Hotel addressCastlefields Way
TF7 5DW TELFORD
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 52° 38' 34.86'' W 2° 27' 5.08''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)1952/680068
- Fax. (+44)1952/684275
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel - hotel reviews in Telford
Hotel code: 8202
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Very good stay"
4th September 2013, Nan1945, Barnsley, United Kingdom
We had a lovely 2-night stay at this hotel, everyone was friendly. The hotel is nicely situated for visiting the surrounding area. The buildings look quite interesting and they hold weddings there too in the old Mill.
28th August 2013, happyhols1956, Kent england
A very enjoyable stay,the evening meal in our inclusive deal was excellent with very good attentive service.Buffett style breakfast with plenty hot choice in pleasant surroundings.I would stay again but look out for all inc deals through Focus Hotels to get the very best deals.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your review and it is great that we looked after you well during your stay at Madeley Court. I am pleased that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
"Very enjoyable break"
23rd August 2013, Croeso_11, Wales
The hotel exceeded our expectation. The room were large as was the bathroom. the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful.the food was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend it and hopefully will return for a longer stay the next time.View management response »
Management responseThank you so much for your high praise and I am delighted that we achieved in exceeding expectations. I do look forward to welcoming you back to Madeley Court in the not too distant future.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
"Historic hotel in a historic location"
23rd July 2013, Pagham
This hotel is close to Ironbridge, which is where the industrial revolution first started. Close by are museums, places of interest and, of course, the famous iron bridge. There is so much to do and see here you're spoilt for choice. And the Madeley Court Hotel, a restored 15th century priory, is an ideal location to get you in a historial mood.Lovely surroundings, a brilliant restaurant offering excellent evening meals and full breakfasts, you can't do better. We were there in the 2013 heatwave and would have welcomed air conditioning in our room, but apart from this - excellent. Well done!View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your review and I am very pleased that your stay at Madeley Court was a memorable experience. I do hope that we shall be welcoming you back soon.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
17th July 2013, conguk, Sandbach
We stayed for one night on an inclusive deal. Getting to the hotel was a problem as the hotel postcode sent our sat-nav down a dirt track to the rear of the hotel. Extra signage might be useful! Once at the hotel we were very impressed - a true Gothic mansion with loads of oak beams and panelling. The staff were very welcoming, indeed all the staff throughout our stay were very good. In particular, the restaurant staff were attentive without being intrusive. Our room, number 7, was at the top of the main building up an ancient spiral staircase. It felt like we had gone back in time 300 to 400 years. It was full of atmosphere. The room itself was nothing special but again it seemed to have history. The walls and floor were all over the place - not a right-angle to be seen but the bed was level and VERY comfortable. The bathroom could have been larger (physically impossible because of the location of the room). The shower flooded the floor because there was no curtain and I had to mind my head when using the toilet as a large oak beam cut low across the room. Having said that it didn't cause us a problem and actually made us feel part of living history. If you want a concrete antiseptic, air-conditioned hotel this isn't the place for you. If you want to live and feel English history with modern facilities tastefully blended in then stay here.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your review following your stay with us at Madeley Court and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, I do appreciate your observations regarding signage and the shower in room 7. I am grateful for your recommendation of the hotel and I hope that we shall be welcoming you back soon.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
"Overall happy with the stay"
25th June 2013, morecambestoney, Leeds, United Kingdom
The hotel appears to be an old house of some description which made it a change from the corporate Travel Lodge type hotels. It's is set in very nice grounds, and the bar overlooks a lake which makes it picturesque.The hotel appeared spotless and was clean and tidy in all areas. I must admit I was a little worried that it is has a Telford postcode, doesn't sound the most exciting of locations, but Madeley is quite a nice place and the hotel is set back from the main road, it isn't very far from the RAF museum at Cosford or Ironbridge if you are visiting either.We were in a room built in an annex outside of the main building, and to be honest could have done with a lick of paint here and there and this was probably the only thing that let the whole experience down.I found the service was what you would expect and we ate in the hotel that evening and the staff were very helpful and friendly.For the price, similar to a Travel Lodge I felt overall that this hotel offered very good value for money and if you book online you can have an evening 2 course meal for £15. Having said that if you want man food, steak / cheese board etc ... then there is a supplement.I slept like a baby but I don't normally need an excuse, so sleep quality was fine, I dropped it a mark as I woke up in the morning, very warm...probably shouldn't complain about that in the UK :-)View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your positive review of your stay with us at Madeley Court. I am very pleased that we looked after you well. I have noted your observation regarding The South Wing and I can advise that my maintenanace team are now in the process of painting those bedrooms.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
"Weekend in the Snow of Shropshire"
15th February 2013, IMPTECH, Rochford, United Kingdom
This hotel has everything, scenery, service and style.Watch the Sat Nav though, do not go down past the Ski Slope as you will end up in the lake and the road does not go to the Hotel.The staff were very attentive and the meal in the Restaurant a delightView management response »
Management responseThank you for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Madeley Court.Regards,Anthony MeadowsGeneral Manager.
"country house on a budget"
26th July 2012, Michelle B, London, United Kingdom
The Mercure Madeley Court is a fine 16th-century building that has retained much of its grandeur and charm, although now a modernised, affordable hotel. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, and some are dog friendly, and the restaurant, lobby etc are fine period interiors. There are adjacent country walks. The food and wine was very good indeed, and the service efficient and friendly. Weddings are catered for in an adjacent mill but this was not intrusive and everything was peaceful by midnight. A very good stay.View management response »
Management responseThank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us here at Madeley Court Hotel.As a historic building we try our best to keep the mix of history and modern day service and we are very thank full for your comments.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
"A hidden gem"
10th July 2012, Cambridge, United Kingdom
My wife and I arrived during a major rainstorm which,after a difficult drive did not put us in the best of moods! Our greeting was excellent and our room exactly as I had requested on my booking.the staff,who were mostly young,all treated us very well and in a friendly manner.Bedroom was nice and comfortable and food and facilities were fine.For us it was a hidden gem that we will return to in the futureView management response »
Management responseMany thanks for the comments regrading your stay.Please come back and see us soon.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
"Excellent DB&B Package"
5th June 2012
For some reason, although the hotel was far from full, we were allocated a relatively small room, when other larger rooms were obviously available, nonetheless we had an excellent one night stay on a DB&B package, which represented great value for money. Both dinner and breakfast were very good and well served with a good selection to choose from.View management response »
Management responseHi and thanks for the positive comments regarding your recent visit to Madeley Court.Come back and see us soon.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
"PLEASANT STAY WITH A FEW PROBLEMS"
1st June 2012, Marcus053, York, United Kingdom
The Hotel itself is absolutely ancient, with original medieval doors, windows beams etc.We stayed overnight and given a room in the new annexe which was disappointing as we expected to be in the old building as advertised. The shower just ran very hot and we were offered another room which was as dark as a dungeon and needed lights on even though it was very sunny outside. We were then kindly offered another room which was ok except the beds were very uncomfortable and the window did not have nets and as the room was overlooked by main thorougfair into annexe we had no privacy and had to close curtains at times. The staff were excellent and very pleasant, no complaints at all. The outside seating area is lacking tables there were only 3 and it was a warm sunny day and most people like to sit outside. The bar staff were excellent as well. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. We feel this lovely old hotel is spoilt by lack of details that managment should have picked up but the staff compensated for this as best they could. It was good value for the money just wish those other things had been sorted.If you want to stay in the original building with the ancient atmosphere I would specify on booking otherwise you will be in a modern annexe.(like a motel)View management response »
Management responseThank you for your comments. We were sorry that you were not happy with any of the rooms offered at the hotel. Our rooms are designed to the strict Mercure 3 & 4 star standards. We are developing our patio area over the next few months to allow more tables for the summer.Once again thank you for your comments.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
"Overnight Stay on Way to Relatives in North"
27th March 2012, g921841
An amazing hotel in a most unlikely place ( Telford nearest town ). We stayed in the old part of this wonderful historic building of architectural interest, it was beautifully furnished but had up to date facilities. It was peaceful and had loads of atmosphere . The staff were quite outstanding - friendly, helpful and efficient. The only downside was the quality of the breakfast. We have stayed in a number of Mercure hotels in the UK and the standard of food offered at breakfast here too seems to have gone down markedly in 2012. A shame. We will stay here again, though, for all the other reasons !View management response »
Management responseHi and thank you for your comments. I have spoken to the Restaurant Manager regarding your comments about breakfast and we will be reviewing this service aspect.Look forward to seeing you again soon.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
3rd February 2012
Superb building in a delightful location. Good sized room and very good food. My only reservation is that in the cold weather the heating in the dinning room was inadequate. We were sat fairly close to the huge and roaring log fire so were comfortably warm at the front but cold at the back.View management response »
Management responseHello and thank you for your comments. As you have seen our dining room has very high ceilings (20ft) and when the temperature drops as low as it has recently - Minus 11 was recorded here - We do have are extremely large wood burning fire and we also supplement this with portable heating at times, so please accept our apologies for any discomfort caused during this time.thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.Noel MinesGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.