Hotel address131 King Street
How to reach the hotelGPS :S 37° 49' 0.96'' E 144° 57' 21.52''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+61)3/96294171
- Fax. (+61)3/96297110
Recently viewed hotels
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel - hotel reviews in Melbourne
Hotel code: 6696
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
21st September 2013, Castlemaine
I was between a trip to Hobart and a meeting in Docklands. The heavily discounted rate meant that a stay was more attractive than coming home on the train. The room was small, but adequate for one. Breakfast was leisurely and satisfying. A downside is lack of disabled access from the street, but the front desk staff helped me by carrying my case while I hobbled up the stairs.View management response »
Management responseDear TA member,Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and give convenience for the stay whilst providing value for money. Apologies in relation to the entrance, as the front of the building is heritage listed we unfortunately can not amend the entrance and the stares are of a gradient that does not allow a ramp. We do however have 24 hour staff that can assist coming in and out as I am glad you noted that reception did. We look forward to welcoming you back.Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
"cheap great stay"
10th September 2013, Emerald, Australia
good cheap alternative if only staying a Cpl of nights and location fantastic.Dont bother with continental breaky ,pay the extra and go cooked or find one of many café s nearby ,cheaper option and better qualityView management response »
Management responseDear TA member,Thank you for sharing your recent experience, I am glad you found value in our rate and enjoyed our fantastic location.We look forward to welcoming you back soon!Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
"Older Style hotel renovated"
9th September 2013
First room offered dark and dismal on ground floor . Requested room change. Receptionist quickly and cheerfully allocated room on top floor. Much brighter with 3 small OPAQUE windows opening out over the central courtyard.Bed comfortable and good sized double room spotless.Bathroom modern with good sized shower.Would stay again but choose room carefully.View management response »
Management responseDear member,Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate your request for a room change, with the four internal light wells it does make a difference in terms of natural light if you can get a higher floor. Nice to hear the facilities were to your liking as well.Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
29th August 2013, scallywagsx4, Brisbane, Australia
Value for money is the only positive for this property. The toilet cistern constantly dripped and ran making it hard to sleep. The double bed was saggy so my husband and I fell into the middle of the bed. The windows were very poorly insulated resulting in drafts over the double bed and through the louvred window in the bathroom. The lack of insulation through the windows resulted in two nights of no sleep (Fri & Sat) as the nearby pub was open until 3am and the noise made it impossible to sleep. Servicing of the room - the first day, the room was not serviced, the second day (after a complaint) one bed was made, the other was not, third and fourth day both beds were made. When the room was serviced, drinking glasses were removed and not replaced . Large chunks of peeling paint were evident, especially in the bathroom. The cistern was badly cracked and the bathroom was very poorly maintained - toilet roll holder unstable, dropping toilet roll constantly. There was a build up dirt on plumbing.All staff members were very pleasant to deal with and tried to accommodate all requests.View management response »
Management responseDear scallywagsx4,Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I'm glad you felt there was value for money and that the staff were pleasant to deal with and tried to accommodate your requests, I will share your concerns with the housekeeping team to try and improve the experience for future guests.Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate
"Ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel"
21st August 2013
Rooms was dirty/dusty, looks like nobody staying for quite some time.basic ameneties, overall locations is very good, near to southern cross station where we took train to Sydney.Counter service was good, we got early check in. Staffs are friendly.View management response »
Management responseDear member,Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay, I have shared your comments in relation to the dust with housekeeping and we will endeavour to stay on top of the dusting! On a positive note we are glad you found the staff friendly and enjoyed our location as so many do!Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
"What a shocker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
15th August 2013, chudy1966, Auckland Central, New Zealand
Even if I had to sleep on the streets I wouldn't stay in this hotel... 2 nights lost. The noise coming from the NIGHT CLUB next door was unbearable. The Live band finished at midnight, and after that normal loud music started... It finished at 5am... The room was supposed to be newly renovated - the paint was peeling of the walls... It stunk from the toilet like hell... There was no shower gel... It was the worse hotel I have stayed at in the last 15 years... And it cost almost $150 a night!!! Some YMCA's are nicer... A SHOOOOCKER!!!!View management response »
Management responseDear Member,Thank you for sharing your experience, it is quite evident we have failed to meet your expectations on this stay and I do apologise for that. The night club does present a challenge for us at times, but we work with them to adjust music levels when guests inform us of the disturbance. It is only our Superior rooms that have been recently renovated, the standard and economy are regularly scheduled for minor touch ups and improvements until a full renovation takes place in 2014/15.Thank you again for sharing your experience.Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
"Accor lets down its guard and reputation at IBIS Styles Kingsgate, Melbourne"
14th August 2013, McBlueboy, Sydney, Australia
Having stayed in ACCOR hotels around the world this one sadly lets the side down. Centrally located near Docklands on beautiful tree-lined King Street, Ibis Styles Kingsgate looks great from the street but that's where the praise stops. On check-in, desk staff debited my VISA debit card $50.00 as security - never had this happen before. I am happy to leave a credit card imprint as is the procedure in many hotels - ACCOR included. Hotel interior shabby but clean. Room was dirty - floor not completely vacuumed, grubby marks on paintwork in the room and bathroom, broken glass in the window that couldn't be secured, refrigerator turned off, complimentary milk out of date, no spoon for tea or coffee, toilet kept filling when half flush or full flush button depressed - overall the room was tired and in need of an update. I can live with that. My overall issue is that just because it is a budget hotel doesn't mean that one of its rooms has to be unclean, with broken fixtures and a lack of attention to detail. The hotel carries the ACCOR name and for this reason it shouldn't look and feel like a rooming house. But sadly it does. When I came to write this review I wondered if I was missing something. Maybe other guests don't mind paying AUD$88.00 to stay a night in this hotel. Maybe I just got a bad room. I'd like to think this is the case, but realistically I don't think so.View management response »
Management responseDear McBlueboy,Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at the ibis Styles Kingsgate, I was disappointed to read that we seem to have really let you down on this stay, for that I sincerely apologise. The reception staff should have explained that they were only taking the $50 deposit because the card offered was a debit card, in recent months it had been brought to our attention that when an imprint is taken of a Visa Debit, the funds do not automatically release like they do with a standard credit card.In relation to the state of the room and refrigerator you are right to take issue with these items, they are completely unacceptable and should you encounter them in an Accor hotel in the future please contact reception straight away so that they can have the opportunity to either rectify the items or organise a room move for you.Thank you again for sharing, and we wish you a pleasant stay at your next Accor hotel!Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate
"Affordable, no fuss accomodation"
13th August 2013, Allyson000, Adelaide, Australia
Affordable accommodation.Close to Melbourne CBDEase of access to Melbourne Convention Centre.Room clean and tidy although not a large room.Breakfast reasonable value for money.TV and provisions also reasonable.View management response »
Management responseDear Allyson000,Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your needs during your recent convention. It's always nice to hear how great our location is for conferencing and CBD business. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Melbourne!Kind regards,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
"Lack of care and service."
16th July 2013, 312David211, Ballarat, Australia
We did not have hot water for a shower in the morning. We contacted reception and although the staff contacted maintenance staff to remedy the fault ,there was no solution within 30 minutes. We contacted reception and told them we would have breakfast and maybe something would be resolved. After breakfast there was still nothing done. I then went to reception and asked to speak to the duty manager and was told by the lady she was indeed the manager. I complained that nothing was being done and asked to speak to the duty manager. The lady at the desk said she was the manager , I asked her for the name and contact number at head office. She went through a door beside reception and a few minutes later a man appeared to speak to me. He did state his name or position and was very defensive in his attitude . The solution he came to was to offer another room to shower in but this was only after 4 phone calls and being summoned by me. Even though I asked for a contact name I was only given the. 1300 number.As you see I am totally unable to give your hotel any recommendation ,in fact,I could only say to people there is no way anyone should stay with you.View management response »
Management responseDear David,Thank you for sharing you recent experience at the hotel, I think it is clear that we under delivered on this occasion and for this I sincerely apologise. The team strive to provide excellent customer service, especially on the occasions when assisting with any problems or shortcomings. I will review your incident with the team and cover how things might have been handled better. I am glad they were able to offer a solution in the end though delayed.When the duty manager provided you with the 1300, I don't believe she was ignoring your request for a name, what she should have advised when giving you the number was that the guest relations team at Accor head office is not one individual but a team of people to ensure that any concerns are looked after in a timely manner. I trust you were able to speak with someone when you rang, however if you haven't I am happy to hear from you direcly here at the hotel.Kind regards,Rob Unsonibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
11th July 2013, Cuza, Mount Gravatt East
Wow ...Hotel is close to everything ....caught the red bus from airport to city and it was only a 200mtr walk to hotel via 2 lovely pubs....very easy check-in and the room we had was clean and massive ..1 double ,1 single.... great place to stay , very cosy and breaky was good too ...located right next to the tram which took us to Lygon Street aswell as St Kilda beaches..Yes would stay here again ..Location is excellent and Very Comfortable place to stay for the value
"good value for money"
28th June 2013, anirudha2000_2000, Sydney, Australia
Nice location; situated in the heart of the city. Close to the railway station and bus stand. it's a good hotel and definitely value for money. Don't expect anything fancy and you'll be happy. We didn't have any food in the restaurant, so can't write much about it.View management response »
Management responseDear Traveller:We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.Sincerely,Rob UnsonGeneral Manageribis Styles Kingsgate
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.