Hotel addressGranby Street
LE1 6ES LEICESTER
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159012
- Fax. (+44)116/2554040
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel - hotel reviews in Leicester
Hotel code: 8324
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
22nd September 2013, Moukala, Oxford, United Kingdom
overall, the hotel has a great service but for the same price, I have received better service. The service could be improved by letting the customer know what he is entitled to. some of my colleagues almost missed on their advantages because they were not informed. One a very positive note, the lady at the reception made a good recommendation for one of the best Indian restaurant.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review.O was delighted you feel we offer great service. In relation to your colleagues nearly missing out on advantages they booked, you all reserved Privilege Rooms on-line and you are informed at that stage what is included in the rate. There is no-need to repeat every single item included on the Privilege Rate when the customer has already read when booking.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
"City centre hotel"
18th September 2013, Lesternil, Huntingdon, United Kingdom
The hotel is located right in the centre with adequate parking. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good.The privilege room was a good size but was located right at the top of the hotel with stairs for the last leg. It also had no drawer space for clothes. There may have been a shortage of staff because the bar was not staffed later in the evening.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I was delighted you found the reception staff to be helpful and friendly and breakfast was very good.All our 8 Privilege Rooms are very large. For an extra £20 you get a very large room, free movies, free high speed internet, complimentary newspaper of your choice, still and sparkling water, enhanced toiletries, bath robe and slippers and a Nespresso coffee maker. So well worth the extra few pounds.In terms of staffing, we always staff to the business need. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see again on your next visit to Leicester.
"Fine place, but not recommended"
11th September 2013, DrShadi, Munich, Germany
I booked online a room for one person and was given a tiny room with a tiny single bed. The location of the hotel is very good. I havent tried their food, so i cant say. There was no SAFE in the room, but you can use the safe at the reception which has the stuff for all guests, so Im not sure of the safety of your belonging. i stored my valuable there and got them all back, but was worried and had to check on them on daily basis. NO Air conditioning, to me that was a huge disadvantage. The staff is average friendly, but the night shift receptionist is busy cleaning and isnt dressed properly. i have stayed at other Mercure hotels in the world, and Id rank this one as very bad compared to the other ones.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review.We have safes in most of our bedrooms and as you found out your belonging where absolutely safe in our reception main safe. They are placed sealed bag that you sign for and you can only sign in and out.All our rooms are of different shape and size. However you booked a single room and that is what was delivered.Once again thank you for your comments.
"Sunday night stay"
17th August 2013, morillon1306, sevenoaks
I'm sorry but one tends to dwell on negatives. The receptionist on our arrival regarded our prepaid voucher and stated that she had never seen such "a cheap rate". I felt that the first impression was not great on either side! The room was basic for a two star hotel. It had no view except of air conditioning units and brick walls. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor and was also basic. However, due to the receptionist remarks, I didn't feel I could complain. I did bring the tiles to the attention of the staff the next morningOn the positive side, the breakfast was fine and we were allowed to use the car park until we left about mid-day. The hotel has charm and is well placed for a visit to Leicester, but it is unlikely that we will use it again.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I am disappointed you did not mention to the receptionist regarding your room at the time as clearly we could have had the opportunity to do something about it at the time. There isn't a hotel in Leicester that has a view. It's either internal or of the city centre.I am glad my team let you leave your car in our car park for as long as you needed.I was also delighted you enjoyed breakfast.I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy a genuine hassle free stay.
"1-night stay In the city centre"
21st July 2013, LArthur_13, Barnstaple, United Kingdom
I stayed in this hotel for one night before my graduation with a friend. There was nothing wrong with the hotel or staff... they were all very firendly, however the room had no air conditioning. The windows would only open about 20cm so there was no air in the room which meant it was very stuffy and hot throughout the night and during the day.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I was delighted to read you found nothing wrong with the hotel our staff and you found them friendly.Unfortunately we can not fit air conditiong to the hotel due to being Grade 11 listed and we do only have the very odd hot spell in Leicester. The windows have restrictors on them due to health and safety guidelines. We do hope to see you on your next visit to Leicester and congratualations on your Graduation.
3rd July 2013, umeshgLondon, London
One of the best hotel in Leicester we stayed in, nice location, clean room but only there was party down in hall, music was load on till midnight so could not sleep well. I hope they stop music playing after 11.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.I was delighted to read that we are the best hotel you have stayed in Leicester.I will share with the team as this will encourage all to continuously improve our service.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
3rd July 2013, 1Basanti, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Location wise the hotel is perfect, and the room was a nice little bargain. But in the lobby the sofas have seen better days, really old and worn, the bedrooms not much better and were really outdated. We had 4 rooms in total and each room differed in size and layout from really cramped bedroom, huge bathroom but small bedroom, or big bedroom with a sofa (!) in.Rooms needed air con as it was pretty warm, didn't sleep well and was awake every hour. Have stayed at the Mercure in Bristol previously and that was such a pleasant hotel, the rooms were lovely too. This hotels crying out for a litte love and attention!View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.Our location is great.You will be delighted to note we have already started our bedroom refit with a view of finishing end of August this year. Once complete we are hoping to move onto the public areas which are in the planning stages currently.Once again thank you for posting a review and I do hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
"good location but poor value"
7th March 2013, paulinethomas60, Chepstow, United Kingdom
Although the reception area looks quite promising, the standard room we had was really only large enough for a single guest. There were no bedside tables or other useful things such a comfy chair in the room so it could not be used to sit and read for instance. We had to ring downstairs to find where the second set of towels were hidden although they were reasonable, as was the standard of decoration. No water was provided and bottles cost £1.50 each although there is a handy Tesco Metro where we bought some for 40p. We were disappointed as the price was not brilliant and we could have had a better hotel for the price, which we will do if in Leicester again.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I am disappointed by the fact you thought we are poor value for money. At £55.30, which is the rate you paid for a Saturday night in a good city centre hotel that is clean tidy, great location and offers a fairly consistent high level of service. My view would be, that is fantastic value.In terms of our bedrooms we have a 104 which are all of a different shape and size however most are on the larger side.Once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.
"Short break in Leicester"
26th February 2013, Suzibabs, Perth
We came back to stay at the Mercure (formerly The Grand Hotel) as 30yrs ago we had our wedding reception there. I had read some of the reviews and had been expecting to find a tired old girl, but it was for sentimental reasons that we were staying so booked anyway. What a very pleasant surprise, the hotel was far from tired and our room had recently been refurbished. Every member of staff we met from the chambermaids up to management were very friendly, polite and helpful.There is a spacious car park behind the hotel and as the hotel was so central we were able to walk to all our destinations. It is also very close to the train station.We wouldn't hesitate to stay there againView management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.I was delighted after 30 years you still found the old lady in good condition.My team work extremely hard to keep our beautiful grade 11 listed building in the best possible condition. I was delighted to read that you stayed in one of our recently refurbished rooms. We are hoping to roll that scheme throughout the hotel in the next few months.I was pleased also to read the comment regarding the team as they are helpful and polite bunch.Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
22nd February 2013, Freddy746, Worthing, United Kingdom
The Hotel is very dated and looks "tired". Carpets old and furniture old and in need of replacing. Service o.k. but restaurant was cold. Breakfast very poor if you do not want a "fry up" of some greasy sausages and bacon and mushrooms. No cheeses, no meat no boiled eggs. Just some fried eggs which they run out of and you had to wait for replacement from the kitchen. (There were not many people). Just some brown or white "Toast Bread" (plastic loaf type), six croissant and some stale rolls. All this for GBP 10.--. I stayed in a lot of Mercure Hotels but this was a disappointment.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.I was disappointed to read the comments regarding breakfast as my team take great pride in it appearance and quality and what you experienced is not indicative of our normal standard. Plus the item that you wanted are available on request.We are currently investing in the hotel and we would expect this to continue throughout 2013.Once again thank you for posting a review.
"staying at the mercure"
21st February 2013, chelle370, Leeds, United Kingdom
I have stayed at the mercure for the last 3 saturdays. The first two, I was fairly pleased. The last weekend was disappointing. The lady in reception was rude and disinterested, room service took 70 minutes to arrive andthe room was very cramped compared to previous weeks. The whole stay there was a feeling of 'can't be bothered from all staff' except the wonderful lady at breakfast.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I was delighted to read that you stayed with us 3 Saturdays in a row however disappointed to read your third stay was not as good as the previous two.As per most tripadvisor comments we are pretty good at looking after customers and your third stay was not indicative of our normal high service.May I thank you also for the comments regarding our breakfast team.Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
"Excellent (as usual)"
13th February 2013, barrygardiner, Fleet, United Kingdom
Well, I've yet to have a less than satisfactory stay at an Accor hotel and this one didn't let me down - I arrived late (and without a razor) but the reception was top rate AND I had a complimentary razor dropped off by housekeeping nice and early in the morning.The Sky room I had was comfy and felt like a mini artist's studio, the facilities were fine and the parking was OK too, in a courtyard behind the hotel.ALL the staff I spoke with were, as usual, polite, friendly, helpful, and professional.All in all ... :o)View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.I was delighted to read the comments regarding the team as they are polite, friendly and very good at what they do.Even though we do not hold complimentary razors as a standard anymore I was glad to read my team went out of their way and bought one for you to use. Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.