Hotel addressBerwick road West Welsh road
CH66 4PS ELLESMERE PORT
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 53° 17' 5.63'' W 2° 57' 49.05''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)151/3395121
- Fax. (+44)151/3393214
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel - hotel reviews in Ellesmere Port
Hotel code: 8201
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
10th September 2013, Patchwork2013, Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Breakfast was very good and the service excellent,.good value for money,room clean.wifi worked in main areas but not in room. Lounge bar welcoming and comfortable.Staff efficient and friendly. Grounds clean and well kept.View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with usKind regardsPaul Wadsworth
6th September 2013, kimsuzanne13, Oldham, United Kingdom
Dreadful bathroom. Mould above the bath. Silverfish running around your feet. Uncomfortable beds. WiFi didn't work in our room. Room very warm and made worse because we had to shut the window due to water pouring from somewhere directly outside our window and onto the window sill. Food awful and overpriced. Drinks poor in the case the case of the lager. Always seemed either poorly poured or poorly cooled. Not one decent pint! Key card to room didn't work. Was told to give the device a good jiggle. Daughters room no better. Toilet didn't flush properly and huge cracks in window glass and felt unsafe as on ground floor. Only good point staff mainly pleasant.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying with Mercure hotels again. As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly with the team to enable us to evolve and improve.Kind regardsPaul Wadsworth
"Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel"
15th July 2013, tikamair, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Great hotel, Friendly and very helpful staff, Due to location I recommend you have a car to get around. the food is fantastic, the room was beautifully cleaned, the only thing missing was a mini fridge, but chilled drinks are available in the bar, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. I fully recommend this hotel to othersView management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.Kind regardsPaul Wadsworth
"woodhey house chester"
3rd January 2013, Lincoln
My family and i have stayed here numerous times before as we have family that lives in liverpool.The hotel is excellent value for money staff are very friendliy and accomadatiing nothing is to much trouble,food is good and facilities r good it has a swimming pool which keeps my little boy ocupied and it is a lovely temprature.Also you can leave your car in the car park which is a bonus for my husband as there is a train station 10mins away which will take you to liverpool or chester so what more can i say brilliant hotel and we will definatly be going again soon.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, and I very much appreciate your comments in relation to the staff and service. Once again many thanks for your much valued feedback and I look forward to seeing you in the hotel in the near future.RegardsPaul WadsworthGeneral Manager
"fine for an overnight stop"
31st December 2012, BristolBeachlovers, Bristol
We were visiting family in the area. Nice breakfast. Service at breakfast very good. Swimming pool very warm and clean.Due to the design of the hotel - we could hear the fire doors being bashed in our room but very quiet apart from that.View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.RegardsPaul wadsworthGeneral Manager
"Very poor breakfast"
31st August 2012, V M, M
We went to the hotel for 2 nights.Staff was very kind and helpful. Room was clean and the quality of the bed is good.The only negative point : Breakfast.There are more hot things than cold things. No chocolate, croissant or pain au chocolat, only toasts, jam, butter, and 3 kind of tea (Lemon, Green Tea or Earl Grey). They need absolutely to improve it.Thank you for this stay.View management response »
Management responseMany thanks for your review of the Mercure Chester North. I am pleased that your overall experience was a good one and thank you for writing a balanced review. With regard to the breakfast I have discussed your issues with our Head Chef, rest assured we have taken the necessary corrective steps to ensure that similar issues do not re-occur as we do endeavor to ensure that every guest experience is a memorable and enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.RegardsPaul WadsworthGeneral Manager
"Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel"
29th July 2012, SteveDee51, London
The hotel was well-placed in its proximity to Chester. The receptionist at check-in was very efficient and friendly.The room was well appointed and very comfortable (as was the bed).The only minor criticisms were that the restaurant was very hot, the service not as quick as it could have been and the food disappointing.View management response »
Management responseI am delighted that you were pleased with the hotel overall and have discussed your comments with regards to dinner with the team. Whilst your experience is not reflective of the high standards in which we pride ourselves at the hotel, we take all our guest comments very seriously and I have addressed these with our teamThank you again for your valued comments.Regards,Paul Wadsworth
"Very pleasant hotel"
28th July 2012, ufries, Egg, Switzerland
Very pleasant and quiet hotel, slightly difficult access by car because of local traffic restrictions. We phoned and got top info of how to get there.Room everything ok, English breakfast very nice.Doreen and her team were very helpful.View management response »
Management responseI would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.RegardsPaul Wadsworth
"Worth a look"
23rd April 2012, Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Stayed here a few times and it is now a good hotel, great rooms with the added benefit of FREE wifi, good breakfast and worth taking advantage of the membership scheme as sometimes you get a room upgrade as well!View management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback. We value our guest comments and they assist us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide.We continually review our standards in order ensure that high standards are maintained at all times. Regards,Gwyn Jones.
"Spoiled only by the bar and the alarm calls"
23rd February 2012, Norwich, United Kingdom
A recently-refurbished, clean, and modern hotel that allows speedy road access to Liverpool, Chester, the Wirral, and North Wales. Fast and friendly service from the staff in the restaurant, excellent English breakfast and good evening menu selection. Didn't use the leisure facilities.Only negative points were (a) an alarm call set for a previous guest kept waking us up - despite requests for it be cancelled, (b) bar service patchy and pricey, with no 'real ale' (and no slices of lemon on one occasion!)Will use this hotel again - but unplug the phone!View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read what a great stay you had. I will ensure that the team are made aware of your kind comments. I am not sure what happened with the alarm calls however have asked Maria our front office manager to ensure all team members are retrained.I am delighted you plan on using the hotel again and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards,Gwyn JonesGeneral Manager
"good value hotel"
16th February 2012, Leicester, United Kingdom
I stayed here with my family and we had two rooms. The rooms were spacious (even with an extra bed) and reasonbly equipped. Some of the decor looked a little tired in places (chipped bath, marked walls etc.) but nothing serious enough to detract from the experience. Dinner was good: food was well presented, hot & tasty and the service was attentive. Breakfast was even better with a vast array of food available and the lady who appeared to be the manager had an excellent manner. She was very welcoming, attentive & friendly. Even my teenagers commented on how friendly and helpful everyone was at the hotel. We took the dinner bed and breakfast option and it was great value for what we received. It's ideally located for Chester & Liverpool and we will definitely stay again if we in that neck of the woodsView management response »
Management responseI was delighted to read your lovely review following your recent stay at the Hotel, I am so pleased the team looked after you so well and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review, the team will be delighted to hear your comments.Regards,Gwyn JonesGeneral Manager
"not too bad"
18th January 2012, Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
got a good deal for the room, only downside was the bar service, very poor, had to look for someone to serve me a pint, very comfortable room, got a suite for the price for a standard room which was a bargainView management response »
Management responseThank you for your review on Trip Advisor.I was delighted to read that you found the room very comfortable however naturally I was disappointed that you did not totally enjoy your one night stay with us. I have noted comments and will ensure these are discussed with the management team. Thank you again for your review.Regards,Gwyn JonesGeneral Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.