Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Southampton Hotels > Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Bus/coach parking area - Paying
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Children's Restaurant Menu - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • Late Check-out - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 99
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: SOUTHAMPTON (0.01 km)

Hotel address

34 - 35 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2HN SOUTHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 50° 54' 0.94'' W 1° 24' 14.12'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin - hotel reviews in Southampton

Hotel code: 7876

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Historic hotel but in need of an update"

16th September 2013, Tony M, Swindon, United Kingdom

Difficult to find in the one way system so it would be better to have clear instructions for drivers - spent 30 minutes trying to get there and then find a car parking entrance. Had to park illegally and go to reception.Then car parking is insufficient and abysmal because of the 'park and cruise' people. This will only work if staff can move cars themselves and so an insurance for this is ESSENTIAL.Car parking inadequacies ruined my welcome.Room was adeqaute in the outbuildings but it needs a covered walkway to reach the main hotel.Staff as helpful as they could be in the circumstances.Breakfast good and rooms clean and comfortable and free WiFi which is good.Easy to get taxies or private hire cars.Price is on the high side given the problems of location and car parking and also overall facilities.However, it is a nice atmsopheric and old hotel and this gives it acertain charm

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us.I am sorry to read you had problems in finding our car park for which I apologise. We do have clear instructions on all websites and there is signage at the front of the hotel with directions.I was pleased to read you enjoyed the charm of the hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Noisy and Dangerous"

26th August 2013, avoyager2013, Warwick, United Kingdom

Very poor light in bathroom. Kept awake until small hours by guests outside opposite reception area. Kettle dangerous - steam came out of top of handle onto hand. Unexpected charge for parking in hotel car park which resembled waste ground (not notified on booking or on checking in).

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.I was very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay for which I sincerely apologise and would like to assure you your points will be investigated and addressed,In regards to the car park the charges in in line with our competitor hotels and is detailed on all websites.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Mercuriously Bad"

19th July 2013, petertut, Seattle, Washington, USA

Our room (216) included the following amenities: A sizeable and seemingly permanent encrustation of pigeon excrement on the only window, cracked and peeling paint on the walls, an absence of air conditioning, a toilet that continually overflowed from the tank (because the float in the tank was improperly sized and would not indeed float, thereby shutting off the water flow), and a continual serenade of pigeon cooing, making all the more real the coop we were ensconced in. We raised a complaint about the toilet after our first flooding, and were rewarded with a visit by the young and energetic night manager (who had a great haircut and a lot of flair). But even he could see that the float was simply not going to work properly. So, what did he do ? He left it that way, and suggested that I might check it on occasion. It was up to me to remove the tank cover after each flush, and manipulate the float so that would rise with the water. I guess calling a plumber was beyond his capability. Or budget. The view of the backdoor to the kitchen was unfortunately obscured by a generous peppering of pigeon excrement across the breadth of our entire window. The wall by the bed was cracked and missing a sizeable piece of plaster, testament perhaps to the vigorous athleticism of the previous occupants. The room was hot as the hinges of hell, and made barely tolerable only by precariously balancing a fan (available at the front desk) in front of the open window. We'd occasionally be rewarded with a floating pigeon feather from one of the roosting birds outside in the eaves. It made for a cinematic experience, much like the floating feather that continually appears throughout "Forrest Gump"...reminding us that life (or the Mercure Southampton) was indeed like a 'box of chocolates'....we never knew what we were going to get next.On a more positive note, the wait staff in the restaurant were kind and quick, as was the staff at the desk. The housekeeping staff was efficient and courteous.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review following you recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.I am sorry to read of the issues you experienced for which I sincereley apologise, I will be in touch to resolve these matters with you.On a positive note I am pleased to read you enjoyed the service from the team.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nick"

26th June 2013, nicholas_mays, London, United Kingdom

We had a small room but a very comfortable bed and an adequate bathroom. The breakfast/dining room was an attractively modernised space which kept the old feeling of the hotel. Staff were friendly and attentive.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the city.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Enjoyable little stay"

17th January 2013, Millzzy, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Really enjoyed staying at the dolphin mercury hotel, very pleasant service and comfy little room will be coming back here for sure. The location was perfect only a couple of minutes away from the shopping centre.The only downside was in think the entrance, they need to make it for friendly and convenient.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Fabulous friendly staff but bedrooms a let down"

16th December 2012, Gauds2012, St Peter Port, United Kingdom

Centrally located hotel great for shopping, staff very helpful and friendly, reception area gives a good impression but unfortunately the bedrooms do not live up to this as they are desperately in need of updating. We had a "lovely" view of a lap dancing club from our bedroom window but can't really blame the hotel for that!

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThnk you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.We appreciate your feedback and your understanding we are unable to choose our neigbours!I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Christmas Shopping in Southampton"

11th December 2012, gpk57, Basildon, United Kingdom

The hotel staff are very helpful and courteous, the hotel facilities are very good and the hotel location is very convenient, right in the old town (with its own car park) and only a short walk to West Quay and the shops. There are pleanty of restaurants and bars nearby although I would recomend eating in the hotel restaurant at least once as the food and swervice is excellent.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your review.I was delighted to read you enjoyed your experience in our Signature Restaurant and I will ensure your kind words are communicated to the team.We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the future.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin: 3.0 out of 5 stars "A Mercure Property that Fails to Meet Ibis Standards"

28th November 2012, SMC_DC, Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA

I'll begin with the positive. The staff at this hotel and in the restaurant were, for me, very hardworking and delivered what I expected for the GBP 149.00 per night rate I paid for a suite with Mercure's B&B business plan. The dinner and wine I had in the restaurant were very good, and the service was quite good too, especially considering how busy they were for a Monday evening.Now for the negative. Over the years and in many countries, I have stayed in hotels like The Dolphin -- e.g., old, charming places, which if they were renovated properly and maintained, their fully able hotel staff would have the tools they need to do their jobs professionally. I blame Accor and Mercure senior management for a number of issues I had during my stay:1. The only towel rack in the bathroom was broken (and unusable), and by appearances it had been broken for some time. There wasn't even a hook on the back of the door!2. Upon entering the room, I discovered that the bed had been made up with stained sheets. I complained and these were quickly changed. It was also explained that the staining was due to an over-hot iron or press -- but what hotel on earth trains its staff to put sheets on hotel beds with any kind of staining? The answer is: hotels that don't train their housekeeping staff.3. The general standard of renovation, which had been done (I assume by Mercure) when the hotel opened under the Mercure name was little more than I would expect from a budget B&B. No structural work appears to have been done -- e.g., the bathroom floor slopes as much as 5 degrees from West to East; the floors throughout the suite are uneven, some sloping upwards, some sloping downwards, and gaps everywhere under the carpet. Even the cosmetic (decor) was below standard -- the window sheers weren't real curtains, but rather some cheap netting someone ran up themselves. 4. The staff, all young (18-25), very obliging, and seemingly capable, did not appear to be under the leadership of anyone (e.g., General Manager) who was assuming responsibility not just for service (the staff handled that fine), but for standards (which were not up to Mercure).I quickly realized that I had stayed in hotels like this before. Old properties with a lot of potential, but which are owned or managed by distant corporations unwilling to make the real investments (in people and the building) required to turn period properties into desirable and comfortable places to stay.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us.I was pleased to read you found the service and quality of food to be of a good standard.In response to your comments regarding the property itself there are certain points in your review which can and will be addressed, my apologies for the lapse in standards.It is important to note the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city and has a grade two listed status, which does mean there are certain restrictions on what we can do structually to the building. During the redevelopment process we made sure we restored many of the orginal features as the building has so much history. The age of the building does mean it is 'quirky' and does have squeeky floorboards etc but that is what makes this hotel special and different to other properties.Thank you again for your feedback.kind regardsNeil BrailsfordGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.