Hotel addressPinfold Lane
ST19 5QP STAFFORD
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)1785/712459
- Fax. (+44)1785/715532
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel - hotel reviews in Stafford
Hotel code: 8204
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Stay at Penkridge"
5th September 2013, tjhall01, Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
We found the Hotel was well located and the hotel was comfortable i also found that the breakfast was a little expensive. It would be better if guests could use the internal hotel entrance to the leisure complex as after aa swim it is rather uncomfortable to have to go out into the grounds to get to the receptionView management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your kind review; unfortunately access internally to the leisure centre is through a function room and fire exit which is not practical with the functions and weddings we host, my apologies.Jeff
2nd September 2013, scrace, Scotland
Something I enjoy about Mercure Hotels is the variety of properties you find. Even though they represent a chain you are never quite sure what you are going to find!The staff were all very pleasant, the hotel itself was very nice and overall we had a good stay. The food was good, we had dinner as well as a B&B booking and both meals were well cooked and good portion sizes.If I had a criticism it would be that the bar area is quite limited and the night we stayed there was a bus party staying and by the time we had finished dinner the lounge was full.All in all though I would thoroughly recommend this as somewhere tostop if you are in that neck of the woods. Good value for money and definitely on our list to go back to if we're nearbyView management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your kind words and my apologies for the group taking up the seating in the lounge, I hope to welcome you back in the near futureKind regardsJeff
"Quiet Staffordshire Hotel - lovely."
2nd August 2013, Foxy2201, Abertillery, United Kingdom
This hotel is not signposted from the main road so had to rely on sat nav. Ample parking in grounds of hotel and didn't have to pay for the privilege! Hotel situation in a pretty and quiet part of Staffordshire. The hotel staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Hotel room clean, tidy and décor well co-ordinated. Tea and coffee making facilities in room too. Bed comfortable with crisp sheets. Use of internet in room and also flat screen TV. Bathroom in need of a revamp and modernising. (Shower curtain inside and outside bath needed as shower screen allowed some water onto floor tiles). Bath towels and toiletries supplied. Traditional English breakfast, toast, cereals, juices and fresh fruit all served and replenished regularly. I would return to this hotel if I am in the area again.View management response »
Management responseDear Foxy 2201Thank you for your feedback.Look forward to welcoming you back soon.Kind RegardsPeter MillerDeputy General Manager
"South Hatherton Hotel Stafford"
15th February 2013, 001Hotel, Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Very disappointed with the poor standard of maintainance and cleanliness of the hotel. Having used the Accor group before, we had higher expectations.The bedroom window was covered in milldew and not cleaned for months as also evident from the cobwebs. The cobwebs also extended to the ceiling too. The bath and back of toilet seat still had the previous occupants body hair on it.The sink & bath plug holes had a brown ring stain around it.Generally the bathroom needed a complete overhall or at least a deep clean.The radiator thermastat had been broken off and replace by balancing it on top, clearly at an angle, which drew our attention. The extractor could be heard all night through the service well.The wardrobe hinges were broken.The exterior grounds to the hotel were littered.Overall the hotel is shabby.In reporting to the management, they were pleasant and apologestic but could only resolve the cobwebs and thermastat. We did not ask for it but dissappointingly, the management offered no compensation, no offer of a room upgrade, not even a bottle of wine.The restaurant service was exceptional and the food was very good.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit I am sorry it was not up to standard, we are currently working through a planned maintenance programme and I have spoken with the housekeeping team in order that we take the necessary actions to improve. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service and standard of food, please accept my apologies for not addressing your issues whilst you were here.I do hope you will give us another try in the future.Jeff BrimbleGeneral Manager
8th January 2013, duncan1943, Stamford, United Kingdom
We had had a bad night in a hotel the night before, so this Mercure experience was a joy. The room was great, clean, spacious, comfortable bed and temperature. We had a good night's sleep.The dinner in the restaurant was first class, absolutely delicious.The service from all your personnel, from rreceptiuon to bar to waiters was first class and could not be faulted.All in all a perfect hotel experience.View management response »
Management responseThank you so much for your lovely review I am pleased you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind RegardsJeff Brimble
"A good place to stopover"
16th November 2012, Bruces99, Nottingham, United Kingdom
I chose to stop here as it is near the M6 and on my route North. it is easily accessible from North and South. The location is in a quiet rural area although there is the Great Western Railway nearby. The food was reasonable and the bar area comfortable. The service in the Restaurant was a bit hit and miss but shouldn't have been as there was enough of them, but this may have been the problem as they didn't know what others had done. There was also a cockerel in the grounds making a noise from early morning. I would definitely stay here again as it suited my requirements.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your feedback, we do have some new team memebers in training your point is noted.RegardsJeff BrimbleGeneral Manager
"Value for money"
10th October 2012, Tracy1964, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Stayed here for two nights, had a rear room which was great the first night, but the second night was noisy and didn't get to sleep until after 2am due to a party at an club house close by.The hotel was great apart from that. I would recommend this hotel.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your kind words, please accept my apologies about the noise the venue in question is aware of the disruption it causes and are working with us to ensure it improves.Thanks again Jeff Brimble
"Cheap and cheerful"
5th July 2012
As the Brits say, the hotel was cheap and cheerful. This was our second stay, but it will probably be our last. The food is passable British. The hotel is your standard chain hotel. We pulled up into the parking lot and were greeted by a loud party of guys standing on the front steps with drinks and cigarettes in hand, probably from a works party. The dining room staff have never been trained, but are willing if not inefficient. Food is NOT what you'd expect at a French chain, I''m afraid. The room was fine. The hotel is a bit out of the way. We found it thanks to our GPS.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your report as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your observations to the rest of the team and I will look into the comments concerning the issues you experienced. Please contact me directly to personally restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
17th June 2012, Stephanie348, Norwich, United Kingdom
Generally a good experience but, in spite of being told when I checked in that if I wanted to use the pool I should collect my towel from reception, I was disappointed to discover that it was actually closed for maintenance. I had chosen the hotel because I wanted a swim in the evening.I chose a seafood salad for my evening meal and it was very disappointing. The cold buffet at breakfast was limited and there was no hot buffet in spite it being mentioned in the menu.The location of the hotel was lovely but I had a view over the rubbish bins.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your report as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your observations to the rest of the team and I will look into the comments concerning the issues you experienced. Please contact me directly to personally restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel.Kind RegardsMark Friend CC Adam Thompson General Manager
"Where to put stuff?"
15th June 2012, RoddersBristol, Bristol
Reasonable enough for this class of hotel but absolutely minimal storage space. I only stayed for 3 nights bur practically lived out of the suitcase. What hanging space there was consisted of captive hangers, most of which were broken. That said, the food was quite good and the (mostly young) staff were generally acommodating although they were hard pressed on the Saturday night as a wedding party was taking place.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestAs per my previosu e-mail. Thank you for your comments as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team and I will personally look into the storage offering in the rooms. I will hopefully see you back in the not too distant future.Kind RegardsMark Friendcc Adam Thompson, General Manager
"More staff training needed"
27th May 2012
It was off-putting to have to push through a group of overweight, smoking, beer-swilling men to reach the cramped reception area.While the staff were willing and helpful, they have simply not been trained to the level that one experiences in a Mercure hotel in France.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your report as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your observations to the rest of the team and I will look into the comments concerning mt team's training.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Managaer
"Mercure may have got it wrong"
16th May 2012, johnkelly92, Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
In the last few months I have stayed in three Mercure hotels in the UK that the Accor Group have bought from others and rebranded. As an Accor regular I have to say I think this is a terrible mistake unless they close and refurbish and retrain the staff before they put their very good brand names on a property. This hotel was the worst of the three. The room was uncomfortable and I couldn't lower the unbearable heat. The staff were not as attentive as they could have been and didn't seem to know what they were doing. It took ten minutes for a staff consultation to determine what I should be paying for breakfast!View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for review.I am sorry to hear we let you down on your last stay and please could you contact me so I can have more detail concerning the issues you experienced and personally try and restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
14th March 2012, Swindon, United Kingdom
Hotel is shabby, room in need of painting and bathroom in need of cleaning / repairing. Also staff not interested or even attentive.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments as it is always helpful to receive feedback. Please can you contact me on 01785 712 459 or firstname.lastname@example.org to disscus your comments in detail.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
"Almost ruined the wedding we were at."
14th March 2012, Hereford, United Kingdom
I found the hotel as a whole pleasant enough, though the paint work and finishings were well below standard. Our room on the other hand was awful, what appeared to have been damp all over the walls (painted over too-badly) filthy bathroom, dirty pillow cases and holes in the sheets. Cobwebs all over the ceiling and mildew all over the bathroom. Hopefully I shall never need to stay again. Am penning my letter to the management as I type, luckily I have photos as proof.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestAs per my previous e-mails - thank you for taking the time to inform me of the situation. Please accept my sincere apologies, I fully appreciate the experience during your stay did not meet the expectations you have of the Mercure brand.I have discussed your dissatisfaction with my whole team, and taken action to prevent the discussed regretful incidents from repeating. Please accept this incident as a one off disappointment, and I hope the 50% discount on the room went some way in demonstrating how seriously we take these matters.As I mentioned, I do hope you will return to the Mercure Stafford South Hotel and please contact me in order that I may make this booking for you personally and restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel and Mercure Brand. You can reach me on 01785 712 459 or by e-mail, email@example.com.I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.Yours sincerelyAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
28th January 2012, john_thain, East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Nice hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms if a little dated. But the best thing was the food, absolutely faultless. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will definitely be staying there again.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your comments to the kitchen team and I will hopefully see you back in the not too distant future.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
"Potentially good hotel spoiled by lack of heating and dreadful bathroom"
7th January 2012, Bernardswiller
What was at first view a nice spacious room in an ordinary lower-end business hotel was spoiled by there being no heating in bedroom or bathroom (receptionist: but the heating's on - sorry about that - shrug of shoulders) and by a very poor bathroom (spacious but nowhere to but one's spongebag or toiletries other than on the floor - truly dreadful noise in bathroom and bedroom every time any water was run [tap or loo - waking up the spouse during the night] - impossibility to adjust the fixed shower without either scalding [really, really hot water] or freezing. Not a hotel worthy of the Mercure brand.View management response »
Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team and I will personally look into the situation with the heating and water temperature control, and apologise we did not meet your expectations this visit. Please contact me for your next visit so I can personally restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel. I will hopefully see you back in the not too distant future.Kind RegardsAdam ThompsonGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.