Hotel addressLangham Road
WA14 2HT ALTRINCHAM
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 53° 22' 34.07'' W 2° 21' 19.12''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)161/9287121
- Fax. (+44)161/9277560
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel - hotel reviews in Altrincham
Hotel code: 8198
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
6th March 2013, 628LPJ, Oxford, United Kingdom
My wife and I chose this hotel as we had stayed at other Mercures previously. This one is sadly in need of a refurb, its like stepping back 30 years. The bed was too soft and had seen better days. Other than that the staff were pleasant and courteous and the Breakfast excellent.View management response »
Management responseThe beauty of Mercure is that they are hotels with different styles and facilities which span both 4 and 3 star properties.I was a little shocked that we have been likened to something from the 70's as this is far from the case as we have invested heavily in the last 3 years including new beds throughout, although I do understand beds and bedding are all about personal preference and regret ours did not suit you.On a brighter note I was pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed a good breakfastPaul RodgersGeneral Manager
"No sleep at Altrincham Bowdon"
23rd January 2013, sgs86, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
That's it really. Hotel was clean, staff polite. However room overlooked carpark, and we were kept up all night with other clients coming in and out of the carpark. Walls were also extremely thin, and we heard everything that was going on at the corridors. Never complaint as it was only one night we were staying there, and it was not like we were going to up and find a quieter room at 3 in the morning. But did not sleep a wink, so evidently we will not return there.View management response »
Management responseSorry to learn that you had a bad night with us and whilst of little consolation now I would ask you to accept my apologies.Sadly noise from an external source or from other guests can be difficult to monitor or control and I am amazed how inconsiderate some clients can be during the night.Wish you had given us the opportunity to do something about it at the time but ask that you contact me on any future visits and we will try to ensure a peaceful nightPaul RodgersGeneral Manager
"Christmas in Bowdon"
28th December 2012, jmpreece, Cambridge, United Kingdom
The Bowdon Hotel is great value for money in a convenient position for Altrincham facilities, motorways and Manchester airport. We enjoyed good breakfasts, pleasant service and a comfortable room. we have stayed before and will come againView management response »
Management responsePleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on future trips to this areaPaul RodgersGeneral Manager
"Very nice hotel"
9th December 2012, chris_rudolph, Ipswich, United Kingdom
I had a very good one night stay at the hotel. The bar food and breakfast were very nice and good value. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. Overall very good value. One minor niggle was that the free wi-fi was intermitent in my room but worked fine in the public areas. I recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a cheap, comfortable stay.View management response »
Management responsePleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments with others, hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.Paul RodgersGeneral Manager
"Ok but good value"
1st August 2012, PedroTotnes_Devon, Devon England
Stayed at this hotel many years ago and the decor is still the same. Room may have been refurbished but 70s feel still to whole place, and somewhat 'dog eared' in places. Difficult to get to room with cases, as up one flight of stairs(no lift) and down another. Room was a small double but adequate for one night.A weekend double room for under £50 was an unexpected bonus but breakfast was an extra £13 for two. Good value cooked buffet at breakfast but terrible coffee in dispenser. Good location for our friends' party in Bowdon nearby.
"Poor hotel service"
5th July 2012, Stevenage, United Kingdom
I think the hotel is in a good location and has great potentials except for the very poor service and no wifi service at all thru out my stay in my room and when reported they pretended they knew nothing of it and nothing was done. Room was cleaned but soiled bed sheets were relayed instead of changed and ventilation in that particular room was very poor. Also it was my honey moon at the hotel to which this was communicated to the hotel weeks back, the room I was given was so sad. If I had a choice I would have changed hotels instantlyView management response »
Management responseSo sorry that we let you down on such a special day but struggle to understand your comments about a sad room as all rooms have been fully refurbished over the last 2 years. I do however regret we did not meet your personal expectations.We do operate a fair use policy for our free wifi service but perhaps increased traffic is causing this to run a little slow at certain times but looking into ways we can improve this.Hope we can welcome you back in the future and feel sure you view of us will be quite differentPaul RodgersGeneral Manager
"Very Good Value"
16th June 2012, HoraceMorris
Stayed here two nights.Very handy for rail station /30 min ride into ManchesterStaff very helpful, Room small but very well appointed,Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.There was a small issue with Smokers that congregate at the rear of the Hotel (this could have been Hotel Staff or Guests), This made having the window open impossible at times and may be something the Hotel may want to address.Overall though, we'd recommend this Hotel as it is good value for money, comfortable and easy to find.View management response »
Management responsePleaed to hear the comments and thanks for taking the time to share your views.Noted the point about smokers below windows and will try to address this, as a non smoker myself I would also have found this to be a problemHope you will return again in the futurePaul RodgersGeneral Manager
3rd June 2012, Samueltoo, WREXHAM
Took advantage of discount offer - but what a disappointment. As a first time customer I thought they might attempt to impress me with a decent room. Oh no such luck - a room at the back of the Hotel overlooking the rubbish bins - woken at ten past six in the morning when the wagon came to empty the said bins!! What I can say in its favour is that the room etc was clean -but I'm glad I was only there for one night.View management response »
Management responseI very much regret you were not impressed with our hotel and believe we have already communicated on this matter.As with most buildings there are different views from different aspects of the building and although the refuse area can be seen from some rooms it is some way from the bedroom windows and not the only thing that is visable.The main issue relates to the disturbance caused by the refuse collection at an early hour which should not have happened. Whilst of little consolation now this matter has been addressed with the contractor so future guests should not suffer this early wake up.
"Avery nice hotel"
21st May 2012, davidmesser, Chorley, United Kingdom
The room in the hotel that I had was very nice and clean. It has been recently renovated. My package was very good value for money. The breakfast, although not very fancy was very nice and cooked properly. I would stay there again
"The locals don't welcome children."
15th May 2012, vetcoach, Kendal, United Kingdom
We were attracted to this hotel by the fact that it had a pool, having a keen young club swimmer in the family. Very disappointed to find children excluded from the pool after 1700 and before 1200 which made it virtually impossible to take advantage of the pool. Restrictions are apparently in place to suit the handful of elderly locals who treat the pool as their private club and resent having young people around. Draw your own conclusions. All other aspects adequate, but well behind standard expected of Mercure.
12th May 2012, winquinn, Winchester, United Kingdom
The Staff did not seem helpful, at the front desk with regard to breakfast offers,or in dealing with complaints some of the rooms had a lot of outside noise.