Hotel - Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Langham Road  Bowdon  Cheshire 
WA14 2HT ALTRINCHAM
UNITED KINGDOM

786 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 786 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 67.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 75.00 GBP

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Modern 3 star hotel located 1 miles from Altrincham centre close to M56 and M6 motorways and 5 miles from Manchester International Airport.Free Wifi throughout. Walking distance to Hale. 10 miles from Manchester City Centre.8 miles to Trafford Centre and 8 miles to GMEX. All rooms include - Flatscreen TV-hairdryer-direct press-direct dial telephone- complimentary tea making facilities. Restaurant and Café Bar on site - Free use of leisure centre with swimming pool.

Hotel extras

3 star hotel with easy access to Manchester Airport, Manchester City Centre, Bowdon and Hale includes free WiFi, parking and use of leisure facilities. All rooms include flatscreen TV with Freeview channels. On site restaurant, bar and lounge.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Number
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre
  • Solarium

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Number
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Solarium

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-24:00

Business services

  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Our rooms

87 en suite comfortable, modern bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and triples. All rooms offer flat screen LCD TV's with Freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, hairdryer and free WiFi

  • Executive Room with 1 double bed
    Executive Room with 1 double bed

    Executive Room with 1 double bed and sofa - Complimentary WIFI- Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Nespresso Coffee Machine - Fruit - Mineral Water - Dressing gown - Slippers - Additional Toiletries - Complimentary newspaper

  • Standard Room with 2 single beds
    Standard Room with 2 single beds

    Standard Twin with Two Single Beds - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Use of Leisure Club

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed

    Standard Double Room with One Double Bed - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Use of Leisure Club

  • Superior Room with 1 double bed
    Superior Room with 1 double bed

    Superior Double Room with One Double Bed - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Use of Leisure Club

  • Superior Room with 2 single beds
    Superior Room with 2 single beds

    Superior Twin Room with Two Single Beds - Complimentary Wifi - Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels -Hairdryer -Tea Coffee Making Facilities - Use of Leisure Club

  • 87 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 12 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

BOWDON RESTAURANT Restaurant
Dinner 19:00 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BOWDON RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: Regional

Find out more and book
CAFE BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

CAFE BAR

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 5
  • Maximum size: 120 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 120
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120

Our customer reviews for Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 786 reviews
biowens 2016/07/02
« Read this before you book »

We stayed at the Bowdon for 3 days June 24-27, 2016. We were gone all day Sat. and did not return till the evening. My daughter had purchased a dress from Urban Outfitters and left the bag on the floor with the dress inside, still with the tags on, and with the receipt. When we returned, the bag was gone. Sun. morning I contacted the front desk manger. He was very helpful and courteous. He said he would contact housekeeping and was confident we would be able to retrieve the dress. We left for the day, upon our return I went directly to the front desk to inquire about the dress. No one had any idea what I was taking about. I then dealt with Helen, the front desk manager. We got into a very polite debate as to how I may have “misplaced” the dress, maybe it was under the bed or in the cabinet. Not the response I expected. In an effort to end the debate, I insisted she come up to our room, together we went through the room looking in cabinets to “assure her” that the dress was in fact, not in the room. I further offered to contact my credit card company to verify the transaction. We then went back downstairs and she called the front desk manager who I originally dealt with. Her response was, that he had contacted housekeeping, and no one had seen the bag or the dress. Since she gave me no other option, I called the police and filed a theft report. The officer that came out was exceptionally nice, but understandably, there was little she could do. Later, when we were having dinner Helen approached us and suggested to my daughter that we order another dress - I explained that we were leaving for London and the States. She went on to say we could get it shipped express. My response was it wasn’t worth the cost. Helen then informed me that the cost would be less than what I had originally paid for the dress the week before, as now the pound was lower to the dollar. I only paid thirty pounds for the dress - that is most definitely NOT the point. Whether it was a mistake or deliberate act, my daughters dress went missing from our room. The dress can be replaced, but the manner in which we were treated is inexcusable. I would never recommend this hotel. We almost did not book this hotel because of the bad reviews on trip advisor. We were in town for an event. Two other guest were also staying at this hotel for the same event. My friends live in the area, they recommended we all stay at the Bowdon. They will not do so again. This is the first time I have ever written a bad review, I did so under consideration. I am a gold card member with Marriott, and Hyatt, Platinum with American Express. I travel a great deal. I live in Florida, the US capital for tourism. I have never experienced anything like this at any hotel. My background is in law and Human Resources. In my opinion, it is unacceptable for an employee to debate or degrade a client who has experienced an issue.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that you have once again felt the need to post a review about an incident almost 2 months ago but believe we have corresponded on this point through other channels and see little point therefore responding again. I can however assure the greater public that this is a safe environment. Paul Rodgers

bazzabears60 2016/04/14
« Overnight Stay »

Enjoyable overnight stay. Reception, bar & restaurant staff very friendly. Food tasty especially desserts. Room was comfortable but requires some tlc, however the bathroom appears to be quite modern & well laid out. During night some noise from bin lorry.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing with your thoughts about your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the facilities but not too happy that the waste truck came at a stupid hour and will be sorting this out as it is unacceptable, very sorry for this disturbance. Paul Rodgers General Manager

DNSWright 2016/03/29
« Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel »

The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff pleasant and efficient. The breakfast was of a good standard and the restaurant staff were attentive. The stay represented value for money and we would have no hesitation staying there again if in the area. The only down sides were that the bed was uncomfortable and the corridor light shone under the door which was annoying.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Appreciate the comments you have made about your recent stay and pleased that in general you enjoyed the experience. Bed comfort is very much a personal thing and whilst we receive many good comments I am sorry that the bed did not suit your requirement. Paul Rodgers

Anthony G 2015/09/16
« Made the weekend »

Went to meet friends and family for the weekend and had a wonderful time. What made it even better was my stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowden Hotel. Welcome was warm and friendly, service was excellent and staff friendly. Breakfast was excellent, room clean and tidy and excellent facilities. Definitely stay here again

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate the glowing review. Hope to see you again on future trips to this area Paul Rodgers General Manager

boblewis99 2015/09/01
« Breakfast - needs improvement »

Even taking breakfast daily throughout our stay no later than 8.30am, the selection quantity fell far short of other Mercure hotels we have stayed in. Croissants & pastries were elusively missing - buy a few more and keep guests happy - and fired eggs appeared from time to time. Hotel has an excellent waiter in Martin, who always appeared to go the extra mile to keep everyone happy - he was a credit to Mercure !!

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write and have noted the comments regarding breakfast. I fully accept that the menu items should be available throughout service and have already addressed this along with the introduction of fresh breads and baguettes. Hope you will see the improvements on future visits Paul Rodgers General Manager

t0nymayes 2015/08/21
« Confortable hotel, shame about the car park! »

This Accor hotel is a comfortable, well run hotel, on the outskirts of Manchester. We enjoyed the full English, self-service breakfasts, and the light snacks bar menu and restaurant menus are more than adequate. Couldn't fault the friendliness of staff or room cleanliness. There's a spa and pool but we didn't use it. My big beef is the car parking. Because the hotel is close to the airport it's being used for cheap holiday parking - the result it you have to search for a space and if you can't find it you have to park in the road outside. Bit of a no no if you are travelling around and have things on view to passers by. Get it sorted Accor - this should not be happening.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay. Pleased to learn that generally the stay was positive apart from the difficulty you experienced parking but can assure you we do not fill the space with holiday parking. We are a very busy hotel and whilst there is generally sufficient parking for our needs there are some limited times when demand exceeds supply and regret this caused a problem. Paul Rodgers General Manager

1673389223 2015/08/11
« Poor rooms, service and decor »

After a lukewarm reception, I went to my executive room, which had the most uncomfortable bed and pillows I have experienced for a long time. I then went downstairs to the hotel bar and waited...and waited...and eventually went into Hale town for a drink. Frankly, one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Some areas are also quite shabby. Stay at the nearby Marriott or Crowne Plazza.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit and sorry to learn that we did not perform very well, clearly reception was very busy at the time you arrived but that does not excuse poor service which will be quickly addressed. The 2 other hotels noted in your review are in a different category to ours which is also reflective in the price but that is no excuse for cleanliness issues and I am joined by my housekeeper in apologising to you.

2015/07/13
« Accessibility.... »

You would expect that if a hotel had let a room that was two floors up from a car park, to someone with a leg injury and two heavy bags that a) there would be an elevator to assist them to their room, or b) someone to assist in carrying their bags. Checking in at 10pm after a long day, and with a 5am start formthe airport, finding out that neither option was available was more than a disappointment. At least there is the Cresta Court on Altrincham for next time. The room was cramped, badly planned and with nowhere other than the bed to lay out the suitcase, but that was a minor problem.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the review and sorry to hear of the difficulty you endured. WE have flat access to the hotel and a good number of ground floor rooms which are well suited to those with mobility difficulty and always try to assist where possible. Had we know in advance of you needs we could have possibly made the correct provision but without this knowledge and bearing in mind the late arrival there may not have been any other rooms available other that the one you were allocated. Whilst we do not have luggage porters we can usually assist guests with baggage and regret this was either not requested or not available to you. Should you be considering future trips perhaps you can make your requirements known at the time of booking as I feel we can easily meet the needs of your stay Paul Rodgers General Manager

Wanderer092014 2015/05/20
« overnight stay »

We stayed at this hotel for a one night break before going to collect somone from the airport. We found the staff very friendly and helpful especially the pool reception, the pool, sauna and steam room were brilliant. We booked a superior double room and it was perfect, even though we arrived early expecting just to park up and go out for a few hours the receptionist checked and the room was ready for us to occupy. The area has a variety of restaurants and the tram into Manchester was within walking distance. The location of the hotel was perfect, 10 minutes from the airport. It was also nice and quiet. would stop here again

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out to write with your thoughts about our hotel, sounds like you enjoyed the short stay and hope you will visit again on future trips to the area Paul Rodgers General Manager

John R 2015/04/30
« Mercure Hotel Altrincham »

Very good hotel but getting tired and run down in several areas. I stayed in Room 61 but was kept awake by creaking floor boards from the room above. I found the kettle in the room broken, it did not switch off when boiled. I went out to my car to bring items in and found it boiling over and with a burning smell. Opening in the lid was broken. Urgently requires replacing from a safet stand-point.

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Regret any disturbance the floorboards caused and pleased to let you know that the kettle was changed the very next day, possibly damaged by the previous guest or just a malfunction. Thanks for flagging this problem up. Paul Rodgers General Manager

SoyLip 2015/03/30
« Great stay last time »

Unfortunately I had pipework noise issues in my room from an old boiler system at night. My complaint was dealt with very professionally by the manager. It was a case of 'wrong room, wrong night'. I understand things were being looked into by engineers

gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Sadly it was a bad day all round with boiler issues and whilst of little consolation to the residents who experienced problems the matter was quickly fixed and all back to normal. Regret thinks do go wrong from time to time but thanks for your understanding and for the comments about how we dealt with the problem. Paul Rodgers General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 67.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 8.3 km ibis budget Knutsford
ibis budget Knutsford
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 10 km ibis budget Warrington Lymm Services
ibis budget Warrington Lymm Services
From
From 50.00 GBP Non member rate
From 47.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 11 km ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
From
From 42.00 GBP Non member rate
From 39.90 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 13 km ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street
Hotel ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street
From
From 54.00 GBP Non member rate
From 51.30 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in ALTRINCHAM
Select your dates 75.00 GBP Rooms from 75.00 GBP