Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > China Hotels > Shanghai Hotels > Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya
Previous hotel
Discover Grand Mercure

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Sauna
    • Massage
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 288
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: THE BUND (3.70 km)

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya - hotel reviews in Shanghai

Hotel code: 7598

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Ideal for Shanghai"

23rd September 2013, Theruffs, Auckland, New Zealand

Hotel is literally on top of Shanghai Railway Station Metro Line 1 Journey from Pudong Airport is 1 change of line on the Metro or 2 if the Maglev is used to speed up the journey. Good choice of local convenience stores and eateries in same block. Room was clean and quiet. If one had to find fault then there is a limited choice of English TV channels.Good standard of English throuhout the hotel and even as a solo older male traveller,I experienced minimal activity from touts and beggers in the entire Zhabei District.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 4.0 out of 5 stars "As good as it seems"

16th September 2013, MJG2131, Suzhou, China

This was a pleasant stay. Location could be closer to centre of city except being close to Shanghai railway station is a big plus. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Overall a good experience and I would stay there again.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Grand sleeping!"

16th September 2013, Barth_K, The Hague, The Netherlands

Excellent location (practically next to the Shanghai underground entrance/exit), very good quality (real European 4 stars). The hotel is super clean, staff is very friendly and helpful, even if their English is not 100% ideal (example: I asked for hypoallergenic pillows, after some google translate they finally understood ;-) ). But they do their best.The rooms seem to be recently refurbished, with nice shower + toilet and very good beds.I would recommend everyone and would be happy to stay there once again.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great stay"

10th September 2013, Zhoushan, China

I had a great stay for two nights at the Grand Mercure Zhongya, no reason to complain! The suite was really great and all service next to perfect. The location s quite good, very near to several subway lines and also the railroad station. Around the hotel are several good restaurants, mostly fast food.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Very good hotel and friendly staff"

8th September 2013, ekieinfo, Voorburg

Very good hotel and friendly staff. Near train and subway station so easy to reach and good start for trips. You must see Shanghai Bund and shopping street near People's Square subway station. Also try the (high) tea ceremony at the hotel.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 4.0 out of 5 stars "不错"

8th August 2013, davidyuyang, Shanghai

Clean and convinient. A bit expensive for breakfast. Good decoration. Very convinient transporatin, specially to railway station and airports. Shopping centers around. Good service, but some staff not very experienced.

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nice Hotel at A Nice Location"

18th July 2013, AliButt836, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Excellent bed, pillows and airconditioning in the room. Nice location with Beijing road just a few minutes away. 24 hours McDonalds and Grocery stores right next to the hotel. Nice hotel i would stay again.

View management response »

Management responseDear AliButt836,Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We sincerely hope you would choose our hotel as your permanent hotel in Shanghai. Looking forward to your next visit and wish you enjoy every moment in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.Best regards,Michelle TaoSales Coordinator
« hide

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Look Past First Day"

17th July 2013, bigkev35, Tweed Heads, Australia

Arrived at motel and was very surprised with excellent friendly service when booking in.Even more surprised when made way to rooms and saw what excellent quality rooms were. Unfortunately that was the end of the friendliness we experienced. Staff did not seem interested in greeting you in any way and were made to feel you were interrupting their day when seeking information. Have stayed in many accor hotels throughout the world and despite rooms being of excellent quality would find it very hard to use this motel again when visit Shanghai

View management response »

Management responseDear bigkev35,Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we hope you could give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future. We look forward to your next stay.Best regards,Connie ZhangSales Coordinator
« hide

Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya: 1.0 out of 5 stars "Over charged, then an illegal background check conducted and refused accommodation"

17th July 2013, not_happy812, Hong Kong

I made a booking like I have many times before using the Accor online booking system. When I received my confirmation there was an error which I immediately reported to Le Club and the hotel. The hotel refused to assist me and then made an unauthorized charge on my card. When I made a further complaint about this hotel management conducted an illegal background check and emailed me their findings. They claimed from their investigations that I was dangerous, untrustworthy and not welcome to stay in their hotel. They stated they would not reconsider and I was further banned from all Accor Asia hotels in the future.If you are a foreign national wanting to stay in China, I strongly recommend you consider carefully staying in a hotel that conducts background checks of guests and determines which ones they are willing to let stay in their hotels and which ones they are not. Accor has refused to provide details of the extent of their search or on what basis they considered me dangerous, untrustworthy or unacceptable. I have requested an explanation and all i have received is there was a miscommunication. I am not sure what part of conducting illegal background checks and telling me I am dangerous, untrustworthy or unacceptable is a miscommunication. Perhaps, it was the part where they didn't understand the words do not charge my card!In respect to Accor hotels, over the last 25 years I have stayed more than 500 room nights in including 3 in the last month, 2 in Shanghai. At no time have I experienced an issue with Accor but then, I have never stayed at this hotel prior. I have no understanding why the hotel has behaved this way or why they do not disclose it is Accor Policy to background check all guests or at least the ones who object to over charging on their credit cards.

View management response »

Management responseDear not_happy812,Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.Best regards,Connie ZhangSales Coordinator
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.