Hotel address9 Kangaloon Road
How to reach the hotelGPS :S 34° 29' 9.78'' E 150° 24' 57.49''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+61)2/48614348
- Fax. (+61)2/48611176
Recently viewed hotels
Grand Mercure Bowral, Accor Vacation Club Apartments - hotel reviews in Bowral
Hotel code: 7516
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
13th December 2012, wollongong
We booked 2 x 2 bedroom units but were allcoated 2 x 1 bedroom units and a 2 bedroom unit. The rooms were spacious and well equipped but the cleaning was not as thorough as I would have liked. The hotel is across the road from Biota Dining and this was why we stayed there. Not having a restaurant onsite for breakfast is a shame as is the 10am checkout. No-one was at reception when we left nor did they answer the phone the evening before when we called with an enquiry.We slept well and would stay at the Mercure again if we wanted to spend a lazy weeknd in Bowral.View management response »
Management responseThank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Upon checking with the General Manager, we understand that there was a problem with the Reservation System at the time which resulted in you being allocated two one bedroom apartments rather than a two bedroom apartment. Again, we apologise. The reception is open from 0900-1700 daily, with the telephones diverted to a mobile during these hours should the staff have to leave the office for any reason. After hours is emergency calls only. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
18th October 2012, KdrSydney, Sydney
Very impressed with the apartment - clean, spacious & functional.The only negative is that I found the bed too soft & the pillows too hard, but this didnt hamper our stay and we will definately return!View management response »
Management responseDear KdrSydney, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry that the beds were on the soft side for you. We are glad that this did not deter from you having an enjoyable stay. Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
"steps too many"
2nd September 2012, 1946david65, Melbourne, Australia
most rooms took too many stairs to get too, our room on 2nd. floor we had to go up 3 flights of 8 stairs, far to many when taking luggage. once arriving in room was very impressed by the size, thank you for a great property.View management response »
Management responseDear 1946david65, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. All feedback is important to us as it assists greatly with the constant monitoring of quality and service. Again, we thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
"Shirley & Brian"
30th June 2012, Wollongong
We did not receive daily room service, only when we requested it.No dining facilities available, however, local pub was good value for food.View management response »
Management responseDear traveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay despite being disappointed that the apartments are not serviced daily. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it assists with the constant monitoring of quality and service. Again, thank you for your review.
"Lovely Weekend in Bowral"
15th June 2012, Sydney
Mecure Apartments are lovely, very comfortable and close to all the town has to offer, Quiet and relaxing too.The up and down and up and down stairs are a bit of a struggle with luggage, especially as I had broken foot!View management response »
Management responseDear traveller, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercury Bowral. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing break. All feedback is extremely important to us as it greatly assists with the constant monitoring of service and quality. We wish you a speedy recovery of your broken foot.
17th May 2012, Ronaldo475, Adelaide, Australia
We wre happy with our three night stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. However, in the interests of customer feedback here are some comments.It was not clear from the Grand Mercure web information on this venue that it did not have any "hotel" services. The reception is largely unmanned, there are no eating or drinking facilities. Once we realised that an apartment hotel is just "apartments" we adjusted and were happy.The apartment to which we were first allocated uninhabitable due to the strong presence of cigarette smoke but we were soon given another apartment where this was not a problem. The staff were efficient and courteous..View management response »
Management responseDear Ronaldo475, Thank you for posting your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are pleased to read that your were happy with your stay and that that changed your apartment due to the smoke smells. All feedback is extremely important to us as it helps with the constant monitoring of service and quality. Upon checking the website, www.mercure.com, we can see that the heading for the property is Grand Mercure Bowral, Accor Vacation Club Apartments. It would be of great assistance if you could advise the address of the website which lead you to believe that the property was a hotel. My direct e-mail address is firstname.lastname@example.org. Again, thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
"Pleasant and uninterrupted stay"
23rd March 2012
Enjoyed being able to use the kitchenette and although there was no turn-down service, it made for an uninterrupted stay. Bathroom floor was dirty. Pillows had hair on them. So wouldn't rate the place as clean. Room was also freezing most of the time because there was no ability to adjust the temperature - all centralised. Pool was cold but the indoor room it was in was warm - so it was warmer out than in! Enjoyed using the gym, but BYO music/entertainment! Think for the Grand Mercure they should have offered a lot more. But thoroughly enjoyed Bowral.
"How to stay out of the way."
17th February 2012, Sydney
The accommodation is comfortable and facilities clean and well maintained. However, the building is located out of the way in a housing estate. There is a main road running by the back of the building which is very noisy if you open windows or doors. There are no food facilities and one needs a vehicle to access cafes and restaurants. The TV is small and reception very poor. If you want to get away from people and remain in isolation then this is the place to go.View management response »
Management responseDear Traveller, Your constructive feedback is welcomed and your concerns regarding the poor reception has been passed on to the maintenance team. We hope to see you again at the Grand Mercure Bowral. Regards, Guest Relations Manager
"The same but different"
4th February 2012, peterandanne56, Melbourne, Australia
We stayed at the Heritage Park years ago, before it was redesigned and much of it resold as housing whilst still contained within the same boundaries, with many happy memories. We were a little surprised at location of the new self-contained accommodation in the corner of the park adjacent to a reasonably busy road, and were also surrised at the fact there was no lift to the first floor, although when you got there you could see that there were a nnumber of levels trending downwards from where we entered, all accessible by six to eight steps. Regardless the quality of the relatively new accommodation couldn't be faulted and it remains well positioned close to town (with some well priced meals in the pubs), although the place had lost a fair bit of the charm it had when we first stayed . The price of progress no doubt.View management response »
Management responseDear PeterandDanne56, I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and would like you to know that all feedback is taken on board and reviewed. We also look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Mercure Bowral.
"Freezing in Bowral"
12th July 2011, Lapstone
Bring your own heater!! The room heating failed 2 days into a five day stay in the middle of a Bowral winter. Initially it failed due to storm damage to the electrical supply, but after resumption of the power supply the heating system did not work. The hotel management was incapable of having the problem rectified and were unable to offer us any form of alternate heating. On requesting an room change the management claimed all rooms had the same problem. There was no offer of compensation at check out, nor has there been since..View management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback. Unfortunately the entire area experienced intermittent power failure over this period due to the storms, which caused significant power spikes and as a result caused significant damage to electrical equipment in both residential and commercial properties. Following the storms local trades people were under demand and due to the heating system being a commercial system the required replacement circuits had to be sourced. I do understand the level of inconvenience this would have caused and I can assure you that the Resort Manager did everything in his power to have this resolved as quickly as possible. Unfortunately all rooms are on a central system so a room move would not have resolved the issue for you and I apologise if this was not communicated to you as the reason why the room move request was declined. Unfortunately this incident was beyond our control and we have assisted all those inconvenienced by this. The Resort Manager will be in contact to discuss this further with you in the coming days. Our apologies once again.
8th June 2011, figtree
Great value for money.Rooms modern clean and spacious, couldn't fault them.Lovely gardens and surrounds.Only down side was hotel was a little difficult to find. Not much in the way of signage on the street front. We drove straight past and had to back track to find it.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback and we totally agree with your comments in relation to the signage. We are currently investigating obtaining permission to increase our road side signage for the property, which if approved will eliminate this issue in the future. Many thanks for your feedback.
"Excellent for extended stay in Bowral"
25th May 2011
This is our second stay in the Mercure apartments in Bowral. These studio apratments are excellent if you intend to stay more than a few nights, as they offer plenty of room. The king-size bed is very comfortable. In addition, the rooms are very cosy, and a relief from the frigid Bowral weather. A small criticism: we stayed for 6 nights, and nobody refreshed the bathroom supplies or the tea and coffee. I would have expected that this should be done every two days.View management response »
Management responseThank you for your positive feedback. Grand Mercure Bowral operates as a limited service apartment complex, rooms are fully cleaned and serviced between guest stays, however not serviced daily during a guest stay. Daily or single services can be requested for a small fee through reception if required. I apologise if this was not communicated to you on arrival or during the reservations process. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
"Fantastic club apartments, have already recommended to my friends"
10th May 2011, Blayney
Loved the apartment and service was great. The whole grounds around the apartment were stunning and I would love to stay there again. We loved the apartment set up and the bed was wonderful to sleep in.
"Well worth the visit"
26th February 2011, Melbourne
Accor does not seem to have an ongoing investment in this property.The apartment was very good, the location - in the heart of a region which has much to offer and yet the Mercure sign is almost too small to see unless you are about to drive in. The office is poor, with virtually no brochures except a region newssheet from Spring 2010 and is not even manned for the full day. Room was immaculate but not overly practical. Bed quite new but soft and only a winter doona. A/C does not work effectively and opening the window lets in 24 hour traffic noise. We may be different to the average travellers but bedding and air temp are critical to us. We will certainly return as we want to spend several days in the region next timeView management response »
Management responseThank you for your feedback and comments. The signage at the property is currently under review due to the limited visibility from the road as mentioned. The Grand Mercure Apartments operates limited reception hours (not 24 hours), however there is a on call Manager on site to assist guests at all times if the reception area is closed. I have also passed on your comments to the onsite Manager in relation to local information and he is currently compiling a selection for guests to access. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.