Hotel - Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

126 Penn Road  West Midlands 
WV3 0ER WOLVERHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

600 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 600 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 48.00 GBP Non member rate
From 43.20 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 48.00 GBP

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

3-star hotel within easy reach Wolverhampton Town Centre, the NEC, M5, M6, M42 and M54 Motorways. Nearby attractions include The Black Country Museum (6 miles) and Cadbury World (15 miles). Just 2 miles from Wolverhampton Railway Station and 18 miles from the City of Birmingham. Free WiFi, free parking and free use of leisure facilities for guests. On site bar, restaurant and lounge serving hot and cold food and drinks. All rooms offer flatscreen TVs with Freeview channels

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pet allowed 5  GBP
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pet allowed 5  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

126 Penn Road
West Midlands
WV3 0ER
WOLVERHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)1902/429216
Fax: (+44)1902/710419

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • BIRMINGHAM INTL At 43.29km / 26.9 miles
  • WOLVERHAMPTON At 3.38km / 2.1 miles

GPS : 52.574397, -2.137378

Our rooms

All rooms offer En-suite bath and shower, Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels, Hairdryer, Trouser press, Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi.

  • Standard Room with 1 single bed
    Standard Room with 1 single bed

    Standard Single with One Single Bed - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Free use of Leisure Facilities

  • Standard Room with 2 single beds
    Standard Room with 2 single beds

    Standard Twin with Two Single Beds - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Free use of Leisure Facilities

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed

    Standard Double Room with One Double Bed - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Free use of Leisure Facilities

  • Superior Room with 1 double bed
    Superior Room with 1 double bed

    Superior Double Room with One Double Bed - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Free use of Leisure Facilities

  • Executive Room with 1 double bed
    Executive Room with 1 double bed

    Executive Double Room with One Double Bed - Complimentary WIFI - Flat-Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Free use of Leisure Facilities

  • 74 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 10 family rooms
  • 1 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Phone with 2 handsets in room
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

GOLDTHORN RESTAURANT Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Dinner
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOLDTHORN RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: Regional


Served each evening with bookings taken for lunches and afternoon tea throughout the year.

Find out more and book
CAPTAINS BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CAPTAINS BAR

GOLDTHORN BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOLDTHORN BAR


Serving a range of Hot and Cold Beverages and Snacks throughout the day and a varied selection of Hot Meals from 6 to 9.30PM each night.

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 6
  • Maximum size: 95 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 120
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 130

Our customer reviews for Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 600 reviews

Tony T 2016/06/23
« fathers day treat »

nice hotel. staff helpfull and friendly. fathers day meal worst meal out ever package food warmed up tasteless would have sent meals back but would have upset my partner. wuold not recomend eating ther to any one

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to note that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful as we strive to make all guests feel at home. Please accept my apologies for the Fathers day lunch that you mention. I have passed on your comments to the Head chef to look into as all food is prepared and cooked here at the hotel. I hope that you will consider returning to the hotel again the next time that you are in the local area.

maxinewt 2016/03/21
« average city hotel »

Near city centre, good price for overnight stay, good sized rooms although ready for a refurb walls thin could hear a conversation in next room quite clearly. Pool a bonus as i am a wife who travelled with husband on his business course Booked a breakfast and that was a really good hot and cold buffet .All in all value for money for an overnight stay

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response - glad that you had a good stay

manonspot 2015/08/25
« Rooms like a greenhouse »

The reason I've given hotel 3 stars is because it was unbearably hot.We were there as 2 couples and even leaving windows open all 4 of us hardly slept for the heat.Apart from this hotel was ok although if you were in rooms 132 and 136 you reached them via a rabbit warren and were disturbed at night by people getting lost and constantly passing our rooms.As we were there only for 1 night we didn't get chance to use pool but it looked very nice and overall rest of hotel was clean and tidy and staff seemed nice.Im sure there was no lift so if you are in an upper room you have to hall bags through narrow staircase with squeaky floorboards.Breakfast was fine and taxi to train station is less than £5.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. Apologies for the heat - fans are available on request from request - sorry that no one made you aware of this - may have helped you slightly. Will pass on all feedback to the staff. Andrea Gubbins - General Manager

chrismadkin 2015/08/22
« Below par... Sorry. »

Positive - convenient location and decent breakfast. Negative - no lift and stairs very difficult to negotiate with luggage. I also think place is a fire hazard. Room 44 is at front of building right on A449 and has no double glazing. I didn't sleep at all for police,fire and ambulance sirens all night. Unsatisfactory, as had a long drive in front of me following morning. Also, it appears only ground floor refurbished so far. Very disappointed. Sorry.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and sincere apologies that you did not have a happy stay

daniel_heller 2015/06/22
« typical British hotel »

it is a vry interesting experienece ! Even if we were in a Mercure hotel it was fully different (i have been in Mercure hotels in several countries): it is a comfortable place with an attentive staff but not a Mercure

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Very grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to leave feedback following your stay

ShropshirePrice 2015/04/27
« good location for Civic Hall »

The hotel was about a mile's walk to the Civic Hall where we watched a concert, so a good location for our purpose. That was probably the best bit about it. We didn't eat at the hotel as it seemed expensive in comparison to the vast array of other eateries within a short walk. Whilst the public areas of the hotel were very presentable and standard hotel-type spaces, the bedroom was poky and not in the best state of repair. It was certainly clean enough but we have stayed in other Mercure hotels in much better rooms. Having said all that, it served our purpose and was a clean place to sleep in a good location for our purpose. Not the best, not the worst.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments following your recent stay

Marsha S 2015/04/24
« Even better on the inside »

My husband and I needed to be in the area to visit old friends. We chose this hotel because of our Platinum Accor status (some freebies included) and the extra bonus points for early booking. We booked a bed and dinner combination and were happy with both the room and our meal. The room was huge, albeit rather non-descript, but the ensuite was more than adequate.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay

SWFCdave 2015/03/23
« Football stay in Wolverhamption »

Very pleasant stay in Business Annex. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. Excellent full English breakfast. Usual choices. Large choice of cereals. No rush to leave in the morning. Pool looked really nice but did not have time to use this facility. 30 minute walk to football match but a pleasant walk. Looked forward to it after a long drive.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Grateful for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel - hope to welcome you again in the future

Steven M 2015/03/07
« Mercure Wolverhampton »

Ok hotel. 10-15 min walk to city centre. Staff good, but rooms and hotel in general tired looking. 2nd time I've stayed, both times there was no handle on the wash basin tap (should I be bringing my own?). I could still operate it so didn't mention it. Breakfast was nice, I chose from menu rather than the hot buffet. Good hotel for the price I paid.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments - will have to look at the bathroom tap lever situation - we have an assortment of lever and none lever - appreciate the feedback

Natalie D 2015/02/19
« Great value for money! »

This was my 2nd visit to the Goldthorn and I had the same two gripes as last time - weak shower in the room and noisy door slamming, the latter of which is not the fault of the hotel but other guests - the wifi was down for the whole weekend this time which was a bit of a pain but not a major issue. The rooms are spotless and the staff are extremely friendly. For a 2/3 day break this place is ideal and excellent value for money! Will be going back again in April/May.

GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 48.00 GBP Non member rate
From 43.20 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 1.7 km Novotel Wolverhampton
Hotel Novotel Wolverhampton
From
From 50.00 GBP Non member rate
From 45.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 17 km Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
From
From 63.00 GBP Non member rate
From 56.70 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 19 km Novotel Birmingham Centre
Hotel Novotel Birmingham Centre
From
From 79.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 19 km ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Hotel ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
From
From 62.10 GBP Non member rate
From 59.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in WOLVERHAMPTON
Select your dates 48.00 GBP Rooms from 48.00 GBP