Hotel address121 131 Boundary Road
NR3 2BA NORWICH
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159036
- Fax. (+44)160/3400466
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Norwich Hotel - hotel reviews in Norwich
Hotel code: 8321
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Irish Coffee Disaster"
18th September 2013, Wayne919, Aylesford, United Kingdom
Not the easiest hotel to find as it is easy to pass before you realise where it is and if you are in the wrong lane it is a case of continuing to turn around and approach from the other direction. Hotel however, was very clean and comfortable with very friendly staff.My only cause for complaint was that on the first night my wife and I ate in the hotel restaurant which was very nice but, an completion of our meal, I ordered an Irish coffee and my wife an ordinary coffee. When my, so called, Irish coffee arrived I was horrified to see that all it was was an ordinary coffee with, I assume, whisky in it. I sent this back and was brought another but the only difference was that someone had put "squirty" cream on top, YUK. In the meantime my wife had not received her coffee and when we commented on this it came but was cold. We decided to abandon the idea of coffee which unfortunately marred what was otherwise an excellent meal. I would suggest that you either take things that you are unable to deliver off the menu or make sure that staff are suitably trained in these areas. I hasten to add that our waitress was not at fault with this and seemed rather embarrassed by it all and was full of apologies.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review, I am delighted that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I was however disappointed that a lack of training has marred what you described as an excellent meal. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and we will of course make sure all staff are trained in making an Irish coffee. Thank you again for your review.
"Review od stay 31st August"
4th September 2013, jonathon_ray, London, United Kingdom
Everything as you would expect from a budget hotel.However, the breakfast was very chaotic with staff running around like headless chickens providing milk, cutlery etc. i think the buffet style needs some more thought for the ease of guests. the manager needs to ensure that everything is available at any given time without having to be constantly asked to replace milk, tea, coffe etc.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast service you received during your recent stay with us. Your comments have been very helpful and we will of course be reviewing the systems we have in place for a busy breakfast service. Thank you again for your time.
4th July 2013, LondonAlexM, London
Excellent nights sleep - wide comfortable beds, efficient air-con.Pleasant staff and good bar service.Disappointing breakfast : hardly anything laid out, we had to ask for everything; poor selection of cold meats and cheeses (for which we had to ask); microwaved scrambled eggs; good tea and coffee however.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had a good night’s sleep and that you found your bed comfortable. I was however very disappointed to read your comments about our buffet breakfast. The amount of food laid out on our buffet is very difficult to manage, we take in to consideration the time of the morning, the day of the week (as leisure guests tend to come down for breakfast later in the morning) and even the amount of guests in house. We prefer to replenish 'little and often' to avoid food being left out and all buffet items are available on request from our kitchen. Thank you again for your helpful feedback and I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Norwich.
12th January 2013, fredastaire21, Lyon, France
Nice place, very nice staff, helpful and pro. Many events all year long.Well, except the rooms are now old fashioned compared to other hotels. They need a complete refurbishment including decoration and lights.Then it will be perfect.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your lovely comment about my team. With regards to your observations regarding the decor of the hotel, I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment which will be an ongoing process throughout the year. I do hope you will stay with us again and find your next stay 'perfect'
2nd September 2012, gwynandtonic, romford
had my car stolen the day before ...booked on a no refund basis but under the circumstances thought you may have waived this condition. We requested that we could transfer the booking to another date but was refused.View management response »
Management responseReally sorry you have had such bad luck; but the highly preferential, non refundable, non transferable rates are exactly that, I am afraid. Every so often a customer will lose out, but on balance I think the vast majority of customers benefit from these rates enormously.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.