Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Reading Hotels > Mercure George Hotel Reading
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure George Hotel Reading

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure George Hotel Reading
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Children's Restaurant Menu - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • Late Check-out - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 76
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: READING CITY CENTRE (0.19 km)

Hotel address

10 - 12 King Street
Berkshire
RG1 2HE READING
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 51° 27' 18.35'' W 0° 58' 12.70'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure George Hotel Reading - hotel reviews in Reading

Hotel code: 7317

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure George Hotel Reading: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Not bad"

13th September 2013, jolguk, Manchester

It's a fairly basic hotel. It's nice that the building is so old, but it looks like a pub really. The rooms are ok, a little dated, especially the bathroom. Nice toiletries though. The corridors are probably the worst bit, they somehow seem a bit prefab-ish and smell a bit. Better value for money than elsewhere in Reading that night though. The staff were good.

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Great Hotel, Great location!"

11th September 2013, Nobodys_Home74, Bracknell, United Kingdom

The Mercure in Reading is a lovely hotel which is situated very close to the Oracle shopping centre, however it is very quiet as it tucked away from the busy high street. The reception staff are brilliant and very helpful. Breakfasts are buffet style of reasonable quality too. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 3.0 out of 5 stars "So so"

18th July 2013, london

The room was a traditional single. The furnishing, whilst little dated, were of an appropriate standard to a three star hotel - though no free WiFi or fan (it was a hot for the UK) in room. Location is very central, which could be noisy, however room had secondary glazing. Some of the hotels public areas need significant maintenance work - damaged carpets and damp issues. Cleaning standards need to be improved - dirty finger marks on back of bathroom door and dust cover cobwebs in bathroom. Staff where rather abrupt. Breakfast was fine.

View management response »

Management responseI am sorry that you were dissapointed with your recent stay at The Mercure George in Reading and will look into the comments made.Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.Kind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 3.0 out of 5 stars "-2c outside and no hteating"

6th February 2013, Taziuk, Cheltenham, United Kingdom

I woke up at 3am, freezing. The radiators were ice cold. I called reception and something unclear was muttered about a boiler and I was offered an electric space heater. It took hours to warm the room up enough to get back to sleep.

View management response »

Management responseSorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading.in relation to the heating there was an issue on the evening in question but was all fine the next morning.Kind RegardsStuart HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Pleasant stay with minor niggles"

11th November 2012, Guy T, Bexhill, England, United Kingdom

Before arriving by car I suggest that you put Queens Road Multi Storey Car Park, Queen's Road, Reading, RG1 4AR into your sat nav as this is the recommended parking for the hotel for which they can provide you with a discount card before leaving to make a considerable saving on the normal parking charge. It is a little walk from the hotel if you have a lot of luggage but there does not appear to be anywhere to stop to offload legally. We drove around several times before we rang them to find out where the best parking was. Also make sure that you know the route from the car park to the hotel.We were very politely greeted and they found the booking details very quickly by surname. The route to the room was a little bit of a maze but was reasonably well sign posted.The room was a good size, laid out well and clean. Were rather shocked upon opening the welcome pack folder in the room as a large headline print form stood out about "damage to the hotel room and possibility of eviction" which rather overpowered the tiny "welcome to our hotel" sheet on the opposite page. I understand that the locale may invite such types but in comparison can't say that we noticed anything like it at the Glasgow Mercure just off George Square.We did have difficulty with two lamps which we reported but these didn't cause much problem but they were not fixed during our stay. Also arrived to find box of tissues with only one tissue.Breakfast was most enjoyable, preferring the cooked option on this occasion, although took a little time to sort out where everything was. Coffee sachets were amongst the tea selection which caused some confusion but weren't needed as the machine dispensed the type of coffee selected.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review and i am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. I have made note of your comments and will look into them.Hope you will return to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading in the futureKind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 3.0 out of 5 stars "George hotel King St Reading UK"

19th June 2012, Chris F, Paris, France

The hotel staff is friendly and responsive. The chef went back into the kitchen to make me a pasta meal after closing hours when I arrived late and not much else was open. The location was central with plenty of shopping, restaurants and transportation close by. No parking on site. You need to park at the Oracle. The upgraded room I was in did not have heating I needed a space heater. No wifi in the room. No safe. The old building has been renovated but if you have multiple bags or heavy bags navigating the stairs and fire doors is troublesome.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpfull and friendly.I look forward to seeing you again in the futureKind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Not Bad"

27th April 2012, john0522, Wexford, Ireland

I stay here frequently for business, the Hotel itself is quite old but has a charm that drags me back to stay there whenever I am in Reading. the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are a good standard and generally pretty clean although a little worse for ware in areas.the main set back with this hotel is the breakfast/dining area which is just off the reception area, it can be dark and dingy and in need to refurbishment and it would not entice me to eat more then cereal whenever I stay, so this is definately an area that they need to work on.having said that the George is in a great location in the centre of town so if you are not driving this is a great place to stay if you wnat to be in the middle of town, Reading is a pretty expensive place anyway so this hotel rates pretty average on a value for money scale.will probably stay again for convenience.

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nice rooms"

19th March 2012, Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom

Great location right in the centre of reading.Rooms are cheap compared to other leading hotels in the area.Nice deluxe rooms - good perk having the nespresso in the room.

View management response »

Management responseHappy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure George in Reading. I look forward to your next visit.Kind RegardsStuart HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Over priced"

9th February 2012, Thirsk, United Kingdom

Pretty poor quality room (a bit shabby) for the price of a hotel in a regional town. Lots of traffic in corridor and sound transfer from passing people. Service OK and pleasant enough but not topflight. Just very average or poor really really but with a price tag that ought to make it much better than just average.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and i am sorry we did not meet your expectations this time.Kind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good Quality, Central Location"

24th January 2012, Cambridge, United Kingdom

I travel regularly on business and recently stayed in this hotel. Overall quality is very good and the location at 5 minutes easy walk from Reading station make it good value / time-saving over more distant hotels. The location is central and next to the main shopping-social areas - so you have a choice of what to do outside the hotel. As it is listed as the oldest building in Reading - this explains the number of staircases leading to the higher floors and the rectangular-ish layout. Overall I fully reccommend this hotel.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really do value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercure George Hotel .Kind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

Mercure George Hotel Reading: 4.0 out of 5 stars "New year break"

6th January 2012

We got the Charles Dickens rooms 'Oliver Twist', a very nice and spacious one. Checked-in at late hours after new year eve. The ambiance quickly helped in taking the tiredness. Had a very good sleep.Just simple and great!

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your kind comments and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel Reading.I look forward to welcoming you back in the futureKind RegardsStuart Hall
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.