Hotel address46 Blackfriars Road
SE1 8NZ LONDON
How to reach the hotelGPS :N 51° 30' 18.57'' W 0° 6' 16.95''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)2076600834
- Fax. (+44)2076332650
Recently viewed hotels
Novotel London Blackfriars - hotel reviews in London
Hotel code: 7942
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Good base for a weekend break"
20th September 2013, StoreysOnVacation, Leeds, United Kingdom
The hotel was comfortable, quiet and clean. The breakfast was very good and set us up for a day of sightseeing. No complaints. Short walk from Southwark tube station and 15mins walk to the London Eye.View management response »
Management responseI am overwhelmed by your great review and I appreciate your feedback and 5* rating.It is a pleasure to read that you find our hotel to be perfect and in a good locationThank you very much for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to London.Kind regardsLaura GonzalezFront Office Manager
"What a fabulous hotel...."
19th September 2013, Happyfamilies2013, Southampton, United Kingdom
We booked into a family room which had 2 good beds for the children. The duvets were lovely and cosy and the mattresses very comfortable. Hotel was in a great location. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Used the pool which was a bit chilly but refreshing! All in all a great stay.View management response »
Management responseIt gives me a great satisfaction to read you feedback following your stay with us and I appreciate your 5* rating.It is very nice to read your comments about your pleasant stay.I am also very happy that you liked the good breakfast and that you find our family rooms confortableThank you very much for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit. Kind regardsLaura GonzalezFront Office Manager
"Blackfriars Novotel - a good stay."
17th September 2013, Cheese-n-Pickle, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
I enjoyed my 3 night stay in this new (1 year old?) hotel. Naturally, it has the Novotel features which one would expect, and it is fresh, open, bright and refreshing. The staff were most helpful and the room was very comfortable (I fell asleep on the bed one night rather than getting into it!). The Room had nice modern touches like a switch that turns the shower glass wall from transparent to opaque. There was a iPod dock, but also ability to play stuff from other media (I didn't use that feature). I did not use the restaurant, per se, but 3 times I ate at the restaurant food at the bar, which was open, airy, comfortable and the food was good ... actually the lamb steak was divine! The bar staff were friendly and chatty without being intrusive - they have that level of interaction with the customer right. Hooray! they have those keys which you wave in front of the door to unlock - so that means the trip back down to the reception to deal with a faulty/ mal-fuctioning magnetic strip on a card is over - good move!I had a higher level of room (i forget the actual name) but you get things like slippers and the use of a bathrobe, etc and it was good - but, I have to say, was a little more expensive than I would have gone for. It was only because I had points on my accord card which I "cashed in" that mean I could afford the higher room. But in all fairness, its central London, and I could have gone for the standard room.Check in / out was very quick and (another) hooray, they have airport style luggage trolleys you can use for your bags.So I had a good stay. I should add that I was on my own and am not a fussy man - and my review is from that perspective: I could not comment on family aspects. Thank you.View management response »
Management responseIt gives me a great satisfaction to read you feedback following your stay with us and I appreciate your 5* rating.It is very nice to read your comments about your pleasant stay and that you find our staff to be friendly and helpful at all time.I am also very happy that you liked our bar food and that you find the hotel to be confortableThank you very much for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit. Kind regardsLaura GonzalezFront Office Manager
"close to main areas of London City"
1st September 2013, Matthew A
when another accomodation fell thru at last minute via trip advisor found the Blackfriars Novatel. Fairly decent price and great location i booked a standard queen room.Upon arrival (24 hour flight from Australia - with minimal sleep) upon arrival i had been awake almost 48 hours. check in staff (cant remember girls name) was fantastic. she upgraded me at no cost to an executive room so i had a larger room with its own nespresso machine.staff were helpful and efficient during entire stay and i would happily recommend this hotelView management response »
Management responseI am very thankful and extremely satisfied to read your great review about our hotel.It is very nice to read that you find our staff to be helpful and efficient throughout the stay and that the front desk staff was fantastic for you. I am very glad that we were able to offer you a free upgrade to an executive room and you have enjoyed the nespresso machine.We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"Excellent eight days in London"
19th August 2013, loremipsum61, Milan, Italy
Optimum location (close to the Jubilee line, you can go everywhere), very clean room and excellent English breakfast. The design of the bathroom is original but, from my wife point of view, the lack of bidet - as usual abroad Italy - is unbearable. Very kind staff both at the restaurant and at the reception.View management response »
Management responseThank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us and it is nice to see that you had excellent eight days in London.I am happy to see that you liked our great location, that you find our rooms to be clean and the breakfast to be excellent. I am also happy to read your comments about our very kind staff.We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next stay with us.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"good choice for a London trip"
15th August 2013, fordPrefect2013, Neuss, Germany
Since the Hotel is located at an excellent place for trips within London I could recommend it for City sight seeing.I was really satisfied with the Hotel, the Service and the surrounding.Small malus: the breakfast room is to small, there are only few tables. So if you are going to take your breakfast during the "rush hour" you have to queue and wait 5, 10 or 15 minutes.View management response »
Management responseThank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback here on Tripadvisor.It is great to see that you were really satisfied with our hotel, the service and the location. I am also very happy to read that you find our hotel to be a good choice for a London trip.During the summer holidays we are experiencing a high numbers of family’s in the hotel and for that the breakfast is always very popular, mostly between 8am-10am.We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to London.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"Good place in London"
12th August 2013, alphatw0, Wissembourg, France
The hotel is at a good place in London, near Underground Southwark and Blackfriars. I took an Oyster card and I was pleasant to travel around the city. The room was modern and the King bed confortable. Swimming pool at the hotel was nice.View management response »
Management responseI am very pleased to read your review and it is very satisfying to read that you find our hotel to be a good place in London. I appreciate your feedback and the 5* rating.It is also great that you liked our modern and comfortable bedrooms and the swimming pool.We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"Loved the Novotel Blackfriars"
19th July 2013, gonesightseeing, Phoenix, Arizona, USA
This hotel was a very short few minute walk from the Southwark tube station on the Jubilee line. We used the tube system constantly to travel around London, so this location was very convenient for us. We had a breakfast included in the price of our hotel and found the buffet offerings very good and sustaining until we found lunch around mid afternoon. It is a very new hotel and very modern. Free WiFi was very useful. My only very minor complaint was that there was only a quilt and no sheet on the bed, which meant I was either too warm or too cold most of the time. Lots of Pubs close by. One right across the street (not open on Sat. & Sun) I loved the hotel and would definitely go back.View management response »
Management responseThank you very much for staying with us and I am very happy that you loved staying in our hotel.I appreciate your great rating.It is very nice that you have enjoyed the central location, our very good breakfast buffet and the free Wi-Fi.We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to London.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
11th July 2013, LeeLee28London, London
Cut a long story short, it took 30mins to check in and when we arrived our room wasn't ready, even though we arrived an hour after the check in time stated on the reservation. When we finally got our room, it wasn't the room id paid for so we had to move. As the room was not ready we had to wait another 30mins for the maid/cleaners to make up the room.We moved again but the room had not been made up properly, no shower gels, no mini bar and more importantly, no loo roll!!At this point I gave up and my wife and I went for a walk along the south bank as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary.Nice hotel but they need to concentrate on the basics, customer service, attention to detail, rather than filling the lobby with Macs and Ipads.Great location and the views from the executive balconies are very impressive but not worth the money I paid.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback following your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready by the time you arrived in the hotel, as we always aim to have the rooms ready for the guest shortly after 2pm. I would have expected a much more pro-active response from my colleagues and update you on the situation of your room while you were waiting and make it more comfortable for you. The room you have booked was one of our five balcony rooms which two of them have a different design due to the location of the hotel. I have been informed that you were not satisfied with the room you have been given and have been moved to the room you have then stayed in. I am glad we were able to move you a to a different room, but I am very surprised to hear that there were none of the items you listed available, as our housekeeping team is being trained on giving the rooms only free after they are 100% ready to be occupied. It is great that you still find our hotel to be nice and I can confirm that we will take the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent any future occurrence. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars. Yours sincerely, Erol Uray Rooms Division Manager
"Beware parking fines"
4th July 2013, 1Meadow, Newbury, United Kingdom
Great hotel, very comfortable - BUT no drop off parking space outside, we arrived and parked (illegally I admit, but no obstruction) and got a £65 ticket within 2 minutes - apparently known problem to hotel, so sort out!! Public transport not good for all.View management response »
Management responseThank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing your stay here on Tripadvisor.I am sorry to hear that you have been fined while parking in restricted zone outside the hotel. The sign outside the hotel and the restrictions are set and controlled by the local council and as a hotel we are not able to change anything, as the area outside the hotel belongs to the council. I am still happy that you find our hotel to be great and very comfortable.We certainly hope you will still consider our hotel for your next visit to London.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"Novotel London Blackfriars - loved it!"
29th June 2013, FourInGeorgia, Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Our family of 4 (two adults, two teens) spent 3 nights at this hotel, rooms and breakfast plan. Location was very convenient to the tube station for touring London and also a great location to walk to Bankside area at night for dinner. Rooms were extremely clean and very quiet! (We had been told by friends to expect lots of noise from London hotels.) Breakfast was tasty, with enough variety to please everyone. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly - kept luggage when we arrived early, recommended tours, gave directions, arranged for taxi to hotel. Internet access and free wifi was appreciated. We highly recommend!View management response »
Management responseI am very grateful for your excellent feedback and review and I am glad you have loved your stay with us.It is nice to that you have enjoyed our very convenient location and the extremely clean and very quiet rooms.I am glad you have enjoyed the tasty breakfast and that find our hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. It is great that they could help you out with keeping your luggage, recommending tours, giving directions and arranging for taxis.We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
"Lovley weekend in London"
27th June 2013, pe_andersson, Jonkoping, Sweden
We have food-allergy in the family so we were a little bit worried before we went away but the head chef made fantastic dishes that our children loved! (no gluten or milk). Head chef even made a little extra for breakfast.Very helpful and serviceminded staff. Big rooms and very comfortable beds. Location was good. Underground 200 m. Southbank with cafe and restaurants 5 min walk. Londoneye 15 min walk.View management response »
Management responseI am very happy to read your great 5* review about our hotel and I am pleased that our head chef was able to make fantastic dishes and a little bit extra for breakfast for you, considering your food allergy.It is great to see that you have enjoyed our big bedrooms, with the very comfortable beds and you liked our location.I am particularly satisfied that you have noticed our very helpful and service minded staff.Thank you for this nice feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to us.Kind regardsErol UrayRooms Division Manager
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.