Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Australia Hotels > Cairns Hotels > ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Previous hotel
Discover ibis Styles

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort hotel

Budget hotel with design interiors for family

Next hotel
Hotel - ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel - Paying
    • Air conditioning
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2 - Paying
    • Number: 3
    • Outdoor unheated pool
    • Golf - Nearby
    • Tennis - Paying
    • Hard tennis court - Paying
    • Outdoor tennis court - Paying
    • Outdoor playground for children
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 345
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: BOTANICAL GARDENS (0.50 km)

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort - hotel reviews in Cairns

Hotel code: 8126

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 2.0 out of 5 stars "ordinary accomodation"

11th September 2013, notataccoranymore, Melbourne, Australia

Being located with a view to a chain mesh fence and overseeing the nets of a local soccer field is in no way what was expected from the accor booking web site. Room was very basic but clean. The exhaust fan in the room was extremely noisy and not at all in keeping with a relaxing stay. The TV didn't even have all the basic free to air channels. There was no cable tv - only pay per view movies.

View management response »

Management responseWith 345 rooms at the Resort each has a different aspect - mostly views are of the expansive tropical gardens or one of the swimming pools. Where possible we endeavour to accommodate guests requests and exceed their expectations and it would appear we did not achieve this during your visit. If in Cairns again we hope you will consider staying at ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "An oasis in the city"

19th July 2013, Wullie39, Wellington, New Zealand

We booked for three days and stayed for 6 days.its very rare to get a property such as this in such a convenient location,Rooms and the standard for rooms was good.The dining room was also goodHowever the Pool side dining area tended to be scruffy at time and noisy in the evenings.All in all a very good property

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your feedback - it is both valued and appreciated as it helps improve on our hotel standards. We appreciate your comments and it is our hope that plans to refurbish and improve on our facilities can be implemented as the economy improves enabling us to better serve our valued guests.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good one night stay .."

18th July 2013, piyushmailbox, Melbourne, Australia

a large old establishment....rooms we were given nice clean and tidy. and deal with breakfast included was a real value for money. a large old establishment....rooms we were given nice clean and tidy. and deal with breakfast included was a real value for money

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club. We appreciate your comments and hopefully we will have the opportunity to be of service to you againin the future
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Relaxing stay"

16th July 2013, mkn56, australia

I booked 2 rooms for my family only for 1 night, and was pleased with the standard of the rooms. The location is a few kilometers from the cbd, but was not an issue as we had a car. Service was friendly and prompt. My only concern was poor lighting in the night on the foot path leading to the pool area. I would be happy to stay here again.

View management response »

Management responseWe thank you for your feed back and will pass on your comments to the Team. Your comments are appreciated and we will look into how the lighting can be improved.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Ibis .styles Cairns Colonial Club"

9th July 2013, Saffali, Brisbane

Treated like a number at check in and at the restaurant. Complex is very large. ot as close or personal as Ibis Styles Cairns in Florence St. Bathroom door jammed every time you shut it, fridge sounded like a jug boiling all night long, bed was quite soft, restaurant staff at breakfast was corrected after we were told only continental breakfast one morning. gardens immaculate!

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club. At the Colonial Club, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my apologies.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Fully integrated Resort"

5th July 2013

Clean and simple rooms with great leafy surroundings. Easy access with ample parking plus a great layout. A distinct lack of staff but the few that were there performed well.3 pools, above average restaurant and poolside cafe/bar.Internet was given for 15mins per day for free but you'd need to pay beyond that.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great colonial style hotel, fabulous garden"

17th January 2013, Delwind, Bucharest, Romania

We spent 3 nights in the hotel. On the excellent side: all rooms are situated in a very large tropical garden, with a wonderful feeling of being in the middle of the nature. The three pools look very nice and clean, but did not actually try them. Our room was very large, but it was actually some sort of apartment.Staff was very friendly and helpful - we got great advice in selecting a trip to the reef, so another big plus here.On the not so good side: it is located really far from the center of the city, so it could be a problem if you don't have a car. They do have a shuttle, but I don't know where or where it goes. The hotel is rather old, but this can be seen as adding to the colonial atmosphere.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your positive comments and feedback. We always appreciate guest contact. The City Bus Shuttle does go to Cairns Central Shopping Centre and the City Mall from 7.30am to 9.00pm - with a break at lunch time.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent Service and Value"

16th January 2013, thedoctor_13, Sydney, Australia

Set in lush tropical gardens on the north side of Cairns, this hotel offers excellent value.. Our family enjoyed the resort style pools (there are 3), the tennis court, and the games room. Our Studio was somewhat run down, with broken bed springs making it difficult for our youngest to sleep. Rather than inconvenience us while this was repaired, the manager and staff went out of their way to upgrade us to 2 Superior rooms at no extra charge. So 5 stars for this exceptional service, 3 stars for an aggregate of the Studio with the very good Superior rooms, and 4 stars overall. If you are comfortable with not having brand new rooms and facilities (while new owners Accor undertake minor repairs and necessary refurbishment) this hotel offers excellent value and service.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment - I am pleased the issue with the sofa bed was solved to your satisfaction.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Xmas break"

7th January 2013, glenn1963, Charters Towers, Australia

For the rate we paid we were quite happy with the resort. The decor and fittings are getting a bit old but again for the price I can't complain. There are only 2 things that were a disappointment and that is the number of towel rails in the bathroom for hanging our 4 towels every day and the TV. The TV was still an old CRT set and had very few channels and as it was all run thru the movielink system we couldn't plug in our little DVD player for the kids we had brought with us or plug in our Iphones or cameras to look over our photos we had taken each day. Like all places in Cairns more than 12 months old everything is starting to look mouldy so to get someone to go around with a high pressure cleaner would make a real difference. Even though it was a busy time of the year I must say all the staff were quite good as well. We will be staying there again when next we go to Cairns.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards. Televisions are programmed for replacement.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "CAIRNS COLONIAL CLUB"

3rd January 2013, HardingAyr, Ayr, Australia

Good facilities for the family - lovely pool and games area. Breakfast was included which was a bonus. Room was spacious and clean, but bathroom was in need of renovation. Location is OK but you need to drive to shops/attractions.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay - all comments are important to us - for future improvement
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A great place to stay in Cairns"

25th December 2012

The Colonial Club is a little way out of town but if you have a hire car then it's not a problem. We would stay there again as the value for money was really good, the staff were wonderful, the service very good and the room was quiet and comfortable.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is positive responses such as your own which encourage and motivate the staff to enjoy their work and to do it well.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Downhill since last visit"

15th December 2012, jon10001

Stayed here 6 years ago and it was good, and seeing as it was now an Accor hotel we were keen to stay again, but on this visit we found that the hotel had suffered a number of negative issues since our last visit.A general lack of maintenance.Many of the guests were now Chinese which is not a problem apart from the fact that most of them act like locusts at breakfast filling their bags with all of the food and drink to take on their trips leaving little for the other guests. The staff do nothing to stop this. The other unacceptable problem is that they keep clearing their throats and spitting in the gardens and around the pool.Other irritating things are that WiFi is available but at a cost and only if you sit in the foyer, when I paid to use it it didn't work and we were just told try again in the morning.It is one of the cheaper hotels as its a bit out of the way, but when we visit Cairns again we will pay a bit more and try and get a better hotel.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments and feedback - it is appreciated. China is an emerging market and lessons are to be learnt from both sides.
« hide

ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club Resort: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Value for Money"

24th November 2012, Dory2810, Sydney, Australia

The resort was a big value for money, but eating there needs a lot of improvement, everything else was fine , that's all what you need in cairns , after a day full of activities , come back for a last swim in the pool and spend the night in a clean and quiet environment.i will go there again for sure.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your enjoyment. We have noted yout other comment and this will be actioned.
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.