Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Wigan Hotels > Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1 - Paying
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 88
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: WIGAN (0.32 km)

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel - hotel reviews in Wigan

Hotel code: 8200

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Overnight in Wigan - Mercure Wigan Oak"

24th August 2013, cumbrianbill, Wigton, United Kingdom

Black pudding on the hot breakfast buffet! Must be Wigan.I chose the hotel as I was travelling south over a summer weekend, and wanted a break. A promotion made the price for bed and breakfast very attractive.The hotel is easily visible from the A49 near the centre of Wigan, and guests do not need to pay for parking.Check in was efficient, though it appears that my account number was missing from the booking so I'm having to chase for the reward points that I should have earned.The room was comfortable and quiet, though the views are of Wigan. Enough said.Breakfast was good - black pudding included, and there was wifi available in the room.It's very convenient for a trip to the centre of Wigan, and I imagine easy to get to the train stations.All in all a very good stay - I'm booked to stay again but will make sure by account number is attached at check in.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review of our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the delay in you receiving your rewards points - please do inform us on your next visit if you have any further problems with this and we will be happy to resolve this for you.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "lovely hotel"

18th July 2013, molly7_13, Manchester, United Kingdom

Would stay at this hotel again if I was visiting Wigan. 2 mins walk from shops, pubs and clubs. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel. We had buffet breakfast in with the price, the food was excellent and plenty to choose from. There's a lovely quiet garden area at the back with patio tables and chairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you were to visit Wigan.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and to read your very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good sleep. A bit far from the station."

12th July 2013, bkkldn88, London, United Kingdom

A bit far but walkable. I believe it is the only choice in the area so I felt limited. Yet it exceeded my expectation and it was a comfy stay. Didn't have a fridge in room but others are as expected. New and clean. The staff are lovely and helpful at times.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review and very kind comments. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back soon and, if you are travelling by train, we would be more than happy to provide you with the quickest directions to the hotel from the train station.We look forward to seeing you.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Well done, Mercure in Wigan!"

3rd July 2013, Gsharpminor, Norwich, United Kingdom

Very comfortable hotel, very clean, quiet and efficient. If you have to stay in Wigan this is as good an option as any. The B&B plus evening meal option is good value for money. Not a bad location for a town centre: I walked there from the rail station.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review. I am very pleased that you found your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. We do consider ourselves to be one of the leading three star properties in the area, offering excellent service and great value for money.I hope that you will choose the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel when you are next in the area and we look forward to seeing you again.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Stay"

6th March 2013, WiganlaticsIreland, Carlow, Ireland

This is my second time staying in the Mercure Wigan Oak. and each time I have stayed I have found it to be a pleasurable experience. Its very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is tasty and nicely portioned. Rooms are comfortable and clean. It is a 2-3 min walk into the town centre and nicely located as it has easy access from main routes by road and 10min walk Max to the train stations. Its a 20 min walk to the DW stadium if you're a football or league fan.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your eview. We are all delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, even more so that you were as pleased with the hotel on your second visit as you were on your first. We are constantly trying to offer each and every guest the most enjoyable and comfortable experience possible and it's very rewarding to read such kind comments as yours.I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Highly recommended stay!"

20th February 2013, Anon741, Morecambe, United Kingdom

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a night in Feb. First impressions were great. The staff were welcoming and the hotel was lovely and clean. The bedroom was slightly on the small side but was very well furnished. All in all a lovely room, and the bed was so very comfortable! We dined in the restaurant and the food was AMAZING!! Not a single thing could be faulted on the food what so ever!! Highly recommend this hotel, especially for the food!!!

View management response »

Management responseWe're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would especially like to thank you for your comments regarding our staff and food. I have personally passed on your very kind comments to all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great"

21st September 2012, sbouchut, Levainville

The best 3 stars Mercure in my opinion, compare to others.This hotel is nice, clean with large rooms; well-equipped, I really recommned to go there. For 65GBP, it's a fantastic choice and the food is good!

View management response »

Management responseThank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay. We are striving constantly to give our guests the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible and it is always pleasing to hear that we have achieved this.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Wigan MERCURE Oak"

30th July 2012, maralap, Reading, United Kingdom

The Wigan Mercure Oak is only about 15 minutes away from the railway stations in Wigan. So it is very central and handy fro the town centre. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept to a very good standard with just about all of the facilities you might expect, bar a fitness centre. It has wi-fi which runs very quickly. It does have a restaurant which has a wife variety of things to choose from. However Wigan has grown quite afew restaurants over the last ew years so you might choose to take ashort walk to one of those. This was my second stay in the Oak in the last 6 months and I will be staying there in the future.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments, I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more so that would choose us the next time you are in Wigan. Your comments regarding the staff were particularly welcome - they are our most valuable assett and it is always pleasing to read that their efforts have been noticed.We look forward to seeing you again soon.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Experience"

2nd June 2012, pearson_64, Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Room and facillities very good.Reception staff welcoming and helpful at all times.Breakfast very poor,quality of produce not particularly nice - scrambled egg seemed reconstituted and bacon like rubber and vedry fatty etc.Not a pleasant experience to be shouted at by serving staff requesting room number in front of other guests and after several repeated requests,admittedly I initially got my room number wrong which led to a loud verification process across the dining area.Not what one needs first thing in the morning - I did say I found the lady servers manner rude - apologused and said this is the way its done - sure the apology was genuine but please - such a pity as all other staff were really fantastic nothing too much trouble etc.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments, regarding your recent stay. I was very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your Breakfast experience. Every aspect of a guest's stay is of the utmost importance to us and I apologise if this was not to the standard that you expected.As well as a company standard, it is important that guests' rooms numbers are taken when they are dining, as we have room only, bed and breakfast and fully inclusive rates. The restaurant staff can then ensure that room accounts are charged accordingly for meals. Again, I apologise if you found the member of staff's attitude distasteful and can assure you that this was not their intention. I have brought your comments to the attention of the Restaurant Manager and Breakfast Supervisor. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
« hide

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Practical hotel in Wigan centre."

17th May 2012, NoPresumptions, Kent

A perfectly good, practical hotel in the centre of Wigan. Uninspiring rooms and very ordinary breakfast area/restaurant, but very good service, helpful reception and the rooms are clean and functional. Poor breakfast planning though - they ran out of croissants (and had no other pastries) half way through Sunday morning breakfast - if you had come over from France you would have died!

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that Breakfast was not up to your expectations and please accept my apologies for this, particularly with regards to the the unavailability of croissants, as this does not normally happen. I have spoken to my Head Chef about this to ensure that this does not happen again.I was pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I do hope that this slight error has not deterred you from staying with us again and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.