Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Germany Hotels > Berlin Hotels > Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Bus/coach parking area - Paying
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 179
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: ALEXANDERPLATZ (1.00 km)

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz - hotel reviews in Berlin

Hotel code: 8312

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great location and helpful staff"

6th September 2013

We stayed or three nights and the 2 bedroom room was basic, clean and well equipped. Nothing fancy but the staff were very accommodating. All spoke English and were always friendly. One f our members had to seek medical help and they organised for a doctor to come to the hotel and made themselves available to act as an interpreter if needed.The bike hire from the reception is great and a very convenient way to see Berlin. Also the free Berlin walking tours are a must do.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Unexpected trip to DDR"

5th September 2013, Andrzej1612, Warsaw, Poland

Hotel far below Mercure standards. Though my room was pretty large the furniture was completely inadequate. The bathroom - with black stains in the corners and leaking pipes - remembered Honecker times. The surrounding area rather unpleasant - ruined buildings of DDR era. Positive - close to Alexanderplatz. Good communication.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 2.0 out of 5 stars "hotel review"

4th September 2013, misterbig74, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Nasty check-in desk clerk. Room not made up for early arrival. Room very noisy and got very little sleep the whole stay. Would not stay there again. I always stay at Accor hotels but this was the worst. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz"

30th August 2013, Travelbear56, London, United Kingdom

My room , which was a standard double, was very spacious with a good size workspace, comfortable bed, balcony, small lobby with wardrobe space separate from the main room. Good double-glazed sound insulation with minimum traffic noise at night. Efficient Wi-Fi connection. Clean and roomy bathroom, friendly staff very willing to be patient with my basic questions about travel etc.I didn't take breakfast (rather expensive), but café next door, and a supermarket (Kaiser's) within a couple of minutes with a great bakery section for morning pastries, and any other supplies of fresh fruit, beer or wine.Alexanderplatz an easy couple of minutes by tram, and the centre of Berlin and all attractions easy by bus or tram, and a day pass cheaper than an off peak London travlecard. Healthy walking distance to the cathedral and museum island.Would stay again, but only on a deal.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Alexandaplatz"

11th August 2013, Carnoah, Brussels, Belgium

Do not go to this hotel in summer if you have a room facing west as there is no air conditioning. The room on the 9th floor was stifling. Outdated attitude to smoking/ nonsmoking made any possible alternatives limited. Our initial offer for relieve was for a disabled room. As a loyal Accor member I was very disappointed in this hotel and the reluctance of staff to provide an alternative room. Avoid this hotel if possible.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointed"

22nd July 2013, miler100, south carolina

I am a loyal Accor member and have stayed at several hotels and was always satisfied. Though this hotel had mixed reviews, I decided that I would stick with my "brand loyalty:. This stay was not what I expected! The rooms looked plush on the website, but are very bare: bed, desk, and wardrobe. We had a suite and the bathroom had no counter, just a sink. The shower was so small that I had to do my squat workout to reach anything as your butt would hit the sides. The shower didn't drain and you stood in ankle deep water the entire time! We overflowed when all of us took showers. Was not near anything for food at night! Only 2 drink machines and no where to get change. Breakfast was too expensive, but there was a great Backstube next door with awesome prices and food. The website says to use the U2 to reach the hotel from the hauptbahnhof. Not true!! After an hour of walking around the train station, a kind gentleman finally explained that we needed to take the S-bahn. Also in Berlin, trams, U-bahns, and S-bahns are interconnected so you might have to travel all 3 to reach a location. Once we figured that out, we could get to most locations quite easily. Otherwise, there was not much to see after Alexanderplatz. There is no air-conditioning, so it can get quite warm in the room. I ended up actually closing my windows at night after letting in cool air so I could block street noise. This hotel will have me rethinking stays at Accor hotels now. Pick somewhere else in Berlin!!

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect hotel"

8th February 2013, Amandine91, A

A perfect hotel in the midle of Berlin. Restaurants are within a 10 minute walk. The hotel has a great acces to public transport.Friendly employees and the rooms are nice,clean and spacious.It is also possible to put a USB-stick into the television if one would like to watch their own movies etc.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Very good, would stay again"

1st January 2013, linden-s, buckinghamshire

We stayed as part of a longer trip. Although the hotel is named 'am Alexanderplatz' it's about a ten minute walk away from the actual square, but still very convenient and the tram stops outside. Ask for a high floor as tram noise is a bit intrusive if you're a light sleeper. Kettle, tea, coffee in room, free wifi, all of which are essential as far as I'm concerned. All in all, a nice place to stay.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great Value Hotel, Poor Service from Le Club Accorhotels"

22nd November 2012

This is a great hotel to use for a short trip to Berlin, staff very helpful. Fully recommended.Conversely I have experienced terrible service from Le Club Accorhotels. My enquiry as to why I lost points (due to an error caused by staff in an earlier hotel visit) was simply stone walled. Their staff/management need to gain an appreciation of how to handle customer's valid complaints rather than just give the party line!

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Quietly pleasant except WiFi doesn't work."

18th November 2012, Hinckley

A re-branded hotel (Shown as Hotel Agon) on Google Earth. However I was quietly surprised at this hotel. It is the second stop on the tram (M4, M5 or M6) from Berlin Alex railway station. Cross the road and the hotel is directly in front of you. Check in was pain free. The room is quite eastern block I believe. However don't let that put you off. There is the front door which opens into a small reception hallway with cupboard and area to hang up hats and coats. Then there is a door to the side to the bathroom. This has a toilet, sink and shower. In front of the main door way is another door into the main room. This is a very large room. There is a twin bed. A table and chairs under a large television on the wall. On the wall there is also a table area attached to the wall. This is a kind of work station. And to top it off you have a balcony. I would probably say all rooms have a balcony. And tea/coffee making facilities are in the room.There is free WiFi apparently but it did not work. The reception blamed it on my iphone. However I very much doubt that. There are, though, two computers at reception that residents can use for free. However you do have to stand up so writing long emails are not really the thing to do here.Overall a pleasant hotel and in the summer time if you get a room on the side of the sun you can sit on the balcony and enjoy it even more.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz"

27th August 2012, Toulon

The Hotel Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz is excelent. Very near from the center of Berlin and with a sympathic staff, the booking in this hotel is one of the bestr options in a trip on Berlin. The breakfast and the ineternet services are very good also. I recommend strongly the booking in the Hotel Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 3.0 out of 5 stars "don't expect any services..."

24th August 2012, Lyon, France

i guess it was a normal living building before 1989 where people live in it, and it has been renewed. rooms are clean, have space, but large bed means 2 single beds together, don't try to get an iron after 2pm.hotel located near alexander platz which is convenient for transportations, otherwise, there's nothing around, no shops, nothing. roads are big and empty. and price is much more higher on weekends than during the week...

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Very poor wifi"

15th August 2012, figfest, London

It's unfortunate to focus on one element, but it's an increasingly important one. The hotel advertises free wifi in its rooms. On our first night, it did nor work in ours. Other guests on our floor were sitting out in the corridor to try to get reception. The desk staff said there was a problem with internet service and that they hoped it would be fixed overnight. It was *not* by the next morning, although changes had been made. After complaints, including to Accor's Twitter account, we were moved to lower floor, nearer the lift. It generally worked from then on, but the staff member who moved us indicated there could continue to be problems in rooms in the middle of corridors. Don't advertise it if you can't deliver it.On the plus side, the management got in touch by e-mail afterwards to apologise.Overall, it's a reasonable hotel in a refitted late-GDR era building. Slightly out of the way, but convenient for four tram lines and within 15 minutes walking distance of Alexanderplatz. At the early booking price we paid, it was good value. I wouldn't want to pay much more, though.

Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A splendid hotel"

3rd August 2012, Sagatraveller220910, Aix-les-Bains, France

Having read some of the other reviews just before we left, I was a little concerned about staying at the hotel for four nights. However, the staff members were very helpful at check in, in the bar and at reception at all times.The room was on the ninth floor and was very large with a balcony and a kettle in the room which was unexpected at a hotel on the continent. The tea bags were not to our taste but it was easy enough to buy some at Kaisers -a supermarket that was a 5 minute walk away behind the Etap Hotel opposite.We did find it difficult to find at first but this was due to the fact that the tram routes had been altered due to work on the tracks. Once we had found the hotel, it was very easy to get around and return each day. It was very easy to get around from the hotel to all the sites we wanted to visit.We tried the breakfast twice and it was excellent. 18 Euros may seem a lot but it works out at about £15 each and the buffet provided fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, cheese, hams , smoked salmon and cooked bacon and a variety of sausages. There was a plentiful choice of breads and pastries.The bakery next door is also good value for money. Wifi and internet access were free. We were able to lock our cases away on the last day in a locker requiring £1 which was reimbursed when we collected them at the end.Our only problem had been the works on the tramlines which carried on noisily throughout two nights at least. As there was no air conditioning, we had to open the window. However we stayed at a hotel at the airport in the UK on route and the air conditioning was almost as noisy as the tram works!

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.