Hotel address8 Tonbridge Road
TN2 4QL TUNBRIDGE WELLS
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 8' 45.88'' E 0° 18' 42.93''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159074
- Fax. (+44)189/2823931
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel - hotel reviews in Tunbridge Wells
Hotel code: 8320
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"good as usual"
21st September 2013, lpor9146, Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
have been when ramada jarvis..same quality.. value for £.. although breakfast could have been better, more choices..fruit appears to be from cans, poor choice of cerials, eggs.chef did make special eggs fr the 2 of us..pool water..too hot... great pool manand restaurant boss.View management response »
Management response"Ipor9146" - Thank you for your comments.We take on board your feedback, and always appreciate repeat custom. Thank you for returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Best RegardsDenise Vas
18th September 2013, Doey09, Woodham, Surrey
Disappointing stay, Paid for an upgrade to a privilege room greeted by some else's half eaten food tray left outside our room on arrival and left there throughout the evening! The room was small and smelt very damp / musty on arrival, then woken early in the morning with the sound of a cockerel!!!! Overall looks very tired!!View management response »
Management responseDoey09 - Thank you for your comments.I'm sorry if the hotel did not meet your personal expectations."Doey09" booked a privilege bedroom, these bedrooms are situated in a refurbished corridor with brand new carpets. The bedrooms themselves have also been refurbished with a feature wall, the amenities include a nespresso machine with a variety of coffees, robes and slippers. I'm a little confused as to where the "tiredness" comes into the authors publication. All I can do is offer my apologies and maybe suggest that should "Doey09" wish to have a more luxurious stay, they might do well to book a more luxurious hotel, this will of course reflect in the price.We wish you well "Doey09" and hope you find a hotel that meets up to your personal taste.Best RegardsDenise Vas
17th September 2013, 30eaton, Oswestry, United Kingdom
Stayed there before, excellent. This time shown to room 701, tired smelt fousty, furniture old, en suite acceptable but needs TLC. Could hear the noise of air con when the window open, iron didn't work and one wall light not working. However breakfast first class, on checking out mentioned to receptionist about the package we booked came with a gift to celebrate forty years of business, she knew about it but did not know what the gift was and would ask her manager when they came in but I said e-mail me, but to date have had no contact.
"Another nice Mercure hotel"
9th September 2013, mercapt, Chichester, United Kingdom
We stayed at the Mercure Tunbridge wells from 25th – 26th August 2013. This was our 4th stay at a Mercure this year and as usual the room and hotel generally were to a high standard. Advance booking meant we paid a very reasonable price (about £50 room-only). We enjoyed using the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. Changing rooms are small, but as few people were using them at the time this didn’t matter. There was a wedding reception on in the hotel so the bar was probably busier than usual, but bar staff managed well and were pleasant and chatty although a coffee ordered late in the evening didn’t arrive so a refund and apology followed. It was unfortunate that our allocated room was on the ground floor directly behind a bouncy castle provided for the wedding reception. This was not an issue for us until when, past midnight, its fan was still running. Luckily not a hot night so we didn’t need the window open. Reception staff were very apologetic though. Special mention for the restaurant – of the Mercures we’ve stayed in so far this had by far the best restaurant service even though the restaurant was very busy (including a coach party). We would recommend this hotel to friends and would certainly stay there again.
"Good quality short stay"
24th August 2013, Beardry, Dudley, United Kingdom
Stayed for a couple of nights on a tour of the South East. The Hotel is well appointed with a very nice pool area with sauna and steam room.The room was beautifully clean and tidy and with all of the stuff you would expect; tea & coffee; wi-fi, TV and a very good bathroom.We used the hotel as a base for touring and hence only took advantage of breakfast which was good without being great. Royal Tunbridge Wells and Chartwell House were the main reasons for our stay and we were not disappointed.There were weddings on at the Hotel while we were there but these did not affect our stay and it was quite nice to see a bunch of happy people about.View management response »
Management responseBeardry - Thank you for your positive feedback.We appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking the time to post your positive stay on a public forum.Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Best regardsDenise
"Much better than expected having read some previous reviews"
24th August 2013, Denmen, Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
We were expecting a less than acceptable stay having read some previous reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. The room was well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a well appointed bathroom and was reasonably quiet, even though we had the window open at all times. The breakfasts were excellent with a selection of cereals, fruit, pastries and a full english buffet. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly and the head waiter ensured that everything ran smoothly. As has been noted in previous reviews, the rooms were far too warm, even with the window open, and this was because there was a cord which limited the amount by which it could be opened. This really does need to be addressed as the temperature outside on the nights we were there got as low as 12c, but still the room was too warm. There was also a slight communication problem between reception and the cleaners as one day we were only left with one set of towels rather than the two we needed. This necessitated a trip to reception to obtain the extra set.Would we stay there again? Yes as the minor problems were far outweighed by the positive points.View management response »
Management responseDenmen - Thank you for your feedback.Public forums at times can be used as a complaint tool. We would much prefer that authors of any negative reviews would follow this up with a letter to ourselves so we can identify the customers, and rectify any issues the guests might or might not have had.Reviews on public forums are purely a snapshot of the guests interpretation of "their" stay. We ask that people reading these reviews be mindful of this so it does not detract from a number of positive comments we have concerning our service, facilities and standards.Denmen - We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased you found the hotel service and standards to your liking despite some of the negative comments you might have read on tripadvisor. I understand some of the bedrooms might have been warm, unfortunately due to Health & Safety we must have the window catch limiters in place or we would be in breach of the law. The weather recently has been very unpredictable and unfortunately we do not have A/C within our hotel bedrooms, this is stated on our website. Fans are available at reception on request.Thank you for taking the time to write on a public forum, we take on board your constructive point(s) and hope to welcome you back in the near future.Best RegardsDenise
"Good short break"
15th August 2013, Siana2013, Windsor, United Kingdom
Staff very good and welcoming. Food excellent. Can be noisy in the morning with traffic and barking dogs but take your earplugs and all will be fine. Well placed for travelling to surrounding attractions.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.