Hotel addressBondend Lane
Upton St Leonards
GL4 8ED GLOUCESTER
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 50' 2.93'' W 2° 11' 19.47''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159077
- Fax. (+44)145/2611885
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel - hotel reviews in Gloucester
Hotel code: 8322
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Very enjoyable stay"
18th September 2013, Jim H, Porth, United Kingdom
My wife and I stayed here for a two night break. On arrival we were met by a friendly. polite and efficient receptionist. Our room was comfortable and quiet and we enjoyed a relaxing stay. All staff were helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, a good choice for the evening meal, which was delicious and served quickly. Breakfast was on a self serve basis and (which is how we prefer it) and again with a good choice and again the meal was delicious. A little surprised to discover that there was no lift, something that would have been helpful for those with mobility problems or elderly. Also the lack of leisure facilities, pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc. The bathroom was in need of a new bath. Have stayed in other Mercure hotels and found that the facilities not available here, gave them the edge when it came to complete satisfaction.View management response »
Management responseDear Jim HThank you for submitting a review of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.With regards to the lift, we do indeed have a Stannah Platform lift at the first set of stairs leading up to the rooms. This was installed a few years ago to assist guests with mobility problems. Guests needing assistance with luggage are usually offered this service upon check in.Our Leisure Club is now closed permanently and any details of these facilities have now been removed from all major hotel booking websites. However there are now extensive leisure facilities in the immediate area for swimming and the gym.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.Kind RegardsRebecca D Thomas
"Excellent location for a short break"
28th June 2013, RTR45, Honiton, United Kingdom
Stayed at Bowden Hall Hotel for a 3 day break and found it an ideal location for exploring the surrounding area. In general we found the hotel really good with the breakfast and evening meal of a good quality. Staff really friendly and helpful. We did however expect there to be a swimming pool from reviewing the hotel prior to booking and found it had been closed a week before we arrived!! If you do not want to eat in the hotel there is a really good for value pub in the village.View management response »
Management responseDear RTR45Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a trip advisor review after your recent stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel.We are in a great location for both the Business Traveller and Leisure Guest within easy reach of the M5 Junction 11A and also 5 minutes from Gloucester Business Park.I am pleased that you found the service and food to your liking during your staff and will pass your comments onto the Head Chef.Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to a Mercure Hotel in the near future.Kind regardsGavin JonesGeneral Manager
12th January 2013, EchoBertie, London, United Kingdom
Staff very welcoming and pleasant. Receptionist should be properly trained -- she has never seen the hotel rooms! Beautiful grounds and architecture. Spacious reception rooms could be stunning if an interior designer could refresh the colour scheme and style. (I like modern!) Carpets appeared shabby as the carpet was rucked in places by the doors, but it was not worn. Good spacious room and decor acceptable (clean simple neutral style). Bathroom could do with refreshing. Room hot as it was over the heated indoor swimming pool, bit at least we could open the window. Nice pool size and temperature-wise.View management response »
Management responseDear EchoBertieThank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.I am pleased you found the staff welcoming and pleasant during your stay at the hotel. There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the near future. I have forwarded your comments to our property manager for his perusal.Again, thank you for leaving feedback.Kind RegardsGavin Jones – General Manager
"Nice setting, comfortable bed, good staff, but hotel needs updating"
2nd January 2013, HighburyCorner, London, United Kingdom
Enjoyed two nights here whilst exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel is in a quiet location set in lovely grounds. The welcome was warm and efficient. The bed was very comfortable, and as the hotel was not busy, there was not much corridor noise. The restaurant food was pub-style, plentyful, reasonable value, and with a simple winelist. The hotel needs updating and investment in the public areas, particularly in the lounges and the leisure centre, and for that reason it does not feel like a 4 star hotel, but otherwise perfectly adequate for a couple of nights.View management response »
Management responseThank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel – I have forwarded your comments to our property manager in relation to the lounge and & leisure centre.Again thank you for your feedback.Kind RegardsGavin Jones – General Manager
"Gloucester - Bowden Hall"
23rd September 2012, PBANZ, Christchurch, New Zealand
Delightful building and location, but when we arrived we discovered that our room, which we had booked online, would not suit our needs. We were happy to pay a little extra for a larger room, as the online rate had been very good. We were moved to a top floor room with a minimum of fuss but maximum benefit - fabulous views. Warning - there is no lift and our room was on the 4th floor - but porter service available.The breakfasts are substantial, and the service very good.We dined in the hotel our first evening, and were not disappointed. Food was excellent, and once again the service was very good.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to give us your feed back after your recent stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. I am glad that we were able to upgrade your bedroom to one of our Executive rooms overlooking the fabulous views of the Cotswolds. Been a former manor house we do not have a lift at the hotel but always have staff on handed to help with bags.I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the near future Kind regardsGavin Jones
1st June 2012, magentak, bristol
The hotel was nice, very overpriced for food and drinks, something like £5.50 for chips! The room did not have air conditioning, and it was BOILING! apart from that, the room was nice, well equipped, comfy bed, clean. The spa had good facilities, though they do need updating a bit, changing rooms were a little tatty and some of the tiles were cracked. Lovely grounds and lovely place to stay, would stay again but not in the summer as it is too hot! and i would take my own drinksView management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thanks for taking the time to submit you comments to Trip Advisor. I am sorry you felt that the hotel was overpriced but our prices are very competitive for the local area. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable, well equipped and enjoyed Bowden Hall’s beautiful grounds and facilities. It is truly a unique building. We are aware our Leisure Centre requires some investment and Jupiter Hotels have a number of plans in place to renovate in the not so distant future.Since your review we have made changes to the windows allowing them to open furtherI will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.Kind Regards,Gavin JonesGeneral Manager
"Mercure Bowden Hall Gloucester"
23rd April 2012, ChrisP509, Ashbourne, United Kingdom
We were very impressed with all the staff, particularly the dining room manager who bought some decaff coffee at 2am so that we could have some with our breakfast, very impressive.Everyone was most helpful and polite.We would most certainly stay again.The food was excellent and a very good choice on the menu.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for time to submit your kind comments to trip advisor. I am glad you were impressed with our staff and facilities, we have a great team at Bowden Hall and it is great to hear this comes across through our service and welcome.We will look forward to welcoming you back to Bowden Hall soon.Kind Regards,Gavin Jones,General Manager
10th April 2012, Subiemto, Cumbria
We found this hotel when looking for a place to break a very long journey with small children. The staff were very welcoming, the food in the restaurant was extremely good and the menu was extensive. We were impressed with the childrens menu and the welcome that our children received. I would highly recommend this hotel.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am thoroughly glad our facilities and staff made a great impression on you. We have a number of family rooms within the hotel and we welcome many families and children throughout the year, our grounds are said to be the perfect play area for them. I am very proud of all the staff at the hotel and it is great to hear such good feedback so thank you once again.Kind Regards,Gavin JonesGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.