened); the bed was a standard sized double with no bedside table on one side & a shelf attached to the wall on the other side about 30cm from the bed - I assume the original bed was bigger than the one that was there).The hotel has plenty of parking and is handy for Watford, but that's the best I can say about it, I'm afraid.View management response »
Management responseDear Northern TravThank you for posting you feedback on Trip Advisor.At present we are compiling a capital investment programme which will encompas many areas of the hotel in an effort to enhance our guest experience.Kind regardsJanett McKenna
20th July 2013, J99_13, York, United Kingdom
Hotel is OK but given the recent heatwave I was astonished to find a hotel like this has no air conditioning. As a consequence, the room was roasting and it was a dreadful nights sleep. Might be worth staying here if the weather is poor.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Watford Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Dear J99_13At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. But unfortunately we will not be able to put air con into all 218 bedrooms immediately. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Watford Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Yours sincerely,Janette McKennaJanette McKenna
"Short stay at Mecure"
16th July 2013, mecure_13, London, United Kingdom
Reasonably priced hotel with access to good road connections. All facilities expected were provided and the hotel is kept in a very good order. Our room had a kettle for making tea and coffee, an ironing board and iron, a television, hanging wardrobe and clothes drawers and a very welcome electric fan.View management response »
Management responseDear mecure_13Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the hotel, I appreciate your feedback, and trust you enjoyed your stay.I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure London Watford again in the future.Kind regardsSteve ShipleyGeneral manager
"excellent location and value"
16th July 2013, PJLMANCHESTER, manchester
We used this hotel for its convenient location to Stanmore Train Station and access into central London. Rooms are bigger than those you would expect in Central London and the hotel is generally good value.View management response »
Management responseDear PljmanchesterThank you for your kind review highlighting of our great location, bedrooms and value.I do hope we wil see you again in our hotel in the near furure.Kind regardsSteve ShipleyGeneral Manager
"Satisfactory for what we needed."
11th July 2013, MichandGail, Lincoln, United Kingdom
We stayed at the hotel following a visit to Wembley so just needed somewhere to crash for a few hours sleep. Unfortunately the hotel had hosted a school prom, with many of the guests staying over night. They were room swapping, door banging and running round the corridors until 3am. I understand this is not the direct fault of the hotel, but the students could have been allocated rooms together and away from other guests, and the noise dealt with more swiftly. The general cleaning was ok, but there was significant dirt/dust build up under pipes that ran along under the window. The rooms are in need of an update and the beds were as hard as rock.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Watford. I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.On the weekend of June 29th we had several groups of people in the hotel, which is quite usual, however one group of guests were clearly excessively boisterous. My Night Manager is experienced in dealing with any such behaviour and did resolve the matter, although this did take some time. Thankfully this is a very rare occurance, and I am very sorry it impacted on your stay. I will discuss your comments regarding the cleanlisness of the room with my head housekeeper so she may review the team member who serviced that room to ensure they are aware of the correct standards, and take any remedial action necessary.Kind regardsSteve ShipleyGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.