Hotel - ibis budget Newport
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Ibis Budget Hotel

ibis budget Newport

164 Malpas Road 
NP20 5PP NEWPORT
UNITED KINGDOM

491 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 491 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 35.00 GBP Non member rate
From 33.25 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 35.00 GBP

ibis budget Newport

Budget hotel

ibis budget Hotel Newport is a low-cost hotel just five minutes' drive from the centre of Newport. The hotel has 103 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with an en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a work desk. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning.

The hotel is situated just off the M4 at junction 26. Newport city centre is only a five-minute drive away, offering many attractions and events that can be visited while here on your stay. Check out our tourist info page to find out more .

Hotel extras

The hotel has outdoor parking available free of charge; however there is a limited amount of car spaces. There is also free of charge Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Pets are allowed to stay with guests (one pet per room).

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI in public areas
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pet allowed
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI in public areas
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pet allowed
  • Electric car recharging units

Catering

  • Breakfast
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - ibis budget Newport

164 Malpas Road
NP20 5PP
NEWPORT
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)1633859058
Fax: (+44)01633859072

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • CARDIFF INTL AIRPT At 43.29km / 26.9 miles
  • NEWPORT TRAIN STN At 1.93km / 1.2 miles

GPS : 51.602131, -3.005546

Our rooms

  • Triple room with a double bed and a bunk bed
    Triple room with a double bed and a bunk bed

    Cocoon-style room for up to 3 people, with double bed and single bunk bed. En-suite shower. Flat-screen TV. Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Ideal for families and friends sharing a room.

  • Double Room
    Double Room

    Cocoon-style room for up to 2 people with double bed. En-suite shower. Flat-screen TV. Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Ideal for one person or couples.

  • Twin Room
    Twin Room

    Cocoon-style room for up to 2 people with 2 single beds. En-suite shower. Flat-screen TV. Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Ideal for sharing with friends or colleagues.

  • 103 rooms
  • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • Remote control TV
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • WIFI in your room
    • Shower
    • Toilets
    • Emergency info in rooms
Our rooms fittings

Our customer reviews for ibis budget Newport

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 491 reviews
Peter8091 2016/09/14
« A Great place to lay one's weary head! »

This is a lovely place to stay. The rooms, though basic, are clean and contain everything that one needs....double bed, TV, shower, sink, toilet and towels. The "all you can eat" continental breakfast is brilliant and there are snacks and drinks available to purchase 24 hrs/day. I use the place a lot and is always my first choice when staying in the area. Staff are very friendly, courteous and go out of the way to help. The only down side is that if you open the window there is a lot of motorway noise. The M4 runs right alongside the hotel.

ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Peter8091, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Faris Thowfeek General Manage

RussPhillips 2016/09/01
« newport S Wales »

Small dated hotel in dire need of an injection of life. No equipment in rooms to make a coffee or Tea but coffee machine in lobby area which is £1:50 for a small paper cup, £0:50 for hot water. Rooms were adequate but beds very hard, so people with back problems beware.

ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear RussPhillips, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Newport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. For your comfort in the future, please be assured that Ibis staff are available 24 hours a day should something not be to your satisfaction. I am sure that had you raised your issues with the staff at the hotel they would have made every effort to make your stay more pleasant. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely Faris Thowfeek General Manager

wxmwalkers 2016/07/12
« Good value for money »

Stayed here as it was the cheapest place in Newport at the time. We weren't disappointed as we only needed a clean comfortable room for a one night stay and it was exactly that. The only fault was the room we had was very warm and the windows only marginally opened but apart from that, our stay was comfortable. Going forward, having extra staff on check-in would be an improvement. When we checked in the receptionist was dealing with a very difficult customer and there were no other staff members to check in the waiting guests.

ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Faris Thowfeek General Manager

peterarthy 2015/11/01
« gluten free or lack of »

Despite requesting Gluten Free option for breakfast the day we arrived, nothing was purchased, so I had a five pound cup of tea! I was also not the only gluten free resident in attendance who also went hungry. Hotel was also very hot, but on the whole, fair value for money.

ibisbudgetNewport, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Peterarth, Thank you for your feedback received concerning your stay at Ibis Budget Newport. In the first instance, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the lack of gluten free option for breakfast. Your comments have been reviewed in order to avoid a similar situation occurring in the future. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Adrian Latka Assistant Manager

Jonathon M 2015/10/17
« Very reasonable cost, friendly staff, comfortable, clean and quite »

Travelled over the rugby in Cardiff recently and chose Newport because of proximity. Accessible by bus or train. Bus into Cardiff centre was £2.10 and goes approx every 20/25mins. Staff were v v helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Perfectly simple for two guys attending the rugby. No fuss. 24hr reception. Simple sandwiches, crisps, beers and snacks available. Would definitely stay again if travelling to Cardiff and would use any hotel in the range if this is the standard.

ibisbudgetNewport, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan M, Thank you for your kind words and compliments. It's always very pleasing to read of our guests satisfaction with our efforts to provide a great stay. I will ensure my team are made aware of your appreciation and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Adrian Latka Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Newport

K5648AKphilb 2015/09/26
« Ripped off big time »

Stayed during the rugby world cup but was not there for the world cup i was actually helping my son move into the halls of residence at the university of south Wales in Cardiff , i had to choose this one as i could not get a hotel in Cardiff and although the hotel and room was clean there were no coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast was not free either , I could have forgiven Ibis if i had been charged the correct price of £76.00 for the 2 nights AND NOT the rugby world cup price of £290.00 what a rip off

ibisbudgetNewport, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear K5648AKph, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay, I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We closely monitor our prices with similar hotels to ensure we are offering the best value and priced in line with them and often lower. Regards, Adrian Latka Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Newport

jjtej 2015/09/23
« Just about OK for a very short stay to watch rugby »

When we arrived it was not busy and we were warmly welcomed on check in.Room as expected was basic, bedding and towels were however good quality and shower and sink were clean. Bed was very hard.Toilet was basically an airless cupboard. Carpet in room was seriously in need of a deep clean. Due to the rugby it was very busy and the staff worked hard at breakfast to keep up with guests, although there wasn't much space to eat. My husband was rudely challenged about his room number by a female member of staff after we had already given it. Lift was very slow and it was quicker to use the stairs. Car parking was fine and hotel felt reasonably secure. There is very little around the hotel and we had to get a taxi into Newport to find somewhere to eat.We got a cheap price as we had booked in advance. However I would not choose to stay again here unless there were really no other options, just too basic/budget.

ibisbudgetNewport, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear jjtej, I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your stay, I value all feedback and will ensure that the points you have raised are looked in to. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Adrian Latka Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Newport

Autosparky 2015/09/11
« Poor Service »

1, Foul smell in the room that i eventually tracked to the shower tray having no water in the "U" bend, thus meaning that there hand not been any water in the shower for a considerable length of time including had not been cleaned. 2, No spare toilet roll in the room. i Had to go to reception and ask for a spare roll, this wasn't to hand so had to collect it later from the reception. 3, when the maid left a spare roll of toilet paper it was just left on the dirty bathroom floor instead of being left on the spare holder. this is very basic hygean rules. 4, the coffee machine in the reception/canteen was out of order three of the four days, when i asked i was told i could to use the kettle that had been left out and make myself a drink. 5. two nights i ordered Pizza. the first night there was no chicken BBQ, so had to settle for another and the second night i ordered it and there was no boxes to take it away in. the receptionist served it on a plate but had nothing to cover it with. this meant i had to walk through the hotel lobby, lift and corridors with open food. overall a very poor level of service.

ibisbudgetNewport, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Autospark, Thank you for providing your constructive feedback, much appreciated. I've noted your comments and will ensure that it is followed up with my team in effort to prevent a recurrence. Hopefully we will have to opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Adrian Latka Assistant General Manager Ibis Budget Newport

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 35.00 GBP Non member rate
From 33.25 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 11 km ibis Cardiff Gate - International Business Park
Hotel ibis Cardiff Gate - International Business Park
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 17 km Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 67.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 18 km ibis Cardiff
Hotel ibis Cardiff
From
From 47.00 GBP Non member rate
From 44.65 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 18 km Novotel Cardiff Centre
Hotel Novotel Cardiff Centre
From
From 75.00 GBP Non member rate
From 67.50 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in NEWPORT
Select your dates 35.00 GBP Rooms from 35.00 GBP