Hotel addressGranby Street
LE1 6ES LEICESTER
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 52° 37' 59.24'' W 1° 7' 47.24''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159012
- Fax. (+44)116/2554040
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Leicester City Hotel - hotel reviews in Leicester
Hotel code: 8324
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"good location but poor value"
7th March 2013, paulinethomas60, Chepstow, United Kingdom
Although the reception area looks quite promising, the standard room we had was really only large enough for a single guest. There were no bedside tables or other useful things such a comfy chair in the room so it could not be used to sit and read for instance. We had to ring downstairs to find where the second set of towels were hidden although they were reasonable, as was the standard of decoration. No water was provided and bottles cost £1.50 each although there is a handy Tesco Metro where we bought some for 40p. We were disappointed as the price was not brilliant and we could have had a better hotel for the price, which we will do if in Leicester again.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I am disappointed by the fact you thought we are poor value for money. At £55.30, which is the rate you paid for a Saturday night in a good city centre hotel that is clean tidy, great location and offers a fairly consistent high level of service. My view would be, that is fantastic value.In terms of our bedrooms we have a 104 which are all of a different shape and size however most are on the larger side.Once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.
"Short break in Leicester"
26th February 2013, Suzibabs, Perth
We came back to stay at the Mercure (formerly The Grand Hotel) as 30yrs ago we had our wedding reception there. I had read some of the reviews and had been expecting to find a tired old girl, but it was for sentimental reasons that we were staying so booked anyway. What a very pleasant surprise, the hotel was far from tired and our room had recently been refurbished. Every member of staff we met from the chambermaids up to management were very friendly, polite and helpful.There is a spacious car park behind the hotel and as the hotel was so central we were able to walk to all our destinations. It is also very close to the train station.We wouldn't hesitate to stay there againView management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.I was delighted after 30 years you still found the old lady in good condition.My team work extremely hard to keep our beautiful grade 11 listed building in the best possible condition. I was delighted to read that you stayed in one of our recently refurbished rooms. We are hoping to roll that scheme throughout the hotel in the next few months.I was pleased also to read the comment regarding the team as they are helpful and polite bunch.Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
22nd February 2013, Freddy746, Worthing, United Kingdom
The Hotel is very dated and looks "tired". Carpets old and furniture old and in need of replacing. Service o.k. but restaurant was cold. Breakfast very poor if you do not want a "fry up" of some greasy sausages and bacon and mushrooms. No cheeses, no meat no boiled eggs. Just some fried eggs which they run out of and you had to wait for replacement from the kitchen. (There were not many people). Just some brown or white "Toast Bread" (plastic loaf type), six croissant and some stale rolls. All this for GBP 10.--. I stayed in a lot of Mercure Hotels but this was a disappointment.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.I was disappointed to read the comments regarding breakfast as my team take great pride in it appearance and quality and what you experienced is not indicative of our normal standard. Plus the item that you wanted are available on request.We are currently investing in the hotel and we would expect this to continue throughout 2013.Once again thank you for posting a review.
"staying at the mercure"
21st February 2013, chelle370, Leeds, United Kingdom
I have stayed at the mercure for the last 3 saturdays. The first two, I was fairly pleased. The last weekend was disappointing. The lady in reception was rude and disinterested, room service took 70 minutes to arrive andthe room was very cramped compared to previous weeks. The whole stay there was a feeling of 'can't be bothered from all staff' except the wonderful lady at breakfast.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review.I was delighted to read that you stayed with us 3 Saturdays in a row however disappointed to read your third stay was not as good as the previous two.As per most tripadvisor comments we are pretty good at looking after customers and your third stay was not indicative of our normal high service.May I thank you also for the comments regarding our breakfast team.Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
"Excellent (as usual)"
13th February 2013, barrygardiner, Fleet, United Kingdom
Well, I've yet to have a less than satisfactory stay at an Accor hotel and this one didn't let me down - I arrived late (and without a razor) but the reception was top rate AND I had a complimentary razor dropped off by housekeeping nice and early in the morning.The Sky room I had was comfy and felt like a mini artist's studio, the facilities were fine and the parking was OK too, in a courtyard behind the hotel.ALL the staff I spoke with were, as usual, polite, friendly, helpful, and professional.All in all ... :o)View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.I was delighted to read the comments regarding the team as they are polite, friendly and very good at what they do.Even though we do not hold complimentary razors as a standard anymore I was glad to read my team went out of their way and bought one for you to use. Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
"Good city centre hotel"
4th December 2012, jandj636, Dorking, United Kingdom
We stay at this hotel regularly when visiting family. Staff are very friendly and if you raise any problems with them, they always work hard to correct them. Hotel has an on site car park - very useful in the centre of the city and reasonably priced - per stay. We will be back!View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a nice review.I was delighted by your headline note a "Good City Centre Hotel".I was also glad to read that my team are always helpful.Great to note that you will be back.Once again thank you for you kind review and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
24th May 2012, TiddyEngland, England
We booked for a Saturday night in May. Very friendly staff, good clean rooms, excellent buffet breakfast & a big positive was the on site car park which they let us use even after checking out. Only negative, room was too hot...View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a postive review.I was delighted to read the feedback regarding the team, clean rooms, excellent breakfast and of course the big postive of having onsite car parking for a city centre hotel.In relation to the room being too hot, we do not have air conditioning as it can only be installed in certain areas of the hotel due to being grade 11 listed. We do offer portable fans in all rooms during hot periods.Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you soon.